Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

ktek
post Nov 23 2012, 05:00 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Nov 23 2012, 09:02 AM)
Thanks in advance for any help.

1. yes, yamaha OSD ugly
2. instead of changing input source alone, yamaha promote changing SCENE 1,2,3,4 which combine input source and sound programme.

i notice that when u are playing stereo using MOVIE or any other mode (Cinema DSP light up), it is actually running STRAIGHT mode without showing up. only front speaker & subwoofer got sound.
its fine for me, unless u like to have surround speakers all play together in 5CH STEREO /5CH ENHANCER mode.

SURROUND DECODE use dolby prologic to emulate surround from stereo source. can choose music/movie/game mode to make all surround speakers give sound.
it also detects 5.1 movie and apply AC3/DTS effects without yamaha own Cinema DSP.

3. i get the same issue with my home unit RX-V463 (old model.. HDMI passthru is not supported yet)
well, receiver LCD looks ok to me. orange text version
ktek
post Nov 24 2012, 12:40 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Nov 23 2012, 10:17 PM)
Duh...looks like I'm stuck with the constant need to turn on my TV, even when I'm listening to the radio. The only way would be to go into pure direct. but that bypasses the subwoofer. Bookshelf's bass can't compare to a sub.  What a waste of energy....haiii

for radio only,
if u turn on receiver before tv, can work?

FM radio i use POP/ROCK, prologic2 will be enable & sounds like concert thumbup.gif
ktek
post Dec 5 2012, 09:49 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

yes, yamaha avr at least have the distance, loudness offset & subwoofer crossover settings
ktek
post Jan 23 2013, 02:07 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(samowong @ Jan 23 2013, 01:08 PM)
How do we grade a speaker large/small?

perhaps u can contact anfieldude for AV consultation.

for yamaha AVR, large speaker means low frequency (mainly bass) will be played at each own channel, without being pass to subwoofer.
subwoofer will only work for its own 0.1 channel.

if u set to small, low frequency from satelite speaker will be pass to subwoofer, make sound together with original subwoofer channel.
crossover setting is to control which frequency point to be pass on sub.

when u set crossover to very high, satelite may sound clearer because less bass give less strain on amp and speaker.
but sub will give muddy or boomy sound, so u might need to play with sub volume and adjust the crossover accordingly.
ktek
post Jan 23 2013, 04:46 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 23 2013, 03:07 PM)
Do the sub crossover adjusting base on the front speaker lowest hz ? overlap abit or some figure? After that adjust the sub volume?

do try out with every possibility.
i find overlap abit give clearer sound because bass already pass to sub icon_rolleyes.gif
leave more overhead power on amp and speaker to play loud.
now using 120hz to little 4" front speaker

QUOTE(samowong @ Jan 23 2013, 04:07 PM)
I'm in Sibu, don't think i can get anfieldude's service.
As for the SW, there's no bass at all if set the front speakers to large. As of my current setup, the crossover dial is all the up, sub volume is at around 2 o'clock, AVR crossover at  80Hz as recommended by many AV forums that i've dug through.

perhaps u can adjust the YPAO mic position more backward to prevent being detected as large sweat.gif

as you know 5.1 and 7.1 movie got independent SW channel called 0.1
when play normal content without 0.1, SW will not work as no sound is feeded, if all are detected as large (crossover disable)
it is almost work like pure direct mode

hehe, 80hz is a reference crossover for THX cinema.
good if u like this setting.

This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 23 2013, 04:59 PM
ktek
post Feb 18 2013, 02:13 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

RX-v373 is capable to process real 5.1 surround if your bluray file is compatible with Dolby digital /DTS /PCM multichannel nod.gif

also u need to install 5.1 speaker la <-- obviously tongue.gif
ktek
post Feb 28 2013, 01:20 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Feb 28 2013, 12:54 PM)
Hi LYN members, I'm planning to buy a yamaha avr. Does any of the them support powered bookshelf speaker? I got an audioengine speaker.

look for PRE-OUT function if u want low level output to active powered set
ktek
post Feb 28 2013, 05:02 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Feb 28 2013, 03:03 PM)
So, i checked the 673 model got pre out. Stated for SW. I can connect my active speaker, no?

nope. instead of SW, u use Audio Out RCA in the middle section of RX-V673
ktek
post Feb 28 2013, 05:27 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

u're welcome. just remember this point:
screw terminal & spring clip = usually high level to passive speaker
RCA = usually low level to external amp / active speaker

start from very low volume to prevent heart attack

This post has been edited by ktek: Feb 28 2013, 05:28 PM
ktek
post Mar 1 2013, 05:08 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Feb 28 2013, 08:20 PM)
owh, thanks for the tip.. i'm about to build my 1st home theater system. still considering which and which things to buy. if u said i can still used my active speaker than i can some money for other things. another thing, if i am to buy yamaha avr, the audio/video processing will be done by the avr right? Then should i go for high end blu ray player or normal player is sufficient for data pass thru to the avr?

audio processing is true.
but video processing i think nothing much to be done for either AVR or blue ray player.
spend more on big TV biggrin.gif

ktek
post Mar 28 2013, 03:43 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(cuoret @ Mar 25 2013, 11:09 PM)
Hi... newbie here... can u elaborate bright, warm, dynamic, etc sound ? tq.

bright emphasize on treble
warm emphasize on mid tone & vocal
dynamic {boom boom pow} *piling palang*

QUOTE(travis8481 @ Mar 28 2013, 01:28 PM)
Any suggestion for sub + speaker below 1k?

i suggest u spend more on speaker instead of receiver.
3k receiver + 1k speaker set =avr full function, but wont sound good
1k receiver + 3k speaker set =avr less function, but at least sound good

This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 28 2013, 03:47 PM
ktek
post Apr 1 2013, 03:42 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(robinsonz @ Mar 31 2013, 01:35 PM)
Hi all,

"out" that you mean is "come out more sound" or "out of standard" ? hmm.gif
ktek
post Apr 1 2013, 10:01 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

robinsonz
is ur dvd using spdif connection?
how about bluray? pakai hdmi or spdif too?
ktek
post Apr 2 2013, 12:18 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(robinsonz @ Apr 1 2013, 10:43 PM)
I am using the bluray player with HDMI connected to Amp then to TV. DVD and bluray disk played on the same player.

something not right at setting of ur bluray player.

volume trim 和 subwoofer trim是什么

yamaha trim function is stick with the source u select on remote control.
lets say u got CD player, anotehr bluray player, ps3, tv connected to AVR

ur TV channel very loud= volume trim down.. maybe -6db or more
ur CD player sound very soft = volume trim up.. +6db
bluray ok = volume trim zero
ps3 game exciting = volume trim up +3db

after u set them, u no need always adjust volume up or down each time u change player to other source.
becos they are balance liao (adjust according to ur ear)
ktek
post Apr 2 2013, 10:50 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(robinsonz @ Apr 2 2013, 09:24 AM)
I see.... how about subwoofer trim? why the amp has subwoofer trim and subwoofer level? what's the different? rclxub.gif

sub trim similar to volume trim. adjustment will save for each source u select.

sub level is inside sound setting. it is used when u not satisfy with yamaha automatic calibration
ktek
post Jul 15 2013, 06:08 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(th8 @ Jul 15 2013, 02:42 PM)
Dear sifus,

normally front speaker is set to small, so bass management will activate crossover to let sub play the bass.
use direct /pure direct mode to bypass crossover, or change front speaker = large
ktek
post Sep 30 2013, 01:56 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 30 2013, 12:12 AM)
What is this for?

can make AVR play song wirelessly from phone or tablet
ktek
post Nov 13 2013, 06:20 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 9 2013, 11:50 PM)
Just pop by Accoustic System today and bought an RXV-475. biggrin.gif

Cheap enough to suit my budget and i don't need canggih receiver...5.1 to replace my existing old half spoilt RXV-520 is good enough...and there is more than enough power in these amps to run just at maybe 30% of it max (already too loud i think).

I have got all the cables connected and basic setup running. But the subwoofer seems like not on sometimes...not really sure...need to do more testing tommorrow.....cabling is freaking hard sweaty work..

One very pleasant suprise....this unit the much lighter than my decade old RXV-520...and also about 2/3 the depth only! Small and light with more modern features. This alone worth the replacement!

Now i don't use the opticals anymore...all switched to HDMI. smile.gif But old optical cables still dangling here and there...sigh...need more sweaty work to remove those....hate pulling cables in tight spot behind tv cabinets!!! Grrrr....
congrats on new purchase rclxms.gif
have u run the YPAO calibration?

make sure crossover is enabled by setting all speaker size = small.
and dont use direct mode

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 13 2013, 06:20 PM
ktek
post Nov 13 2013, 08:52 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 13 2013, 08:01 PM)
I set front speakers big wor. What is direct mode? Later try...
now woofer a bit problem. The rca L (mono) socket got something
stuck stuck inside and cant plug plug cable all the way in. Only connect
The right mono jack. Is this a problem? The cable split from the amp
to left/right for  the woofer.
crossover function is to filter out bass from full range sound and feed into subwoofer.

if use front speaker large, means the crossover is disabled.
well, depends on the content you play. stereo movie or songs your subwoofer will not be activated, becos no signal feed in.
but 5.1 surround movie will work, see the extra signal of .1 channel? (5 channel full range to each speaker + 0.1 partial channel just for the bass a.k.a. sub-woofer)

your subwoofer has left and right RCA separated input. meaning got built in crossover too?
set to maximum Hz in order to bypass it, as u can remote control it from AVR too

usually our connection to AVR will combine bass from left and right channel become mono (1 RCA only), due to the characteristic of deep bass is not directional.
so, no difference to connect right RCA only without the left side

direct mode (or pure direct) means no digital processing. from your player straight decode & amplify the signal to speaker.
the digital processor control ur listening distance, volume & crossover. direct mode = semua tutup for temporary & speaker size become large.
some ppl say it is good for serious listening, but i feel very plain unless u sit very close to speaker

if free can try connect the cone shape mic into AVR and run YPAO calibration. it will do all setting automatically about 10 minutes.
i find it is good as starter, then u slowly change the calibration settings.

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 13 2013, 09:10 PM
ktek
post Nov 13 2013, 09:22 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 13 2013, 09:09 PM)
Thanks bro for the info. But i am still a bit confused. Now i have set all speakers to small. The Crossover in the 475 is 100Hz. Is this good???

Yes, there is a manual crossover in the sub-woofer. So i need to set it to max?
all correct as a starter. crossover setting is abit rely on the speaker set u use. may i know what speaker or the inch size (diammeter) u have?

use AVR to control crossover is easier tongue.gif got remote maa...

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:15 PM