BenQ Tech Performance Center V20
BBXiong
Feb 1 2010, 03:40 PM
dang...that would be me lo..i posted there just now..
anyway, who is emailing mr yap? can help me ask if it's possible to change thermal paste to GPU also? also, who knows where to buy thermal sticker? or normal IT shop got sell one..and is there any nice brand/type of thermal sticker??
BBXiong
Feb 1 2010, 03:59 PM
err...just copy bah...if don work can just post here, maybe i try look into it..
@lee: i tried that..with wrong angle, WoW login screen gives me 110C GPU...so, think twice if u wanna do that
BBXiong
Feb 1 2010, 11:05 PM
BBXiong
Feb 1 2010, 11:36 PM
plus, as reviews already mention, it's better then TX-2, which is already damn freaking good in the first place...
so, i'll order 1 and apply to just the GPU...the processor one i think gap too big, cos i see the layer of thermal sticker being pressed down, the processor part still quite thick, means having quite big gap, i don think it's suitable for thermal paste...
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 12:29 AM
@lee: hammer smash..haha..got one dude from benyouhui actually used hammer to lightly smack the heatsink to it's proper contact, with a piece of cloth in between of something like that...his move is not invalid, but too risky, i'd rather i bend the heatsink like how i did to mine, don wanna accidentally hammer too strong and break the GPU instead...
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 09:14 AM
no mah...if u use those big hammer gently hammer the heatsink right, it would bend...honestly, the heatsink is surprisingly not as hard as i imagined....allu foil actually possible one..., u apply thermal paste both side, then it would stick there liao mah...but still, i don think allu foil gonna make proper contact
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 12:43 PM
got la...tested long long time ago.. but there is no driver for it...so u run the card u last use on windows(let's say u use nvidia card at windows and restart to ubuntu, it will use nvidia card)..however, although u are using one card, both are will be active, and in the end, draw more power, so no point also
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 03:19 PM
@monza: i think it's kinda easy to see one..if u over bend it, u can see the edge side of the heatsink(the further out part) bend upwards if u bend it too much, if u bend it nicely, then it would be u see the thermal sticker finally being pressed down and have proper contact with our GPU memory
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 03:25 PM
but for ppl like me with warranty over...hehehe..itchy hand is a must
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 11:20 PM
eh..how i join the folding spammers team a? just downloaded the client
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 11:22 PM
i put that one liao.. then got team number, based on astria and lee's siggy i can see is 2999 what about passkey? my personal password?
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 11:25 PM
is the SMP client using my gpu also? or that one is just cpu?
Added on February 2, 2010, 11:27 pmok back to topic a bit... my s42 battery life with 9600M GT is just around near 2 hours...is that normal? or my battery starting to degrade liao...
haizz..and anyone know new battery is now much a?
This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 2 2010, 11:27 PM
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 11:31 PM
lol ok...guess i should be grateful then... and but my monitor not max brightness also mah...just around 60-70% brightness
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 11:37 PM
ok, downloaded the GPU client...right now full load @ 70+C
BBXiong
Feb 2 2010, 11:42 PM
err..duwan lo..one more cpu power i reserve for general usage... plus, i just started folding la..prolly might increase temperature slightly higher later...but right now gpu is remaining at 77C(note, i am in battery mode, so i think fan doesnt spin as fast or something) both CPU are ~50C, but will sure increase overtime because of gpu temp
Added on February 2, 2010, 11:42 pmbtw how u guys get the siggy score thing? and auto update one izit
This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 2 2010, 11:42 PM
BBXiong
Feb 3 2010, 12:08 AM
astria, i wouldn't say it's really that good for stress test...at least not for GPU stressing
BBXiong
Feb 3 2010, 12:12 AM
lol..mine is just 77-81C(mostly 77C)..that is not consider a good stressing.. a good stressing would smack it a 80C+ or even 97C like furmark, but coz, no need to be like furmark, but i really don mind remain 80C+ all time, as long as it's lower then 85C
astria, the GPU client takes up a cpu also right? so i can run another client for my second core that is idle?
Added on February 3, 2010, 12:14 amoh i can see aero effect lagging a bit edi...
This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 3 2010, 12:14 AM
BBXiong
Feb 3 2010, 12:31 AM
if mods don mind, i want to ask a few more questions about foldings la..pls stop me if i gone off topic for too much
how come the SMP client only utilizes one core, and the 'display' option no show progress one...
Added on February 3, 2010, 12:34 amwow..i shouldnt open up the display for GPU...suddenly from 80C+ fly up to 90C..scary... i let close it and let it run at tray also wont affect any progression right?
This post has been edited by BBXiong: Feb 3 2010, 12:34 AM
BBXiong
Feb 3 2010, 01:00 AM
that's the question...how... nvm..shall look into it tomorrow...right now, i'll go to sleep
BBXiong
Feb 3 2010, 08:06 AM
@monza: it seems like GPU temperature is maintained at 82C while folding, sometimes drop to 78C, like that...and as for CPU..dunno is because no multicore or what, ,maintained at 60C
btw, ur furmark resolution is what? i tried 800*600, i think 2x MSAA also, temperature maintained at 96C or 97C for 5 minutes...cannot further test cos still using battery, and don wanna kill the battery so fast, cos i still need to use lol..