123 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

DiGi iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Official iDiGi Price Plan is out!

darkskies
post Apr 2 2010, 08:27 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Apr 2 2010, 08:09 PM)
U PAY starting from month 7 - 24..... the 1st 6 mths u oredi pay when u collect the iPhone (part of the RM2144)...

Added on April 2, 2010, 8:11 pm

While true as per yr analogy, pls bear in mind that its APPLE who is controlling the price of the iPhones, not Digi.... thats y they "lepas" tangan after their 24 mths contract....

All digi can do to get clients is to make sure their plans are cheaper than Maxis, which is true....

And no, i dont work for Digi....  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
Ya definitely true, apple is the culprit.
I really salute to the marketin dudes who made this plan out by pushing the last 3rd year to the bank.
Very clever marketing strategy and many surveys+research been done on the current market trend.
Customers will find it hard to argue on that.

It's mainly targetted on customers who find that it's too heavy to pull out over 3k of cash from their wallet.
Calculation been fully done and reduced to the lowest numbers as far as possible so that it do sounds very attractive and affordable.

If customers look at the flyers they will be confused.
So in the end the numbers became the devils to reel in customers ^.^

But for those who does do alot of research and brainstorming.They probably would not be tempted.
Unless they simply wants apple.
thefryingfox
post Apr 2 2010, 09:44 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Apr 1 2010, 11:02 PM)
r u sure about this? tethering and using on the phone is separate charge? anybody can confirm?  hmm.gif
that is provided you haven't used any of the credit and have no outstanding. :lo:
i check with a collegue of mine. on digi black berry unlimited, the 3g service is saperate. if use phone, part of the package..if use notebook to connect, saperate normal 3g charges apply

so thats why i am curious about this 3g speed and if it allows teethering within the 1gb package ...u know la how expensive can thse charges be. even 5 mb, normal charges alreadi 30 something bucks man
-Teddy-
post Apr 2 2010, 09:51 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Does it make sense to make an iPhone purchase now? DiGi Campus just terminated their RM30 unlimited data rate. I need a data plan for tethering and mobile use. All other plans doesn't seem affordable, or at least, around the same price as the iPhone plans, but without the subsidized iPhone of course.

I'm afraid that if I get one now, its value will drop rock bottom after Apple comes out with it's new iPhone, rumored to be out within months from now. The thing is I can't be without internet access, this few months especially with my exams coming in end of May.

Is there any data plans that is affordable and no contract with coverage in Melaka? If there is I can use it for a few months until the new iPhone is out.

Say I get a 3GS now, is there any upgrade option from DiGi when the new iPhone is out?
neekun
post Apr 2 2010, 11:21 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Apr 2 2010, 09:44 PM)
i check with a collegue of mine. on digi black berry unlimited, the 3g service is saperate. if use phone, part of the package..if use notebook to connect, saperate normal 3g charges apply

so thats why i am curious about this 3g speed and if it allows teethering within the 1gb package ...u know la how expensive can thse charges be. even 5 mb, normal charges alreadi 30 something bucks man
For all Digi iPhone plans, tethering is allowed within your monthly cap. Once cap is reached, no additional charges, just that your speed is throttled. So no need worry on the charges and enjoy your iPhone!

Added on April 2, 2010, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Apr 2 2010, 09:51 PM)
Does it make sense to make an iPhone purchase now? DiGi Campus just terminated their RM30 unlimited data rate. I need a data plan for tethering and mobile use. All other plans doesn't seem affordable, or at least, around the same price as the iPhone plans, but without the subsidized iPhone of course.

I'm afraid that if I get one now, its value will drop rock bottom after Apple comes out with it's new iPhone, rumored to be out within months from now. The thing is I can't be without internet access, this few months especially with my exams coming in end of May.

Is there any data plans that is affordable and no contract with coverage in Melaka? If there is I can use it for a few months until the new iPhone is out.

Say I get a 3GS now, is there any upgrade option from DiGi when the new iPhone is out?
It's for sure new iPhone will be releasing a few months down the road. If you really need data, why not go for RM58 (3GB) data package?

This post has been edited by neekun: Apr 2 2010, 11:23 PM
yvonnesoo
post Apr 3 2010, 12:51 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

jz port over my line to digi jz nw.. thx to the helpful digi staff.. minus those outsource promoters haha.. cz they giving me wrong info n some really misleading.. so guys, if u haf queries or doubts i suggest u shuld ask directly to digi staff nt those promoters..

oh btw, for those who has doubts regarding whether ur sub line can tag under idigi plan. i manage to get the answer.. the answer is YES.. cz i jz done it. smile.gif

my case is kinda complicated tho.. i'm a maxis sub line. thn due to i wan to get tis iphone so i decided to sign up idigi88.. bt only principal can sign tis plan unless i sign up as a new line. i dunwan cz i wan bek my no.. here wat i did from the helpful digi staff..

my principal n i both port out from M to digi. thn on digi side, they will switch me (sub previously) as the principal (idigi plan) whereas my principal as my sub line under DG family.. so case settle.. tongue.gif i still can enjoy the benefit within my family plan (free call n sms) n i can get my iphone as well.. thumbup.gif jz tat the drawback is both principal n sub can't share the same talk time like telco M

i haven't gt my phone yet. need to wait after my porting successful thn only i can take the phone but the phone dy reserve for me..

y@nggene
post Apr 3 2010, 01:12 AM

372 posts

can someone tell me wheter the iphone u get,
under setting->network

got network tethering tab?

shockk
post Apr 3 2010, 01:18 AM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

QUOTE(y@nggene @ Apr 3 2010, 01:12 AM)
can someone tell me wheter the iphone u get,
under setting->network

got network tethering tab?

this one confirm have. and it is actually called 'internet tethering'.
works like a charm! rclxm9.gif
y@nggene
post Apr 3 2010, 01:33 AM

372 posts

but i dun have....i also take iphone digi plan
where can i get it bek?

i tried restore ald also same
viper-xs
post Apr 3 2010, 01:47 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(WayneRooney @ Apr 2 2010, 04:53 PM)
Yea without black and white, that becomes a grey area....and we can't do anything if later found out that they charged me on calling supp line.....

Added on April 2, 2010, 4:54 pmI forgot to ask them another question....

Anyone know how do we check the data usage balance or sms/mms balance ?
I can try to help on data and mms balance as both falls under data actually. For postpaid normally you can't check for the balance because all information are stored in database on a Customer Data Records and it will only be calculated at the end of the billing cycle. They will check that against your bucket and based on that the will billed you accordingly. It all depends on the system the telco have but all around the world normally for postpaid they won't do realtime calculation
SMS will most probably use almost the same mechanism normally. What you can do is maybe get some app (if I'm not mistaken they do have some apps that can keep track of these counters precisely in a way) since I heard that the iPhone counters not reliable although to me it is so far.

Added on April 3, 2010, 1:56 amNothing under here?
Settings>General>Network>Internet Tethering?
I assumed when you said took iPhone Digi Plan you bought 3gs with DiGi as well right?

This post has been edited by viper-xs: Apr 3 2010, 01:56 AM
lin00b
post Apr 3 2010, 04:00 AM

nobody
3,592 posts

i for one cant understand the logic behind the 24+12 plan, since for the +12 period you'll be spending money without getting any benefit?

sounds like a temptation to get people to spend future money and get further into debt.
cco_
post Apr 3 2010, 04:16 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Apr 3 2010, 04:00 AM)
i for one cant understand the logic behind the 24+12 plan, since for the +12 period you'll be spending money without getting any benefit?

sounds like a temptation to get people to spend future money and get further into debt.
i think +12 (after 24th month), u still need to pay RMxxx for 1 more year and it is for ur phone only. Ur digi plan end after 24th and u need to get a plan.

Example calculation 16G - EPP24+12 i88
A) idigi 88 for 24 months = 88x24x1.05 = 2217.6
B) Phone price = 1590

A) + B) = 3807.6
installment for amount 3807.6 within the 36 months = 3807.6/36 = @106
1st 24 months , u pay RM106 for plan + phone
after 24 months, u pay RM106 for phone and u need to pay extra to get a montly plan.

*plz correct me if i am wrong.

This post has been edited by cco_: Apr 3 2010, 04:18 AM
MtV
post Apr 3 2010, 07:54 AM

Starry Starry Skies
1,685 posts

Guess I going to head over to pavilion digi centre to get iphone hopefully got stock..
dasoulz
post Apr 3 2010, 08:58 AM

155 posts

hmm it tells me to contact digi for internet tethering..
SUSMNet
post Apr 3 2010, 09:13 AM

11,954 posts

if my collection date is 1st april.

But i wan collect today can?
TehWateva
post Apr 3 2010, 09:17 AM

Schadenfreude Beaches.
1,448 posts

Gonna collect my phone in a while, a quick question to those who have collected.

You MUST bring along the following documents to purchase and collect your iPhone :
1. The ID / NRIC you registered with
2. A photocopy of your ID /NRIC (front and back)
3. A copy of this Pre-Order Confirmation.
I noticed the emphasis on the 'must'. But really? Lazy to print out the copy and NRIC.
dasoulz
post Apr 3 2010, 09:55 AM

155 posts

they can photocopy for u free
ante5k
post Apr 3 2010, 10:34 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

it is requird
Poadster
post Apr 3 2010, 11:47 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

lin00b: its for ppl who want an iPhone, and doesnt want to pay in 24 mths... its called choice, just as how u can choose how many months repayments on yr car/house loans...

cco_: you are right...

MNet: i am quite sure you can, as they have not sold out all of their pre-order sets yet.... u can try and walk up... its open to public as of yesterday...

TehWateva: no, they can print the email and photcopy yr ic for u.... free....
lohchlcm
post Apr 3 2010, 01:03 PM

79 posts

Bought mine this morning. I was pre-registered by could not make up my mind till late last night. I went to Digi Centre but I am no longer entitled for the free gift but able to get the phone for the type I need.

It took quite a while (about an hour) from registration/change plan/activation (they call it as Unbricked).

A lot of people went for the iPhone, mostly purchase instead of asking for info.
adamw
post Apr 3 2010, 01:16 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Apr 2 2010, 08:07 PM)
Juz to clarify.
For example

Apple Bill wants 32 3GS with EPP for 32mths iDigi 88.
*Pls notified that digi only max tied up is 24mths which is 2years*.

So once he flashes his credit card he is hooked to 24mths of tied up contract with digi and additional 12mths with his bank.

For 24mths he isn't gonna be paying any bills unless he xceed his usage
*x-reference with the chart for useage allowance*
*5% tax will be imposed on extra useage for that mth*

Untill after 24mths later bill starts coming in. And it's time he is gonna get bill shock for 1 year of nightmare.
Total he had to pay for the 25th mth is 117+88 which is 205/mth.

He can choose to ditch digi by terminating his acc without penalties but he still needs to pay 117/mth for the last 1 year.

Total expenditure slapped by digi on these waterfish are
1990(subsidized rate)+(24x88)x5%tax=4207*total already paid*
if these waterfish ditched digi after 2years.
How do u actually get RM117/mth calculation?
{1990+[(24x88)x5%tax]}/36=116.87777777777__(rounded off to 117)*many fatchoi*

Total expenditure slapped by digi on these waterfish if they still want to continue.
1990(subsidized rate)+[(24x88)x5%tax]+[12x(88x5%tax)]=5316.40.
*Numbers been played around here and notice the difference.

It's still cheaper compared to maxis.
Though...... it's a little bit too late.
Android market is eating up Apple.
Apple 4g is around the corner soon.
Therefore i leave the rest imagination to u guys ^.^
Thanks, was waiting for an explanation like yours! I'll rather buy a Nexus or Droid or whatever with cash & join any plan I like later on when I ditched my Digi which I have maintained for 10 years with not much benefit whatsoever!

123 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:19 AM