Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V2

Wan
post Jan 8 2010, 02:58 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Jan 7 2010, 10:13 AM)
bro MX510, what software you use to get that kind of traffic details? i have WRT54GL but cant find these kind of information in the router.
Are you using DDWRT? Or does that router have SNMP(I just stumbled upon after I saw MX510's graph and you asking about it so I tried to search for something similar)?

Might want to try PRTG Traffic Grapher. Have to pay for it, unless you-know-what-it-is-etc. They have the free version, which can only monitor 10 sensors, but that should be more than enough if you want to monitor your router's traffic from your pc.
http://www.paessler.com/prtg6

Just enable SNMP in the router(I use the same router btw, with DDWRT). It's inside the Services tab.. just scroll down. Enable that, and leave the additional settings that come out as a result of enabling it as it is and just apply the settings. Install PRTG, and upon first running, choose SNMP. It would ask you about something, just put in you router's IP address. After that it will list out a bunch of things.. I believe (vlan1) is the router's main internet traffic. After that it's a case of experimenting and exploring the PRTG software. Good luck!

Have to run the PC for the stats to show.. which sucks a bit. I wish they would come out with these sort of things by default inside the router.
pluginbaby
post Jan 8 2010, 07:37 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jan 7 2010, 11:51 PM)
Are you already in 4MB package? or you just about to apply?
i was on 1mb package (1.5mb i guess nowadays ppl are getting) but my port was raised to 4mb.. it has been more than a year already im port capped to 4mb but only getting 1mb speed as my username was only 1mb.. whistling.gif

i applied to upgrade my account to 4mb during the promotion b4 new year.. yesterday the tech came by to check my line.. everything was ok and supported (snr 36-39, att 0-7 after i requested to re-cabling cuz previously failed 2mb test).. so for all this time i was on 4mb port (1mb only on account) but suddenly last nite i noticed it was so slow indeed.. rechecked my modem and i saw that my cap was reduced back to downlstream 1024..

the tech did ask me yesterday how come my line so capped higher and i told that i had severe line prob and didnt meet the 70% best effort so it was raised.. he did even run a couple of test via speedtest.net to really check if im getting only 1mb or 4mb.. lol... he told me that usually 4mb users are capped to 5xxx downstream to meet with the 70% best effort bases in order to reduce complaints. sweat.gif

so hoping that by today account updated and joining ur 4mb club icon_rolleyes.gif
vyzc
post Jan 8 2010, 10:28 AM

119 posts

Would replacing the telephone line outside my house yield an appreciable gain in my SNR? We're talking about a 15-year old copper line, and my SNR is currently at about 19.5 dB whilst capped at 4084 kbps. Also, how much would such a procedure cost?

This post has been edited by vyzc: Jan 8 2010, 10:29 AM
soulquarianz
post Jan 8 2010, 10:33 AM

556 posts

no i'm still stuck with linksys official firmware...anyway i already install DUmeter which is ok in my case, i actually just want to know how much i downloaded on daily, weekly and monthly basis etc. thanks for the info anyway.

btw TM reluctant to change my ip from premium to non premium, they insist to have tech ppl visit me to have better "understanding" of me reporting it's slow. they're coming today afternoon to "check". luckily i already install the DUmeter and will show them the graph coz i realize trafic full speed from 1 am till 9 am (550K) ! after that back to 250 to 350K from 9.01 a.m till 12.59 am

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jan 8 2010, 10:38 AM
pluginbaby
post Jan 8 2010, 10:40 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(vyzc @ Jan 8 2010, 10:28 AM)
Would replacing the telephone line outside my house yield an appreciable gain in my SNR? We're talking about a 15-year old copper line, and my SNR is currently at about 19.5 dB whilst capped at 4084 kbps. Also, how much would such a procedure cost?
previously my snr was only 9-11.. so it cant support the 2mb package with i tried to upgrade a month ago.. i did notice way back that there was a fuzzy sound upon using the tm phone line but i didnt give a damn as im not using it much.. then i realized that there were no dial tone at all.. called tm, they came over confirming the problem, yes.. there was no dial tone.. cable prob but i still get my DSL signal as im able to connect to the internet..

they changed the cables from the TM post at the back of my house in just few minutes.. checked my readings and it boosted snr up to 36-38 (previously 9-11 only).. yesterday the 4mb tech came to test my line and he was quite surprised with the boosted readings.. he said that one of my neighbours oso failed the test yesterday trying to upgrade to 4mb.. surely old cable probs too as mine was ok and we share the same TM pole.. his place was 2 house away from mine..

they changed the cable on mine FOC maybe to technical failures.. maybe if urs is quite ok but u requested for cable changing, it might cost u.. i did ask bout the normal price and he said rm60.. it was billed to the customer.. not payed on site to the contractor..

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jan 8 2010, 10:42 AM
mugenz
post Jan 8 2010, 12:31 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Guys.. anyone from Seapark or ss2 using 4mbps package?

Last week i went Tmpoint to ask whether i can upgrade to 4mpbs, they say my area got no 4mbps port.. but i really want to upgrade it..

Really very ridiculous, i call 100 they ask me to go TMPOINT to ask for the availability and i cant call TMpoint, but i m working in Shah Alam, for me to go back to my nearest TMPoint gonna take some time.
pluginbaby
post Jan 8 2010, 12:36 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jan 8 2010, 12:31 PM)

Last week i went Tmpoint to ask whether i can upgrade to 4mpbs, they say my area got no 4mbps port.. but i really want to upgrade it..

Really very ridiculous, i call 100 they ask me to go TMPOINT to ask for the availability and i cant call TMpoint, but i m working in Shah Alam, for me to go back to my nearest TMPoint gonna take some time.
try to check here : http://www.streamyx.com.my/get_streamyx/ge...ervice_areas_kl
vyzc
post Jan 8 2010, 05:45 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jan 8 2010, 10:40 AM)
previously my snr was only 9-11.. so it cant support the 2mb package with i tried to upgrade a month ago.. i did notice way back that there was a fuzzy sound upon using the tm phone line but i didnt give a damn as im not using it much.. then i realized that there were no dial tone at all.. called tm, they came over confirming the problem, yes.. there was no dial tone.. cable prob but i still get my DSL signal as im able to connect to the internet..

they changed the cables from the TM post at the back of my house in just few minutes.. checked my readings and it boosted snr up to 36-38 (previously 9-11 only).. yesterday the 4mb tech came to test my line and he was quite surprised with the boosted readings.. he said that one of my neighbours oso failed the test yesterday trying to upgrade to 4mb.. surely old cable probs too as mine was ok and we share the same TM pole.. his place was 2 house away from mine..

they changed the cable on mine FOC maybe to technical failures.. maybe if urs is quite ok but u requested for cable changing, it might cost u.. i did ask bout the normal price and he said rm60.. it was billed to the customer.. not payed on site to the contractor..
Hi there, thanks for your reply. That seems like quite a large gain that you've managed to obtain! Might give it a try myself, since it doesn't cost that much.

On a side note guys, I was surprised to discover that SNR and attenuation figures for my line differ from modem to modem (currently miscapped at 2M instead of 4M) :

With ZTE ZXDSL-831 modem - DS SNR: 28.4 dB, US SNR: 28.0 dB, DS attenuation: 5.0 dB, US attenuation: 3.5 dB

With PCI DSL2-01 modem: DS SNR: 32.0 dB, US SNR: 17.1 dB, DS attenuation: 13.0 dB, US attenuation: 2.4 dB

Does this have something to do with the modems? Already tried switching modems for several times to verify the figures above.

This post has been edited by vyzc: Jan 8 2010, 05:46 PM
pluginbaby
post Jan 8 2010, 05:53 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(vyzc @ Jan 8 2010, 05:45 PM)
Hi there, thanks for your reply. That seems like quite a large gain that you've managed to obtain! Might give it a try myself, since it doesn't cost that much.

On a side note guys, I was surprised to discover that SNR and attenuation figures for my line differ from modem to modem (currently miscapped at 2M instead of 4M) :

With ZTE ZXDSL-831 modem - DS SNR: 28.4 dB, US SNR: 28.0 dB, DS attenuation: 5.0 dB, US attenuation: 3.5 dB

With PCI DSL2-01 modem: DS SNR: 32.0 dB, US SNR: 17.1 dB, DS attenuation: 13.0 dB, US attenuation: 2.4 dB

Does this have something to do with the modems? Already tried switching modems for several times to verify the figures above.
during my failed 2mb testing.. the tech tried it with his riger modem and got my readings around 9-11.. but i told him i got a higher reading using my own zyxel.. i got around 13-15.. but he didnt upgrade cuz its so risky as when the port increased to 5mb, the snr would significantly drop more..

i do believe different modem gives different reading but minimum snr u obtained was the best thing.. the reading aint so that accurate so being above the minimum was safe indeed.. .. u surely dont want to have a faster speed but filled with disconnection

try to complaint bout the snr readings and say regarding "disconnection".. if they r lazy surely they say line not supported" , but try to ask them for recabling.. say that u have unwanted noise while using ur tm homeline.. i used to have the annoying noise but now cleared + better dsl line

update : its 24hours already since the testing yester, mine was still not updated to new speed cry.gif

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jan 8 2010, 06:01 PM
MX510
post Jan 8 2010, 06:00 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Just manage to get 124.XXX on my 218 range suddenly routing same like 115 full speed ahead will not dc an trying to hold this ip as long as possible
pluginbaby
post Jan 8 2010, 07:01 PM

2,661 posts

can anyone explain wuts the term "bursting" of streamyx means.. ive seen it somewhere but i failed to understand it.. has something to do with being close to the exchange..
tALEz
post Jan 8 2010, 07:30 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jan 8 2010, 12:31 PM)

From SS2 here, my place is just right next to SeaPark.
I believe they do have the 4mbps port here, checked the availability.

Idiot contractor also came to check, but only problem was my phone line's quality, and his bastardic attitude.
Still feel like giving him a slap.
I wonder if I can do anything about my phone line like some of the guys mentioned.
bai1101
post Jan 8 2010, 11:51 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

joining the 4mb club rclxms.gif

taiwan still crapy ==

This post has been edited by bai1101: Jan 8 2010, 11:55 PM
MX510
post Jan 9 2010, 12:24 AM

4,038 posts

Core ip Integration started tonight
welwitchia
post Jan 9 2010, 12:26 AM

1,219 posts

Guys, I can't connect to www.rapidshare.com at all. Anyone having the same problem? Can't even load the page. Other websites seem though.
Beach_Boy
post Jan 9 2010, 12:26 AM

:D
8,456 posts

looks like most of you guys are capped at 5Mb

it takes a 24-48hours for them to convert my account to 4Mb one, is that correct?

i did a file transfer test just now, the speed remains at 170-180kBps, never more than that sad.gif
kaiserreich
post Jan 9 2010, 12:32 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jan 8 2010, 05:53 PM)
during my failed 2mb testing.. the tech tried it with his riger modem and got my readings around 9-11.. but i told him i got a higher reading using my own zyxel.. i got around 13-15.. but he didnt upgrade cuz its so risky as when the port increased to 5mb, the snr would significantly drop more..

i do believe different modem gives different reading but minimum snr  u obtained was the best thing.. the reading aint so that accurate so being above the minimum was safe indeed.. .. u surely dont want to have a faster speed but filled with disconnection

try to complaint bout the snr readings and say regarding "disconnection".. if they r lazy surely they say line not supported" , but try to ask them for recabling.. say that u have unwanted noise while using ur tm homeline.. i used to have the annoying noise but now cleared + better dsl line
update : its 24hours already since the testing yester, mine was still not updated to new speed  cry.gif
I do get different SNR readings with different modems
I read that Linksys modems sucks on Streamyx, and I get 30dB on sync, and it drops to 6dB at night.
Used the riger and it's good at around 27 - 30 dB

ekudz
post Jan 9 2010, 03:20 AM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

heard from a friend that a tm customer want 4mb but tm inform cant support.. but she still want the 4mb.. doesnt matter support or not.. either tm give 4mb or she will saman TM ... she doesnt care if the line putus2.. or slow! she just want 4mb. tongue.gif

????????
pluginbaby
post Jan 9 2010, 07:54 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Jan 9 2010, 12:26 AM)
looks like most of you guys are capped at 5Mb

it takes a 24-48hours for them to convert my account to 4Mb one, is that correct?

i did a file transfer test just now, the speed remains at 170-180kBps, never more than that sad.gif
same here too.. they came to my house on thursday 5pm but still on 1mb sad.gif .. so long..

btw, anyone can explain what is the meaning of the term streamyx speed "bursting" ?
MX510
post Jan 9 2010, 08:12 AM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jan 9 2010, 07:54 AM)
same here too.. they came to my house on thursday 5pm but still on 1mb sad.gif .. so long..
btw, anyone can explain what is the meaning of the term streamyx speed "bursting" ?
Where do u got that screenshot pls or got the url?

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:45 PM