Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma
alexwsk
Apr 29 2010, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(zenwell @ Apr 29 2010, 09:53 AM) Currently I'm holding CC from Maybank, CIMB(both are petronas card) and Public bank. I want to apply a supplimentary card for my dad. May I know which bank is better among these three? Appreciate opinions from the expert. it's mainly for overseas emergency use. since for emergency use only, i suggest you apply the card which you use the most so all the points can be consolidated
HughieRmX
Apr 29 2010, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(krylicius @ Apr 29 2010, 03:58 AM) I applied for HLBB credit card recently..seems that their representative was very polite and explain to me nicely about waving annual fee and GST exchanging reward points and stuff..it was better than i expected... anyone encountered any problems with HLBB and their credit cards?.. I've been using it for approx. 1 week .. so far everything is going smooth. Just that during the activation part only I encounter some problem with it. Others are good enough .. Their service is quite fast and efficient if u consistently contact them ..  Added on April 29, 2010, 10:50 amQUOTE(leyley @ Apr 28 2010, 04:07 PM) It is good to have a secure verification process but sometimes if it gets way too long, it is annoying. Just want to check some simple transaction of credit card but its like taking exam answering so many damn questions. Is is annoying! Thats right. Its you CIMB BANK! There is Pros and Cons with this effective security measure ..  IF its Big transaction - they call up to verify its a good. Just to avoid any fraud cases .. small transaction I believe its OK without verification unless its consistent or the transaction activity looks weird .. This post has been edited by HughieRmX: Apr 29 2010, 10:50 AM
gastacopz
Apr 29 2010, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(krylicius @ Apr 29 2010, 03:58 AM) I applied for HLBB credit card recently..seems that their representative was very polite and explain to me nicely about waving annual fee and GST exchanging reward points and stuff..it was better than i expected... anyone encountered any problems with HLBB and their credit cards?.. yup...me oso when terminating thier cc, they offer me 10K rewards points to stay with them,...
MilesAndMore
Apr 29 2010, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(zenwell @ Apr 29 2010, 09:53 AM) Currently I'm holding CC from Maybank, CIMB(both are petronas card) and Public bank. I want to apply a supplimentary card for my dad. May I know which bank is better among these three? Appreciate opinions from the expert.
it's mainly for overseas emergency use. Many people probably will not suggest you to use a Maybank credit card overseas due to the fact that their customer service officers are sleeping most of the time  So when there is anything wrong with your card, calling back here from overseas may cost you a fortune. CIMB Bank has the same problem too lately. Of all the 3 banks listed, Public Bank is the one with exemplary customer service. And i saw an advertisement in yesterday's STAR that they will give you RM30 if you apply for a new supplementary card now. This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 29 2010, 12:49 PM
HughieRmX
Apr 29 2010, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(gastacopz @ Apr 29 2010, 12:23 PM) What makes you to terminate the HLB Credit Card ? Mind to share .. ?
sizuka
Apr 29 2010, 01:43 PM
does any of you getting calls from eonbank? seems they keep offering pre approve credit card to people.
HughieRmX
Apr 29 2010, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(sizuka @ Apr 29 2010, 01:43 PM) does any of you getting calls from eonbank? seems they keep offering pre approve credit card to people. Didn't get any calls from them so far .. you have tried applying CC from EON Bank ? OR some other banks but they share your details with each other ?
sizuka
Apr 29 2010, 02:47 PM
not me i heard from few of my friends. few of them get preapproved credit cards
idunnolol
Apr 29 2010, 03:46 PM
I'd like to apply a supplementary card for my cousin. The problem is that i dont know how to count the 18 y old ruling.
Just say he is born on may 21st 1992. I can apply for him now or must wait till May 21st?
millenniummonkey
Apr 29 2010, 05:08 PM

anyone got any alliance bank credit card? just wanna ask how to you access the internet banking (i.e., allianceonline personal) to view the statements? btw, i do not have any savings/current with alliance bank so there's no way i can access their internet banking using atm/tpin or whatsoever.... tried to call them several times and each one of them gave different answer or kick me here and there... terrible... one even dare to say "no hassle, u just go to our website and key in ur cc no... no need any pin..." vomit blood...
cenkudu
Apr 29 2010, 05:37 PM
Does Alliance bank absorb RM50 tax for new applicants
SeanChang
Apr 29 2010, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(millenniummonkey @ Apr 29 2010, 06:08 PM) anyone got any alliance bank credit card? just wanna ask how to you access the internet banking (i.e., allianceonline personal) to view the statements? btw, i do not have any savings/current with alliance bank so there's no way i can access their internet banking using atm/tpin or whatsoever.... tried to call them several times and each one of them gave different answer or kick me here and there... terrible... one even dare to say "no hassle, u just go to our website and key in ur cc no... no need any pin..." vomit blood... the 2 option given by cs was: 1. walk into branch & apply 4 online access + password, wait 7 days & go back the same branch to collect the access + password 2. open a saving/current & apply 4 it, access + password given on the spot. if ur cc is not listed in web, click add account & wait 4 few days
zenwell
Apr 29 2010, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 29 2010, 10:17 AM) since for emergency use only, i suggest you apply the card which you use the most so all the points can be consolidated QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 29 2010, 12:47 PM) Many people probably will not suggest you to use a Maybank credit card overseas due to the fact that their customer service officers are sleeping most of the time  So when there is anything wrong with your card, calling back here from overseas may cost you a fortune. CIMB Bank has the same problem too lately. Of all the 3 banks listed, Public Bank is the one with exemplary customer service. And i saw an advertisement in yesterday's STAR that they will give you RM30 if you apply for a new supplementary card now. thanks for the info guys. MBB and CIMB is unreliable? So far i use them overseas ok la. I personally don't really like PBB. I apply this card mainly for balance transfer purposes. Maybe i will check them out first
alexwsk
Apr 29 2010, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(zenwell @ Apr 29 2010, 10:36 PM) thanks for the info guys. MBB and CIMB is unreliable? So far i use them overseas ok la. I personally don't really like PBB. I apply this card mainly for balance transfer purposes. Maybe i will check them out first  normally i call them up first and tell them where and when I'll be overseas no prob with MBB, PBB and HSBC so far
millenniummonkey
Apr 30 2010, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Apr 29 2010, 05:59 PM) the 2 option given by cs was: 1. walk into branch & apply 4 online access + password, wait 7 days & go back the same branch to collect the access + password 2. open a saving/current & apply 4 it, access + password given on the spot. if ur cc is not listed in web, click add account & wait 4 few days  thanks for the answer... hhmm... so there's no direct atm generate pin for login thingy like cimb credit card... troublesome... it's either 1) waste time go branch twice or 2) go branch once but waste money for atm rm8 annual fee just to view credit card statement online... sigh...
kwai_83
Apr 30 2010, 12:09 AM
just would ask i am a mbb credit card user,i have drop my cc that.i never reliase aftet 1 day..i call up bank and stop the card.but transection have been.,make Pump Pertol RM30++.But i Ask mY bank centre they told me depends on subject case..since RM30.00.
Dear Folks mY 1st time using cc
millenniummonkey

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Apr 29 2010, 05:37 PM) Does Alliance bank absorb RM50 tax for new applicants nope for the time being... their 1switch promotion (giving 10,000 points to claim the tax) ended in march liao although they didn't update their website... quite misleading...
kwai_83
just would ask i am a mbb credit card user,i have drop my cc that.i never reliase aftet 1 day..i call up bank and stop the card.but transection have been.,make Pump Pertol RM30++.But i Ask mY bank centre they told me depends on subject case..since RM30.00.
Added on April 30, 2010, 12:10 amjust would ask i am a mbb credit card user,i have drop my cc that.i never reliase aftet 1 day..i call up bank and stop the card.but transection have been.,make Pump Pertol RM30++.But i Ask mY bank centre they told me depends on subject case..since RM30.00.
This post has been edited by kwai_83: Apr 30 2010, 12:10 AM
millenniummonkey
Apr 30 2010, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Apr 30 2010, 12:09 AM) just would ask i am a mbb credit card user,i have drop my cc that.i never reliase aftet 1 day..i call up bank and stop the card.but transection have been.,make Pump Pertol RM30++.But i Ask mY bank centre they told me depends on subject case..since RM30.00. Dear Folks mY 1st time using cc Added on April 30, 2010, 12:10 amjust would ask i am a mbb credit card user,i have drop my cc that.i never reliase aftet 1 day..i call up bank and stop the card.but transection have been.,make Pump Pertol RM30++.But i Ask mY bank centre they told me depends on subject case..since RM30.00. Dear Folks mY 1st time using cc better make police report oso just in case there's some offline batch transactions not cleared yet...
kwai_83
Apr 30 2010, 12:32 AM
only 1 transection petrol only ..RM30 ..After tht no more transection.i just stop the card.now waiting new replacement