130 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

Eden
post Dec 24 2009, 11:22 AM

GooD Is NoT GooD, BaD Is Not BaD
934 posts

i was cancelling my HLB cc yesterday by fax in a letter to their hq, and i receive a letter from hlb on the same day offer me free upgrade to platinum cc, wondering other hlb user receive the same offer?
GHz
post Dec 24 2009, 02:26 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 24 2009, 09:29 AM)
it might not work, but do keep us updated
u can't chk, hv to calculate manually
OK, I will do that. But to calculate the rebate manually really troublesome.
alexwsk
post Dec 24 2009, 02:33 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 24 2009, 02:26 PM)
OK, I will do that. But to calculate the rebate manually really troublesome.
yup, some trouble are needed to maximise the rebate tongue.gif
jellyikan
post Dec 24 2009, 04:03 PM

just cancelled 2 of my DA cards. i find them dem efficient.

called at 3.56pm just now. CS picked up in less than 5 mins.
another 5 mins for verification and stuffs and it was done rclxms.gif

guess that DA's CS are bored with last minute mass cancellations laugh.gif
labtec
post Dec 24 2009, 04:29 PM

1,556 posts

i heard got people received credit card from bank even without them applying it
can the bank do so? thought they need to adher to the privacy and cannot use our personal detail for their business or marketing?

This post has been edited by labtec: Dec 24 2009, 04:29 PM
hye
post Dec 24 2009, 04:41 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Dec 24 2009, 04:29 PM)
can the bank do so? thought they need to adher to the privacy and cannot use our personal detail for their business or marketing?
Read the fine prints again my friend. The privacy clause applies for their external parties and what happens is that the info is shared internally within the bank group of companies. Applications form will sometime ask this question but it is actually to ask for your consent for marketing and promotional activities to their business partners. (something like that)

If you cancel this then your junk mail will decrease. E.g. Reader's Digest subscription offer by xxx bank. (Ever received such promo?) So receiving a credit card from the bank that you have your deposits is not wrong in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 24 2009, 04:42 PM
aeronlim
post Dec 24 2009, 04:49 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Dec 24 2009, 04:29 PM)
If you are citibank cc holder, you won't surprise when receiving the pre-approved card.
epalbee3
post Dec 24 2009, 05:40 PM

1,345 posts

I am interested in Standard Chartered Platinum Visa.

Can anyone tell me what is the benefit of this card?
And whether they allow us to waive annual fee of RM250?

I have a gold card now but plan to upgrade to Platinum.
May I know what is the credit limit usually assigned to such a platinum card?
I have the minimum requirement requested by this card.
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 24 2009, 05:52 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 23 2009, 10:12 PM)
If you pay in full on time, you should have saved the RM25 interest.
We have been talking about this many times. For existing cards, service tax will be charged on anniversary date. It looks like you were not paying attention. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 23 2009, 11:48 PM)
Indeed it is. HSBC told me HSBC Malaysia is the only HSBC within the HSBC Group to actually charge some fee to its Premier clients for using their Premier Mastercard/Premier World Mastercard. 1MALAYSIA BOLEH !!!!
HSBC did confirm me that they will only charge me the tax on the cards' anniversary.
Hehehe its been a long thread and im not a person that willing to search and find thru 20 over pages tongue.gif

So its confirmed....alteast i have more time to cancel my card
SUSDavid83
post Dec 24 2009, 06:11 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(jellyikan @ Dec 24 2009, 04:03 PM)
just cancelled 2 of my DA cards. i find them dem efficient.

called at 3.56pm just now. CS picked up in less than 5 mins.
another 5 mins for verification and stuffs and it was done  rclxms.gif

guess that DA's CS are bored with last minute mass cancellations  laugh.gif
They didn't ask you to surrender the cards?
epalbee3
post Dec 24 2009, 06:19 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 24 2009, 05:40 PM)
I am interested in Standard Chartered Platinum Visa.

Can anyone tell me what is the benefit of this card?
And whether they allow us to waive annual fee of RM250?

I have a gold card now but plan to upgrade to Platinum.
May I know what is the credit limit usually assigned to such a platinum card?
I have the minimum requirement requested by this card.
This is the website:
http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...-mastercard/en/

Anyone using this card now?
The requirement to apply is only 60k/year.

tgeoklin
post Dec 24 2009, 08:58 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 24 2009, 10:52 AM)
they are not really absorbing the tax, just that they reward you with more $$$ for your first swipe
Actually, this is as much as they can do as the govt has tacitly indicated that foreign banks are not allowed to overshadowed the local banks ie. same with all their bias policy. This is also the reason why no foreign bank has issued any free for life cards. cry.gif
roy918
post Dec 25 2009, 12:05 AM

558 posts

Some statement for Direct Access credit card on service tax. Service tax only charge on card anniversary and it is charged per card (Master + Visa = RM100).

Can't attach PDF file now. Please refer http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?r...gst&tpt=cimb_da

RyanAtwood
post Dec 25 2009, 12:55 AM

212 posts

ello....im a 1st time credit card user...will be receiving my 1st credit card in 2 weeks time if do not encounter any problems...i want to ask do all credit cards have the cash advance service?like going to an ATM machine n withdraw cash even though there is no cash in the account....plzz help all experts...thanx u very much....
alex_cyw1985
post Dec 25 2009, 01:02 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(RyanAtwood @ Dec 25 2009, 12:55 AM)
ello....im a 1st time credit card user...will be receiving my 1st credit card in 2 weeks time if do not encounter any problems...i want to ask do all credit cards have the cash advance service?like going to an ATM machine n withdraw cash even though there is no cash in the account....plzz help all experts...thanx u very much....
yes, but interest damm high, don't use it...
SUSDavid83
post Dec 25 2009, 01:04 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Dec 25 2009, 12:05 AM)
Some statement for Direct Access credit card on service tax. Service tax only charge on card anniversary and it is charged per card (Master + Visa = RM100).

Can't attach PDF file now. Please refer http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?r...gst&tpt=cimb_da
The same goes to MBB when I clarified with the CS. RM 50 per each card.
RyanAtwood
post Dec 25 2009, 01:06 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Dec 25 2009, 01:02 AM)
yes, but interest damm high, don't use it...
alright...thanx u 4 the warning! notworthy.gif really appreciate it....
alex_cyw1985
post Dec 25 2009, 01:17 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(RyanAtwood @ Dec 25 2009, 01:06 AM)
alright...thanx u 4 the warning! notworthy.gif really appreciate it....
e.g. HSBC

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...rd-fees-charges

18% pa, calculated on daily basis.
temptation1314
post Dec 25 2009, 01:49 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

if the amount is not big... borrow from friend first..
the Cash advance is really really not worth it.. doh.gif

IMO, loan is better alternatives, depending on interest charged.
Gen-X
post Dec 25 2009, 08:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

CIMB/DA now gets you 10% discount at starbucks (till 31/12/10) and additional 10% rebate on Saturdays and Sundays (till March 2010).

130 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:46 PM