HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

stringfellow
post Jan 28 2005, 11:21 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Be advised that not all Component inputs are capable of relaying HD signals. You will need to check with your TV user manual to make sure the Component input on your TV supports any of the three HD modes.

And oh, 100hz Progressive scan IS NOT a HD Mode, it is a cheap ploy by current TV manufacturer to imply that their TVs have some sort of HD Mode in them. 100Hz Progressive scan ONLY cleans the video signal received from the antennae from terrestrial TV or other available inputs on the TV. Since this process merely repeats/doubles the INTERLACED scanlines on the TV, your eyes is fooled into thinking that the image is smoother and clearer.

For more read-up on Interlaced vs Progressive , point your mice here:-
http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_7_4/...ve-10-2000.html

In short, Interlaced is shitty because you see your video images as a series of scanlines with alternate black lines between them.Progressive video signals draws the entire picture.Since interlaced video signals draws the image on screen as alternate lines,fast moving scenes appear "broken" or "jaggied".On an already jaggified games on consoles like PS2, this makes the picture even worse.
stringfellow
post May 22 2005, 06:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The ULTIMATE HDTV.
http://www.audiorevolution.com/equip/princeton/

THE reference standard monitor for those who wants only the bext out of their vieweing needs.
stringfellow
post Oct 1 2006, 09:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(HeavenNirvana @ Sep 26 2006, 02:09 AM)
Guys, Has anyone bought LCD TV from online (eg Amazon). Lets says its has faulty, so how is the warranty?

Want to do some research............
Amazon does not ship electronics outside of its region, eg. Amazon.com does not ship outside continental America, the same with Amazon.co.uk and such.
stringfellow
post Dec 18 2006, 10:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Everyone's invited to tomorrow's HD-DVD Movie playtest at Mediaplex KLCC, for your experience with High Definition media. There you can see for your own eyes, if HD contents look good between Plasmas , LCDs or projectors. The movie playtest is tomorrow December 19th at Mediaplex KLCC.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 18 2006, 10:52 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 2 2007, 12:03 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Jan 1 2007, 12:02 PM)
i just saw at best that they have this 46incher toshiba full hd lcd going for a price cheaper than sony,

I wonder hows its quality?
Model number? Link and pics would be super.

Having too much fun to "barge in" into anything, much less argue over the internets. Where's that JPEG about arguing over the nets when you need one? whistling.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 4 2007, 04:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Upscaling only works via VGA for the 360, including the 1080p resolution. Component connections stays at 480p for movies, although component can go up to 1080p, MPAA has imposed restriction from going 1080p via component.
stringfellow
post Jan 4 2007, 04:44 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Im avoiding VGA connection on my setup, as it exhibits a very washed-out kinda image quality. Ever since, i've sold my VGA cables to those who need it.
stringfellow
post Jan 4 2007, 05:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

HD-DVD at 1080i is awesome enough to stand toe to toe with Bluray's 1080p. Take my word for it.
stringfellow
post Jan 9 2007, 12:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Lowyat.net needs to seriously create a new section of a forum for these audio/videophiles so that they can leave the console section alone. We can even move this thread to that section too, and let them run amok in that rather than messing things here.
stringfellow
post Jan 9 2007, 01:43 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sejak bila laks nama aku jadik "spring" wei? laugh.gif

Normal HDDVD is RM139 while Combo DVD/HDDVD is RM179. No news on a locally available Bluray. Local adoption of new technology is painfully slow as Malaysians show their true "Boleh" spirit by waiting and see which format get cracked first.

You can do a direct comparison of the price with Amazon by visiting their site.

Toing toing! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 9 2007, 01:47 AM
stringfellow
post Jan 10 2007, 01:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Not sure if this is anyone's cup of tea, but finally i have access to those HD videos the stores like Best Denki and SonyStyle are using to promote their HDTVs. They are stored in makeshift HDDs that are sent over with their display units, and used to run in loops to showcase the HDTV clarity of their TVs. They are 1080i in nature, and i have the opportunity to copy/download these test/reference HD files off the HDDs from both Mediaplex and SonyStyle tomorrow. I already have Sony Europe Bravia X Full HD "Explosion of Color" HDTV shocase video files in 720p, and they look phenomenal running off my laptops connected to my Bravia. I can only drool at the anticipation of how it would look on my own unit once i get it home to my portable drive tomorrow.
stringfellow
post Jan 12 2007, 04:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup Zaakath, the X goes between 40, 46 and 52in IIANM.
stringfellow
post Mar 12 2007, 01:18 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 11 2007, 04:25 PM)
i dont think ps3 support 1080i.last time i check they only support 1080p and 480p.....

i want a ps3 but the damn thing so pricy. so i duduk diam diam and play my dreamcast and ps2.

god of war 2 is coming wat!
Another clever post from you, if dont know anything then please dont spread FUD. 1080i is one of the 4 resolutions supported on HD, apart of 480i on standard Composhit.

It's a full time job correcting misinformation spread by people in here.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 12 2007, 01:19 AM
stringfellow
post Mar 12 2007, 03:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It was explained before already PAL 1080i on 50Hz, you need PAL PS3.
stringfellow
post Mar 13 2007, 05:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If it doesnt say, shouldnt that AUTOMATICALLY means it doesnt do 1080p? rolleyes.gif I doubt TVs that small to be equipped with 1080p, except for the Westinghouses.
stringfellow
post Mar 20 2007, 02:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It's nice to know that Japanese has the nicest and most updated HDTV models compared to the rest of the world, but isnt it redundant when it is only available in Japan? Nothing other than oogling at these models that most of us can do here, and most will end up cursing local stores to stamping high prices for going-to-be-outdated models soon. Can we help that our country slaps taxes on electronics and that Malaysia doesnt have terrestrial HDTV broadcast that makes locally launched HDTVs here lacking digital tuners?

I think its best if we could turn out attention to what's available LOCALLY than merely drooling at the overseas prospects. Unless you're a well off to do person, or willing to risk shipping such delicate equipment such as flat panel TVs from oversea to here and attend to the huge taxes as well as voltage inconsistancies, i dont think news about what HDTVs available in other places is of any real use to us here, dont you think?

I for one wants Westinghouse's offerings, as well as B&O products, i can afford these, but getting them into the country would either incur killer taxes, and even killer thoughts of smashing them to bits in the container shipment. So i refrained discussing about them since it is useless to talk about something that is impossible to get into our country.
stringfellow
post Mar 21 2007, 01:01 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Mar 20 2007, 09:29 PM)
LOL. Sarcasm  tongue.gif

I bet Singapore stocks loads of them.
QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 21 2007, 12:02 AM)
sarcasm ur head lah biggrin.gif qouting the truth nia, i really fancy B&O products, but i cant afford them, so im envy string nia

i remember once, i even wen to ebay to search for cheap used B&O, but the price still too expensive, even for an old old turntable, also gonna cost me rm 1k ++, and its in broken condition

yes, SG has them, but i no balls to go and see

stringfellow
post Apr 4 2007, 02:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Your eyes are your best friend when it comes to comparison between the candidates. Each of those models mentioned can be fed different sources with different level of PQ/resolution, which may suggest that a particular model is better highlighted than the other. The best way to resolve this, is to feed it the same source and compare from there.

My hangout/new unofficial workplace tongue.gif has the Sony KDL40X2000 and Sharp LC-52D62U, both more known as the Sony 40in Bravia X and Sharp Aquos 52in, both capable at 1080p, and both running 1080p trailers from HDMI splitter from a PS3 shown significant differences between the two. Dont believe? Drop by to see it for yourself, the winner is the "S" with lesser alphabet. Coincidentally, when both the 52inch 1080p Samsung and Sharp was paired side-by-side running 1080p source, the "S" with the lesser alphabet in this case, also shows a better PQ, albeit with less differences, compared to the Sony-Sharp case.

Anyway, Mediaplex just got in their brand new Samsung LCd TV today, comes with 3 HDMI inputs. The said model has not even been updated into Samsung Malaysia's webpage, the only match i see is from Samsung US site, the LN-T40XXX minus the HD tuner built in of course. 720p still, but the built quality and the piano finish is suitable for design conscious folks.

The LGs are in one corner running upconverted DVD feed and/or HD content from custom boxes, the Samsungs are up front running HD-DVDs i've supplied them with, while the main showroom showdown is between the Sony KDL40X2000 and Sharp LC-52D62U, a 40incher versus a 52 incher., and the Sony outclasses the Sharp, in my personal view. Both are connected to a PS3 via HDMI splitter, so you can ask showroom execs to put in games/Bluray i left there to see which of the two makes(or breaks) your choice. Ask them to run Motorstorm demo or play Casino Royale Bluray i left there.

Those looking for projectors too are not left out. The Cinema Hall at the back is running a rotation of projectors, from InFocus and Optoma's 720p offerings to the Mitsubishi's LVP-HC5000 right up to Sony Pearl and Ruby (Pearl sold already unfortunately).

Right now they are running the 7 minutes HD footage of Spider-Man 3 from NBC.com, on any screen connected to a PS3. Not really 1080p, the file i got for them is only 720p, couldnt get them the 1080p feed....maybe nonexistant too since the NBC special was streamed and streaming a 1080p off a website would incur the wrath of the bandwidth God. tongue.gif

Simply put, comparison between the said models is the only way to get the real big picture of which model suits your eyes better. And to do that, you need side-by-side comparison. We had tons of debates among ourselves at Mediaplex when we we running the Sharp and Samsung 52inchers side by side, about which model is better. Sharp looks amazing on normal motion pictures involving natural background (sceneries, humans, actual footage captured by cameras), while the Samsung was unbeatable when it comes to computer-generated imageries from Ice Age 2 and Corpse Bride Blurays. In the end, most picked the Samsung out of the price factor (cheaper by a couple of thousands), even though personally i'd picked the Sharp anytime. Things might be different if they throw the Sony Bravia X into the fight though.....

OMG...Sleep! Need to wake early to pick up ticket today! *

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 4 2007, 02:36 AM
stringfellow
post Apr 4 2007, 03:29 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Exactly, but when the 40incher brings out more detail and color than the 52incher, while the 52incher struggles with detail and can only output soft PQs, while the 40incher remains steady, it certainly doesnt do justice to the larger screen at all. You are supposed to see better detail at bigger screens, while smaller screens loses detail as it get smaller while the resolution stays put, but seems like things are going head over tail here.
stringfellow
post Apr 5 2007, 12:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Apr 4 2007, 11:34 PM)
Hmmm.. i thought it is the other way around... as it is always in the videophile views that "For Source material: The smaller your TV, the easier it is to overlook flaws in the source material."
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

For Samsung R7 user...pls takes note on bELOWS; -

Excerpt from xbox.xom forum :-

"Few months ago (I dont know if you remeber), I told you guys there was something rather odd about the LCD panels used in the latest versions of the 32" Samsung (R7 series), well; it turned out to be true.

Apparently not all R7 32" has the S-PVA panel. Instead, some are fitted with an inferior LCD panel manufactured by a company called CMO. However, there were few people who ended up with an AUO M-MVA panel (lucky ******* ).

Note: The following information was obtained from the AVForums.

If you want to find out the make of the panel inside your R7, look for a sticker that contains model no and the version no near the volume buttons. If the version number has the following "CM0*", the R7 you have contains a CMO panel and if the version number contains "AM0*", you R7 has an AUO-MVA panel.

The best way to obtain panel type/make is by entering the service menu (it's more accurate).

You can find more info by clicking on the following links:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=498836
http://www.avforums.com/forums/showp...0&postcount=10
http://www.avforums.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=11

Note: This may also affect the 40" version as well

One more thing. If your R7 is working perfectly and you're 100% happy with it, don't look at the sticker! Just leave it alone and ignore this threadBig Smile [biggrin.gif]."
I know bro, tu ler yang pelik. We were scratching our collective heads trying to figure out how to make the Sharp 52incher to look at least comparable to the Sony 40incher in terms of PQ (we want to sell the Sharp, since it is not viable in business sense to hang on to stock for so long, before we can replenish new upcoming models), but even with SpyderTV calibration, we cant get it to look as nice as the 40incher. The lingering problem will always be that both of them are placed side by side, and obviously patrons will be inclined to do comparisons between them. cry.gif

I can confirm that the new Samsung we had is the new R8. 3 HDMI inputs, 720p, and gorgeously lickable piano finish front panel. Even the control pannel buttons on the right side is touch-activated, they are not normal buttons so to speak.

0.0208sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:22 AM