21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Tips and Tricks for Mass Gaining, Tips and Physique Friendly Recipes :)

lilredridinghood
post Nov 20 2010, 10:37 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

I have just finished my low carb diet and back eating toasts and weet bix for breakkies and pre workouts, still pre low carb considering that I only take carbs during breakfasts and pre workouts, 6-7 meals a day with a rough estimation of 2000cal per day with the intention of clean bulking, I've gained 1.5kgs(Mostly fats) in 2 weeks. FECK!!!! tongue.gif

And an annoying bugger in my gym kept asking me to buy True Mass or any other supplements from him, I told him about my body and he's still insistent, if you are here, listen, why should I take 600 extra calories if I can get those easily from real food, and I don't take sugars anymore except for post or intra workout.

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Nov 20 2010, 10:40 AM
TSken86
post Nov 22 2010, 10:01 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Nov 20 2010, 10:12 AM)
Eat more protein and fat if you wanna gain muscles. Eat more protein, more fat and less carb if you wanna gain muscles and lose fats at the same time.

About a year ago, a customer came to me for advice. He was a plump guy who had been training for a couple of years. He had been on calorie counting diets and his waist was still the same at 36" and weighed 190lbs.
I told him to forget about calorie counting.

My diet for him was

Breakfast
6 whole eggs, fried with butter
1 small tomato and a few slices of cucumber.

Lunch.
2 whole chicken thigh with skin
3 tablespoon cooked rolled oats plus 2-3 tablespoons of oil

Tea.
60g of whey protein +2 tablespoon coconut oil and 1 green apple.

Post workout
80g whey protein +2 tablespoon coconut oil.

Dinner.
300g of fish plus lots of vege plus 3 tablespoons oil.

Before bed.
40g of whey protein.

Less protein on rest days.

He trains and diets consistently for about a year. He now weighs 185lbs and waistline is 32". He gains muscles mass and lose fats at the same time while on low carb diet. If I calculate his calorie intake, his new diet has more calories than his former due to more fats intake.

Note.
No insulin spike in his diet. He was still able to gain muscles without insulin spike.
this is a great basic template for a keto(<50g of carbs)/paleo and good to see I m not the only one that thinks coconut oil is so awesome. A few studies does show BCAA helps the secretion of insulin and hence it's value pre,peri and post workout

but in the end

If you are someone who thrives on a high-carb diet, then go for it (though I think you are in the minority). If you are someone who thrives on a low-carb diet, then go for it as well. And, maybe you fit somewhere in the middle like most people, and perform and feel your best on a relatively balanced diet. Just like most things, nutritional preference is a bell curve; the trick is to find where you fit on that continuum.

Added on November 22, 2010, 10:01 pm
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 17 2010, 09:44 PM)
Excellent advice as always ken86.
thanks budday ! it means a lot !

Added on November 22, 2010, 10:03 pm
QUOTE(techme @ Nov 19 2010, 06:57 PM)
nice article, lots of details. Any articles on how to get lean-muscle mass?
everything mentioned here is aiming at gaining lean muscle mass and of course that slight fat gain is inevitable even if u are diligent about it.

Added on November 22, 2010, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(cywong89 @ Nov 20 2010, 01:32 AM)
I use to take lots of weight gainer, but end out all the fat grow on my back, tummy and surprisingly on my ass also..Now i decided just to take whey protein though i am slightly underweight. BTW one question, it is true that egg yolk suitable for body builder? cause some article claims that egg yolk contain bad fat.. it is really confusing.
seriously egg yolk is good for you

http://www.tonygentilcore.com/2010/02/what...figure-skating/

everything u need to know is inside.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 22 2010, 10:05 PM
4Rings
post Nov 23 2010, 03:52 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

It wasn't a keto diet, Ken. The carb is more than 50g, a low carb diet. Nobody can last long on keto diet. Carb is too additive. Protein does spike up insulin but not as much as carbs.

Coconut oil is one of the best oils around and tastes jolly good too. Great for frying your eggs.

The low carb diet is designed for someone wanting to gain muscles and lose fats at the same time and it is not for skinny fellas.
bata
post Nov 23 2010, 05:33 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Nov 23 2010, 03:52 PM)
It wasn't a keto diet, Ken. The carb is more than 50g, a low carb diet. Nobody can last long on keto diet. Carb is too additive. Protein does spike up insulin but not as much as carbs.

Coconut oil is one of the best oils around and tastes jolly good too. Great for frying your eggs.

The low carb diet is designed for someone wanting to gain muscles and lose fats at the same time and it is not for skinny fellas.
if you want to fry your eggs? what kind of oil did you use bro? and why?

Chow
4Rings
post Nov 24 2010, 01:32 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Nov 23 2010, 05:33 PM)
if you want to fry your eggs? what kind of oil did you use bro? and why?
Chow
Usually I use refined olive oil or butter because they are heat stable.
arekey
post Nov 24 2010, 04:22 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Nov 23 2010, 04:52 PM)

Can the coconut oil been replace by fish oil?
darklight79
post Nov 24 2010, 05:45 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(arekey @ Nov 24 2010, 04:22 PM)
Can the coconut oil been replace by fish oil?
Kinda stupid right? He's talking about using it to fry eggs with and you're asking if it can be replaced using fish oil.....? Yuck!
arekey
post Nov 24 2010, 07:36 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 24 2010, 06:45 PM)
Kinda stupid right? He's talking about using it to fry eggs with and you're asking if it can be replaced using fish oil.....? Yuck!
I'm refering to this statement
"80g whey protein +2 tablespoon coconut oil."
brutha

This post has been edited by arekey: Nov 24 2010, 07:39 PM
darklight79
post Nov 25 2010, 12:39 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(arekey @ Nov 24 2010, 07:36 PM)
I'm refering to this statement
"80g whey protein +2 tablespoon coconut oil."
brutha
Hmmm.... actually I am curious how frying eggs with fish oil will taste like. Anyone willing to experiment?
bigbangformula
post Nov 25 2010, 01:16 AM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 25 2010, 12:39 AM)
Hmmm.... actually I am curious how frying eggs with fish oil will taste like. Anyone willing to experiment?
You will never want to eat eggs again laugh.gif
TSken86
post Nov 25 2010, 02:15 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Nov 23 2010, 03:52 PM)

hmmm

1 small tomato and a few slices of cucumber =7 g of carbs

tomato
~100g

Total Carbs = 4g

cucumber
1 cup sliced (119g)
Total Carbs = 3g

3 tablespoon cooked rolled oats

1/3 cup of uncooked rolled oats (27g) = 19g of carbs
1 tbsp of uncooked rolled oats = 5g

plus cooking it expands it hence increasing its volume in the spoon and it's overall weight

so let's say 15g of net carbs

1 green apple

about 110-120g = 14g of net carbs

lots of vege

let's say the denser mini tree - Broccoli, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt = 7g carbs

7 + 15 + 14 + 7 ~= 43g of carbs okay say 50g of carbs with miscellaneous carbs from the whey

all figures are from www.nutritiondata.com

Additionally, from the standpoint of rapidly depleting liver glycogen, the more that carbohydrates are restricted during the first days of a ketogenic diet, the faster ketosis will occur and the deeper the degree of ketonemia. When examining the diet studies, any diet with more than 100 grams of carbohydrates is considered to be non-ketogenic (often called a ‘balanced’ diet) while any diet with less than 100 grams of carbohydrates is ketogenic (2).

from lyle mcdonald's ketogenic diet book and 2. Phinney S. Exercise during and after very-low-calorie dieting. Am J Clin Nutr (1992) 56: 190S-194S

again it also depends on dan duchaine's ketogenic model of <30g carbs or also known as SKD (standard ketogenic diet)

or maybe targeted ketogenic diet (TKD) or cyclical ketogenic diet (CKD) with slightly higher carb requirement pending on activity levels and various factors.

regardless these are all just small details and let's focus on the bigger picture. If u are fat ******* and wants to lose some weight, find something that swings your way with a caloric deficit. Some individuals handle carbs well and some don't. trying is key.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 25 2010, 02:20 AM
cywong89
post Nov 25 2010, 07:40 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7Ey1ch2Koc...player_embedded
theCrab
post Nov 25 2010, 08:03 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(cywong89 @ Nov 25 2010, 07:40 PM)
http://chetday.com/eggyolk.htm
http://www.healthiertalk.com/go-ahead-and-eat-yolk-0579
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/cholesterol/HQ00608

there are more
forget bout this video.Darklight have 12 full eggs per day.
littleprawn
post Nov 28 2010, 05:10 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

can any sifu help me? icon_question.gif
i would like to gain weight~
currently my height is 165cm and weight 47kg~
overall i'm a bit skinny except for my belly~
i think i sit too much in the office~
i been thinking of drinking weight gain and going to the gym at night flex.gif

so what should i eat and what exercise should i do?
Thanks in advance~ notworthy.gif
blackdove
post Feb 8 2011, 07:53 AM

26 posts

Many bodybuilders take oatmeal to bulk up and for fiber. Unfortunately, the regular supermarket flavors get old fast. Here's how to put alternative Asian flavors to instant oatmeal.
ZeneticX
post Feb 12 2011, 10:57 PM

stars for what
12,410 posts

can add whey into tuna?
-Dan
post Feb 13 2011, 04:14 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 12 2011, 10:57 PM)
can add whey into tuna?
If you like chocolate/vanilla flavoured tuna.
darklight79
post Feb 13 2011, 05:52 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 12 2011, 10:57 PM)
can add whey into tuna?
Your stomach will have a debate with you the whole day about the wisdom of having done that. I speak from experience.
Seager
post Feb 14 2011, 02:05 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Hi there, i'm currently 58kgs, 176cm tall.

Thing is, I work out a lot, at least 3-4 times a week, 1.5hours per session.

I'll do deadlifts, squats, back, arms, legs - Alternating 2-3 types only per session.

I have trouble gaining weight, although I'm seeing physical improvement because I have been working out for about 8 months now.

Weight gained from 54kgs to about 58 now. I was at 60kgs a few weeks back, but fell sick due to dengue.

Would appreciate if you could help me with my diet. I am lactose intolerant, so no dairy products for me, no cheese, no milk, no yogurt and stuff like that. I also don't eat beef.

Thank you smile.gif

This post has been edited by Seager: Feb 14 2011, 02:13 PM
Reubs
post Feb 20 2011, 01:35 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Feb 14 2011, 02:05 PM)
Hi there, i'm currently 58kgs, 176cm tall.

Thing is, I work out a lot, at least 3-4 times a week, 1.5hours per session.

I'll do deadlifts, squats, back, arms, legs - Alternating 2-3 types only per session.

I have trouble gaining weight, although I'm seeing physical improvement because I have been working out for about 8 months now.

Weight gained from 54kgs to about 58 now. I was at 60kgs a few weeks back, but fell sick due to dengue.

Would appreciate if you could help me with my diet. I am lactose intolerant, so no dairy products for me, no cheese, no milk, no yogurt and stuff like that. I also don't eat beef.

Thank you smile.gif
How is your current diet like?

You can always get lactase pills if you're lactose intolerant. That's if you're willing to spend about 100 bucks a month.

Doesn't matter if you can't take beef. Eggs and chicken breast are rich in protein.

21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:24 AM