Centrino Platform: Santa Rosa/Satnta Rosa Refresh
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7100/T7250/T7300/T7500/T8100
Chipset: Intel PM965 + ICH8-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 8600M GS 256MB GDDR3
Wireless: Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 16ms response time
Weight: 2.4kg with battery

BenQ Joybook S41.5 (NON-OFFICIAL)
Centrino Platform: Santa-vina (cuz more Santa Rosa parts than Montevina parts laugh.gif)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7500
Chipset: Intel GM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT 256MB GDDR3, Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X4500MHD
Wireless: Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 16ms response time

BenQ Joybook S42
Centrino Platform: Montevina
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400/P8600/P8700
Chipset: Intel GM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT 256MB GDDR3, Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X4500MHD
Wireless: Intel WiFi Link 5300
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 8ms response time
Windows Experience Index (C2D P8600)

BenQ Joybook S57
Centrino Platform: Montevina
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8700
Chipset: Intel PM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: AMD-ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4650 512MB DDR3
Wireless: Intel WiFi Link 5100
Monitor: 15.6" UltraVivid @ 1366x768, 8ms response time
Weight: 2.8kg with battery
Windows Experiene Index

Told you this is a performance thread. We dun use standard BenQ drivers. Try the following if you dare. flex.gif

Chipset Software Installation Utility: Click Here (Intel)

Wireless: 4965AGN (Intel) 5300 and 5100 (Intel)

HD Audio: Click Here (Realtek)

PhysX (for GeForce only): Click Here (LV2G)

Graphic: Forceware for GeForce M - LaptopVideo2Go (modded) Nvidia (original) Catalyst for Mobility Radeon - Do Not Argue (modded) AMD (original) DriverHeaven Mobility Modder (to mod original Catalyst)
DirectX: Click Here (Microsoft) (Requires Genuine Windows laugh.gif)

Touchpad: Click Here (LV2G) Modded Synaptics Driver with Multi-Touch (My Digital Life)

Driver Sweeper: Click Here (Guru3D)

How to do a clean update of graphic driver:

Done with the drivers??? Good, now let's check it out. rclxms.gif

CPU-Z (Displays info abt your CPU, mobo and RAM): Click Here (CPUID)

GPU-Z (Displays info abt your graphic accelerator): Click Here (TechPowerUp)

CoreTemp (Monitor the temperature of your CPU): Click Here (CoreTemp)

HWMonitor (Monitor fan speed, temperature and voltage): Click Here (CPUID)

RivaTuner (Overclock and monitor your GPU, comes with framerate detection): Click Here (Guru3D)

ATi Tool: (Another handy overclocking tool, supports Radeon and GeForce): Click Here (TechPowerUp)

SiSoftware Sandra (System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant): Click Here (Guru3D)

3D Mark 06 (Check out how your GPU performs): Click Me (Guru3D)

Benchmarking / Game screenshots
[/b]
S42 - Courtesy of DoubleU

S57 - Courtesy of rd33

Price (updated 10/01/2010, for reference only)

Top 10 Off-topic-ers for V19

Top 10 BenQ Geek of V18
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 03:30 PM

2,059 posts

UBUNTU INSTALLATION GUIDE

LINK FOR GAMES BENCHMARK

INSTALLING DOX MODDED DRIVER FOR S42~BBXiong Style

For users that use BenQ S42 that have problem installing hybrid graphic (Dox modded 185.85)..refer to the steps below, as it already been tested by BBX for a 60%??? successful rate of installation...works for x86

AS REQUESTED ----> Dox Modded 195.62 (32/64 bit)

ANOTHER HYBRID DRIVER -----> Nautis 190.38 (32/64 bit)

This post has been edited by monza84: Mar 29 2010, 06:36 AM
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 03:32 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

lets continue discussion tongue.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2010, 03:34 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

do i see an exclamation mark on the title???
xKAIZERUx
post Feb 1 2010, 03:35 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

what the eff? v20 already... congrats.

onto business, why teh mark?
TSfabianz03
post Feb 1 2010, 03:37 PM

4,649 posts

Okay, everything is fine now.
Removed the mark, add thumbnails.

Continue with your spamming discussions peeps
highwind85
post Feb 1 2010, 03:37 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

someone close the old thread...it's still open...later got people go there and post without knowing this new version...
Btw, welcome back fabianz..
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 03:38 PM

2,059 posts

Need evo to closed the old thread because he is the TS there...
BBXiong
post Feb 1 2010, 03:40 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

dang...that would be me lo..i posted there just now..

anyway, who is emailing mr yap? can help me ask if it's possible to change thermal paste to GPU also? also, who knows where to buy thermal sticker? or normal IT shop got sell one..and is there any nice brand/type of thermal sticker??
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 03:42 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 1 2010, 03:40 PM)

anyway, who is emailing mr yap? can help me ask if it's possible to change thermal paste to GPU also? also, who knows where to buy thermal sticker? or normal IT shop got sell one..and is there any nice brand/type of thermal sticker??
I can help you to email Mr Yap..because want to ask about my laptop also, when can send in for a major clean-up...about the thermal sticker, well some normal IT shop should have it smile.gif...well, got to check though nod.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 3:44 pmIs the V19 top posters correct hmm.gif..how come mia got no1..i tot i should be someone else hmm.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 1 2010, 03:45 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 03:45 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Only could find thermal paste at shop, none of the sticker wink.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2010, 03:45 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 1 2010, 03:40 PM)

i still prefer thermal paste... nod.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2010, 03:45 PM
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 03:46 PM

2,059 posts

@lee
Sarawak here got..i know some of the IT shops that sell those rare stuffs laugh.gif..well, maybe because been lurking around those shops for quite a long time now laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 03:47 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

selling for how much?
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 03:48 PM

2,059 posts

@BBX
Do i need to copy your installation guides on Dox modded drivers in V19..because you said, it sometime works sometimes not hmm.gif...enlighten me bro nod.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 1 2010, 03:47 PM)
selling for how much?
Can't give you the exact price now..need to ask my friend first...been quite long since i buy this kind of stuff nod.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 3:50 pm@astria
I also prefer paste over sticker but for laptop sometime paste just doesn't well fitted so the only choice would be sticker nod.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 1 2010, 03:50 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 03:53 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

bending the cooling system might fill the gap hmm.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 1 2010, 03:59 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

err...just copy bah...if don work can just post here, maybe i try look into it..

@lee: i tried that..with wrong angle, WoW login screen gives me 110C GPU...so, think twice if u wanna do that
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 04:03 PM

2,059 posts

OK bos, right on command..i go copy now notworthy.gif

@lee
Well, there's risk when want to do that..just like BBX case where he bent it wrongly and the temp shoot right up unsure.gif
kayweng
post Feb 1 2010, 04:07 PM

160 posts

Hello ,all. my benQ adapter that has a problem when i open the shift button on wall socket , the light of adapter remain off. I had spent some time to check the cable(which connect the adapter to wall socket to get the voltage) and adapter.

Then , i tried my previous cable that use for my acer laptop.when i use acer cable connect to benQ adapater,it is working. The light is power on..yahooo...

but may i know should i exchange one new benQ adapter with BenQ service center? i check the benQ adapter ,but it is look like this ...(click the picture to view)
http://www.busytrade.com/upload/images/200...70729222238.jpg

so ...i should go to service center to get a new due to my laptop warranty is still not expire yet.or my warranty for battery is nt include tat cable?
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 04:11 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(kayweng @ Feb 1 2010, 04:07 PM)
Hello ,all. my benQ adapter that has a problem when i open the shift button on wall socket , the light of adapter remain off. I had spent some time to check the cable(which connect the adapter to wall socket to get the voltage) and adapter.

Then , i tried my previous cable that use for my acer laptop.when i use acer cable connect to benQ adapater,it is working. The light is power on..yahooo...

but may i know should i exchange one new benQ adapter with BenQ service center? i check the benQ adapter ,but it is look like this ...(click the picture to view)
http://www.busytrade.com/upload/images/200...70729222238.jpg

so ...i should go to service center to get a new due to my laptop warranty is still not expire yet.or my warranty for battery is nt include tat cable?
Better got and get a new adapter from Service Center...seems to me that your power cable (which connects the adapter to the wall socket) must be spoiled...call BenQ SC first ask them can change a.s.a.p or not nod.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 04:13 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

perhaps,
after some thinking, even if I tried on my acer, I can't measure the temp since none for intel gpu sweat.gif
and trying it on others laptop, not feasible...
DoubleU
post Feb 1 2010, 04:53 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

this is my earliest reporting in since like v8 i think.... hahahahahha
oh yea, are you sure can measure the 9600 temp when on intel? cause i can't
prasys
post Feb 1 2010, 04:54 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 1 2010, 04:13 PM)
perhaps,
after some thinking, even if I tried on my acer, I can't measure the temp since none for intel gpu sweat.gif
and trying it on others laptop, not feasible...
Only in macs you can (macbooks and such). On PC laptops the graphics card does not include any sensor on mac , it uses alternate sensor to get GPU temperature. Its optional , by default to cut down cost its not included
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 05:51 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 1 2010, 04:54 PM)
Only in macs you can (macbooks and such). On PC laptops the graphics card does not include any sensor on mac , it uses alternate sensor to get GPU temperature. Its optional , by default to cut down cost its not included
@prasys
Care to elaborate more about this, kinda confused with this statement sad.gif...what do you mean by :

"on pc laptops the graphics card does not include any sensor on mac' rclxub.gif

Enlighten me bro smile.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 1 2010, 06:25 PM

1,693 posts

Report for v20~
gotten a damn busy week..
anyway~WC back high/faz/evo and ahem* mia..

BB, i will email mr.yap tomolo when i get back to office,
what you want to ask? thermal paste application on GPU?
i'll tubang ur question when i email him my purchase receipt, also want to ask him about 2nd year warranty things..

Added on February 1, 2010, 6:39 pmone more thing.
i always wonder how do you people count the post of individual for the previous V??

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 1 2010, 06:39 PM
highwind85
post Feb 1 2010, 06:41 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

@ astria,
Tried to install the catalyst 10.1 modded with ATI mobility Modder but fail to install....back to 9.7 again...
astria
post Feb 1 2010, 06:50 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:41 PM)
@ astria,
Tried to install the catalyst 10.1 modded with ATI mobility Modder but fail to install....back to 9.7 again...
oh right...

so that means it's not me... laugh.gif
highwind85
post Feb 1 2010, 06:54 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 1 2010, 06:50 PM)
oh right...

so that means it's not me... laugh.gif
Just did a check on ATI Mobility Modder's forum...Catalyst 10.1 is current not supported..They are working on it...And they say that ATI is helping in the Modder project...Wow...
http://www.hardwareheaven.com/hardwareheav...yst-10-1-a.html

This post has been edited by highwind85: Feb 1 2010, 06:55 PM
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 06:55 PM

2,059 posts

ohmy.gif..ATi is also doing modding ohmy.gif..this way good drool.gif...seems like even pros need the non-official pro to make it works laugh.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 1 2010, 06:56 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:54 PM)
Just did a check on ATI Mobility Modder's forum...Catalyst 10.1 is current not supported..They are working on it...And they say that ATI is helping in the Modder project...Wow...
en, is normal ati is helping with modder project
same goes in linux driver. ATI is more willing than nvidia in developing gpu driver for linux..
which is maintained by community
highwind85
post Feb 1 2010, 06:59 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 1 2010, 06:56 PM)
same goes in linux driver. ATI is more willing than nvidia in developing gpu driver for linux..
Never thought ATI would lend a hand to the modder community...I used to use Omega Drivers last time...But they have stopped coming out with new drivers...Thought the manufacturers wouldn't care about lappy graphics... laugh.gif
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 06:59 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 1 2010, 06:56 PM)
sign0006.gif
wow, i never knew this fact..thanks for sharing want...btw, ATi always seems way generous that NV if comes to drivers smile.gif...even their pricing also cheaper laugh.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 1 2010, 07:04 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:59 PM)
sign0006.gif
wow, i never knew this fact..thanks for sharing want...btw, ATi always seems way generous that NV if comes to drivers smile.gif...even their pricing also cheaper laugh.gif
haha...
normally in linux distro, if the card is ati, there will be ways to come around the restriction
if the card is nvidia...
normally the community will say: sorry, cannot help..
however, there are rumours saying nvidia will make the driver become open source,
but dunno when..and is only a rumours
astria
post Feb 1 2010, 07:15 PM

22,158 posts

oh great, finally some non-official official support from AMD... laugh.gif

i guess AMD is frustrated with the lack of driver support from the laptop makers themselves.. .since they are the one who requested ATi back then not to release driver for mobility cards in their site...
prasys
post Feb 1 2010, 10:56 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 1 2010, 05:51 PM)
@prasys
Care to elaborate more about this, kinda confused with this statement sad.gif...what do you mean by :

"on pc laptops the graphics card does not include any sensor on mac' rclxub.gif

Enlighten me bro smile.gif
Inside ur graphics card there is a diode , it measures the degree of hotness and reports to the system , thats how you get temperature. On graphcis card with onboard video from Intel , there is no such thing as this 'thermometer' because intel graphics card are soo cool (and soo useless) they rarely ever get hot.

Anyway , those who asked about thermal paste - Get Tuniq-TX3. Its thick but its non conductive or artic silver 5. Some say its non conducive , but others do say it is . When getting a thermal paste , MAKE SURE ITS NOT CONDUCTIVE. If its conductive , abit of paste in othe component ,poof short circuit occurs and your laptop will be 'BBQ'ed'
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 11:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

prasys, what about Tuniq TX-2? Currently using that. Would TX-3 make any changes? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 1 2010, 11:14 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 1 2010, 11:05 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

info from these sites: they all say it's not conductive...looks like imma getting one soon

http://hardwarebistro.com/index.php?option...Compound-Review

http://www.overclockercafe.com/Reviews/oth...isc/Tuniq_TX-3/

http://www.tuniq.com.tw/accessories/tx3.html

monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 11:32 PM

2,059 posts

Yes, now i understand what actually prasys mean by his statement thumbup.gif

Well, right now using TX-3 non conductive as i read before that conductive paste would fry the board if any of the paste make contact with the board tongue.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 11:33 pmJust like BBX posted, TX-3 is a non-conductive thermal paste which is thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 1 2010, 11:33 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 1 2010, 11:36 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

plus, as reviews already mention, it's better then TX-2, which is already damn freaking good in the first place...

so, i'll order 1 and apply to just the GPU...the processor one i think gap too big, cos i see the layer of thermal sticker being pressed down, the processor part still quite thick, means having quite big gap, i don think it's suitable for thermal paste...
monza84
post Feb 1 2010, 11:40 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 1 2010, 11:36 PM)
plus, as reviews already mention, it's better then TX-2, which is already damn freaking good in the first place...

so, i'll order 1 and apply to just the GPU...the processor one i think gap too big, cos i see the layer of thermal sticker being pressed down, the processor part still quite thick, means having quite big gap, i don think it's suitable for thermal paste...
Yup, used TX-2 before and i really can say that quite impressive as i use TX-3 drool.gif...maybe i should do what BBX want to do, applied some onto my GPU...but the CPU one, i think need sticker as you mention the gap is quite big smile.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 1 2010, 11:40 PM
astria
post Feb 1 2010, 11:43 PM

22,158 posts

USB 3.0 potential successor (or perhaps USB 2.0 successor)...

Light Peak... 10Gbps (Gigabits per sec), using fiber optics instead of copper wires...

the irony is, Intel is one of leaders in the whole project... reason y it postpone support for USB 3.0??? hmm.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 1 2010, 11:47 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Making me wanna try TX-3.
Any idea how to fill the gap without using the sticker? hmm.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2010, 11:48 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 1 2010, 11:47 PM)
Making me wanna try TX-3.
Any idea how to fill the gap without using the sticker? hmm.gif
i hand itchy want to get one for my desktops... laugh.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 11:51 pmbtw, i ve been transferring stuff from my WD My Passport to the new HDD... have been doing it since 3pm... still need 2 more hours... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2010, 11:51 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 12:29 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

@lee: hammer smash..haha..got one dude from benyouhui actually used hammer to lightly smack the heatsink to it's proper contact, with a piece of cloth in between of something like that...his move is not invalid, but too risky, i'd rather i bend the heatsink like how i did to mine, don wanna accidentally hammer too strong and break the GPU instead...
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 12:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Doubt if using hammer would make the heatsink touch the GPU since its would give kinda an angle, not letting fully contact with the GPU hmm.gif

ehm, what about using aluminium foil, fold it up to square then put some paste.... Would it transfer heat better than the sticker?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 2 2010, 12:38 AM
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 12:54 AM

22,158 posts

probably, but still, the foil could move anywhere once u carry ur laptop around, and it's still metal..
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 06:57 AM

2,059 posts

Yup, just like astria mentioned...the problem if using foil would be it could move around when we carry the laptop around hmm.gif...and its metal some more, could cause circuit-fry unsure.gif

I think using hammer is sweat.gif...better to bend it than to smack it, later overpower smack will break the GPU/CPU, no?? laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 06:59 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Another excuse for a new notebook, no? laugh.gif
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 07:15 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 06:59 AM)
Another excuse for a new notebook, no? laugh.gif
Got to have money a lot then maybe can think that way lor laugh.gif..well, even i dun dare to smack the CPU/GPU to make it fit, it just wrong shakehead.gif..maybe like you suggested before, use copper to replace the sticker maybe a nice solution, never try though smile.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 09:14 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

no mah...if u use those big hammer gently hammer the heatsink right, it would bend...honestly, the heatsink is surprisingly not as hard as i imagined....allu foil actually possible one..., u apply thermal paste both side, then it would stick there liao mah...but still, i don think allu foil gonna make proper contact
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 09:45 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

huh~
I still hv two syringe of Tunix-Tx3 ^.^
how do i need to change thermal paste ?? ald 7 months i heavily used my laptop after 1st change of thermal paste ~
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 10:44 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 2 2010, 09:45 AM)
huh~
I still hv two syringe of Tunix-Tx3 ^.^
how do i need to change thermal paste ?? ald 7 months i heavily used my laptop after 1st change of thermal paste ~
Well, dun really know about laptop..but usually desktop change the paste - in routine (6 months due)...laptop usually use thermal sticker instead of paste which is kinda hard to find whistling.gif...

Maybe you can open up your laptop and try rolleyes.gif
dany06
post Feb 2 2010, 12:03 PM

120 posts

im using s42. i want to install ubuntu. currently im running on windows 7. if i downgrade to xp bios, should i still able to run my windows 7?
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 12:05 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 2 2010, 12:03 PM)
im using s42. i want to install ubuntu. currently im running on windows 7. if i downgrade to xp bios, should i still able to run my windows 7?
Yes, you can still run your Win 7...but you'll lose the hybrid option nod.gif..

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:05 pmNo need to flashed to XP BIOS also can install Ubuntu nod.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 2 2010, 12:05 PM
dany06
post Feb 2 2010, 12:11 PM

120 posts

how to setup the hybrid configuration then? mind to teach me? or just install as normal + the command line for enable keyboard and pad?
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 12:22 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 2 2010, 12:11 PM)
how to setup the hybrid configuration then? mind to teach me? or just install as normal + the command line for enable keyboard and pad?
til now no one has installed ubuntu in s42 to test out the hybrid GPU...
however i would (possible) test out how the hybrid GPU works in linux mint tonite, if i got the time..
maybe if mint has no problem in s42, u may consider switch into mint instead..
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 12:43 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

got la...tested long long time ago..
but there is no driver for it...so u run the card u last use on windows(let's say u use nvidia card at windows and restart to ubuntu, it will use nvidia card)..however, although u are using one card, both are will be active, and in the end, draw more power, so no point also
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 12:46 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 2 2010, 12:43 PM)
got la...tested long long time ago..
but there is no driver for it...so u run the card u last use on windows(let's say u use nvidia card at windows and restart to ubuntu, it will use nvidia card)..however, although u are using one card, both are will be active, and in the end, draw more power, so no point also
yawn.gif yawn.gif
never know...
if fresh install terus ubuntu then which card will be used?
but then...in linux no much gaming also..
4500 will handle with ease~
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 12:51 PM

2,059 posts

Well, for newcomers for sure won't know about this as well already been discussing Ubuntu in S42 like in V7,V8 like that and our master poison (weiyap_tan) been diving for a while now tongue.gif..

Just like BBX said, the last card that you use will be the default card on for Ubuntu but the problem lies with both of the cards on which will drain more battery life sad.gif...

Well, for normal usage, Linux distros would be a nice choice...if into games better stick with windows nod.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:51 pmWait unsure.gif..me is newcomer also, how come i know this stuff...maybe got memory loss unsure.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 2 2010, 12:51 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 02:18 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 12:51 PM)
Well, for newcomers for sure won't know about this as well already been discussing Ubuntu in S42 like in V7,V8 like that and our master poison (weiyap_tan) been diving for a while now tongue.gif..

Just like BBX said, the last card that you use will be the default card on for Ubuntu but the problem lies with both of the cards on which will drain more battery life sad.gif...

Well, for normal usage, Linux distros would be a nice choice...if into games better stick with windows nod.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:51 pmWait unsure.gif..me is newcomer also, how come i know this stuff...maybe got memory loss unsure.gif
aiyo...because someone is Missing In Action ma...
anyway, i've try to search in Mint forum,
it seems that mint also have problem in support hybrid gpu..
looks like a linux problem not distro specific..

prasys
post Feb 2 2010, 02:21 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 1 2010, 11:00 PM)
prasys, what about Tuniq TX-2? Currently using that. Would TX-3 make any changes? hmm.gif
Will do , as long its a thermal paste. Since TX3 is new I recommended that. It does not matter , apply it and temps should drop
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 02:23 PM

2,059 posts

@prasys
Ever tried putting the thermal paste onto CPU/GPU in laptop?? The one that usually they put thermal sticker hmm.gif..maybe you got experience can share with us smile.gif

@want
Well, i guess that would be it as Linux won't have any support from NV to create drivers for hybrid, even in Window rarely we see update for hybrid ones sad.gif...
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 02:32 PM

4,649 posts

Hi guys ~ biggrin.gif
Wanna know does DoX still provide drivers for XP ?
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 02:36 PM

2,059 posts

@fab
Sorry fab, Dox doesn't do XP drivers no more...he just modding Vista & 7 for the moment smile.gif..maybe you can try the 19x modded series for XP, some of them are quite nice nod.gif
prasys
post Feb 2 2010, 02:39 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 02:23 PM)
@prasys
Ever tried putting the thermal paste onto CPU/GPU in laptop?? The one that usually they put thermal sticker hmm.gif..maybe you got experience can share with us smile.gif

@want
Well, i guess that would be it as Linux won't have any support from NV to create drivers for hybrid, even in Window rarely we see update for hybrid ones sad.gif...
Thermal pads ? Its made of paraffin wax. On my u100 , there were not any (cheapo guys). Applying a bit of thermal paste should do the trick. But this requires some careful stuff

i'LL take a picture or two later on with my U100.
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 02:41 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

But what if there's a gap couple mm? Any suggestion to fill that gap?
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 02:45 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 2 2010, 02:39 PM)
Thermal pads ? Its made of paraffin wax. On my u100 , there were not any (cheapo guys). Applying a bit of thermal paste should do the trick. But this requires some careful stuff

i'LL take a picture or two later on with my U100.
Did the same thing with my friends Acer, need to put a bit of the thermal paste will fill up the gap...

Pictures explain everything rclxms.gif..can give us later on will do good notworthy.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 02:52 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You mean by putting alot more to make up the height?
But isn't thermal paste meant to be as thin as possible? hmm.gif
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 02:55 PM

2,059 posts

@lee
No lah...mine just put a little bit of thermal paste onto the sticker, not much...and then i did bent it a bit so that it won't have much gap smile.gif...but need to be careful lor, wrong bent will cause temp shoot-up sweat.gif..like BBX did laugh.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 03:19 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

@monza: i think it's kinda easy to see one..if u over bend it, u can see the edge side of the heatsink(the further out part) bend upwards if u bend it too much, if u bend it nicely, then it would be u see the thermal sticker finally being pressed down and have proper contact with our GPU memory
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:21 PM

4,649 posts

You can actually inject thermal paste in a laptop ?
Now I'm interested... drool.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 03:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

just need to open the notebook, pretty much same with desktop nod.gif
warranty is another story laugh.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:24 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:23 PM)
just need to open the notebook, pretty much same with desktop nod.gif
warranty is another story laugh.gif
Do the same way like a desktop ?
But laptop proc doesn't have a heatsink...

I suck at laptops ~ >.<
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 03:25 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

but for ppl like me with warranty over...hehehe..itchy hand is a must
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 03:27 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:24 PM)
Do the same way like a desktop ?
But laptop proc doesn't have a heatsink...

I suck at laptops ~ >.<
got heatsink lah
this is when last time I open my acer laugh.gif

TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:29 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:27 PM)
got heatsink lah
this is when last time I open my acer laugh.gif
So that orange thing is the heatsink ?
OMG you are daring to open it up lol
I scared when I open it up I can't get the parts back in. >.<
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 03:34 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

the silver and the copper would be the heatsink laugh.gif
well, last time notebook is overheating... need some emergency measure tongue.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:37 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:34 PM)
the silver and the copper would be the heatsink laugh.gif
well, last time notebook is overheating... need some emergency measure tongue.gif
I see... Is it risky to inject thermal paste on a laptop ?
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 03:40 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, by default, it already got its own thermal paste, but who knows what kind of it tongue.gif
As long you get the one non-conductive and didn't spill too much at the surrounding, should be fine.
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:42 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:40 PM)
Well, by default, it already got its own thermal paste, but who knows what kind of it tongue.gif
As long you get the one non-conductive and didn't spill too much at the surrounding, should be fine.
I see... thanks.. rclxms.gif
BTW what model is your Acer ?
Can this be done to the s42 too ?
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 03:44 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Acer Aspire 5551 ANWXCi, as stated on my sig laugh.gif
S42 sure can, can say all notebook should be able, as long you manage to open the notebook and get access to the cpu and heatsink...
BBX already opened S42 before, can ask him how biggrin.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:49 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:44 PM)
Acer Aspire 5551 ANWXCi, as stated on my sig laugh.gif
S42 sure can, can say all notebook should be able, as long you manage to open the notebook and get access to the cpu and heatsink...
BBX already opened S42 before, can ask him how biggrin.gif
Haha okay....
xD

Too afraid to open the s42... Not mine...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 03:53 PM

1,693 posts

the heat talking is insanely hot...
anyway, i want to ask, about a fool-proof alternative...
cos i am afraid i am too stupid to open up the lappy...
u guys know there is a notebook cooler that sort of attached a fan at the exhaust of the laptop, thus suck out the hot air inside the lappy..
does it works, to any extent?
cos i planning to get one~
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 03:56 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

tried it, not working much XD
its has much better usage in rerouting the heat path from hitting the hand laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 2 2010, 03:57 PM
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 03:56 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 2 2010, 03:53 PM)
the heat talking is insanely hot...
anyway, i want to ask, about a fool-proof alternative...
cos i am afraid i am too stupid to open up the lappy...
u guys know there is a notebook cooler that sort of attached a fan at the exhaust of the laptop, thus suck out the hot air inside the lappy..
does it works, to any extent?
cos i planning to get one~
Yea, there's something like that, I saw it in garage sales bfore...

miahahaha
post Feb 2 2010, 04:01 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:56 PM)

This one good?? can make the laptop cooler meh?? laugh.gif..
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 04:04 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Feb 2 2010, 04:01 PM)
This one good?? can make the laptop cooler meh?? laugh.gif..
It plugs in the back of the 'exaust' in the notebook...
Where hot air is pumped out...

This baby I think sucks the hot even faster lol laugh.gif
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 04:07 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:04 PM)
It plugs in the back of the 'exaust' in the notebook...
Where hot air is pumped out...

This baby I think sucks the hot even faster lol  laugh.gif
But still, got a few type of venting unit can use it..those with horizontal one i guess cannot smile.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 04:08 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:07 PM)
But still, got a few type of venting unit can use it..those with horizontal one i guess cannot smile.gif
Yea, those vertical ones can...
Not sure about it... It seems that this product very less in the market...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 04:08 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:56 PM)

yaya tat one...
but i saw de comes without cord~
not working ah...darn..

oh mia is back...now monza is freezed already? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 04:11 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Wonder how it would work if without cord hmm.gif
Doubt it would be wireless sweat.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 04:13 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:11 PM)
Wonder how it would work if without cord hmm.gif
Doubt it would be wireless sweat.gif
maybe the cord hidden la..
i saw in package ma... blush.gif blush.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 04:15 PM

4,649 posts

Monza is not frezzed lol
BTW if you wanna buy GET IT coz it's very limited !
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 04:16 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I have one kept in my drawer laugh.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 04:18 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:16 PM)
You mean that cooler ?
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 04:19 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:18 PM)
You mean that cooler ?
nod.gif
abit different in design wise...
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 04:26 PM

2,059 posts

Well, that cooler is somewhat limited...kinda rare to find it in store smile.gif...i have one but dun remember where did i put it sweat.gif...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 04:30 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:26 PM)
Well, that cooler is somewhat limited...kinda rare to find it in store smile.gif...i have one but dun remember where did i put it sweat.gif...
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:16 PM)
so this is how u guys treated limited stuffs?
alright i give ur guys my address,
gift it to me~haha~

btw, am i reasoned alright for this one?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1288687/+80
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 04:34 PM

2,059 posts

@want
That guy just telling better buy desktop if want to game which by means is correct tongue.gif...well, none can beat desktop when gaming nod.gif..the thing is, people now want to game with mobility icon_idea.gif...

And yes, you are right reasoned tongue.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 04:39 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:34 PM)
@want
That guy just telling better buy desktop if want to game which by means is correct tongue.gif...well, none can beat desktop when gaming nod.gif..the thing is, people now want to game with mobility icon_idea.gif...

ya i agree, desktop is always superior~
but the heat comment and single post viewing is damn misleading...
which i feel compelled to clarify
TSfabianz03
post Feb 2 2010, 04:53 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:34 PM)
@want

Gaming with mobility ?
Alienware is always there ~ laugh.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 05:04 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:53 PM)
Gaming with mobility ?
Alienware is always there ~  laugh.gif
Alienware M17x wif NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280M SLI
Good Lord this is a monster too many desktop cant fight~
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
i wonder if benQ ever come out with one of these...
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 05:19 PM

22,158 posts

wondering, between Core Temp and HWMonitor, which gives more accurate reading???

Added on February 2, 2010, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:53 PM)
Gaming with mobility ?
Alienware is always there ~  laugh.gif
i prefer Asus G series... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 2 2010, 05:23 PM

wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 2 2010, 05:26 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 2 2010, 05:19 PM)
wondering, between Core Temp and HWMonitor, which gives more accurate reading???

Added on February 2, 2010, 5:23 pm

i prefer Asus G series... laugh.gif
wa,how come the readings of both are off by so much at max temp?
i always use HWMonitor...

Quote myself tongue.gif

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 2 2010, 03:41 PM)
there there~difference taste for design after all  brows.gif  brows.gif
i love the design of asus G...
what others laptop would give you the driving feel so intense~~ thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 2 2010, 03:20 PM)

for Alienware, the design is Shit(let's face it, it is our dream but the design is still  doh.gif ), yet it is the most powerful laptop in the world.

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 2 2010, 05:28 PM
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 05:35 PM

22,158 posts

well, i restart Core Temp once as the reading of current temp was very different...

turns out still the same...
verdangilte
post Feb 2 2010, 08:04 PM

1,379 posts

anyone can show me about the benq s42 temp ?
i need the different between gaming n no gaming

some more , it is generate a lot of heat ??
will it heather then compaq v3821au which with amd processor ?
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 08:11 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Feb 2 2010, 08:04 PM)
anyone can show me about the benq s42 temp ?
i need the different between gaming n no gaming

some more , it is generate a lot of heat ??
will it heather then compaq v3821au which with amd processor ?
Nope, it won't be the same with V3821AU, that one is real heat generator sweat.gif...about gaming temp, need BBX or maybe wanttobuylaptop do some test smile.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 8:12 pmBut i can show you FurMark score if you want...

Starting from idle temp to max temp...which i guess same with games smile.gif...

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 2 2010, 08:12 PM
verdangilte
post Feb 2 2010, 08:16 PM

1,379 posts

ok
pls post it also
i will refer to it

haiz , my v3821au hot like oven
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 08:57 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

My laptop temperature while heavily loaded ^.^

Added on February 2, 2010, 9:12 pmwhy min max temperature is 105 not 120 ??

This post has been edited by Dackson: Feb 2 2010, 09:12 PM
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 09:44 PM

22,158 posts

how high u want??? sweat.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 9:48 pmcrap... my friend ordered Asus G73Jh... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

HD5860... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

and my laptop will relegate to be the 2nd most powerful in the residence... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 2 2010, 09:51 PM
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 10:05 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 2 2010, 09:44 PM)

Added on February 2, 2010, 9:48 pmcrap... my friend ordered Asus G73Jh... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

HD5860... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

and my laptop will relegate to be the 2nd most powerful in the residence... laugh.gif
not normally all CPU hv max temperature in 120 ??
har .. that meant no ppl using AW or envy at there ?? Sager ?? 4650 can be most powerful ~.~'''
At USM i think most powerful is SXPS 16 4670 gua ~ (just saw 1 unit, i think is 3670 ) or may be Apple ultra slim with dual GPU ~.~'''
Still hv few ppl using ASUS G series 9800 GS 6k laptop with blueray before sxps 16 release, Acer ASpire 6k series with full HD before sxps 16 ^.^
Mine just GPU niah ~.~
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 10:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 2 2010, 09:44 PM)

Added on February 2, 2010, 9:48 pmcrap... my friend ordered Asus G73Jh... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

HD5870... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Corrected laugh.gif

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 2 2010, 10:05 PM)
not normally all CPU hv max temperature in 120 ??
har .. that meant no ppl using AW or envy at there ?? Sager ?? 4650 can be most powerful ~.~'''
At USM i think most powerful is SXPS 16 4670 gua ~ (just saw 1 unit, i think is 3670 ) or may be Apple ultra slim with dual GPU ~.~'''
Still hv few ppl using ASUS G series 9800 GS 6k laptop with blueray before sxps 16 release, Acer ASpire 6k series with full HD before sxps 16 ^.^
Mine just GPU niah ~.~
envy, too many user complaint about the heat and underclocking when using battery....

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 2 2010, 10:11 PM
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 10:21 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

that laptop very thin and even thinner then SXPS 16 and yet performance is far away from sxps 16. for sure the temperature will increase alot !! idle with 50-60 right ? same experience while sxps 16 3670 ~.~
it's fine for me ^.^
underclocking no idea with it. May be want to save power ? if not 6 cells battery can not even last for 1 hour ! quadcore, 5830, beat speaker, Ultrasharp full HD ~.~ those thing eat up battery life ~

Added on February 2, 2010, 10:21 pmhope someone free me one envy 15 ^.^

This post has been edited by Dackson: Feb 2 2010, 10:21 PM
verdangilte
post Feb 2 2010, 10:22 PM

1,379 posts

u all got touch the v3821au before
really unbelievable that play facebook game will also heat like shit

u play one more sec , after u quit , ur pc will lack 2 more sec
highwind85
post Feb 2 2010, 10:30 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 2 2010, 05:35 PM)
well, i restart Core Temp once as the reading of current temp was very different...

turns out still the same...
Mine too...Core Temp and HWmonitor give different values...I wonder which one is more accurate...

evolution120
post Feb 2 2010, 10:42 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

guyz, i seriuzly need help here.. i was about to burn mp3 songs into my cd, then suddenly my realtime player crashed, and turn off ady, but my cd is still running like mad.. i wanted to eject it out, but cannot stop.. no matetr how long i press, also cannot.. any idea to stop it? icon_question.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 10:44 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

shutdown?

press the emergency hole?
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 10:45 PM

2,059 posts

Take a pin out and cucuk lubang kt cd drive to bro laugh.gif...
evolution120
post Feb 2 2010, 10:46 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

boleh keh tu.. nanti dvd rom kaboom..
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 10:47 PM

2,059 posts

won't kaboom la..happened to me once, nothing bad happen bro icon_idea.gif
lee_what2004

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

last time did that, the dvd drive eject with the disc still spinning there laugh.gif
monza84

2,059 posts

shutdown laptop for a safer solution smile.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 10:47 PM)
last time did that, the dvd drive eject with the disc still spinning there laugh.gif
ya, can be like turntable edi laugh.gif...

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 2 2010, 10:48 PM
highwind85
post Feb 2 2010, 10:48 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 2 2010, 10:46 PM)
boleh keh tu.. nanti dvd rom kaboom..
Take a pin and poke the emergency hole...your DVD room will open up in no time...the most you lose 1 DVD-RW ny...Wont kaboom ur DVD drive..
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 10:49 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

ya ~
if is sucking one then .. call technician ^.^
evolution120
post Feb 2 2010, 10:49 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

imma go for turn off mah lappy! dayum, realtime player sucks sh!t man..
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 10:53 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

stick with MPC-HC brows.gif
evolution120
post Feb 2 2010, 10:55 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

that 1 cannot burn songs into my mp3 cd.. omg lah, my rom has been running for 1/2 hr ady.. ZOMG ZOMG.. emergency boot time. bye
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:00 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 10:53 PM)
stick with MPC-HC brows.gif
MPC-HC ?? what is that ??
@lee still folding ~~
you learn JPN level 2 or 3 ??
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 11:03 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Media Player Classic - HomeCinema laugh.gif
still folding, currently 53%, another 2 days more to finish nod.gif
no JPN laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 11:05 PM

22,158 posts

iTunes... laugh.gif
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:13 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 11:03 PM)
Media Player Classic - HomeCinema laugh.gif
still folding, currently 53%, another 2 days more to finish nod.gif
no JPN laugh.gif
huh~ homeCinema ? any different ??
japanese o~ ur msn siggy put dozoyoroshiku onegaishimasu ~
Lee-san wa oikutsu desu ka ? ^.^

I prefer itune too ^.^
busy week again for me !! monday practice dancing, tuesday briefing study C++ & jpn in the morning not my core course >.<, wednesday busy whole day, thursday meeting again, friday avatar + quize, assingment ++. ~~
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 11:16 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 2 2010, 11:13 PM)
huh~ homeCinema ? any different ??
japanese o~ ur msn siggy put dozoyoroshiku onegaishimasu ~
Lee-san wa oikutsu desu ka ? ^.^

I prefer itune too ^.^
busy week again for me !! monday practice dancing, tuesday briefing study C++ & jpn in the morning not my core course >.<, wednesday busy whole day, thursday meeting again, friday avatar + quize, assingment ++. ~~
ohmy.gif...dackson you dance ohmy.gif

WMP can burn to CD also icon_idea.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:17 pm@dackson
Where's your folding score?? no more at siggy??

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 2 2010, 11:17 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 11:19 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

if just want to burn disc, just need to drag the file to dvd rom and select burn, done? tongue.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 11:20 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

eh..how i join the folding spammers team a?
just downloaded the client
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 11:20 PM

2,059 posts

@lee
Yup, that would be the simplest way there is.. i also do that when dun want to open up any apps laugh.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:21 pmhaha ^^...we got another folding spammers now...

@BBX
Just put your name as [FoldingSpammers]????...and you are done nod.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:21 pmMSN astria for more info..lee also can...

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 2 2010, 11:21 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 11:22 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

i put that one liao..
then got team number, based on astria and lee's siggy i can see is 2999
what about passkey? my personal password?
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:23 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 2 2010, 11:16 PM)
ohmy.gif...dackson you dance ohmy.gif

WMP can burn to CD also icon_idea.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:17 pm@dackson
Where's your folding score?? no more at siggy??
i lost the link T.T
few day didnt folding ~.~
I'm being warned by staff that my siggy too long or else ~.~
just a dancing practice for a prom ^.^ I think i need more practicing !! Need to arrange my tim properly. Next week involving in xuan chuan >.<''' + 2 quizs + assignment + lab report + C++ + JPN + CNY coming T.T
Doom month for me .. no rest during CNY ~~

This post has been edited by Dackson: Feb 2 2010, 11:25 PM
monza84
post Feb 2 2010, 11:24 PM

2,059 posts

@BBX
no need passkey...team number 2999 is correct edi...just let it fold nod.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 11:25 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

is the SMP client using my gpu also? or that one is just cpu?

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:27 pmok back to topic a bit...
my s42 battery life with 9600M GT is just around near 2 hours...is that normal? or my battery starting to degrade liao...

haizz..and anyone know new battery is now much a?

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 2 2010, 11:27 PM
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:29 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

2 hours better then mine !! mine just last for less then 1 hour 15 mins ~.~'''
i can throw away my battery !!
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 11:31 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

lol ok...guess i should be grateful then...
and but my monitor not max brightness also mah...just around 60-70% brightness
evolution120
post Feb 2 2010, 11:33 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

finally get to eject that bloody cd out from my rom.. that was a hard job lol..

@bbx
2hrs is just fine wut.. same life with mine.. tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 11:33 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

SMP is CPU only, but multicore
CPU client is single core

dackson, here laugh.gif
CODE
[img]http://tinyurl.com/y92ruqj/.gif[/img]

Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:34 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

mine is 100% brightness and is for normal usage ~
dont know how long for that envy i7 920XM + 5870 with 6 + 9 celss batteris last for ??
tomorrow hv BI test >.<''' burning the midnight oils again ~~

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:36 pmeh ~ can eliminate the folding@ Malaysia ?
Well done lee .... change color me me too ^.^

This post has been edited by Dackson: Feb 2 2010, 11:36 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 11:37 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

ok, downloaded the GPU client...right now full load @ 70+C
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:38 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

eh .. the temperature very low le !!
BBX try add SMP client too or 2 CPU client ^.^ wanna see the temperature ^^
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 11:41 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 18 2009, 10:31 PM)
CODE
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?un=[FoldingSpammers]Fantasia&t=2999

replace it with your username
then go
http://tinyurl.com/
shorten that link into e.g.
CODE
http://tinyurl.com/yzohk7r

then put it on siggy
CODE
[img]http://tinyurl.com/yzohk7r/.gif[/img]

become like this~
guide for colours,
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/?nav=IMAGES

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 2 2010, 11:34 PM)
mine is 100% brightness and is for normal usage ~
dont know how long for that envy i7 920XM + 5870 with 6 + 9 celss batteris last for ??
tomorrow hv BI test >.<''' burning the midnight oils again ~~

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:36 pmeh ~ can eliminate the folding@ Malaysia ?
Well done lee .... change color me me too ^.^
DIY icon_idea.gif
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 11:41 PM

22,158 posts

it's best to have passkey... since now with SMP2, there's bonus system... u need a passkey in order to get the bonus of the WU...

anyway, imho folding is a pretty nice stress tool as well... so watch ur temperature...

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:42 pmhttp://en.fah-addict.net/wiki/creating-a-passkey

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 2 2010, 11:42 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 2 2010, 11:42 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

err..duwan lo..one more cpu power i reserve for general usage...
plus, i just started folding la..prolly might increase temperature slightly higher later...but right now gpu is remaining at 77C(note, i am in battery mode, so i think fan doesnt spin as fast or something)
both CPU are ~50C, but will sure increase overtime because of gpu temp

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:42 pmbtw how u guys get the siggy score thing? and auto update one izit

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 2 2010, 11:42 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 2 2010, 11:44 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

bbx, you need to finish one WU then only can get the siggy.
as for guide making it, refer above tongue.gif
Dackson
post Feb 2 2010, 11:47 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

DIY ??
i do it when free ... >.<
rushing for study @.@''' Forgotten to do jpn homework >.<'''
left 1 core topic and hlaf page of C++ ~~

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:48 pmmy CPU client keep fail to upload result again ~.~'''
said no such unit recorded in the database @.@'''

This post has been edited by Dackson: Feb 2 2010, 11:48 PM
astria
post Feb 2 2010, 11:53 PM

22,158 posts

fan is MIA-ing...

BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 12:08 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

astria, i wouldn't say it's really that good for stress test...at least not for GPU stressing
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 12:10 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

it really good !!
i make a conclusion that laptop heat ventilation really good !! Intel processor long lasting ^^
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 12:12 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

lol..mine is just 77-81C(mostly 77C)..that is not consider a good stressing..
a good stressing would smack it a 80C+ or even 97C like furmark, but coz, no need to be like furmark, but i really don mind remain 80C+ all time, as long as it's lower then 85C

astria, the GPU client takes up a cpu also right? so i can run another client for my second core that is idle?

Added on February 3, 2010, 12:14 amoh i can see aero effect lagging a bit edi...

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 3 2010, 12:14 AM
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 12:20 AM

22,158 posts

nah... NV won't take up CPU resources... it's ATi that has this problem...

hope the next update on the client (ie GPU3) will solve this problem...
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 12:31 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

if mods don mind, i want to ask a few more questions about foldings la..pls stop me if i gone off topic for too much

how come the SMP client only utilizes one core, and the 'display' option no show progress one...

Added on February 3, 2010, 12:34 amwow..i shouldnt open up the display for GPU...suddenly from 80C+ fly up to 90C..scary...
i let close it and let it run at tray also wont affect any progression right?

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 3 2010, 12:34 AM
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 12:48 AM

22,158 posts

did u put the -smp flag???
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 01:00 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

that's the question...how...
nvm..shall look into it tomorrow...right now, i'll go to sleep
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 06:55 AM

2,059 posts

So, what's the max temp when folding for S42??

BBX, you fold with your laptop or desktop...your desktop CPU would be a nice source for folding nod.gif
verdangilte
post Feb 3 2010, 07:38 AM

1,379 posts

hei , anybody can tell me about s42 temp ??
this lappy will generate alot of heat ?

monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 07:45 AM

2,059 posts

Well, i can tell you this...it will generated HEAT while intense gaming nod.gif...but not to the point that it heated much smile.gif...94C max load is quite hot right nod.gif...but for normal usage it cool as ice nod.gif

Ok, as i promised last night but didn't get time to up it tongue.gif...

Furmark test :

Added on February 3, 2010, 7:59 amI've run the Furmark for 10 minutes ..the temp for GPU (Graphic Card) shoot up from 68C to 98C in just 10 minutes

*with Xtreme Burning laugh.gif...

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 07:59 AM
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:01 AM

2,059 posts

Another thing is :

When you use the laptop just for surfing and working on stuff, it won't heat-up even after long use nod.gif..i know because my laptop rarely shutdown and i on it like for a week before letting it sleep for a couple of hours in weekend laugh.gif

Normal/idle temp would be 60~64C for GPU and 50~55C for CPU which is quite average nod.gif
DoubleU
post Feb 3 2010, 08:04 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@verdang, its depends on two main factors lor... surrounding temperatures and driver version. Some drivers are more efficient than the default ones, eg 185.68/185.85.

You can check previous benchmarks to see temperature. (see front page)
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:06 AM

2,059 posts

@double
You use what driver?? hmm.gif...still hogging the laptop for maximum hours laugh.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 08:06 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

@monza: it seems like GPU temperature is maintained at 82C while folding, sometimes drop to 78C, like that...and as for CPU..dunno is because no multicore or what, ,maintained at 60C

btw, ur furmark resolution is what? i tried 800*600, i think 2x MSAA also, temperature maintained at 96C or 97C for 5 minutes...cannot further test cos still using battery, and don wanna kill the battery so fast, cos i still need to use lol..
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:09 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 3 2010, 08:06 AM)
@monza: it seems like GPU temperature is maintained at 82C while folding, sometimes drop to 78C, like that...and as for CPU..dunno is because no multicore or what, ,maintained at 60C

btw, ur furmark resolution is what? i tried 800*600, i think 2x MSAA also, temperature maintained at 96C or 97C for 5 minutes...cannot further test cos still using battery, and don wanna kill the battery so fast, cos i still need to use lol..
Well, mine when folding would be around yours to max out at 85C once and constant at 76C iirc...i just use CPU one to fold and my CPU is around 57C like that smile.gif...

My Furmark reso at 1024*768 and 2x MSAA with Xtreme Burning Mode on nod.gif...mine maintained at 96C and goes up little by little nod.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 8:11 am@BBX
My battery still in good condition icon_idea.gif...with 50% brightness and wifi on, listening to mp3 some more...can squeezed out 3 hours ma laugh.gif...

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 08:11 AM
DoubleU
post Feb 3 2010, 08:14 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

my driver i used for my old benchmarks (ie, not the dirt 2 one) was on 185.68. Still my favourite driver, since its the easiest to install... hahaha although its bad practice. Cause 185.68 is not a clean install.

Now i'm using the default driver by BenQ for Win 7.
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:20 AM

2,059 posts

@double
How about the temp for the official one?? Quite ok i guess for you smile.gif...i use it once and when i play NFS:S, the temp just goes up till 98C sweat.gif..this is without any cooling device smile.gif
DoubleU
post Feb 3 2010, 08:43 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

haha mine never go that high peak for official i rmb is 88C
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 09:10 AM

1,693 posts

sad...last ntie went to watch legion...no time to test out the temp...
gonna do it tonite..
i would do a test running This in 720p when i am in linux mint~
cos i really dunno what else can stress when using linux.. cool2.gif cool2.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 9:32 amyes~
my warranty issue solved~
Mr.Yap is extremely efficient~
--------------------Replied by CSD klyap at 2010/02/02 18:56:25--------------------

Thank you for your additional info. YourORW warranty period has been updated accordingly. The 2nd Year Extended Warranty registration also has been successful updated. Have a pleasant day!

rgds,

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 3 2010, 09:32 AM
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 09:49 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

I need help !!
How to used array or without to make
printed on the screen, These question make me whole night can not sleep >.<

hmm ... long time didnt used furmark ald ~

This post has been edited by Dackson: Feb 3 2010, 10:03 AM
highwind85
post Feb 3 2010, 09:56 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 3 2010, 09:10 AM)
sad...last ntie went to watch legion...no time to test out the temp...
gonna do it tonite..
i would do a test running This in 720p when i am in linux mint~
cos i really dunno what else can stress when using linux.. cool2.gif  cool2.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 9:32 amyes~
my warranty issue solved~
Mr.Yap is extremely efficient~
Why so long only resolved? Just send in your scanned receipt and mr yap will change the warranty date for you dy....
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 10:01 AM

2,059 posts

@dackson
That one really is sign0006.gif...later prasys will warned you again shakehead.gif...maybe you can msn lee or bbx instead icon_idea.gif...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 10:03 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 3 2010, 09:56 AM)
Why so long only resolved? Just send in your scanned receipt and mr yap will change the warranty date for you dy....
i fax the 1st time they didnt receive..
then i scan to them lo...
til yesterday i baru scan.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 10:03 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

swt...dunno why like cannot post properly one..wanted to post something just now but got redirected back to main page...

yeah, flash cannot do stress test la, normally hardware decode doesnt stress GPU so much one..

off topic a bit..legion movie how? i heard it sucks from friends and internet
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 10:08 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 3 2010, 10:03 AM)
swt...dunno why like cannot post properly one..wanted to post something just now but got redirected back to main page...

yeah, flash cannot do stress test la, normally hardware decode doesnt stress GPU so much one..

i wont play it on youtube, that one i downloaded..
if playing hd in player, wont stress the gpu also?
damn..i gonna find some other way to do it..
or just record a idle temp when in linux, heard people say it would be quite hot even when idle..

for legion, i made a review over here
i am a atheist, so i pretty much enjoy the film, haha
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 10:10 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 3 2010, 10:03 AM)

@BBX
Legion....shakehead.gif..its sucks!!!

Using flash to do a stress test is just laugh.gif..that one cannot stress GPU much lor...need something like Furmark icon_idea.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 10:18 am@want
Read your review there...quite nice review rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 10:18 AM
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 10:28 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

@want: u see..folding, i don consider stressing GPU also, gives me a mere 82C on average...and HD playback, 1080p somemore, my GPU temp is just 69C...so u can pretty much get the idea of how much work ur GPU does la..
i even use EVGA Precision to trace GPU load, i think it's never higher then 20%
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 10:36 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 3 2010, 10:28 AM)
@want: u see..folding, i don consider stressing GPU also, gives me a mere 82C on average...and HD playback, 1080p somemore, my GPU temp is just 69C...so u can pretty much get the idea of how much work ur GPU does la..
i even use EVGA Precision to trace GPU load, i think it's never higher then 20%
mm...
then i gonna try to find other software to run a test..
benchmark HQ got a few alternatives...

Added on February 3, 2010, 10:37 am
QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:10 AM)

Added on February 3, 2010, 10:18 am@want
Read your review there...quite nice review rclxms.gif
thanks~ laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 3 2010, 10:37 AM
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 10:38 AM

2,059 posts

@BBX
HD 1080p videos only 69C...this is in air con room or not?? Why mine shoot-up till 72C sweat.gif...
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 10:51 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

err...air con room...
mine before i bend the heatsink was around 76C ler..with the 195 driver..

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:22 am**however, it is really not a good thing to do...too risky**

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 3 2010, 11:22 AM
nelson_hew
post Feb 3 2010, 11:35 AM

198 posts

My laptop is using Nvidia 8600M GS (BENQ S41) and it seems the graphic card rosak again, coz when i switch on the laptop the screen immediately produce with alot of dotted lines....

happened once 1 year ago which was just after 1 year (exact last month of warranty). Now i have to go back and fix again have to changed the graphic card. ARRGHHHH!!!

This post has been edited by nelson_hew: Feb 3 2010, 11:38 AM
lee_what2004
post Feb 3 2010, 11:43 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

just need to send it to service center, they will do it FOC since its nvidia problematic gpu.
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 11:57 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

at least got warranty la...and after change also, i think they will extend few months for the graphic card warranty..or nego a bit can 'transform' ur s41 to s41.5..then no worry lo
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 12:03 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Feb 3 2010, 11:35 AM)
My laptop is using Nvidia 8600M GS (BENQ S41) and it seems the graphic card rosak again, coz when i switch on the laptop the screen immediately produce with alot of dotted lines....

happened once 1 year ago which was just after 1 year (exact last month of warranty). Now i have to go back and fix again have to changed the graphic card. ARRGHHHH!!!
What to do bro sad.gif....those 8400M/8600M GS cards are problematic ones, not S41 fault smile.gif...maybe you can try slow talk with those people in BenQ SC to change the board to S42 board nod.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 12:04 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 3 2010, 12:03 PM)
What to do bro sad.gif....those 8400M/8600M GS cards are problematic ones, not S41 fault smile.gif...maybe you can try slow talk with those people in BenQ SC to change the board to S42 board nod.gif
what frustrate people the most is other brands are still selling lappy with these gpu...
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 12:07 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
what frustrate people the most is other brands are still selling lappy with these gpu...
Yup, and people should do their homework before buying any laptop with NV 8M Series in it...though other brands should have excluded models for laptop that comes with 8400M/8600M GS smile.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 12:13 pmsign0006.gif

doh.gif..Got some technicians come to my office want to do some Networking, the funny thing is they try to speak in English but very the broken english one laugh.gif..keep straining myself from laughing laugh.gif...why o why!!!!

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 12:13 PM
nelson_hew
post Feb 3 2010, 01:18 PM

198 posts

Ic, now my laptop is like 2 years and a half old. hope is FOC. but the time to get it fix needs 3 weeks based on previous experience sigh.
Now, where did i put my warranty card and receipt hmm......
highwind85
post Feb 3 2010, 01:20 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Feb 3 2010, 01:18 PM)
Ic, now my laptop is like 2 years and a half old. hope is FOC. but the time to get it fix needs 3 weeks based on previous experience sigh.
Now, where did i put my warranty card and receipt hmm......
I think your warranty information is in their computer database...They just need to scan the barcode at the bottom of your laptop to get the details...
nelson_hew
post Feb 3 2010, 01:51 PM

198 posts

Ah..ic... alright thanks!
Btw i've been a long time user of Benq laptops.
the 1st laptop i bought was the "joybook" version...tht laptop can last man!! almost 7 years old still running strong, nvr went to SC for repair before.

Haih, but now this benq s41 graphic card rosak (which is the fault of Nvidia), and the DVD RW also rosak (I dont use often)...dang....
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 02:01 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Feb 3 2010, 01:51 PM)
Ah..ic... alright thanks!
Btw i've been a long time user of Benq laptops.
the 1st laptop i bought was the "joybook" version...tht laptop can last man!! almost 7 years old still running strong, nvr went to SC for repair before.

Haih, but now this benq s41 graphic card rosak (which is the fault of Nvidia), and the DVD RW also rosak (I dont use often)...dang....
mmm..
this case you should really have a talk with Mr.yap for changing ur mobo into s42 one...
if it is ok for you, ask whether can have it changes for a price
if not too pricey it should be a great alternative for you~
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 03:08 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

actually it's a good alternative la..u see, u get more performance, no worry on kaput GPU also..but heat wise..err..if you're ok with peak gaming temp to be somewhere near or above 90C, then that's totally no problem with it
nelson_hew
post Feb 3 2010, 04:13 PM

198 posts

Wow, interesting never thought i can change the mobo from S41 to S42 mobo.
highwind85
post Feb 3 2010, 04:27 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Feb 3 2010, 04:13 PM)
Wow, interesting never thought i can change the mobo from S41 to S42 mobo.
It's possible...someone here did it before...Just have to negotiate and build a strong case for your arguement...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 05:13 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:27 PM)
It's possible...someone here did it before...Just have to negotiate and build a strong case for your arguement...
sign0006.gif
gimme a luxury for being off topic a bit..
high, how is DAO?
is the playing difficult or complex?
dany06
post Feb 3 2010, 05:37 PM

120 posts

thanks to people in this thread and information at FP i managed to install dox driver and ubuntu in my s42 successfully smile.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 05:45 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 3 2010, 05:37 PM)
thanks to people in this thread and information at FP i managed to install dox driver and ubuntu in my s42 successfully smile.gif
on ubuntu, how is the GPU recognize?
u are using karmic?
and how is the temp?
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 05:46 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

DAO should be same as the original one?
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 06:02 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

Selling off my S57 bought last year in november. Warranty 1 year.
anyone interested? smile.gif
offer me ur price.. hehez.. looking brand new and well protected.
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 06:05 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 3 2010, 06:02 PM)
wow, that's ... fast... sweat.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 06:09 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

alright...updated my siggy...hope my score will increase fast..haha
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 06:09 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 3 2010, 06:02 PM)
makes me want to sell my s42 and buy ur s57...
cry.gif cry.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 06:11 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

lol..calm down...s42 is good enough
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 06:12 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

haha, yea im funding for alienware smile.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 06:13 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 3 2010, 06:11 PM)
lol..calm down...s42 is good enough
ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 4650 + bd drive...
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
really,
i feel really tulan my bonus comes one month too late...
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 06:15 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

hehe, for more infor can always pm me, specs and everything u need is in my signature.

Added on February 3, 2010, 6:26 pm@wanttobuylaptop interested in benq s57? its got powerful specs.. hehez.

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Feb 3 2010, 06:26 PM
verdangilte
post Feb 3 2010, 06:27 PM

1,379 posts

bro how much u sell the s57 ??
how long u using ??
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 06:29 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry31675185
discuss it here smile.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 06:30 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

using for 2 months, selling 2.8k, check his siggy
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 06:32 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

and price is negotiable too smile.gif
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 06:41 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 3 2010, 06:30 PM)
using for 2 months, selling 2.8k, check his siggy
drool.gif

y SG never sell S57 in the first palce??? cry.gif
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 06:47 PM

2,059 posts

Wow, RM2.8k for S57 is just drool.gif..maybe i should get it hmm.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 6:48 pm@micheal
Which Alienware are you funding for??

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 06:48 PM
Joshua_0718
post Feb 3 2010, 06:50 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 3 2010, 06:41 PM)
drool.gif

y SG never sell S57 in the first palce??? cry.gif
You can just cross the causeway and get it anytime. smile.gif
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 06:51 PM

2,059 posts

Its m15x..just read your thread tongue.gif....
TSfabianz03
post Feb 3 2010, 07:01 PM

4,649 posts

s42 is cheaper in SG or MY?
Joshua_0718
post Feb 3 2010, 07:04 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 3 2010, 07:01 PM)
s42 is cheaper in SG or MY?
MY. Most of the hardware/technologies here are more expensive.
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 07:16 PM

22,158 posts

that's y i end up buying stuff in HK instead... laugh.gif
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 07:18 PM

2,059 posts

Yup, HK seems to be much cheaper than in MY also drool.gif...how much is HTC Magic over there astria brows.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 3 2010, 07:27 PM

4,649 posts

Malaysia is more expensive ?
But Singapore's Apple product are cheaper when converted... blink.gif
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 07:28 PM

22,158 posts

HAPPY BIRTHDAY FAB!!! rclxms.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 3 2010, 07:29 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 3 2010, 07:28 PM)
HAPPY BIRTHDAY FAB!!! rclxms.gif
Oh thanks... sweat.gif
So electronics are cheaper in SG ?
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 07:32 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

hehe, interested in the specs at price of 2.8k? haha.. ops im funding for alienware 11x sry.. hehe...

anyone realy really interested in the laptop can just pm me.

happy birthday! biggrin.gif
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 07:40 PM

2,059 posts

But in your thread stating 'Funding for m15x laugh.gif

@fab
Happy Birthday bro!!...Sweet 15 no laugh.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 07:42 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

haha.. its ok .. lazy change xD
nvm la, its the same anywayz.. im funding for new lappy ^^

if anyone can help me sell out my benq s57, i give commission of RM50 for being middle person ~~
lee_what2004
post Feb 3 2010, 07:46 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

fabian, happy birthday! laugh.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 3 2010, 07:54 PM

4,649 posts

Thanks guys, I dont wanna get banned again... lol
So can anyone get the price of the s42 in SG ?

Just wanna compare.
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:01 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 3 2010, 07:54 PM)
Thanks guys, I dont wanna get banned again... lol
So can anyone get the price of the s42 in SG ?

Just wanna compare.
Its kinda hard to find any BenQ laptop in SG lor fab sweat.gif..just like astria said, rare!!

Added on February 3, 2010, 8:02 pmwhy, you wanna ask your parents to buy you a new laptop brows.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 08:02 PM
TSfabianz03
post Feb 3 2010, 08:02 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 3 2010, 08:01 PM)
Its kinda hard to find any BenQ laptop in SG lor fab sweat.gif..just like astria said, rare!!

Added on February 3, 2010, 8:02 pmwhy, you wanna ask your parents to buy you a new laptop brows.gif
Nah.. Just comparing laptop prices especially BenQ wink.gif
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:03 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 3 2010, 08:02 PM)
Nah.. Just comparing laptop prices especially BenQ  wink.gif
Well, SG people say that MY price is cheaper than SG nod.gif...while HK is much cheaper i guess icon_idea.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 8:05 pm@fab
Just saw your siggy.....'Running both Win 7 Ultimate & OSX'....you installed OSX?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 08:05 PM
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 08:05 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

btw, i remembered got one guy from lowyat plaza who owns a shop that sells laptop.. who is that guy again? need his help to get laptop ~~
lee_what2004
post Feb 3 2010, 08:05 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I can say BenQ notebook almost extinct in shop, by now, at least in MY? laugh.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 08:07 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

how come? how come no one wanna sell benq anymore?
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 08:15 PM

2,059 posts

@michael
Its john_jay2....person that got shop in LYP (AonePlus)...well, BenQ got some internal problem (mostly guesses only), so they kinda holds on the product from being produce more tongue.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 3 2010, 08:31 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 3 2010, 08:03 PM)
Well, SG people say that MY price is cheaper than SG nod.gif...while HK is much cheaper i guess icon_idea.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 8:05 pm@fab
Just saw your siggy.....'Running both Win 7 Ultimate & OSX'....you installed OSX?? hmm.gif
Yes, but I stuck at the "Welcome" screen because I can't get my P/S 2 keyboard working !
Gotta get a P/S 2 to USB adapter...
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 09:23 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

lol i came home and notice my GPU was at 92C folding temp...i guess is too hot for too long liao..haha
verdangilte
post Feb 3 2010, 09:28 PM

1,379 posts

happy birthday fab

but then anyone can tell me the nearest service centre is where ?
i travel between melaka n seremban
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 3 2010, 09:30 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

bro, if u interested i can send to seremban also smile.gif
petaling jaya got one centre if i not mistaken.
dany06
post Feb 3 2010, 09:36 PM

120 posts

my happiness for got my s42 is short term only sad.gif i just got in motorcycle accident and this is what happen to my lappy

so, if i send to ANDA, anyone knows if they have stock to replace? and how much it will cost and how long will it take? or should i just send it to any other shop? i just got my s42 on 23rd jan. not even 1 month old
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 09:44 PM

22,158 posts

juz go service center...

btw, did u get hurt?

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 3 2010, 09:45 PM
verdangilte
post Feb 3 2010, 09:48 PM

1,379 posts

wow ?
so heavy injured ?

luckily ur lappy still under warranty
may be u can send back to the services centre
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 09:55 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

omg....u ok??
about the laptop..try to tell them it's accident lo..prolly benq got accident warranty also?
dany06
post Feb 3 2010, 09:58 PM

120 posts

just small injury. my motorcycle also quite fine. but my lappy sad.gif i am wondering if it will take long time to repair?

does benq cover accident warranty?

This post has been edited by dany06: Feb 3 2010, 09:59 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 3 2010, 10:02 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

if got the part, can finish in 1-2 weeks time la
but if don have, have to wait the part from penang, or ship ur laptop to penang fix and send back..those sort prolly take 3 week or even more
verdangilte
post Feb 3 2010, 10:18 PM

1,379 posts

yalo , my fren spoil processor also need wait 2 month
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 10:22 PM

2,059 posts

Better call BenQ SC first..or much more easier way would be email nod.gif..ask them if got stock or not, and also how long for it to be done..and i think yours will be covered under warranty smile.gif (hopefully)...

Thank goodness you are fine bro smile.gif...
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 10:23 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

huah ~
Dell launch their M11x AW ^.^
shigoidesune ~
dany06
post Feb 3 2010, 10:33 PM

120 posts

i will go to anda service center tomorrow to check my lappy. hope everything will be fine
astria
post Feb 3 2010, 10:44 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 3 2010, 10:23 PM)
huah ~
Dell launch their M11x AW ^.^
shigoidesune ~
11" too small... not my cup of tea... laugh.gif

i dun mind sth like Acer Ferrari One though.. .laugh.gif comes with XGP...
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 10:45 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

acer still hv farrari ??
but M11x with SU4100 in US ~.~''' i prefer i5 ~.~'''
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 10:47 PM

1,693 posts

@Faz: Happy Birthday~~
@mich: interested but no money, plus i got my s42 already...
@Dany: give Mr.yap an email while you send to ANDA, tell them ur problem, hope they can give you definite answer for it~
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 10:49 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

felt to sold out mine unit for AW m11x ^^
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 11:00 PM

1,693 posts

damn i got problem to boot into live mode...
hell...i guess the only way to use linux in s42 is to hard install as an alternative OS..

3.You will see a line pop up at the bottom of the screen, move the cursor to the end of the line, and press [space] once.
4.Now, type: i8042.nomux=1 i8042.noloop=1

when install, can i just follow the above without flash into xp-bios 1st??

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 3 2010, 11:03 PM
dany06
post Feb 3 2010, 11:06 PM

120 posts

i dont flash my bios to xp. instead my bios version is 1.15. there is no problem with my graphic smile.gif
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 11:21 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 3 2010, 11:00 PM)
damn i got problem to boot into live mode...
hell...i guess the only way to use linux in s42 is to hard install as an alternative OS..
when install, can i just follow the above without flash into xp-bios 1st??
Yes you can..no need to flash to XP bios also can nod.gif..that just a command line for keyboard & touchpad smile.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:22 pmjust remember to edit the grub config so that you won't need to type the command many many times smile.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 3 2010, 11:22 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 11:35 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 3 2010, 11:21 PM)
Yes you can..no need to flash to XP bios also can nod.gif..that just a command line for keyboard & touchpad smile.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:22 pmjust remember to edit the grub config so that you won't need to type the command many many times smile.gif
dunno how to config ler..
last time i try to install alongside with win xp on my acer..
my grub corrupted..
since then i only use one os... sweat.gif sweat.gif

just run a furmark stability test for 1150 sec..
forgot to PS.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
but the temp highest is 88, from 531 sec onward it stays at 87c...
lucky i got log the temp..

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:36 pmwait...
how to type the command while it does not recognize the keyboard??

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 3 2010, 11:36 PM
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 11:39 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

powercfg -devicequery wake_armed

this one is to recognize ur device ~
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 11:43 PM

1,693 posts

add-on
what is physX for nvidia?
does 9600 gt has it on?

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 3 2010, 11:39 PM)
powercfg -devicequery wake_armed

this one is to recognize ur device ~
erm...point is,
how to type when i cant use my keyboard?

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 3 2010, 11:44 PM
monza84
post Feb 3 2010, 11:46 PM

2,059 posts

@want
While booting on grub, the keyboard still works...just that after you get onto the installation, keyboard cannot be recognized smile.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 3 2010, 11:46 PM

1,693 posts

alright...
b4 boot into live session press f6..
damn i am blur sia..
later i go try..

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:47 pmmaybe tomolo..
gonna print out the how-to..

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 3 2010, 11:47 PM
Dackson
post Feb 3 2010, 11:59 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

there is a virtual keyboard from window vista and 7 ^.^
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 12:36 AM

22,158 posts

PhysX is one of the features of GeForce cards written with NV's CUDA... simply speaking, PhysX allows in-game physics to be calculated by the GPU instead of the CPU for real-time and more realistic effects...

eg of games that support PhysX are Mirror's Edge and Borderlands...

PhysX can be ran on any NV GPU thay supports CUDA, ie GPU running on the Unified Streaming Processors architecture, to in layman's term, GeForce 8 or later...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2010, 12:37 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 12:58 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 12:36 AM)
PhysX is one of the features of GeForce cards written with NV's CUDA... simply speaking, PhysX allows in-game physics to be calculated by the GPU instead of the CPU for real-time and more realistic effects...

eg of games that support PhysX are Mirror's Edge and Borderlands...

PhysX can be ran on any NV GPU thay supports CUDA, ie GPU running on the Unified Streaming Processors architecture, to in layman's term, GeForce 8 or later...
i love the layman term part tongue.gif
so i just have to enable it on the game config or nvidia config center?
based on the explanation, PhysX seems to be stress GPU even more...
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 01:07 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 12:58 AM)
i love the layman term part tongue.gif
so i just have to enable it on the game config or nvidia config center?
based on the explanation, PhysX seems to be stress GPU even more...
yup, PhysX would stress the GPU more, so NV has shut it down for cards with less than 32SP, or 256MB RAM, or both... (aka min would be GT 220M, GT120M, 9500M GS and 8600M GT for each generation of cards)

it's enabled by default, and u can disable it at the NV Control Panel...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 01:15 AM

1,693 posts

then mine one is weird de....
cos on gpu-z show disable but on the config show enabled...
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 07:11 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 01:15 AM)

then mine one is weird de....
cos on gpu-z show disable but on the config show enabled...
This one weird, should be enabled for both nod.gif...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 08:56 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 07:11 AM)
This one weird, should be enabled for both nod.gif...
wasei, mia you are early..
ya i notice it when i got gpu-z running the 1st time...
wonders why..

anyway i downloaded 3dmark 06..
so i just run at default config rite?
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:18 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

@want: u using what laptop again? and which driver? iirc DoX's driver by default don have physX one..maybe if u are using it, that's why GPU-Z shows disabled...u can try download it from NV site

btw: it's monza, *ahem ahem* not mia, and he is always that early..haha

Added on February 4, 2010, 9:26 amwow...today check my siggy here, then only notice my folding score raise till 1.8k liao..hehe..
too bad today slightly overslept, no time turn on laptop..hehe, saturday i fold both laptop and desktop..hehehe

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 4 2010, 09:26 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 09:26 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 09:18 AM)
@want: u using what laptop again? and which driver? iirc DoX's driver by default don have physX one..maybe if u are using it, that's why GPU-Z shows disabled...u can try download it from NV site

btw: it's monza, *ahem ahem* not mia, and he is always that early..haha
stole ur siggy and modded it into mine..
i am using s42..
and i am using DOX...
aiyo...then no choice lo...
using official driver will resulted high temp for GPU rite?
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 09:27 AM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

guys, since now the m11x has launched, the gpu is superb, but the processor is.. sweat.gif

but overall, will it be better than s57? p8700, 4650 vs Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor SU7300 (1.3GHz/800MHz FSB/3M Cache), gt335M shocking.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:32 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

lol i think i stole from someone else last time also...so go ahead..i even forgot to change my CPU model until 2-3 weeks later suddenly notice lol

actually can use physx also with DoX's driver, just need to download the physx software driver from official site and install it, can download separately one...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 09:35 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 09:32 AM)
lol i think i stole from someone else last time also...so go ahead..i even forgot to change my CPU model until 2-3 weeks later suddenly notice lol

actually can use physx also with DoX's driver, just need to download the physx software driver from official site and install it, can download separately one...
oo..i never know tongue.gif
so if download and enble with dox driver,
there wont be any glitch hor?

BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:37 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

so far i don think have any la, but s42 cannot handle physx one...u install also no use, see slideshow in game
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 09:40 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 09:37 AM)
so far i don think have any la, but s42  cannot handle physx one...u install also no use, see slideshow in game
why would tat so?
too good for our GPU to handle?
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 09:40 AM

22,158 posts

32SP is juz too weak for both graphic and PhysX...

Added on February 4, 2010, 9:41 amanyway, u can grab PhysX driver from LV2G as well... they have separated it from the Forceware...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2010, 09:41 AM
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:41 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

yeah...our card is not barely powerful to be a physx dedicated subcard(means just calculate physx only), let alone rendering both physx claculation and graphics together..
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 09:42 AM

22,158 posts

if only render PhysX 32SP ig good enuf....

but both... nah... forget abt it...
highwind85
post Feb 4 2010, 09:43 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 09:27 AM)
guys, since now the m11x has launched, the gpu is superb, but the processor is.. sweat.gif

but overall, will it be better than s57? p8700, 4650 vs Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor SU7300 (1.3GHz/800MHz FSB/3M Cache), gt335M shocking.gif
Hmm..would the cpu become the bottleneck? with the lower clock speed and lower FSB...And that should be the bottleneck for the DDR3 RAM as well...1366x768 on 11 inch would make the characters all very small....But it's impressive how the manage to squeeze all that into a small machine...the GT335 should be so where near 4650/4670?
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:46 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

that alienware, for now, it would be CPU bottlenecked, but in the future, it will not..as games move more and more to GPU, and also, with OpenCL existing and look promising, GPU can also help in general processing, so CPU would have far less task in future gaming
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 09:46 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

Yday were playing l4d2, and I can feel the heat on my left palm. Need to monitor my temp already. sad.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 09:47 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 09:42 AM)
if only render PhysX 32SP ig good enuf....

but both... nah... forget abt it...
interesting tech PhysX is...
i gonna go and dig more about it..

32sp, sp refers to wat?

@high
saw ur argument on the notebook cooler there,
nice one~ icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 4 2010, 10:08 AM
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 09:48 AM

22,158 posts

72SP, GDDR3, DX10.1... hmm.gif

the lack of DX11 is juz totally sweat.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:48 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

shader processor, a.k.a shader core

Added on February 4, 2010, 9:48 amastria is talking about GT 335M?

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 4 2010, 09:48 AM
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 09:49 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 09:47 AM)
interesting tech PhysX is...
i gonna go and dig more about it..

32sp, sp refers to wat?
@high
saw ur argument on the notebook coller there,
nice one~ icon_rolleyes.gif
SP = Stream Processors = wat that's responsible for rendering the graphic...

Added on February 4, 2010, 9:49 am
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 09:48 AM)
shader processor, a.k.a shader core

Added on February 4, 2010, 9:48 amastria is talking about GT 335M?
nod.gif

makes a g0od folding GPU though... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2010, 09:49 AM
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 09:52 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

still waiting GF-100 to come out..since they mention it's more optimized for folding..

oh ya, if i get a GF-100 card, let's say GTX-460, will it be bottlenecked by PCE-E x16 1.1?
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 09:59 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 09:52 AM)
still waiting GF-100 to come out..since they mention it's more optimized for folding..

oh ya, if i get a GF-100 card, let's say GTX-460, will it be bottlenecked by PCE-E x16  1.1?
GPU are still far from using up PCI-E 1.1 x16's bandwidth...
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 10:01 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

but then cards like 4870x2 would require PCE-E x16 2.0 right? i just sked later got bottlenecked..haha
thanks a lot, now i can safely wait for fermi to come out
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 10:03 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 10:01 AM)
but then cards like 4870x2 would require PCE-E x16 2.0 right? i just sked later got bottlenecked..haha
thanks a lot, now i can safely wait for fermi to come out
nah, PCI-E 1.1 will still work...

the main reason for the shift to PCI-E 2.0 is that it can provide more power, thus removing the need for the extra power plugs (by rit)
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 10:08 AM

1,693 posts

looking at comparison of all nivida and ati cards at here and here...
siao one...a GPU alone has so many to compare already...

erm...i wonder..
if i go and change the ram into ddr3,
i should be able to fully utilize the speed rite?

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 4 2010, 10:14 AM
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 10:42 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 10:08 AM)
looking at comparison of all nivida and ati cards at here and here...
siao one...a GPU alone has so many to compare already...

erm...i wonder..
if i go and change the ram into ddr3,
i should be able to fully utilize the speed rite?
DDR3 on S42 mobo?
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 10:45 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:42 AM)
DDR3 on S42 mobo?
s42 mobo cannot use DDR3??
i dunno eh.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 10:46 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

can not lah, only ddr2, fixed
physically doesn't fit.
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 10:47 AM

2,059 posts

Can S42 use DDR3 RAM?? I doubt so hmm.gif...

Added on February 4, 2010, 10:47 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:46 AM)
physically doesn't fit.
Thanks for clarifying notworthy.gif..

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 10:47 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 10:48 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:46 AM)
physically doesn't fit.
then..
then...
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
great, i shall get another 2gb ddr2
settle it once and for all...
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 10:56 AM

2,059 posts

Well, DDR2 or DDR3 won't make much of a difference nod.gif...maybe slightly higher but still the CPU would be the bottleneck for speed smile.gif

sign0006.gif
Just want to show off,

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 11:01 AM
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 10:59 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 10:45 AM)
s42 mobo cannot use DDR3??
i dunno eh.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Cannot, different RAM slot. smile.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 11:13 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:56 AM)
Well, DDR2 or DDR3 won't make much of a difference nod.gif...maybe slightly higher but still the CPU would be the bottleneck for speed smile.gif

sign0006.gif
Just want to show off,

p8700-1066 fbs still will bottleneck eh...
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
well, if tat case, ddr3 or not does not matter lo

wtf is tat speed????????
where are u?
mars?

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 4 2010, 11:14 AM
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 11:18 AM

22,158 posts

not Singapore... laugh.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 11:33 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

that's a regular 4M full speed...he could be anywhere biggrin.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 11:40 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 11:33 AM)
that's a regular 4M full speed...he could be anywhere biggrin.gif
4m 517kb,
1m also got 100kb rite?
why i never see mine anywhere near 60kbs???
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 11:57 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

u arent a heavy user right?
my guessing on how streamyx able to come out with extra bandwidth way more then their capability is because they cut of part of those average users's bandwidth, and share among other ppl, since average user also would hardly hit 100kb usage
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 12:11 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 11:57 AM)
u arent a heavy user right?
my guessing on how streamyx able to come out with extra bandwidth way more then their capability is because they cut of part of those average users's bandwidth, and share among other ppl, since average user also would hardly hit 100kb usage
no i am not a heavy user
rarely do torrent
when i do, the speed is also pathetic..
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 12:19 PM

2,059 posts

Well, just like BBX said, TM took a bit of bandwidth where as a users (like want) that doesn't use much of his line and share it with others, which by any means kinda vmad.gif...

Mine is 4MB speed, so kinda normal for that speed la want...but now its kinda rare to get such consistent speed sad.gif
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 12:24 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:19 PM)
Well, just like BBX said, TM took a bit of bandwidth where as a users (like want) that doesn't use much of his line and share it with others, which by any means kinda vmad.gif...

Mine is 4MB speed, so kinda normal for that speed la want...but now its kinda rare to get such consistent speed sad.gif
Aiya, better than my lar. Using hsdpa to online, need to see peak hour a not.

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Feb 4 2010, 12:24 PM
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 12:27 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:24 PM)
Aiya, better than my lar. Using hsdpa to online, need to see peak hour a not.
HSDPA, why you use that hmm.gif...no decent connection at your place hmm.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 12:27 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 12:30 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 4 2010, 09:59 AM)
LOL @ Dell card is made by Dell - Its made by Broadcom

Honestly , its just a Broadcom BCM43xx card . If you go with Intel wifi offering , it will be Intel Centrino. The reason why some of us prefer Broadcom or Atheros is that when you're on linux. This card can be used for war-driving , cracking WEP , and other goodies
anyoen know how to do the cracking using other wifi card?
i start itchy after see prasys saying that
linux so song..brows.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 12:37 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

eh want, u can do one thing, but it will take u at least 1/2 hour

just call up TM, waiting process to get to consultant, 10 minutes, then talk to consultant...consultant will try to convince that it's ur setting on router or whatever crap makes it slow, not their issue..and ak u do this do that..
u just talk crap to them, say your friend(or urself) done basic trouble shooting, and ask them file a report for u..whole process normally takes at least 30 minutes to 1 hour, depending on how long u wait for customer consultant, and how convincing u are..

after that, some technician will call u up, prolly setup appointment for u to come check, after the checking, ur speed will be back...and when it's back, become a heavy user, so that they would never be able to take away bandwidth from u
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 12:45 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 12:30 PM)
anyoen know how to do the cracking using other wifi card?
i start itchy after see prasys saying that
linux so song..brows.gif
Well, one advantages when use either Atheros or Broadcom wireless adapter smile.gif...well, google around and you'll find some that is quite good brows.gif

@BBX
I done that like millions of time edi laugh.gif...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 12:45 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 12:37 PM)

just call up TM, waiting process to get to consultant, 10 minutes, then talk to consultant...consultant will try to convince that it's ur setting on router or whatever crap makes it slow, not their issue..and ak u do this do that..
u just talk crap to them, say your friend(or urself) done basic trouble shooting, and ask them file a report for u..whole process normally takes at least 30 minutes to 1 hour, depending on how long u wait for customer consultant, and how convincing u are..

after that, some technician will call u up, prolly setup appointment for u to come check, after the checking, ur speed will be back...and when it's back, become a heavy user, so that they would never be able to take away bandwidth from u
i am willing to do all these...
but...
how to become a heavy user..
cant find so many things to download.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 12:47 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 12:45 PM)
i am willing to do all these...
but...
how to become a heavy user..
cant find so many things to download.. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
sign0006.gif
Then maybe you can downgrade or change your package...you are using what package now??
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 01:26 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

if u don have, then help ur friends lo..hahaha
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 01:30 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Anyone played battefield bad company 2 on s42? How's the settings?
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 01:30 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:27 PM)
HSDPA, why you use that hmm.gif...no decent connection at your place hmm.gif
At SG, dun intend to use cable broadband mar and need to bring for work sometime. No choice lor.

But after 12am, sure peak at around 250kb/s rclxms.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 02:12 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:47 PM)
sign0006.gif
Then maybe you can downgrade or change your package...you are using what package now??
1mb~
down to 512? dont think so...
scare the speed will be siao one..
plus mine only 77 per month,
if down to 512 will likely be the same price..
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 02:29 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

darn...saw the samsung XL2370 23'' LED backlit LCD monitor..damn nice..but price is 1090..kinda pricy

any thread selling any good monitors? or any suggestion here? plan to use as enlarged display for s42
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 02:31 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

the dell one? 24'' for rm 799~
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 02:47 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 12:37 PM)

LoL. They love to ask you test this test that. I just tell them, 'sudah sudah sudah' till they say nothing. LoL.
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 02:50 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

upon 3rd or 4th test i'll just talk back say "look, i'm a computing student that studied networking related subject before, all the stuff u told me to do..either i did last time i called, or i did it before, and if they really help, i wouldnt even have called you..so could you just jump straight to the conclusion, and file a report for me? i even have my speed test result taken just right before i called you here"
then they just diam diam..haha
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 03:00 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 02:50 PM)
upon 3rd or 4th test i'll just talk back say "look, i'm a computing student that studied networking related subject before, all the stuff u told me to do..either i did last time i called, or i did it before, and if they really help, i wouldnt even have called you..so could you just jump straight to the conclusion, and file a report for me? i even have my speed test result taken just right before i called you here"
Nah, I did not so mean to they all. All I request to them is reset my port, they happily reset my port. As don't have speed problem before. smile.gif
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 03:01 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 02:50 PM)
ahah, mine as well..i also answer like this, keep asking me check that,check this...then i would say: 'i'm a computing student and i kinda know a lot about networking!"

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 03:03 PM
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 03:28 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

why some "colorful dot dot" appear at my s41 all over screen, but hover my mouse over it will gone o_O

rarely happen..
nelson_hew
post Feb 4 2010, 03:35 PM

198 posts

Signs of your graphic card going crazy. better prepare to get it to SC.
Because mine same case as yours (act. alot of plp kena liao), it gets worse and sometimes the graphic just die on you without any signs.
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 03:35 PM

1,693 posts

sign0006.gif
here
this one best...i want to get one tongue.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 3:37 pm
QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 4 2010, 03:28 PM)
why some "colorful dot dot" appear at my s41 all over screen, but hover my mouse over it will gone o_O

rarely happen..
yes, u probably should find time and send ur laptop to SC already
if really is gpu probelm, the service will be FOC regardless the warranty still valid or not

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 4 2010, 03:37 PM
highwind85
post Feb 4 2010, 03:38 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 4 2010, 03:28 PM)

rarely happen..
The 8600GS is dying...brace yourself to send it to service centre soon or buy a new laptop..
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 03:41 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Feb 4 2010, 03:35 PM)
Signs of your graphic card going crazy. better prepare to get it to SC.
Because mine same case as yours (act. alot of plp kena liao), it gets worse and sometimes the graphic just die on you without any signs.
its new mobo o_o but similar gc sweat.gif
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 03:55 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 03:35 PM)
sign0006.gif
here
this one best...i want to get one tongue.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 3:37 pm

yes, u probably should find time and send ur laptop to SC already
if really is gpu probelm, the service will be FOC regardless the warranty still valid or not
Mind to explain why? Usually after warranty they don't covered already right?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 03:56 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

this gpu 8400m/8600m is special case laugh.gif
highwind85
post Feb 4 2010, 04:08 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Feb 4 2010, 03:55 PM)
Mind to explain why? Usually after warranty they don't covered already right?
Because it's not consumer's fault on the faulty chip..it's nVidia's fault..Out of goodwill, benq help to replace the mobo for free...
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 04:09 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

that one, is the spec(material) announced by nvidia that is causing the defect, so basically is nvidia's fault, and i think they still provide free replacement for defective units
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 04:09 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:08 PM)
Because it's not consumer's fault on the faulty chip..it's nVidia's fault..Out of goodwill, benq help to replace the mobo for free...
already call the related tech, and inform him i will be going to his office tomorow o_o
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 04:11 PM

120 posts

regarding my lcd crack, i just went survey the price to fix. At SC, they quote rm968(838 for lcd panel + 130 for labour fee). but they dont have stock. earliest can repair is after chinese new year. if after that i want to continue the warranty, they have to check my lappy condition first then only can continue. fyi this saturday my lappy will be 2 weeks old sad.gif

then i went to other repair shop. they want to charge me around rm 600 total and will take around 2-3 days to change the display. now im wondering which one should i choose? i need all of you opinion and suggestion. if i sent to normal shop the warranty will be void. i have 11 months more sad.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 04:16 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:11 PM)
regarding my lcd crack, i just went survey the price to fix. At SC, they quote rm968(838 for lcd panel + 130 for labour fee). but they dont have stock. earliest can repair is after chinese new year. if after that i want to continue the warranty, they have to check my lappy condition first then only can continue. fyi this saturday my lappy will be 2 weeks old sad.gif

then i went to other repair shop. they want to charge me around rm 600 total and will take around 2-3 days to change the display. now im wondering which one should i choose? i need all of you opinion and suggestion. if i sent to normal shop the warranty will be void. i have 11 months more sad.gif
the shop give u LCD monitor or LED-backlit LCD monitor???

S42 is using LED backlit unlike S41...
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 04:17 PM

120 posts

LED. they say LCD cant be use because the use different connector. LED use ribbon. how ar?
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 04:17 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:11 PM)

get SC check ur lappy 1st and get definite answer for the warranty before you decide anything
if after SC service, the warranty will not be renew no point also.
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 04:18 PM

2,059 posts

@miloy
I feel for you bro...just received the lappy not to long ago already got problem sweat.gif..ask them to change to S42 mobo icon_idea.gif

@dany
Well, maybe you can ask SC first..if you repair with other company, will it affect your warranty

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 04:19 PM
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 04:20 PM

120 posts

SC can't check my lappy before they fix the LCD first. After they fix only they can decide to continue or not. If other device is broken, they will charge me to repair the device first. After tip top condition only can continue warranty

if repair with other company confirm warranty will not continue

This post has been edited by dany06: Feb 4 2010, 04:21 PM
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 04:23 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:18 PM)
@miloy
I feel for you bro...just received the lappy not to long ago already got problem sweat.gif..ask them to change to S42 mobo icon_idea.gif

@dany
Well, maybe you can ask SC first..if you repair with other company, will it affect your warranty
sad.gif will try to ask them tomorrow sweat.gif

BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 04:23 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

errr...

IMO, repair at SC, and get a second year warranty while you're at it..and as for discount a bit...
if u repair at shop, dunno what LCD they will give u..later they simply throw in a cheapo one, then u wont get the same crisp and image quality as u can get now...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 04:25 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:20 PM)
SC can't check my lappy before they fix the LCD first. After they fix only they can decide to continue or not. If other device is broken, they will charge me to repair the device first. After tip top condition only can continue warranty

if repair with other company confirm warranty will not continue
then...i would suggest get SC to do it once and for all
u will have ur mind at peace since SC will have it fixed..
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 04:27 PM

120 posts

but at SC, i have to wait for long time. i need to use my lappy urgently. and the cost is kaboom sad.gif
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 04:31 PM

2,059 posts

Yup, better understand the terms first...and like everyone say, just afraid that the other shop would give you a cheapo LED-backlit LCD sweat.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 04:34 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:27 PM)
but at SC, i have to wait for long time. i need to use my lappy urgently. and the cost is kaboom sad.gif
better pain now or later
remember, ur lappy is only one month old..
i think the warranty is very important...for me la...
u need to consider what if get other shop fix it,
but then in the future got problem again..
SC is the safe bet..anything adventurous,
u need to think twice shocking.gif shocking.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 04:35 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

i know service centre will cost more, but u might wanna think about your warranty as well...other shop help u, they got provide warranty?
second...i mentioned, what kinda of lcd they gonna give u..RM600 is LED backlit? i scare they simply take from a 14'' acer one and install into ur unit
not to mention, ur original warranty will be no more
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 04:42 PM

120 posts

thanks all for the recommendation. i still need to think. btw who is mr yap. somebody mention him before. how can i contact him? can he help me to give faster service. btw different SC same stock or what? does it mean if i go to SC at PJ, their stock is the same with SC at other place?
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 04:47 PM

1,693 posts

can contact him by lodge a query at official malaysia website
here
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 04:57 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

teh dot come and go o_o >_< but doesn't appear on lcd/crt that hook to
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 04:58 PM

120 posts

thanks smile.gif hope he can help me? anyone can answer about the stock of different SC? if i go to another SC is it possible if i can get it repair faster?
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 05:02 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 4 2010, 04:58 PM)
thanks smile.gif hope he can help me? anyone can answer about the stock of different SC? if i go to another SC is it possible if i can get it repair faster?
Do you mean stock level or what? Please elaborate what is 'same stock' ?
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:08 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

wanna ask, what it takes to render out a smooth 1080P playback?

and BD = 720P or 1080P?

sign0006.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 4 2010, 05:08 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

anyone wanna buy benq s57b second hand? ^^
dany06
post Feb 4 2010, 05:09 PM

120 posts

erk.. i mean if i go to first SC, they say no more stock, have to wait for shipment from taiwan. is it possible if i go to another SC, they still have the stock? because i went to SC in tropicana, but no more lcd panel stock. let say if i go to SC in seremban, will they have any stock left or they are sharing their stock?
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 05:10 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

i think bluray is 1080p, and all u need is a ION or above GPU
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:10 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:08 PM)
anyone wanna buy benq s57b second hand? ^^
too exp for me.. if nt i sure buy 1.. sad.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 05:10 PM)
i think bluray is 1080p, and all u need is a ION or above GPU
so BD= 1080P = fullHD, 720P = HD?

erm, what do u think about 8600m GS?

This post has been edited by evolution120: Feb 4 2010, 05:11 PM
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 05:12 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

8600M GS sure can la..haha
although it's best that u install core AVC codec to run..
Joshua_0718
post Feb 4 2010, 05:12 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:09 PM)
erk.. i mean if i go to first SC, they say no more stock, have to wait for shipment from taiwan. is it possible if i go to another SC, they still have the stock? because i went to SC in tropicana, but no more lcd panel stock. let say if i go to SC in seremban, will they have any stock left or they are sharing their stock?
Not sure how's the management for BenQ MY. But I do believe they have inventory database, where they could able to see other branch stock level as well?

Call up BenQ to ask better. smile.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 4 2010, 05:13 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

RM2600 ^^
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 05:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

evo, even my t2250 & gma950 can play 1080p if the bitrate isn't that high (<7mb/s) laugh.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 05:17 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:13 PM)
RM2600 ^^
mich..
dont make me cry over my s42 le...
i bought at 2499 ler...
haiz.. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 5:18 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:14 PM)
evo, even my t2250 & gma950 can play 1080p if the bitrate isn't that high (<7mb/s) laugh.gif
lee, what is bitrate?
even is 1080p, still have to consider bitrate when rendering?

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 4 2010, 05:18 PM
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:19 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 05:12 PM)
8600M GS sure can la..haha
although it's best that u install core AVC codec to run..
dunoo oo.. thinking to run it using realplayer or classic lol..
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:13 PM)
RM2600 ^^
no money liao buy jor screen sad.gif
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:14 PM)
i duno yet.. nv try any 1080 movies on my lappy b4 =/
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 4 2010, 05:20 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

haha... okays ^^ i reserved to verdang liaw. smile.gif
if he don wan accesories then cheaper or less than RM26*** xD

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Feb 4 2010, 05:20 PM
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 05:22 PM

2,059 posts

So verdang is going for S57 brows.gif...he'll be regular here also laugh.gif...
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 05:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 05:17 PM)
mich..
dont make me cry over my s42 le...
i bought at 2499 ler...
haiz.. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 5:18 pm

lee, what is bitrate?
even is 1080p, still have to consider bitrate when rendering?
Well, higher bitrate means better image quality, but also needs more resources...

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:19 PM)
dunoo oo.. thinking to run it using realplayer or classic lol..
no money liao buy jor screen sad.gif

i duno yet.. nv try any 1080 movies on my lappy b4 =/
realplayer or classic is player, CoreAVC is codec different laugh.gif
CoreAVC can use the CUDA on nvidia card to help decoding the videos, hence lower cpu usage smile.gif
or cheaper solution, DXVA, but not all videos is applicable~
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:25 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:23 PM)
Well, higher bitrate means better image quality, but also needs more resources...
CoreAVC can use the CUDA on nvidia card to help decoding the videos, hence lower cpu usage smile.gif
DXVA? is a device?

lolx, coreAVC might be my new choice brows.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 05:25 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:23 PM)
then how do we know the bitrate of a video?
how to obtain high bitrate video?
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 05:32 PM

22,158 posts

i remembered using MPC-HC on a Full HD movie (40Mbps)... 8600M GS barely cut it... laugh.gif never try CoreAVC though...
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 05:34 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 05:32 PM)
i remembered using MPC-HC on a Full HD movie (40Mbps)... 8600M GS barely cut it... laugh.gif never try CoreAVC though...
How's the quality...really got cut/downgrade a lot sweat.gif..never tried any Full HD yet with mine laugh.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:35 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 05:32 PM)
really that bad meh.. dry.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 05:36 PM

22,158 posts

yeah... CPU usage (T7100) maintained 50-70%... laugh.gif

that's how bad it was...

remember the "Samsung Oceanic Life" video that some of u asked for last time???

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2010, 05:36 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 05:39 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:25 PM)
DXVA? is a device?

lolx, coreAVC might be my new choice brows.gif
dxva is using hardware acceleration from the gpu as well, but only support videos that encoded to support dxva.... iirc

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 4 2010, 05:25 PM)
then how do we know the bitrate of a video?
how to obtain high bitrate video?
can use mediainfo to check it....
rip the BD? or download the BD-rip, high one usually runs >20gb a movies....
my limit is playing the 8GB one laugh.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 05:41 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:39 PM)
dxva is using hardware acceleration from the gpu as well, but only support videos that encoded to support dxva.... iirc
can use mediainfo to check it....
rip the BD? or download the BD-rip, high one usually runs >20gb a movies....
my limit is playing the 8GB one laugh.gif
>20bg...
i guess...i'll pass...
try to find external bd drive might faster than download 20gb...
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 05:41 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 05:36 PM)

that's how bad it was...

Well, for the samsung oceanic life video, 9600M GT can still handle it well using MPC-HC..but got downgraded a little, CPU maintained at 40% like that for me sweat.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 05:42 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

ya..that video lags...
astria

22,158 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:41 PM)
Well, for the samsung oceanic life video, 9600M GT can still handle it well using MPC-HC..but got downgraded a little, CPU maintained at 40% like that for me sweat.gif
yup, that's a real GPU burner as far as HD videos are concerned...

alright, off for some jogging... see u guys later...
evolution120

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

that's how bad it was...

what if i use gpu to render it?
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 05:47 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

we are using GPU to render it...
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:48 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

but if with realplayer, classic?
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 05:49 PM

2,059 posts

Same goes with any player i guess...if it can rendered by the GPU, it will be rendered by GPU instead of CPU nod.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:50 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

can make it to render with cpu?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 05:54 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

gpu is much faster than cpu...
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 05:58 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

same with folding theory.. =/

but u see, i just subscribed torrentflux, wanna try 1080P movies on my lappy, but seems like it doesnt really have a good result.. what about 720P? since 23 inch screen is not really that big..
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:04 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, 720p is enough for <32'' screen...
-kytz-
post Feb 4 2010, 06:05 PM

12,573 posts

Does the i5 SXPS 16 have GMA HD in the mobo?
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:07 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:04 PM)
Well, 720p is enough for <32'' screen...
in terms of?

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 4 2010, 06:05 PM)
Does the i5 SXPS 16 have GMA HD in the mobo?
dell thread over there>>> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1194826
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

in term of viewing experience? laugh.gif

sign0006.gif

-kytz-
post Feb 4 2010, 06:12 PM

12,573 posts

My bad sad.gif

Does i5 come with GMA HD in the mobo itself? icon_idea.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:13 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:10 PM)
in term of viewing experience? laugh.gif

sign0006.gif

hmm.. enough to render the movie out smoothly using my gpu?
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 06:13 PM

2,059 posts

Just like lee explained earlier...depends on which chipset nod.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 06:18 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:17 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 4 2010, 06:12 PM)
My bad sad.gif

The GMA HD comes with the CPU, not the mobo

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:13 PM)
hmm.. enough to render the movie out smoothly using my gpu?
Last time tested gma 950 output to 20'' 1440x900 watching 720p, still sufficient tongue.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:18 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:17 PM)
The GMA HD comes with the CPU, not the mobo
Last time tested gma 950 output to 20'' 1440x900 watching 720p, still sufficient tongue.gif
oh yea.. drool.gif bt still, wanna compare 720 with 1080 =P

hopefully my gpu can render it smoothly..

btw, izit possible to render it using cpu+gpu?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:21 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

If the gpu not enough, the cpu should help...
just like some previous post, 9600m gt to decode the samsung oceanic video but still need 40% cpu usage~
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:22 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

samsung oceanic video = ?

with 100% max gpu and additional 40% cpu?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:25 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:22 PM)
samsung oceanic video = ?

with 100% max gpu and additional 40% cpu?
this one~

that's how bad it was...

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 05:41 PM)
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:28 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:25 PM)
this one~
dont get it.. =/
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:30 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, as long the movies is around 4-8GB shouldn't be any problem...
larger than that, I haven't tested tongue.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:33 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

1080P quantum of solace, 8.75G and 720P pirates of the Caribbean trilogy awaits..

wanna to render it on my gpu.. =D
prasys
post Feb 4 2010, 06:34 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 4 2010, 06:12 PM)
My bad sad.gif

Processor , it depends , the processor has it . Its up to the OEM to allow users to use hybrid graphics or not (aka switch to Intel or dedicated graphics). The graphics card is part of the i5 and i3
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:35 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 4 2010, 06:34 PM)
Processor , it depends , the processor has it . Its up to the OEM to allow users to use hybrid graphics or not (aka switch to Intel or dedicated graphics). The graphics card is part of the i5 and i3
i7?

if the oem didnt manage to build it, then is there any software that can make it enabled?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:40 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:35 PM)
i7?

if the oem didnt manage to build it, then is there any software that can make it enabled?
Only i7 dual core, the quad core doesn't come with GMA HD...
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:41 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:40 PM)
Only i7 dual core, the quad core doesn't come with GMA HD...
i7 have dual core?? ohmy.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 06:42 PM

22,158 posts

all the new dual core has GPU built into it...

it's a matter of mobo choice by the OEM...

HM55, HM57, QM55 and QS55 have the bus that connects to the GPU and the display output, while PM55 has none of those...
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:45 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

what does the 55 and 57 stand for?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:46 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:41 PM)
i7 have dual core??  ohmy.gif
i7-620M, i7-620LM, i7-620UM, i7-640LM, i7-640UM
or can say the recently released of i7 all is dual core...
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 06:47 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:45 PM)
what does the 55 and 57 stand for?
model of chipset...

juz like for the Core 2, there's PM45, GM47, GM45, GS45, GL40, and so on...
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:50 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:46 PM)
i7-620M, i7-620LM, i7-620UM, i7-640LM, i7-640UM
or can say the recently released of i7 all is dual core...
those series also applicable for desktop edition? desktop core i7 also have dual core?

what the diff between M, LM and UM?
QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 06:47 PM)
model of chipset...

juz like for the Core 2, there's PM45, GM47, GM45, GS45, GL40, and so on...
i knw its the model for the chipset, but there must be something diff in the mobo right?
TSfabianz03
post Feb 4 2010, 06:51 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 06:42 PM)
all the new dual core has GPU built into it...

it's a matter of mobo choice by the OEM...

HM55, HM57, QM55 and QS55 have the bus that connects to the GPU and the display output, while PM55 has none of those...

Something like this right ? drool.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:51 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:51 PM)

Something like this right ?  drool.gif
is this a proc?
TSfabianz03
post Feb 4 2010, 06:52 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:51 PM)
is this a proc?
Proc + iGPU on the chip.
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:54 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

iGPU=?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 06:54 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:50 PM)
those series also applicable for desktop edition? desktop core i7 also have dual core?

what the diff between M, LM and UM?
i knw its the model for the chipset, but there must be something diff in the mobo right?
Should be only for notebook.
M=mobile, perhaps...
L= low voltage
U= ultra-low-voltage..
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 06:55 PM

22,158 posts

left is CPU, right is GPU...

http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=4318...694,43179,43183,

a comparison between QM57, PM55, HM57 and HM55...
TSfabianz03

4,649 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:54 PM)
iGPU=?
integrated GPU
astria

22,158 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:54 PM)
Should be only for notebook.
M=mobile, perhaps...
L= low voltage
U= ultra-low-voltage..
Q= quad...
X= extreme...
corrected... laugh.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 6:56 pmbasically, PM55 is HM57 without graphic support, while HM55 has some features of HM57 stripped off, like Matrix Storage, less USB ports, less SATA ports...

QM57 is HM57 but with some features targeted at business...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2010, 06:57 PM
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 06:58 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 06:55 PM)
left is CPU, right is GPU...

http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=4318...694,43179,43183,

a comparison between QM57, PM55, HM57 and HM55...
lolx, more like a desktop mobo lol.. bt still, thx for the link icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 06:55 PM)
corrected... laugh.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 6:56 pmbasically, PM55 is HM57 without graphic support, while HM55 has some featurs stripped off, like Matrix Storage, less USB ports, less SATA ports...

QM57 is HM57 but with some features targeted at business...
hardly find any extreme processor in the market nowadays lol..
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 07:03 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

i7-920QXM? laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 07:10 PM

22,158 posts

well, AMD has 2 BE CPU coming out...
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 07:14 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 07:03 PM)
i7-920QXM? laugh.gif
well, i mean the good old core 2 extreme processor lol
QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 07:10 PM)
well, AMD has 2 BE CPU coming out...
extreme series processor?
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 07:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

astria, this year or next year?

any benq notebook with amd? hmm.gif
evolution120
post Feb 4 2010, 07:16 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 4 2010, 07:14 PM)
astria, this year or next year?

any benq notebook with amd? hmm.gif
benq only supports intel laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 07:19 PM

22,158 posts

this year, May...

a quad and a dual... 2.3GHz and 3.1GHz respectively...
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 08:22 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 07:19 PM)
this year, May...

a quad and a dual... 2.3GHz and 3.1GHz respectively...
eh astria sempai, is teh dot2 come and go (rarely) and only show @ my lcd whereby @ external display (LCD/CRT) .. what teh prob eh? rclxub.gif

using win7 64bit

takut if bring to sc no prob.. then waste time doh.gif

monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 08:27 PM

2,059 posts

Can give use screenshots...or maybe some videos for it...try re-installed the graphic driver hmm.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 08:45 PM

22,158 posts

looks like sign of failing soon... hmm.gif
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 08:48 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 08:45 PM)
O wai...btw astria...miloy just received his S41 for about a week time iirc tongue.gif...just got out from SC, need to send it back just sweat.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 08:50 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 08:48 PM)
O wai...btw astria...miloy just received his S41 for about a week time iirc tongue.gif...just got out from SC, need to send it back just sweat.gif
well, it's hard to say... u never know... nod.gif
monza84
post Feb 4 2010, 08:51 PM

2,059 posts

btw astria...now surfing using Safari..from what i can see, my GPU temp seems to be higher while using Safari than FF, why?? hmm.gif..does Safari uses the GPU for processing the image (as in Aero hmm.gif)...need some light yo...

Added on February 4, 2010, 8:54 pmJust an update :

Safari = GPU 67C
FF = GPU 63C

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 4 2010, 08:54 PM
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2010, 09:49 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 08:27 PM)
Can give use screenshots...or maybe some videos for it...try re-installed the graphic driver hmm.gif
i did do teh screen shot but when save nothing come out.. o_o teh dot2 come and gone like chips more.. update teh driver (override it) but seems similar prob.. happen.

after restart gone...

just check with our company technician.. logically if problem happen with gc, teh dot2 should appear also at external monitor right sweat.gif

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 08:45 PM)
sad.gif ... teh previous "curse" ... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 08:48 PM)
yup2

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 08:50 PM)
well, it's hard to say... u never know... nod.gif
sweat.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Feb 4 2010, 09:50 PM
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 4 2010, 10:10 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

sorry yea its me again.. hehe... my benq s57 price revised again. offering best price rm2599 .. biggrin.gif
interested pm me.. hehez
astria
post Feb 4 2010, 10:16 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 08:51 PM)
btw astria...now surfing using Safari..from what i can see, my GPU temp seems to be higher while using Safari than FF, why?? hmm.gif..does Safari uses the GPU for processing the image (as in Aero hmm.gif)...need some light yo...

Added on February 4, 2010, 8:54 pmJust an update :

Safari = GPU 67C
FF = GPU 63C
hmm... Safari's Top Site iirc runs on DX9... maybe that's y...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 4 2010, 10:49 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:10 PM)
sorry yea its me again.. hehe... my benq s57 price revised again. offering best price rm2599 .. biggrin.gif
interested pm me.. hehez
em...didnt u reserved it already?
mum's talk break down??
u will gimme heart attack de..

my futuremark run yesterday~
higher mark than BB tongue.gif
but still below average nod.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Feb 4 2010, 11:11 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 4 2010, 11:35 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

want, submit here? tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1109389
BBXiong
post Feb 4 2010, 11:49 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

i got submit 3D mark score before meh? cannot remember liao @@
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 4 2010, 11:54 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

hehe, tat guy said dunno yet... smile.gif
so i need money really urgently >.< so wat to do, need do decrease price lo.. haiz.
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 5 2010, 12:01 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 4 2010, 11:49 PM)
i got submit 3D mark score before meh? cannot remember liao  @@
actually is double...
ur two avatar are the same...

@lee
s42 de submitted b4
i post to see if anyone think there is any wrong with my device nia..
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 12:03 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

michael, so desperate to get m11x? brows.gif

now even 11'' beat mine kau kau doh.gif

@want, just to add more data onto the database tongue.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 12:26 AM

2,059 posts

@want
Better add at astria thread...well, can compare which is the best driver for S42 and also can do temp comparison also icon_idea.gif
fhir
post Feb 5 2010, 12:31 AM

177 posts

i already bought da s42 last month!!huhu..so,what da main thing i should do wit it?hehe
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 12:33 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(fhir @ Feb 5 2010, 12:31 AM)
i already bought da s42 last month!!huhu..so,what da main thing i should do wit it?hehe
Refer to first post nod.gif..there are a lot of things that you can try nod.gif...welcome to BenQ Thread...this is where Technology meets people smile.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 12:34 ambtw, what specs?? And how much did you bought it hmm.gif..just wondering tongue.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 12:34 AM
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 12:49 AM

22,158 posts

should be P8700...

only difference is HDD and RAM only...
fhir
post Feb 5 2010, 12:55 AM

177 posts

yup..mine p8700 and 320hdd wit 2gb ram..i buy without dos..only rm2.2k...already use wit windows 7 ultimate..

Added on February 5, 2010, 12:56 amso, need to install all da driver that u giv..??just wondering..r dis laptop can play da latest game?like nfs shift or other new games?

This post has been edited by fhir: Feb 5 2010, 12:56 AM
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 12:57 AM

2,059 posts

Where did you buy it...RM2,2k...must be from ThunderMatch LYP tongue.gif...well, P8700,320GB,2GB is a good buy also nod.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 12:59 am
QUOTE(fhir @ Feb 5 2010, 12:55 AM)
yup..mine p8700 and 320hdd wit 2gb ram..i buy without dos..only rm2.2k...already use wit windows 7 ultimate..

Added on February 5, 2010, 12:56 amso, need to install all da driver that u giv..??just wondering..r dis laptop can play da latest game?like nfs shift or other new games?
well, if you want to take a chance of trying latest drivers and all, go ahead...its will work wonder laugh.gif..

NFS:Shift should be no problem playing it with high/mid setting...mine can play without lag mid-setting icon_idea.gif..about latest games, i think if set to middle range, still playable smile.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 12:59 AM
fhir
post Feb 5 2010, 01:00 AM

177 posts

yup2..at thundermatch..hehe..so is it ok rite buying at there?hmm.. how bout for gaming?
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 01:01 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(fhir @ Feb 5 2010, 01:00 AM)
yup2..at thundermatch..hehe..so is it ok rite buying at there?hmm.. how bout for gaming?
For this price range, its really is a good buy for gaming nod.gif..well, most games are playable laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 01:01 AM

22,158 posts

any laptop can play games, it's a matter of how slow only... laugh.gif
fhir
post Feb 5 2010, 01:02 AM

177 posts

i already heard bot s41 gpu problem?so, far,what da usualy problem comes wit dis s42 ya?juz wondering..hmm..wanna prepare 1st b4 do anything stupid wit dis laptop....hehe

Added on February 5, 2010, 1:04 amastria n monza..both of u nice lor..like a couple..haha..when both of u wanna married?hehe.. =p

This post has been edited by fhir: Feb 5 2010, 01:04 AM
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 01:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

most of s42 problem is on driver laugh.gif
fhir
post Feb 5 2010, 01:11 AM

177 posts

hpw bout bluetooth mouse..are dis one can use wit bluetooth mouse using da laptop integrated bluetooth?

Added on February 5, 2010, 1:13 ammy dvd burner not work well..especially for copying data..sometimes cannot read..i think wanna change da dvd drive..can fix wit other dvd brand?n what brand or type can be use wit s42?

This post has been edited by fhir: Feb 5 2010, 01:13 AM
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 01:15 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

as for bluetooth, should be no problem, just need to pair them...

as for dvd drive, why not sent them to service center??
fhir
post Feb 5 2010, 01:18 AM

177 posts

coz i think dis one myb da usual problem coz if playing or installing is like usual..only if read da data dvd(da burn one)hav a lil bit prob..
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 01:20 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, external dvd drive slim can easily cost around RM 150-200 wink.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 07:31 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(fhir @ Feb 5 2010, 01:18 AM)
coz i think dis one myb da usual problem coz if playing or installing is like usual..only if read da data dvd(da burn one)hav a lil bit prob..
Still new ma, send for warranty lor...for DVD-Drive, if got stick sure will on the spot change one, no need wait..but better call first ask got stock or not laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 07:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 07:31 AM)
Still new ma, send for warranty lor...for DVD-Drive, if got stock sure will on the spot change one, no need wait..but better call first ask got stock or not laugh.gif

Corrected laugh.gif

monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 07:41 AM

2,059 posts

aiyo..morning still sleepy, that's why typo yawn.gif
DoubleU
post Feb 5 2010, 07:57 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

sup peeps, can anyone run fifa10 smootly on their S42?

Added on February 5, 2010, 7:57 ampls pm me if you can... i still can't get it to work.

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Feb 5 2010, 07:57 AM
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 08:13 AM

2,059 posts

@double
Will give feedback after done downloading icon_idea.gif
Joshua_0718
post Feb 5 2010, 08:51 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

Played l4d2 again yday, it went up to 97c. sweat.gif

Or it is normal?

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Feb 5 2010, 08:58 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 5 2010, 09:07 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Feb 5 2010, 07:57 AM)
sup peeps, can anyone run fifa10 smootly on their S42?

Added on February 5, 2010, 7:57 ampls pm me if you can... i still can't get it to work.
double, is the game problem not the device
after the game launched, alt-tab to desktop
then open task manager
right-click fifa10 on application
choose go to process
right click the process
the set affinity
u will see fifa only DEFAULT using one core
choose all processor
and the game will run smooth with maximum setting~
u need to do it everytime tho..
DoubleU
post Feb 5 2010, 09:34 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@want i did the core thingy, still laggy... duno why
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 5 2010, 09:40 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Feb 5 2010, 09:34 AM)
@want i did the core thingy, still laggy... duno why
lolx,
mine works fine...
then check the normal lo..
is the card in use is the right one..
is the ram fully utilized..
if it is *ahem* fifa,
check the Cr*** contain virus or not..
or do a full scan on game & save folder...
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 09:48 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Feb 5 2010, 08:51 AM)
Played l4d2 again yday, it went up to 97c.  sweat.gif

Or it is normal?
This is a bit high i think..usually its around 90~92C for me hmm.gif..maybe you can suck out the dust from the venting area...maybe clogged already laugh.gif
Joshua_0718
post Feb 5 2010, 09:49 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 09:48 AM)
This is a bit high i think..usually its around 90~92C for me hmm.gif..maybe you can suck out the dust from the venting area...maybe clogged already laugh.gif
How to do so? Air venting area is back left right?

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Feb 5 2010, 09:51 AM
BBXiong
post Feb 5 2010, 09:50 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

not really high...monza put what setting?
mine max all with AA 2x and AF 12x getting similar temperature...
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 09:52 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 5 2010, 09:50 AM)
not really high...monza put what setting?
mine max all with AA 2x and AF 12x getting similar temperature...
how come sweat.gif..mine same setting as yours...all high, AA 2x, AF 12x...the highest temp is 94C nod.gif...maybe because playing in air con room hmm.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 9:52 amIf blow air con direct to laptop can decreased the temp to 89C liao laugh.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 09:52 AM
Joshua_0718
post Feb 5 2010, 09:53 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 09:52 AM)
how come sweat.gif..mine same setting as yours...all high, AA 2x, AF 12x...the highest temp is 94C nod.gif...maybe because playing in air con room hmm.gif
Ok. Maybe the air con and my non-aircon room make the different? tongue.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 09:53 AM

2,059 posts

@josh
Ya, venting area at below and exhaust fan outlet at back nod.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 9:53 am
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Feb 5 2010, 09:53 AM)
Ok. Maybe the air con and my non-aircon room make the different? tongue.gif
This for sure will make a different nod.gif...mine got cool air flowing tongue.gif..

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 09:53 AM
DoubleU
post Feb 5 2010, 09:56 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

lol you guys arh... why do you stress ur gpu so much.. btw if i stress that much in l4d, my framerate suffer.. don't yours?
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 5 2010, 10:00 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Feb 5 2010, 09:56 AM)
lol you guys arh... why do you stress ur gpu so much.. btw if i stress that much in l4d, my framerate suffer.. don't yours?
stress to the max baru know where is the limit ma tongue.gif
sadly, always have to try a few times in setting for a new game baru know what is the best setting...
why game company never come out with a better system to determine the optimal setting hmm.gif hmm.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 10:00 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Feb 5 2010, 09:56 AM)
Framerate sure got down a bit but still smooth i think...well, mine is...maybe different driver is causing this differences hmm.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 10:01 am
QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 5 2010, 10:00 AM)
sadly, always have to try a few times in setting for a new game baru know what is the best setting...
why game company never come out with a better system to determine the optimal setting  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
They are busy making games to work to the max, maybe not in their concern laugh.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 10:01 AM
Joshua_0718
post Feb 5 2010, 10:05 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 09:53 AM)
@josh
Ya, venting area at below and exhaust fan outlet at back nod.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 9:53 am

This for sure will make a different nod.gif...mine got cool air flowing tongue.gif..
Go back and check it out. Maybe will disassemble it to take the dust out.

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Feb 5 2010, 10:09 AM
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 10:08 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Feb 5 2010, 10:00 AM)
why game company never come out with a better system to determine the optimal setting  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
get Alienware M17x/M15x, Asus G73, etc...

no more problem tweaking the settings, juz enable everything... laugh.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 10:23 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 5 2010, 10:08 AM)
get Alienware M17x/M15x, Asus G73, etc...

no more problem tweaking the settings, juz enable everything... laugh.gif
This is just sweat.gif...need money sweat.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 10:50 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

so, anyone tried bad company 2? tongue.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 11:32 AM

2,059 posts

@lee
Downloaded but need *ahem to activate it before playing, how leh??

Added on February 5, 2010, 11:33 am@josh,BBX
Just want to know, which version of gc driver are you guys using..u use Dox 185.85 one nod.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 11:33 AM
Joshua_0718
post Feb 5 2010, 11:38 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 11:32 AM)
@lee
Downloaded but need *ahem to activate it before playing, how leh??

Added on February 5, 2010, 11:33 am@josh,BBX
Just want to know, which version of gc driver are you guys using..u use Dox 185.85 one nod.gif
Before the new version release.
BBXiong
post Feb 5 2010, 11:43 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

mine is DoX's 195

@monza: not yet *ahen* one la..got beta key available, i gotten myself 2, will try to download and play later when got time
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 11:46 AM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 5 2010, 11:43 AM)
mine is DoX's 195

@monza: not yet *ahen* one la..got beta key available, i gotten myself 2, will try to download and play later when got time
Ya meh..ok try find beta key laugh.gif...
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 5 2010, 11:48 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 5 2010, 11:43 AM)
mine is DoX's 195

what game???
link for the beta key pls~
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 11:50 AM

2,059 posts

sign0006.gif
Bad Company 2...still on BETA mode and need BETA key to play one laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 11:57 AM

22,158 posts

getting Mass Effect 2 now... laugh.gif
BBXiong
post Feb 5 2010, 12:01 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

i think that time got one site give out 1000 keys, i immediately apply 2 using 2 emails..haha
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 12:09 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 5 2010, 11:57 AM)
getting Mass Effect 2 now... laugh.gif
haha ^^..like me oso astria...another 40% to go icon_idea.gif..you got good speed, no sweat laugh.gif..

Added on February 5, 2010, 12:10 pm@astria
Yours RIP one or normal 14GB one hmm.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 12:10 PM
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 12:17 PM

22,158 posts

14GB one... nod.gif

another 97% to go...
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 12:23 PM

2,059 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 5 2010, 12:17 PM)
14GB one... nod.gif

another 97% to go...
Mine is RIP one, no space to download 14GB...how long have you been downloading it hmm.gif..
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 12:24 PM

22,158 posts

juz started... laugh.gif

but speed not bad... can get > 200KB/s..
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 07:28 PM

22,158 posts

a bit worrying... hmm.gif

TSfabianz03
post Feb 5 2010, 07:31 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 5 2010, 07:28 PM)
a bit worrying... hmm.gif

Oh my god 108C...
You gotta be kidding me... shocking.gif
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 07:33 PM

22,158 posts

haha...

undervolted CPU so that it can fold together with GPU without overheating...

next up, GPU undervolt.. .hmm.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Feb 5 2010, 07:37 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 5 2010, 07:33 PM)
haha...

undervolted CPU so that it can fold together with GPU without overheating...

next up, GPU undervolt.. .hmm.gif
107.5c...
how can the lappu tahan???
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 07:39 PM

22,158 posts

well, i ve seen >110C before as well... laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2010, 07:42 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Wonder if there's autoshutdown if the gpu overheat hmm.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 5 2010, 07:50 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 5 2010, 07:42 PM)
Wonder if there's autoshutdown if the gpu overheat hmm.gif
I think there is....
The next thing astria don't wanna see is watching his s42 frying up lol
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 07:52 PM

2,059 posts

@fab
astria not using S42 sweat.gif...its Asus N81Vp yo!! icon_idea.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 5 2010, 07:53 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 07:52 PM)
@fab
astria not using S42 sweat.gif...its Asus N81Vp yo!! icon_idea.gif
Oh... okay...
I thought he own a s42 lol

Anyhow is your lappie slowing down with that water boiling heat ?
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 07:53 PM

2,059 posts

@astria
That temp from folding alone hmm.gif...a bit worrying for sure sweat.gif..running anything else beside folding hmm.gif
TSfabianz03
post Feb 5 2010, 07:54 PM

4,649 posts

Actually what is the maximum temperature for a CPU/GPU with widthstand ?
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 07:55 PM

22,158 posts

abt 100C for mobile CPU...
TSfabianz03
post Feb 5 2010, 07:55 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 5 2010, 07:55 PM)
abt 100C for mobile CPU...
Then... Your GPU... You really won't worry about it's lifespan ?
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 07:56 PM

2,059 posts

@fab
Well, no more heat...just normal temp at 63C for GPU and 55C for CPU smile.gif...

Well, GPU can withstand maybe around 120C..CPU i dunno, never test laugh.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 7:56 pmMine got 110C for almost 10 minutes...can boil water laugh.gif..

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 07:56 PM
TSfabianz03
post Feb 5 2010, 07:57 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 07:56 PM)
@fab
Well, no more heat...just normal temp at 63C for GPU and 55C for CPU smile.gif...

Well, GPU can withstand maybe around 120C..CPU i dunno, never test laugh.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 7:56 pmMine got 110C for almost 10 minutes...can boil water laugh.gif..
I wonder if the board that made with plastic will melt... hmm.gif
monza84
post Feb 5 2010, 07:58 PM

2,059 posts

100C won't melt lor fab..maybe when it goes above 150C sweat.gif..

Added on February 5, 2010, 7:59 pmTry put your MOBO onto the stove and fry them whistling.gif..see melt or not whistling.gif

This post has been edited by monza84: Feb 5 2010, 07:59 PM
astria
post Feb 5 2010, 07:59 PM

22,158 posts

blowing fan to it... now hovering at 90C... nod.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1465sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:40 PM