167 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Bottom

Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!

reddice
post Dec 4 2009, 01:20 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(monochrome1234 @ Dec 4 2009, 11:59 AM)
Yea, I hear that all the time. But when I did research on the internet, can't seem to find any solid evidence. Some say yes, some say no.
hahahhahahahah..whole squad..u didnt get it right??aiyo..laugh hard la this time..ahhahahahaha
pizzaboy
post Dec 4 2009, 01:35 PM

9,495 posts

That's why my father send me go school to study. Take degree he say very important HOR!
FirstOne
post Dec 4 2009, 01:52 PM

168 posts

LOL...dont la u all laugh ppl =="
-Dan
post Dec 4 2009, 02:01 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 4 2009, 01:35 PM)
That's why my father send me go school to study. Take degree he say very important HOR!
Wise man, your father. biggrin.gif
Desvaro
post Dec 4 2009, 02:21 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 4 2009, 01:35 PM)
Wah so cwever!
shanecross
post Dec 4 2009, 09:58 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

So I got the 200 up to my knees and I was shaking, lost control and I failed the whole set.

I think everyone should take a minute of watching your porn/tv shows and read what I have to say.

It is important to understand that doing more squats/bench/deadlift does improve your squats/bench/deadlifts BUT only to a certain degree. This is where other accessory workouts are important eg; DB rows, BB rows etc etc.

Last week I got a 195kg x 5 RAW. I lift with straps most of the time unless I am attempting a true 1RM. There is an argument about pulling mixed grip all the time because you might experience some imbalance and might just affect the progression of your bench ( I wouldnt want to make my bench worse, for the fact that it is already progressing at turtle speed). I also believe in having nice looking palms smile.gif.

The 195kg x 5 that I pulled last week was an OK lift, the 5th rep witnessed a hitch but I tried to remain composed and managed a fine lockout. That would be a 50/50 decision in terms of technique. Although I believe that my failure this session was due to the lack of upper body mass, I also believe that I wasn't mentally prepared. Being able to pull 200kg x 5 RAW at 72kg is a big achievement in my book. I have been training with a coach for 3 months. Now I am on vacation, 3 months on my own and when I get back, its time to get totally serious, get in the top 10 or something. But thats not what I'm trying to convey here.

I faced the similar situation when I was moving my squats from 145kg x 5 to 150 x 5. Although it was only a 5kg transition, the fact that it was a 150 shook me up a little bit, making it similar to what I'm facing right now deadlifting 195kg and moving up to 200kg for 5 reps. I have to admit that I was disgustingly intimidated when I had 4x20kg plates and 1x10kg plate on each side. I went all psyched up ,took too long to setup, broke off the ground up to my knees and loss my tightness , BAM ! down the ground. I always believe that if you fail that set, don't bother attempting it again. Chances are that you will fail, very high.

I am a powerlifter wannabe, I have not competed yet, preparing myself for a big 2010, hopefully make through comps decently. There is also no excuses for my failure today, but I always believe in looking what I did right , THEN only look on what I did wrong. Today, there was some physical flaws that I must fix, not forgetting to prepare myself for a 2nd attempt hopefully next week or the week after.

I think everyone in this forum might benefit from whatever I've written a little bit here and there. No matter how experienced a lifter you are, sometimes we get drifted away and forget the basics.
jamis
post Dec 4 2009, 10:05 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Cant agree with u more, i did have the shaking feeling and bam! gave up. Then thats the time that it awaken me "HEY WHERES UR BASIC EGO BOY?" smile.gif
shanecross
post Dec 4 2009, 10:15 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Dec 4 2009, 11:05 PM)
Cant agree with u more, i did have the shaking feeling and bam! gave up. Then thats the time that it awaken me "HEY WHERES UR BASIC EGO BOY?" smile.gif
I think its more about having your ego aside and working on your weaknesses. To have the shakey feeling will always give you the shizz, but that would be exactly how your 3rd deadlift attempt in a comp would be after 3xsquats and 3x bench and 2x deads.

Sometimes as much you tell yourself to remain composed when you get in your setup for your deads, you still will commit massive flaws, 100 things right, 100 things wrong.
myremi
post Dec 4 2009, 10:46 PM

1,846 posts

Hey guys, have a question.

How long do you spend in the gym in total? For the serious gym goers that is.

I'm mostly going to the gym for my corrective exercises for my back so it's mostly floor exercises, light cardio and hang-ups on an inversion table for my slipped disc. In total it's about 1.5 hrs.

But I see some gym goes who are using weight machines and using cardio machines but are like gone in like 30-45 min.

So I'm wondering whether I'm just weak atm or they are just in tip top condition that they can do things fast.
pizzaboy
post Dec 4 2009, 10:55 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 4 2009, 10:15 PM)
I think its more about having your ego aside and working on your weaknesses. To have the shakey feeling will always give you the shizz, but that would be exactly how your 3rd deadlift attempt in a comp would be after 3xsquats and 3x bench and 2x deads.

Sometimes as much you tell yourself to remain composed when you get in your setup for your deads, you still will commit massive flaws, 100 things right, 100 things wrong.
Funny that you managed to get it to the knee and yet fail the lift. Probably rounded your upper back and lost it I guess. Well I know you know how to fix it, so it's all good. The singles at 200 ought to do you good. Been there buddy. You'll get it.
shanecross
post Dec 4 2009, 11:05 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 4 2009, 11:55 PM)
Funny that you managed to get it to the knee and yet fail the lift. Probably rounded your upper back and lost it I guess. Well I know you know how to fix it, so it's all good. The singles at 200 ought to do you good. Been there buddy. You'll get it.
Its the same issue I had when I pulled my single 200 a while back. Rounded back and stuff. Hmmm.
winkybear
post Dec 5 2009, 12:52 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Dec 4 2009, 10:46 PM)

I'm mostly going to the gym for my corrective exercises for my back so it's mostly floor exercises, light cardio and hang-ups on an inversion table for my slipped disc. In total it's about 1.5 hrs.

But I see some gym goes who are using weight machines and using cardio machines but are like gone in like 30-45 min.

So I'm wondering whether I'm just weak atm or they are just in tip top condition that they can do things fast.
Hmm a total time to lift weights of 45 mins is just right for me.
david890701
post Dec 5 2009, 01:07 AM

-
3,152 posts

1 hour if i go alone

1.5 - 2 hrs if i go with my training partner - we tend to spot each other and talk crap. U know the drill haha
Disciple
post Dec 5 2009, 08:32 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

usually meh will finish mah thang in about an hour dawg...meh dont have enough time to do moar than that
ken86
post Dec 5 2009, 08:34 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 4 2009, 09:58 PM)
So I got the 200 up to my knees and I was shaking, lost control and I failed the whole set.

I think everyone should take a minute of watching your porn/tv shows and read what I have to say.

It is important to understand that doing more squats/bench/deadlift does improve your squats/bench/deadlifts BUT only to a certain degree. This is where other accessory workouts are important eg; DB rows, BB rows etc etc.

Last week I got a 195kg x 5 RAW. I lift with straps most of the time unless I am attempting a true 1RM. There is an argument about pulling mixed grip all the time because you might experience some imbalance and might just affect the progression of your bench ( I wouldnt want to make my bench worse, for the fact that it is already progressing at turtle speed). I also believe in having nice looking palms smile.gif.

The 195kg x 5 that I pulled last week was an OK lift, the 5th rep witnessed a hitch but I tried to remain composed and managed a fine lockout. That would be a 50/50 decision in terms of technique. Although I believe that my failure this session was due to the lack of upper body mass, I also believe that I wasn't mentally prepared. Being able to pull 200kg x 5 RAW at 72kg is a big achievement in my book. I have been training with a coach for 3 months. Now I am on vacation, 3 months on my own and when I get back, its time to get totally serious, get in the top 10 or something. But thats not what I'm trying to convey here.

I faced the similar situation when I was moving my squats from 145kg x 5 to 150 x 5. Although it was only a 5kg transition, the fact that it was a 150 shook me up a little bit, making it similar to what I'm facing right now deadlifting 195kg and moving up to 200kg for 5 reps. I have to admit that I was disgustingly intimidated when I had 4x20kg plates and 1x10kg plate on each side. I went all psyched up ,took too long to setup, broke off the ground up to my knees and loss my tightness , BAM ! down the ground. I always believe that if you fail that set, don't bother attempting it again. Chances are that you will fail, very high.

I am a powerlifter wannabe, I have not competed yet, preparing myself for a big 2010, hopefully make through comps decently. There is also no excuses for my failure today, but I always believe in looking what I did right , THEN only look on what I did wrong. Today, there was some physical flaws that I must fix, not forgetting to prepare myself for a 2nd attempt hopefully next week or the week after.

I think everyone in this forum might benefit from whatever I've written a little bit here and there. No matter how experienced a lifter you are, sometimes we get drifted away and forget the basics.
http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/training-logs.asp?qid=109860&tid=

Expectations and Athletic Achievement - great article that you can relate to. about lifting with like minded individuals or individuals stronger than you. overcoming the mental barriers when lifting heavy shit.

How far are you from comp ? Why not try gaining some mass and diet it away ? I noticed two individuals at the same weight, the one with more muscle (lower BF%) is GENERALLY stronger.
shanecross
post Dec 5 2009, 11:08 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Dec 5 2009, 09:34 AM)
http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/training-logs.asp?qid=109860&tid=

Expectations and Athletic Achievement - great article that you can relate to. about lifting with like minded individuals or individuals stronger than you. overcoming the mental barriers when lifting heavy shit.

How far are you from comp ? Why not try gaining some mass and diet it away ? I noticed two individuals at the same weight, the one with more muscle (lower BF%) is GENERALLY stronger.
I've got about 4-5 months away from a comp. Yeah, I'm planning on some bulk , pack some decent mass, which was the original idea actually. Probably go back to AU a 77kg lifter. sounds like a plan.

Thanks for the article mate smile.gif

This post has been edited by shanecross: Dec 5 2009, 11:10 AM
pizzaboy
post Dec 5 2009, 12:20 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 5 2009, 11:08 AM)
I've got about 4-5 months away from a comp. Yeah, I'm planning on some bulk , pack some decent mass, which was the original idea actually. Probably go back to AU a 77kg lifter. sounds like a plan.

Thanks for the article mate smile.gif
I sent you a food guide to your email. It's by J.B. It explains why the food is good for you, the contents, how to cook it well, how to use the knife even. There's a guide about protein powders as well. Solid almost 200 pages of good detail. Ken pm me your email. I'll pass it to you too. thumbup.gif
ken86
post Dec 5 2009, 12:38 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 5 2009, 12:20 PM)
I sent you a food guide to your email. It's by J.B. It explains why the food is good for you, the contents, how to cook it well, how to use the knife even. There's a guide about protein powders as well. Solid almost 200 pages of good detail. Ken pm me your email. I'll pass it to you too.  thumbup.gif
are u talking bout gourmet nutrition biggrin.gif ? to be honest , I have a really huge library of stuffs (DVD, books) for instance the whole eliteFTS e-book collection ;D let me know. I do trading or share if your are nice drool.gif also stuffs like never enough DVD, all westside secrets DVD just to name a few smile.gif

PMed u my email smile.gif
pizzaboy
post Dec 5 2009, 12:44 PM

9,495 posts

Sent! You Chinaman. Yeah gourmet nutrition.
ken86
post Dec 5 2009, 12:47 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 5 2009, 12:44 PM)
Sent! You Chinaman. Yeah gourmet nutrition.
seriously, we chinaman are like roadside dvd sellers. everything pirated. smile.gif

thanks pizza. I actually have the whole precision nutrition set V2 (not V3) and the DVDs but it;s too huge to send via email. Let me know when u visit next time. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ken86: Dec 5 2009, 12:48 PM

167 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:16 AM