Jan 8 2007, 07:19 PM
2,352 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pixelgasm |
QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 7 2007, 11:56 PM) Again..let me repeat it again..it is not a true HD for 1080p TV..it only support up to 1080i format....eventhough it claims it support up to 1080p resolution... 1080 physical lines mean that is a FULL HD PANEL. The display mode is supports is another story. Can u display 1080i with just 999 lines? U cant. Get the point? 'NUFF SAID Both 1080i/p are formats, it's nothing related to the panel. A 1366/768 panel can take 1080i input also , but that doesnt make it a FULL HD PANEL because physically it only can display 768. To make my point more valid, read up on interlacing. LCD/PLASMA can not, i repeat, cannot display interlaced video, it has to be de-interlaced first. With the correct de-interlacing method, aka WEAVE, 1080i will become 1080p regardless. If u try to even follow the HD arena, u will know that TOSHIBA is in the HD-DVD camp. The pioneering players of HD-DVD can only send out 1080i (which doesnt even matter after it's de-interlaced). So it's a matter to matching specs to their advantage. Get Blu-Ray for now, if u wan 1080p. This post has been edited by redken: Jan 8 2007, 07:21 PM |
Jan 8 2007, 10:38 PM
1,846 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: City^of^Anggerik |
QUOTE(redken @ Jan 8 2007, 07:19 PM) 1080 physical lines mean that is a FULL HD PANEL. The display mode is supports is another story. Can u display 1080i with just 999 lines? U cant. Get the point? But it is two different thing between i=(interlaced) and p=(progressive) especially for the same 1080 resolution.....even most of the HD ready panel support 1080i resolution. But, for 1080p, its two different things. More about the video signal of Regza 47WL66E 47" , the official spec from toshiba website>>> http://www.toshiba.com.my/servlet/svtUProd...roID=8915993100Both 1080i/p are formats, it's nothing related to the panel. A 1366/768 panel can take 1080i input also , but that doesnt make it a FULL HD PANEL because physically it only can display 768. To make my point more valid, read up on interlacing. LCD/PLASMA can not, i repeat, cannot display interlaced video, it has to be de-interlaced first. With the correct de-interlacing method, aka WEAVE, 1080i will become 1080p regardless. If u try to even follow the HD arena, u will know that TOSHIBA is in the HD-DVD camp. The pioneering players of HD-DVD can only send out 1080i (which doesnt even matter after it's de-interlaced). So it's a matter to matching specs to their advantage. Get Blu-Ray for now, if u wan 1080p. And..one more thing.....the HD-DVD does support 1080p..it has been tested with the HD-DVD external for xbox 360 but with the vga connection, and not with the component video connection due to licensing issue. Don't trust me, go chx out the xbox.com forum or avs forum. Let ne repeat it again, both blueray and HD-DVD supoort 1080p. 'NUFF SAID This post has been edited by silencer: Jan 8 2007, 10:50 PM |
Jan 8 2007, 10:53 PM
5,939 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor |
i was browsing engadget juz now, and saw their CES coverage. Samsung LCD/Plasma/DLP, etc lineup is the awesomeness!! And the price is very reasonable (if you direct convertlar)
Jan 8 2007, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(cocklea @ Jan 8 2007, 10:53 PM) i was browsing engadget juz now, and saw their CES coverage. Samsung LCD/Plasma/DLP, etc lineup is the awesomeness!! And the price is very reasonable (if you direct convertlar) Cannot direct convertlah...all branded lcd in Malaysia r overpriced..dont compare it with oversea....we have got to live with it.... |
Jan 9 2007, 12:26 AM
584 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Skudai, Johor |
Jan 9 2007, 12:31 AM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Lowyat.net needs to seriously create a new section of a forum for these audio/videophiles so that they can leave the console section alone. We can even move this thread to that section too, and let them run amok in that rather than messing things here.
Jan 9 2007, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 9 2007, 12:31 AM) Lowyat.net needs to seriously create a new section of a forum for these audio/videophiles so that they can leave the console section alone. We can even move this thread to that section too, and let them run amok in that rather than messing things here. spring....appreciate if u can update the price of blueray disc and hd-dvd in malaysia since u have bought it before....and i also wondering how much is the price difference if compared with the one u ordered from amazon.Will be joining the HD community this month..have to wait after the AGM meeting .... This post has been edited by silencer: Jan 9 2007, 12:52 AM |
Jan 9 2007, 01:07 AM
2,352 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pixelgasm |
QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 8 2007, 10:38 PM) But it is two different thing between i=(interlaced) and p=(progressive) especially for the same 1080 resolution.....even most of the HD ready panel support 1080i resolution. But, for 1080p, its two different things. More about the video signal of Regza 47WL66E 47" , the official spec from toshiba website>>> http://www.toshiba.com.my/servlet/svtUProd...roID=8915993100 How different is different? I know what the brochure said, i am talking about understanding them. Which doesnt really matter, because most people prolly buy on impulse alone.And..one more thing.....the HD-DVD does support 1080p..it has been tested with the HD-DVD external for xbox 360 but with the vga connection, and not with the component video connection due to licensing issue. Don't trust me, go chx out the xbox.com forum or avs forum. Let ne repeat it again, both blueray and HD-DVD supoort 1080p. 'NUFF SAID Both Disc Format is about the same, quality wise and what not. Furthermore, D-Sub is a progressive only type of connection. Any hardware sporting it, would have some de-interlacing hardware inside. My point exactly, being 1080p and 1080i is indeed an interchangable format, there's no need for a winner. For the record, even our old CRT Monitor are progressive already, but no one went ga-ga over the quality also |
Jan 9 2007, 01:43 AM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sejak bila laks nama aku jadik "spring" wei?
Normal HDDVD is RM139 while Combo DVD/HDDVD is RM179. No news on a locally available Bluray. Local adoption of new technology is painfully slow as Malaysians show their true "Boleh" spirit by waiting and see which format get cracked first. You can do a direct comparison of the price with Amazon by visiting their site. Toing toing! This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 9 2007, 01:47 AM |
Jan 9 2007, 02:08 AM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 9 2007, 01:43 AM) Sejak bila laks nama aku jadik "spring" wei? Sorry "STRING" ...got it..so no blueray in local market..just HD-DVD..the only way to is amazon then... Normal HDDVD is RM139 while Combo DVD/HDDVD is RM179. No news on a locally available Bluray. Local adoption of new technology is painfully slow as Malaysians show their true "Boleh" spirit by waiting and see which format get cracked first. You can do a direct comparison of the price with Amazon by visiting their site. Toing toing! This post has been edited by silencer: Jan 9 2007, 02:10 AM |
Jan 9 2007, 02:29 AM
1,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOU.ESS.JAY |
Jan 9 2007, 08:59 AM
10,231 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(yjtay @ Jan 8 2007, 02:33 PM) I am planning to order a couple of blurays, if you are interested, I can add your title to my order and we can split the 'per shipment' cost of the priority shipping courier. Better still if I can find any others to split the cost further. and my orders would be end of the month. gonna get at least 6 BR movies On receipt I can COD to you anywhere in KL. Btw will send my order before the end of this week. QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 9 2007, 02:29 AM) You could order from Kelvin DVD though, that's where zaakath got his blu-ray movies if im not mistaken. yes, Kelvin DVD can take ur orders but i think buying from amazon would be better. Cheaper if u buy in 1 whole lot |
Jan 9 2007, 10:07 AM
654 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Yes Kelvin does blu ray (have a few more coming from him soon). It is cheaper from Amazon but I ordered through him to stay away from my credit cards at the current momment. He was charging RM170 for Superman returns. Was in Singapore recently and bought 2 Blue rays recently (Pearl Harbour, and Black Hawk Down and several HD-DVD (don't have the Xbox hd dvd player but getting soon from either Japan or US hopefully soon, sourced in UK all sold out on the player) titles including, The Mummy, Ray, Friday Night Lights.
Slowing building my AV set looking at either a set of KeF IQ5 or Acoutisc Energy Aegis Neo or Mission speakers (was initially going with Aego T's) but nothing beats floor stand speakers and moving all my console and Philips TV to the living room. AV receiever will either be the Marantz but try hard to find the Sony STR-DA1200ES This post has been edited by zaakath: Jan 9 2007, 10:08 AM |
Jan 9 2007, 10:57 AM
20 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Some news on the HD scene States side from post-gazette.com:
QUOTE About 695,000 consumers own either a Blu-ray or an HD-DVD player, according to Tom Adams of Adams Media Research in Carmel, Calif. But only about 25,000 have purchased stand-alone Blu-ray players. Another 400,000 consumers have Blu-ray because they bought a Sony PS3 game console. Meanwhile, about 120,000 or so have a stand-alone HD-DVD player while about 150,000 have an HD-DVD upgrade kit for their Xbox 360 game consoles, Mr. Adams says. He adds that those numbers are well in excess of the 300,000 DVD-player sales in 1997, when that technology rolled out. Also some comments from a lay person on upscaled DVD vs Blu-ray from the same site QUOTE San Francisco computer consultant Tyler Dikman, for example, owns a high-end Denon 3910 DVD player that he uses with a 60-inch Sony Grand Wega rear-projection HDTV set. Mr. Dikman had heard the buzz about next-generation DVDs for a couple of years and shelled out $1,000 for a Sony Blu-ray player in November. After watching movies like Paramount Pictures' "Mission Impossible III" and Columbia Pictures' "The Fifth Element" on the new player, he decided that, although the text was crisper on subtitles and there were fewer glitches like blurring, overall the Blu-ray movies didn't look much better than regular DVDs on his Denon player. The Sony player also wouldn't play his audio CDs. He took it back to a Best Buy Co. store last month. For the full article link click New DVD players resolve battle of formats. |
Jan 9 2007, 03:32 PM
1,418 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Hmmm just wondering one thing, I have heard of external upscalers, and frankly dvds for me now look just as good as it did on my sdtv(with some artifacts here and there) .. i wonder if an upscaler will do the same for the Wii?
seriously sometimes its quite painful playing it these days... |
Jan 9 2007, 03:50 PM
11,809 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
480p for wii also not enuff for u?
Jan 9 2007, 05:20 PM
1,418 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
no its not enough!! its blurry!!
haha typed my post in a hurry.... it was "sau goong" time.. its not so bad that i won't play it.. just wish it could go through the same treatement my dvd gets when i play it on the upscaling player.. This post has been edited by tnsai: Jan 9 2007, 08:02 PM |
Jan 9 2007, 09:13 PM
5,939 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor |
was browsing engadget again, and saw some of the best new lineups of plasmas, LCD, projectors. geram btul! lots of awesome models and we wont get like half of it.
Jan 9 2007, 09:15 PM
1,978 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: winter brings the spring again |
| Change to: | 0.0259sec