DiGi iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Official iDiGi Price Plan is out!

Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 11:07 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Mar 31 2010, 10:55 AM)
why malaysian telcos hav to ask consumers to fork out upfront payment ?
tis sux ...
This is because Apple expects payment from Digi for each iPhone sold, same applies to Maxis, and even iPhone in US.

Maxis has 12 mths plan, but u r still paying as much for the iPhone itself, diff is with Digi, the contract is spread even across 24 mths. If cash up front is painful, opt for the credit card 0%PP. U hv option to stretch that to 36 mths (the 24+12 payment option).

So far, as per Maxis, all iPhone plans are for main line only, not applicable to sub-line(s). I doubt Digi will do anything diff (they need to recover their revenue ma), but hope someone can prove me wrong.

Digi's plan is cheaper in the long run, due to the FREE internet data after yr allocation. I think they will throttle yr speed down to EDGE, but its way better than paying 1sen there after as per Maxis.

Its designed to get NEW iPhone buyers, esp those in Dig that have not switched over to Maxis, and in this aspect, i think the Digi plan is good.

I am getting one later....
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 11:10 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Mar 31 2010, 11:03 AM)
if EPP 24 for 138 plan = 4584 for a 3GS 16gb. Hmm worth it or not? sighz...
But be aware that you will NOT be paying yr monthly fees for the next 24 mths...

Say u pay monthly = RM138. With 0%PP, u pay RM191.

So RM191 - RM138 = RM53 per month (for the next 24 mths) to own an iPhone....

I think its worth it.... esp if u plan to stay with Digi for a looooong time...
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 12:18 PM

647 posts

One quick question: Are all the pre-order collection for 16GBs only??

I pre-order a 32GB, but no notification wor??

Anyone has a collection date for 32GBs??
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 12:26 PM

647 posts

Ok, thnx, guess Digi forgot abt me then.....

And damn silly for them to arrange collection on a weekday + during ofc/study hours.....

Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 03:32 PM

647 posts

Any of you got the "starter kit"??

am wondering whats in the CD?? Apps, software, games, movies, porn....LOLZ??

I preregistered but DiGi forgot me....
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 03:48 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Mar 31 2010, 03:37 PM)
A yellow color plastic casing (with screen protector). The CD is kinda useless tho... iTunes and some guides.

Saw comments on Facebook, many think the yellow casing is nice... i think it's ugly tho ... gonna go into my rubbish bin..haha
Dont throw!!! put for sale here in lyn.... i am sure many ppl will do that soon.... lolz

I was hoping to get some free "paid" apps, games, stuff for iphone.... so i suppose the pre-order bonus is crappy... will wait till Sat to leisurely get from a digi center lo....

Thnx for the info, hsyong...
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 05:10 PM

647 posts

wanna ask those who got the pre-order and collected, or was simply at the digi iphone area...

any WHITE iphones they giving out today? i pre-order WHITE but no confirmation to collect these few days....

Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 05:45 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Mar 31 2010, 05:31 PM)
lol. becareful. the dark side is very very powerful!
i think you are supposed to follow the session they gave u. but I don't think they will stop u if u don't since it is not that crowded anyway.
I have a pre-order confirmation mail with number and all when i registered.... but no mail informing the time and collection ever since.... till now, and i checked my spam box too.... nothing-ness...

wonders if they will let me go in a get an iphone with the pre-order ref number anytime or not??

Yr whitey iphone is 32GBs?? anyone sees a whitey 16GBs??
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 06:09 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Mar 31 2010, 05:50 PM)
I ordered whitey 16gb. But they will sell you whatever stock they have and not strictly follow ur pre-order, i think.

Maybe you can try to print that email and see. It's suppose to show time and collection date. And you should also receive an SMS asking you to collect.
nothing, no email no sms.... strange....

the earlier mail has no date no time, only pre-order no n what i selected.... nvm ba, will get it later lo...

digi cs says i can use that pre-order no to collect ANYTIME at 1U.... huh??? also, on Sat all 28 digi centres are supposed to get iphone stock... perhaps i'd wait, or i mayb go to 1U tomorrow to kaypoh a bit...

tq
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 07:30 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(WayneRooney @ Mar 31 2010, 07:05 PM)
Saw some people mentioned the supp line will still be remain and calls/sms between supp and main line will still be free.

However, anyone knows whether the usages between main and supp line will be calculated on the free 200 mins talk time, 200 sms and 20 mms (let say if I am on the 88 plan) ??
The answer is NO, its not shared (same as Maxis). Only the main line uses those items, yr sub line remains at its original price/package. Yr sub line can be transferred to yr iDigi plan at existing rate/package.
Poadster
post Mar 31 2010, 08:55 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 31 2010, 08:25 PM)
780SGD is 32GB or 16GB ?

Added on March 31, 2010, 8:34 pm

DiGi gives you the case mate for free?
Yes, all pre-order and collected these 3 days, gets a yellow case-mate casing + screen protector, and a cd of itunes and stuff, as the pre-order bonus. They call it "Starter Kit".

Remember to ask for them...
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 12:10 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Mar 31 2010, 11:46 PM)
u call to ask the digi CS? hw come my fren call in n he gt another answer for tat.. confuse  rclxub.gif  he was told tat iphone package is only for individual n can't haf any sub line attach..
The CS told me (after putting me on hold for a minute to check with "sales"):

If u r a principal line and hv an existing sub-line, it will follow u to the idigi, but that sub-line will be on current existing package (Digi50, Digi100, Digi-whatever).

If u r a sub line, u cant get the sub-line converted, thus u hv to register as a principal line...

If u r new to Digi and want iphone, iDigi dont have any sub-line for now.

Still, most CS are blur (mayb coz there are too many of them, and outsourced) to the new packages.... even the CS at the Oval are blur to the procedures....

Added on April 1, 2010, 12:13 am
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 1 2010, 12:01 AM)
i oso tot of waitin for 4g.. bt since it's a new product.. i guess wont be tat cheap.. kekeke.. plus 4g coverage (i'm assume it will be costly as well since it's new)
I would not hold my breath on Iphone 4G (does this mean it has wimax = 4G???)... as its still a rumored product....

And, seeing how Bolehland gets stocks of hyped products very slowly (see how long before we got iPhone and iPhone 3Gs compared to SG, and how even Nexus One is not avail here yet), i'd think iPhone 4G will be here arnd 6-9mths AFTER the rumored launch in June.... meaning early to mid 2011???

This post has been edited by Poadster: Apr 1 2010, 12:13 AM
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 12:21 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ Apr 1 2010, 12:15 AM)
So is it possible to convert both principal and sub to iDigi?
Not together....

1. principal line can become iDigi, and existing sub-line comes attached with existing plan/package... thats the only option now.

2. principal and sub-lines BOTH become iDigi.... yes, but no longer sub-bed...

3. coz iDigi DOESNT have any sub-line package (yet, and i doubt it as even Maxis iPhone plans doesnt hv sub-lines).

Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 12:30 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(lohchlcm @ Apr 1 2010, 12:20 AM)
iPhone 4 is not necessary 4G, it should be version 4.  Based on what Apple did, they will maintain the current price for 4 and reduce USD100 for 3GS.  I am not so mind with the USD100 (RM330) but just may feel upset if i4 is full of good features.

I asked Digi staff if I were to go for 3GS now with iDigi88 EPP24, can I switch plan when i4 is here, they can't reply but said Digi will take care of existing user.

When 3GS was launched, M offered RM500 for trade-in 3G (correct me if I am wrong about this) but I think M is taking advantage of the users.
Thats the facts of life with gadgets.... see how Nintendo milks the DS/DSi/DS XL crowd with updates on the same system... and dont offer trade in rebates...

Same applies to iPhone/iPhone 3G/iPhone 3GS.... as well as any gadgets in the electronics sector (LCD TV, computers, graphics cards, etc)....

Its the way they stay in business... and with iPhone, be mindful that its APPLE who controls the product and prices... the telco only can play with their packages....

So, either u get it now.... or wait patiently for iPhone4.... haha... even the iPad is not avail anywhere yet.....
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 12:39 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ Apr 1 2010, 12:35 AM)
Thanks very much, I guess I'll have to pay to talk to my wife now.
Thats if BOTH of u wanna get the iPhone......

If only u get the iPhone (sign up new iDigi plan), yr wife sub-line can be transfer to yr iDigi plan... but she dont get iPhone and dont share yr iDigi plans..... the free calls b/w sub-lines shld be there....

this is my understanding as per the cs...
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 12:46 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 1 2010, 12:40 AM)
tat's the case loh..

i'm maxis user wif sub line.. tot of port to idigi together wif the sub line.. i tot while i port to idigi plan thn the sub line can port together as DG family plan sub line.. bt from wat u mention.. it can't.. unless i'm existing digi user..

i would like to know.. if the sub line on current existing package.. (attach wif DG50), thn hw much it need to pay per mth after tat? RM50 or RM30 or RM80??  rclxub.gif  hw bout the free call within the principal n the sub? still free?

aiks.. so troublesome.. do u think i can port to normal dg50 wif family plan rm30.. thn later only change to idigi88.. so tat my sub line can remain.. haha.. unless the sub line is still remain RM30 la.. else it's nt worth it tongue.gif
As per my understanding.... the sub plan remains... so if its DG50, minimum is still RM50 lo...

Yes, the best option is to go DG50 with Family30... then convert to iDigi88 + Family30.... the sub-line shdl remain at RM30, while calls to/from principal and sub-lines are free...

But pls check if this is the case with Digi ppl....

Errr.... why are u not going for Maxis' iPhone plans then???
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 01:12 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(lohchlcm @ Apr 1 2010, 12:57 AM)
Thanks for your view.  I will go for 3GS.  Another question - should I go now (as pre-ordered) or later until it is fully opened to public...?
Depends on if u REALLY want the yellow Case Mate casing (RRP US19.99) that comes as the pre-order bonus if u collect it these 2 days...

Else, u can get it after 3rd from any 28 digi centers (depends on how much stock each center has la)...

The pricing and plan are the same....
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 01:52 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 1 2010, 01:16 AM)
if sub plan under DG50 is only RM50 for principal n sub is RM30 (total is RM80).. since u say sub plan remain as existing plan (assume if on digi).. so the commitment i haf to play is actually hw much? since the principal change to idigi plan? RM88 (idigi) + RM30 (sub) or RM88 (idigi) + RM80 or RM88 (idigi) + RM50? hahaha.. sorry.. kinda blur n confusing..

if port to DG50 wif family 30 n can convert later on is ok.. jz afraid digi won't allow such way.. haha.. gotta check wif digi ppl.. bt jz afraid tat they r blur n confuse as well.. tongue.gif

i'm nt into maxis plan cz their data once reach quota really can burn a hole in my pocket tongue.gif
i THINK its RM88 + RM30.... but i can be wrong as i not from Digi.... better check with them...

i agree with the Maxis data plan problem.... thats i nvr jumped on the iPhone in Maxis...

Added on April 1, 2010, 1:56 am
QUOTE(ericpires @ Apr 1 2010, 01:31 AM)
First of all they are definitely gonna face moderate sales for the iphones because they just pick the wrong time to launch it? launch during `ching meng` weekend.. when every1 is busy... don't these guys ever look at the calendar??  doh.gif
And the delivery of pre-order is on a working/studying day?? what were the marketing and sales thinking??

I think their pre-order pick up will better if they did it over the weekend, more crowd as compared to now being more CS than buyers.... lolz

This post has been edited by Poadster: Apr 1 2010, 01:56 AM
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 10:29 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(kayweng @ Apr 1 2010, 09:47 AM)
For digi 88 plan ,the internet data is 1GB that for streaming video or download data to my iphone ,right? if the internet data is over the limit quota ,can i surf net via iphone ? how about the 3G speed ? same or reduce some kbps ?

If i still can surf net (facebook,google,google map,msn) after exceed quota via iphone ...how about i access internet by laptop via iphone ? still work ?
U shld be able to use data after yr allocation, but the speed will the throttled...
Poadster
post Apr 1 2010, 05:25 PM

647 posts

Strange!!!

last nite, I called up DigiCS, was told that my pre-order not in the system, despite me having a mail to verify that i am pre-ordered.

So the CS told me to walk up with the printed mail, and demanded my iPhone + yellow casing.... hv not done that as am still deciding to take an iPhone (to complement my N97 and P1i)...

This morning, i got a SMS from Digi Priority, telling me to collect my iPhone on 13th Apri at Digi Soho KL....

1. Did u all got yr sms from Digi Priority?
2. 13th April?? So long to go to get stocks after PO??
3. Anyone got collection after these few day n collect at Digi Ctr??

TQ

0.0421sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:14 AM