Credit card V8, Anything about it

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 11 2009, 07:10 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(KIat @ Oct 11 2009, 01:16 AM)
Dear all,

I had face a problem, hopefully someone can give me some information about the way to solve this problem.
Today, i check online bank statement, there are extra charges Rm120 at the same day that i purchased the alcohol worth only Rm75.
The amount is stated differently, Rm120 first then Rm 75.
Anyone, Can tell me how to solve this problem? how to cancel the extra Rm120 charge? between i can confirm, i had sign on the receipt with paid Rm75 only.

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  Hope someone can help me
Did you sign for the RM120? If not, just called CC and tell them you didn't sign for it so will not pay. Proceed from there.

KIat
post Oct 11 2009, 10:01 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(jeff_v2 @ Oct 11 2009, 03:53 AM)
what cc ur using?? the easiest way is to go to nearest bank branch and sign a dispute form...
fill in the unauthorize usage column... wait for cc centre to respone...
ok, i iwll try it. thx for reply. notworthy.gif

Added on October 11, 2009, 10:04 am
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Oct 11 2009, 07:10 AM)
Did  you sign for the RM120? If not, just called CC and tell them you didn't sign for it so will not pay. Proceed from there.
i didn't sign for the Rm120, if i don't pay them, is there a possibility that they will charge interest next month?

This post has been edited by KIat: Oct 11 2009, 10:04 AM
hye
post Oct 11 2009, 11:23 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(KIat @ Oct 11 2009, 10:01 AM)
i didn't sign for the Rm120, if i don't pay them,  is there a possibility that they will charge interest next month?
I don't know what bank cc you signed on but what would (normally) happen is that the amount/transaction will be put into dispute and credited from your account pending the outcome of your transaction dispute. How long would the transaction dispute take to resolve ? It is between 1 month - 3 months.

What I will suggest to you (if you are worried about interest) is to pay your bills as per normal and include the RM120 that you are disputing. It is not a lot of money nor by paying it is a signal to the bank that you are admitting to the transaction dispute irrespective whether the bank is removing the charge now or later. That way you need not lose sleep over the interest and rest assured that you won't lose out coz if the bank rule in your favor then you have prepaid RM120 to your cc bill.
ruhadatulaisyh
post Oct 11 2009, 03:55 PM

need somebody to help me. I lost my wallet at Machap R & R last two days. I tought i left it at home, but when i came back home, it is not there.

after block the credit card, i check with the bank the transaction history that day. Surprisingly, the thief swipe my credit card several times within 1 1/2 hours total RM1150.00 !!!! Fortunately, the bank suspect something and try to contact me but my battery kong already that time...I wonder how can the shop not check the signature which is not mine? do i have to pay that amount coz it is not me who sign the bill..the cal centre said maybe they can dispute it but i not understand how to do it?

CAN ANYONE CONSULT ME? TQ
SeanChang
post Oct 11 2009, 04:21 PM

208 posts

12. Useful information
BNM issued guidelines in 2003 that limits consumer liability in cases of fraud to only RM250. See the actual document here, page 123 has the guidelines.

Refer to 1st post for the above guideline.
Good Luck smile.gif
hye
post Oct 11 2009, 04:35 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ruhadatulaisyh @ Oct 11 2009, 03:55 PM)
need somebody to help me. I lost my wallet at Machap R & R last two days. I tought i left it at home, but when i came back home, it is not there.

after block the credit card, i check with the bank the transaction history that day. Surprisingly, the thief swipe my credit card several times within 1 1/2 hours total RM1150.00 !!!! Fortunately, the bank suspect something and try to contact me but my battery kong already that time...I wonder how can the shop not check the signature which is not mine? do i have to pay that amount coz it is not me who sign the bill..the cal centre said maybe they can dispute it but i not understand how to do it?

CAN ANYONE CONSULT ME? TQ
1st lesson ... always be aware of where your wallet is, especially when it contains your credit card.
When in doubt whether you misplace or lost your wallet ... call the bank to block your card. You can always unblock it if you found your wallet. Don't blame the merchant for not checking the signature ... if the thief have your card, your signature is just @ the back of the card. Plus, if the thief use it to buy petrol then no need signature.

Whatever it is, it is still possible for the thief to copy the signature with enough effort. You heard of the saying - if you want something really bad, you'll go all out to make it happen ? Same goes for the thief ... golden oppotunity,don't waste it - use the stolen card quickly before the owner realise it. Once the card is blocked ... dump it.

Don't get me wrong ... many years ago I learn my lesson when I lost my SIM card. I thought I left it @ home so I did not block the SIM. One week later when I went over to the telco ... telco told me that someone use the SIM to call Indonesia everyday and almost every hour. Seems that guy was running a "Wartel" using my SIM at my expenses. Bill came up to more than RM1k in about 1 week - lesson learnt and a very expensive one.

Did you file a police report that you lost your credit card ? If yes then simple ... simply send the copy of the report to the bank as proof.
If not, same thing ... file a fraud case to the bank and wait for result.

Last but not least ... BNM stipulate that your liability are limited to just RM250. However, be prepared for the bank to make your life difficult for a short while coz your fraud claims are higher than RM 250. Don't be complecant ... block your cc if you think you lost it. It just may save you a lot of money and hassle. If you do not act to block your card ... whether you have small or big CL, you are still susceptible to fraud.
Good luck !

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 11 2009, 04:37 PM
spikey2506
post Oct 11 2009, 06:05 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Guys, I have a couple of questions here. Quite new to the CC scene, so forgive me. notworthy.gif
Maybank gave me three cards, with combined credit limit. Visa Petronas, Maybankard Mastercard Gold and Maybankard American Express Gold.
1. Is there any difference between American Express Gold and Maybankard American Express Gold? The two cards look different also.
2. I have Maybankard Mastercard Gold and Maybankard American Express Gold. How many years I am excempted from paying the annual fee? I just got the cards last month. I know that the Petronas card is free for life.
I've emailed them asking about this, but I thought of asking the sifus here too about it. Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Oct 11 2009, 06:05 PM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2009, 06:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 11 2009, 06:05 PM)
Guys, I have a couple of questions here. Quite new to the CC scene, so forgive me.  notworthy.gif
Maybank gave me three cards, with combined credit limit. Visa Petronas, Maybankard Mastercard Gold and Maybankard American Express Gold.
1. Is there any difference between American Express Gold and Maybankard American Express Gold? The two cards look different also.
2. I have Maybankard Mastercard Gold and Maybankard American Express Gold. How many years I am excempted from paying the annual fee? I just got the cards last month. I know that the Petronas card is free for life.
I've emailed them asking about this, but I thought of asking the sifus here too about it. Thanks in advance!
1. The AMEX Gold loyalty programme is Membership Rewards while Maybankard American Express Gold is TreatPoints. Two different rewarding system and catalogue.
2. Regarding annual fee, it's pretty subjective. By practise, both of your MBB cards are not entitled for free annual fee waiver. You can request for waiver when your cards reach its anniversary. You could bargain for it by threatening to cancel the cards or how much you have charged to the cards.

alsree786
post Oct 11 2009, 06:15 PM

937 posts

hi all, im rather new to the cc scene too, am looking for any feedbacks for cimb DA cards in terms of service, benefits and what not. Any bad experiences? thx
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2009, 06:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Oct 11 2009, 06:15 PM)
hi all, im rather new to the cc scene too, am looking for any feedbacks for cimb DA cards in terms of service, benefits and what not. Any bad experiences? thx
Even though I'm not a DA frequent users but overall experience is above average and satisfied with it.
spikey2506
post Oct 11 2009, 07:23 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 11 2009, 06:10 PM)
1. The AMEX Gold loyalty programme is Membership Rewards while Maybankard American Express Gold is TreatPoints. Two different rewarding system and catalogue.
2. Regarding annual fee, it's pretty subjective. By practise, both of your MBB cards are not entitled for free annual fee waiver. You can request for waiver when your cards reach its anniversary. You could bargain for it by threatening to cancel the cards or how much you have charged to the cards.
Thanks for the clarification bro. Will clear the annual fee thingy with them and if confirmed no waiver, I'll just cancel the two cards. I have the Petronas card as my main CC. When picking up the cards, the officer actually told me 2 years of fee waiver, but that needs to be confirmed. But I want to apply for another card as backup after the cancellation, and the AMEX Gold looks pretty enticing. Free for life, 5x points for petrol, books, etc. The DA Mastercard looks ok too. Which one is better?

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Oct 11 2009, 07:26 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 11 2009, 07:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 11 2009, 07:23 PM)
Thanks for the clarification bro. Will clear the annual fee thingy with them and if confirmed no waiver, I'll just cancel the two cards. I have the Petronas card as my main CC. When picking up the cards, the officer actually told me 2 years of fee waiver, but that needs to be confirmed. 

The Petronas VISA is free for life with absolutely no minimum swipe needed. Not too sure for the other two cards.

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 11 2009, 07:23 PM)
But I want to apply for another card as backup after the cancellation, and the AMEX Gold looks pretty enticing. Free for life, 5x points for petrol, books, etc. The DA Mastercard looks ok too. Which one is better?
Which AMEX Gold do you have to be exact ? AMEX Gold credit card or Maybankard AMEX Gold credit card ? These two cards are different. The former is free for life while the latter is only free for the first two years.

DA Mastercard is quite ok. Their rewards system is pretty good with lot of choices for gift redemption. There are lots of discount too.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 11 2009, 07:42 PM
spikey2506
post Oct 11 2009, 07:47 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 11 2009, 07:41 PM)
The Petronas VISA is free for life with absolutely no minimum swipe needed. Not too sure for the other two cards.
Which AMEX Gold do you have to be exact ? AMEX Gold credit card or Maybankard AMEX Gold credit card ? These two cards are different. The former is free for life while the latter is only free for the first two years.

DA Mastercard is quite ok. Their rewards system is pretty good with lot of choices for gift redemption. There are lots of discount too.
AMEX Gold. I have the Maybankard one, TP is great, but the AF turned me off. Thanks for the reply bro. Now deciding between AMEX Gold and DA MC.
winner
post Oct 11 2009, 08:55 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 11 2009, 07:47 PM)
AMEX Gold. I have the Maybankard one, TP is great, but the AF turned me off. Thanks for the reply bro. Now deciding between AMEX Gold and DA MC.
If you have already got Maybankard Amex gold cc (with MBB logo), then you should choose DA MC. Or else, get both Amex gold cc (without MBB logo) and DA MC, and terminate Maybankard Amex gold cc (with MBB logo) later. Frankly speaking, benefits offered by Maybankard Amex gold cc (with MBB logo) are not as good as features provided by Amex gold cc (without MBB logo) now.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2009, 09:08 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 11 2009, 08:55 PM)
If you have already got Maybankard Amex gold cc (with MBB logo), then you should choose DA MC. Or else, get both Amex gold cc (without MBB logo) and DA MC, and terminate Maybankard Amex gold cc (with MBB logo) later. Frankly speaking, benefits offered by Maybankard Amex gold cc (with MBB logo) are not as good as features provided by Amex gold cc (without MBB logo) now.
What winner said is absolutely true, with a quick comparison between 4 AMEX credit cards:

1. AMEX Gold Credit Card
- Free for life
- 5x MR on petrol, groceries and books
- 2x MR on other purchases

2. Ikwan AMEX Gold Credit Card
- Free for life
- 5x TP on petrol
- 2x TP on other purchases

3. Maybank (conventional) Gold Credit Card
- Annual fee of RM 120
- 2x TP on all purchases

4. SIA KrisFlyer AMEX Gold Credit Card
- Annual fee of RM 250
- 2 KrisFlyer miles for every RM2 on tickets purchased online from www.singaporeair.com.my.
- KrisFlyer mile on every RM2 spent on other purchases
jeff_v2
post Oct 11 2009, 09:32 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Oct 11 2009, 06:15 PM)
go for this card, got lot of benefits and privellages if using this card...
lee9171
post Oct 11 2009, 09:44 PM

120 posts

Can anyone tell me how you pay all your CC bill?

Let say we have public bank, citibank and EON bank CC at the same time, we need to go 3 different bank just to pay the bills?

Is there any other method that can advise? Thanks...
MilesAndMore
post Oct 11 2009, 09:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lee9171 @ Oct 11 2009, 09:44 PM)
Can anyone tell me how you pay all your CC bill?

Let say we have public bank, citibank and EON bank CC at the same time, we need to go 3 different bank just to pay the bills?

Is there any other method that can advise? Thanks...
Online IBG.

hye
post Oct 11 2009, 10:02 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 11 2009, 09:48 PM)
Online IBG.
Yup, best method would be online IBG. Do it from anywhere in the world where you have access to your Internet banking system. Do take note of the IBG fees imposed by your banks. They range from RM0.50-RM2.00 per IBG transaction.
Zack Styler
post Oct 12 2009, 11:47 AM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 9 2009, 06:55 PM)
Ya, thats true, you can't have a both CIMB CC and DA CC in the same time, I don't know why CIMB make the rules like that.
But you can having a CIMB petronas and also CIMB Islamic at the same time and separate credit limit.
What a rule.. doh.gif

And the staff even advised me either to cancel my current CC and reapply for DA, or he can increase my CL for my current CC..

But there's the hassle and the risk of getting my DA CC appllcation rejected if I were to cancel my current CC, and I am back to square one.. rclxub.gif

127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:47 AM