Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V2

exentric_nova
post Jan 9 2010, 08:33 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jan 8 2010, 12:31 PM)
Guys.. anyone from Seapark or ss2 using 4mbps package?

Last week i went Tmpoint to ask whether i can upgrade to 4mpbs, they say my area got no 4mbps port.. but i really want to upgrade it..

Really very ridiculous, i call 100 they ask me to go TMPOINT to ask for the availability and i cant call TMpoint, but i m working in Shah Alam, for me to go back to my nearest TMPoint gonna take some time.
Just email them with your registered streamyx number to check for availability. I emailed a few days ago to check for mine and there is available port! biggrin.gif

Just a reminder, be persistent with them (no surprise there). I actually emailed about a month asking for availability and a quick reply says I'm too far from the exchange (not because there wasn't any port available). A second email sent earlier this week, the CS replied she will get back to me after consulting the respective dept for checking. The next day an email came saying there's a port available. So, even if the first reply saying you don't have it, do keep asking them as I think different CS will yield better reply (hopefully). They could also be adding more port once request are coming in and the port is full in your area (I think), so just keep asking.

One question, you can actually get speed capped at 5Mbps? I guess you have to be very persistent in asking them to up the cap in the case of speed not reaching near 4Mbps?

bai1101
post Jan 9 2010, 09:55 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

it really depend one. i do saw few who sucess apply 4mbps but cap at around 3.2mbps max
wiraone
post Jan 9 2010, 10:43 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 9 2010, 03:20 AM)
heard from a friend that a tm customer want 4mb but tm inform cant support.. but she still want the 4mb.. doesnt matter support or not.. either tm give 4mb or she will saman TM ... she doesnt care if the line putus2.. or slow! she just want 4mb. tongue.gif

????????
Bodoh ke ape? Hehe..hee..
soulquarianz
post Jan 9 2010, 11:38 AM

556 posts

seems 218 ip back to normal ! getting back my 550k average download speed !
Zakov
post Jan 9 2010, 12:38 PM

215 posts

My cousin using 4mbps also reports that youtube speed is back to normal for him.

This post has been edited by Zakov: Jan 9 2010, 12:40 PM
pluginbaby
post Jan 9 2010, 12:38 PM

2,661 posts

ive rechecked with center.. they say upgrade status completed..

but i was only capped to 1024.. wut the freak~ called the tech to fix it up.. he was the one in charge so maybe he did messed up sumwhere T_T

werksuckz
post Jan 9 2010, 01:16 PM

13 posts

After the whole fiasco, managed to get the following settings:

Connection Status Connected
Us Rate (Kbps) 512
Ds Rate (Kbps) 2048
US Margin 21
DS Margin 26
DS Line Attenuation 41
US Line Attenuation 36

Apparently it's a new port for "4MB users". But the port obviously not 4MB la... How's my SNR and Att signals? Would it be able to support 4MB? If yes, then I can go to TMPoint on Monday and make some noise... I still think my original port (which was already configured for 4MB) was better. This new port everytime I reboot the modem, it hunts for the DSL signal. The old one didn't. So how ah? 4MB can jalan ar?
vyzc
post Jan 9 2010, 02:08 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(werksuckz @ Jan 9 2010, 01:16 PM)
After the whole fiasco, managed to get the following settings:

Connection Status     Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)  512
Ds Rate (Kbps)  2048
US Margin  21
DS Margin  26
DS Line Attenuation  41
US Line Attenuation  36
Apparently it's a new port for "4MB users". But the port obviously not 4MB la... How's my SNR and Att signals? Would it be able to support 4MB? If yes, then I can go to TMPoint on Monday and make some noise... I still think my original port (which was already configured for 4MB) was better. This new port everytime I reboot the modem, it hunts for the DSL signal. The old one didn't. So how ah? 4MB can jalan ar?
Shouldn't be a problem for you to upgrade to 4 Mbps smile.gif

This post has been edited by vyzc: Jan 9 2010, 02:09 PM
pluginbaby
post Jan 9 2010, 02:15 PM

2,661 posts

does anyone have an idea wut these 3 boxes are? is it dslam/ipslam? its located about 300m from my place.. ive seen at other taman oso but there are only one or 2 of it only..

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jan 9 2010, 02:17 PM
poh880
post Jan 9 2010, 02:34 PM

529 posts

It is the exchange box. Your distance would be count from this box... smile.gif

This post has been edited by poh880: Jan 9 2010, 02:36 PM
vyzc
post Jan 9 2010, 02:34 PM

119 posts

Not sure about the first and third boxes, but I believe the second one is a remote DSLAM.

Added on January 9, 2010, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(vyzc @ Jan 8 2010, 12:13 AM)
For those of you capped at 5 Mbps, what are your SNRs like? I am currently capped at 4084 kbps and my SNR is at about 19.0 dB. Requested for my line to be capped at 5120 kbps but they were unwilling to do so, claiming that "SNR figure is in red". They didn't even want to give me something in between 4 and 5 (say 4.5), sigh.
Would appreciate it if those of you who are capped at 5120 kbps could provide me with your SNRs.. trying to push for a higher cap.

This post has been edited by vyzc: Jan 9 2010, 02:36 PM
pluginbaby
post Jan 9 2010, 02:39 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Jan 9 2010, 02:34 PM)

It is the exchange box. Your distance would be count from this box... smile.gif
the closer the better or it dosent give any effects?

QUOTE(vyzc @ Jan 9 2010, 02:34 PM)
Not sure about the first and third boxes, but I believe the second one is a remote DSLAM.
does ipdslam and the dslam the same thing? the 3rd mini small box looks funny.. i wonder it actually is..

im quite confused.. exchange, dslam, ipdslam and now remote dslam rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jan 9 2010, 02:42 PM
poh880
post Jan 9 2010, 03:09 PM

529 posts

Of cos, the closer the better your line will be (assuming your line in your house is in optimum condition)
DSLAM & IPDSLAM is the one sync your DSL line and assign you an IP from a group of IP ranges.
Exchange box is the place where there put an outside branch's DSLAM equipments. It will have lot of port inside which connect your telephone line.
Remote mean outside the TM exchange branch (building with TM logo).

EDIT: Information given has been corrected

This post has been edited by poh880: Jan 9 2010, 03:17 PM
werksuckz
post Jan 9 2010, 05:12 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(vyzc @ Jan 9 2010, 02:08 PM)
Shouldn't be a problem for you to upgrade to 4 Mbps  smile.gif
Really ar? Because the installer keeps insisting that my signal is too low... I did request for a diff installer via 100, but they told me to contact back the original installer, who is refusing to recheck my port. What can I do now?
vyzc
post Jan 9 2010, 05:51 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(werksuckz @ Jan 9 2010, 05:12 PM)
Really ar? Because the installer keeps insisting that my signal is too low... I did request for a diff installer via 100, but they told me to contact back the original installer, who is refusing to recheck my port. What can I do now?
Hmm, if the installer/contractor refuses to help you, another alternative is to insist on speaking with TM's customer service agents from the advanced troubleshooting team (ATS department) and tell them your issue. These guys are actually quite well-versed with the technicalities of Streamyx.

From your line stats, the DS and US attenuation is slightly high but still within the acceptable range. These figures do not depend on your sync speed but your distance from the remote DSLAM. Your DS SNR of 26 dB is actually quite good. However, unlike attenuation, SNR will drop once your sync speed is increased. The minimum SNR at 4 Mbps as required by TM is 15 dB.

As a guideline for you, when I was capped at 2 Mbps, my SNR was at 28.5 dB. Once my cap was increased to 4 Mbps, the SNR dropped to 18.5 dB.

This post has been edited by vyzc: Jan 9 2010, 05:52 PM
werksuckz
post Jan 9 2010, 06:06 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(vyzc @ Jan 9 2010, 05:51 PM)
Hmm, if the installer/contractor refuses to help you, another alternative is to insist on speaking with TM's customer service agents from the advanced troubleshooting team (ATS department) and tell them your issue. These guys are actually quite well-versed with the technicalities of Streamyx.

From your line stats, the DS and US attenuation is slightly high but still within the acceptable range. These figures do not depend on your sync speed but your distance from the remote DSLAM. Your DS SNR of 26 dB is actually quite good. However, unlike attenuation, SNR will drop once your sync speed is increased. The minimum SNR at 4 Mbps as required by TM is 15 dB.

As a guideline for you, when I was capped at 2 Mbps, my SNR was at 28.5 dB. Once my cap was increased to 4 Mbps, the SNR dropped to 18.5 dB.
Thanks bro! Will print out my SNR and Att readings and head to TMPoint tomorrow. Hopefully it will be a successful upgrade to 4MBps. Else, have to hope for HSBB. Sucks...
vyzc
post Jan 9 2010, 06:32 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(werksuckz @ Jan 9 2010, 06:06 PM)
Thanks bro! Will print out my SNR and Att readings and head to TMPoint tomorrow. Hopefully it will be a successful upgrade to 4MBps. Else, have to hope for HSBB. Sucks...
You're most welcome. Oops, forgot to mention. The advanced troubleshooting team (level 2) I was talking about is the one contactable via their helpline, not the ones at TMPoint.

However, the front-line agents *might* refuse to pass on your call to the level 2 agents as these agents are only meant for customers who are already on the 4 Mbps package. Just try to mention that you're a prospective 4 Mbps customer and would like to speak with their level 2 agents.
pluginbaby
post Jan 9 2010, 09:15 PM

2,661 posts

called helpline, they say upgrade done.. but im still on 1024 T_T .. called the tm tech he says that it was already done by his friend as actually the one came testing was his friend, not the actual tech assigned for my case.

he says that it shall be done after lunch today but still now ive just checked its still not done T_T.

do they work on sundays?
gr2000
post Jan 9 2010, 10:38 PM

<Enter a personal message>
873 posts

i'd just like to know when the TM installer came to your house to setup the streamyx 4MB line:

1. did he have to go into the house?

2. did he install anything on your pc/routermodem/main line etc?

3. could you basically tell me what he does when he goes to ur hse?

hope you could answer my 3 queries..thanks for your time guys!

This post has been edited by gr2000: Jan 9 2010, 10:39 PM
pluginbaby
post Jan 9 2010, 10:47 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(gr2000 @ Jan 9 2010, 10:38 PM)
i'd just like to know when the TM installer came to your house to setup the streamyx 4MB line:

1. did he have to go into the house?

2. did he install anything on your pc/routermodem/main line etc?

3. could you basically tell me what he does when he goes to ur hse?

hope you could answer my 3 queries..thanks for your time guys!
1. he went into the house and asking where is ur phone line..
2. he uses his own modem + laptop if he is bringing one to test dsl readings
3. usually he will contact u 1st.. but if he fails to, u can contact helpline to get the assigned tech hp number so that u could arrange the appointment with him..

if the readings passed, he will activate it and do some calls with the activation department maybe.. not sure.. then he say to me it will be activated usually within 24hours.. mine activated already according to tm customer service as they told mine was already updated, but my port are still capped at 1024.. maybe the assigned tech was lazy T_T.. or maybe there is some missunderstanding or mistake done somewhere..

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:11 PM