QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 26 2015, 06:30 PM)
if not mistaken, the emulated atmos from true-hd is called "dolby surround"Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
Mar 26 2015, 08:34 PM
13,210 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Mar 26 2015, 09:07 PM
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 26 2015, 08:34 PM) I never bother on this, Dolby surround, DTS or THX.For me, getting the first 5.1 channel right will be more important. If a person can do this right in the first place, adding another pair(s) of speakers won't give good effect on HT enjoyment. |
Mar 26 2015, 10:39 PM
628 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 26 2015, 08:34 PM) actually is "dolby surround up-mixing".i heard a lot of people saying its doing a very good job up mixing any source to atmos atmosphere.so basically we don't have to rely on dolby atmos title because of this up-mixing.and some of them say its better than dts neo x,dsx and dolby prologic.. |
Mar 27 2015, 02:14 PM
3,136 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
AFAIK,
Dolby Atmos codecs in a Bd is a dedicated channel - kinda like 7.1 but for de overhead speakers as well.. so technically - it should sound a lot more discrete [better] than de DSP's from an avr.. But frm my experience, going from 5 to 7 is not tat life-changing so l'd take atmos wif a large ladling of salt.. My 2 cts la .. othrs will differ D |
Mar 28 2015, 07:25 AM
8,739 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I agree that it might change much unless you have sensitive ears to hear the difference
Mar 28 2015, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 28 2015, 07:25 AM) From conventional 5.1 setup, by adding another pair of speakers, be it next to rear speakers, let them fire upwards, install it from ceiling firing downward also will have effect. |
Mar 29 2015, 08:32 PM
1,689 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any sifu can please explain the sub woofer setting the hz lower or higher make any big different.tq
Mar 29 2015, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 29 2015, 08:32 PM) are you asking bass lfe crossover? 80hz is cinema and thx standardlower hz will make subwoofer give good impact but your main speaker must have adequete cone size. usually 6.5" or else mid bass missing. higher hz will blend better with small speaker that lack of mid bass, but the subwoofer may localized one side and resonance boom within room. |
Mar 30 2015, 07:59 AM
8,739 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
In theory is you need to know the lowest frequency your speaker can go and what is the highest frequency your sub can go. The middle point of the speaker and sub is your cross over. If you set it wrong then certain frequency will go missing or hear it.
Mar 30 2015, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 29 2015, 09:09 PM) are you asking bass lfe crossover? 80hz is cinema and thx standard Thanks bro. that mean setting to 80hz is standard unless as u stated lower hz, have to had bigger size driver.Is it the same for crossover setting for speaker.lower hz will make subwoofer give good impact but your main speaker must have adequete cone size. usually 6.5" or else mid bass missing. higher hz will blend better with small speaker that lack of mid bass, but the subwoofer may localized one side and resonance boom within room. |
Mar 30 2015, 08:21 AM
QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 30 2015, 07:59 AM) In theory is you need to know the lowest frequency your speaker can go and what is the highest frequency your sub can go. The middle point of the speaker and sub is your cross over. If you set it wrong then certain frequency will go missing or hear it. But as i can see the avr have individual setting for front, center, surround n sub. So how to get the best hz setting for individual but my sub got setting button for hz too. |
Mar 30 2015, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 30 2015, 08:21 AM) But as i can see the avr have individual setting for front, center, surround n sub. So how to get the best hz setting for individual but my sub got setting button for hz too. 80hz is guide line not necessary to follow exactly.actually not that simple, need to adjust together with channel level. give u one example, my main spkr use dual 5.5" floorstanding. center and surround are 4" mini bookshelf type. a 10" subwoofer set to bypass all control to avr. auto calibration give front 60hz, tilt up center 80hz, surround at rear corner 80hz. bass lfe crossover inside receiver is 120hz, not adjusted by auto calibration. while many foreign forums says leave 120hz as is, to contain full signal from 5.1 movies. the result is shaking boom. decrease sw channel level helps in movie but music become lean bass no kick. so i experiment adjusting lfe crossover to 110, 100, 90, 80, 60, 40 by ear using rock music. 80hz was the best until i add acoustic foam, 90hz become more natural to blend in room. increase sw channel level to match with main spkr. for front spkr crossover, i tried 80hz voice is over energetic (not realistic). of course it depends on your taste those frequency that peak in between front 60hz and sw 90hz has been taken care by acoustic foam. This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 30 2015, 09:31 AM |
Mar 30 2015, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 30 2015, 07:59 AM) In theory is you need to know the lowest frequency your speaker can go and what is the highest frequency your sub can go. The middle point of the speaker and sub is your cross over. If you set it wrong then certain frequency will go missing or hear it. natural roll off |
Mar 30 2015, 11:08 AM
Another question for sub, there is a setting for normal n reverse phase, normally u guys set to normal or reverse phase.tq
Mar 30 2015, 11:22 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 30 2015, 11:28 AM
I set reverse phase on the sub side n avr normal but when i set avr to to reverse n sub side also reverse no sound from sub. Anything wrong or my setting is incorrect
Mar 30 2015, 11:31 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 30 2015, 12:24 PM
17,021 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 30 2015, 11:28 AM) I set reverse phase on the sub side n avr normal but when i set avr to to reverse n sub side also reverse no sound from sub. Anything wrong or my setting is incorrect You don't try to use YPAO first before manually tune? Tune the sub correctly than use YPAO to detect the setting. |
Mar 30 2015, 02:27 PM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 26 2015, 09:07 PM) I never bother on this, Dolby surround, DTS or THX. Most (if not all) of the current audio mixes for DVD or bluray is based on either Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS (for Digital Theater Sound) lossy (or compressed mixed), and for bluray mostly DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHDFor me, getting the first 5.1 channel right will be more important. If a person can do this right in the first place, adding another pair(s) of speakers won't give good effect on HT enjoyment. Unless all of your movie is encoded in PCM 5.1 or LPCM 5.1, you are using the surround audio setup, and THX is not an audio standard. |
Mar 30 2015, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 30 2015, 02:27 PM) Most (if not all) of the current audio mixes for DVD or bluray is based on either Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS (for Digital Theater Sound) lossy (or compressed mixed), and for bluray mostly DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD I already following government's advise on cutting cost of living. Unless all of your movie is encoded in PCM 5.1 or LPCM 5.1, you are using the surround audio setup, and THX is not an audio standard. So no DVD5/9, just download Are those encoded in PCM/LPCM like you say? Nobody will knows This is like chasing shadow game, getting something that we don't require |
| Change to: | 0.0848sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:01 AM |