Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!

winkybear
post Oct 17 2009, 11:49 PM

489 posts

I was contemplating on whether to post pics of myself or not. I saw another thread where one of the guys here posted a pic of a guy with a guitar and calling him small/skinny, but to me he looked fit blink.gif . So before the pics, a little disclaimer: I know I'm small, but I would want to get to the point where I'm fit looking. biggrin.gif.

I've always been a skinny kid throughout my life. It wasn't a problem for me, as I was really active during high school (could run and play basketball quite well) despite me being skinny. I've always have friends, relatives, and people whom I've just met commenting on my skinniness, but I didn't really bother about it. It was only after I started uni that I started to get lazy, and laid off physical activity with plenty of boozing and other college kid activities which were unhealthy. It was then that I started developing a beer gut, and felt that I needed to change.

I started 3 months back, with the first 2 months being really lazy workouts. Sometimes once or twice a week only, because there always seem to be other distractions. I ate a lot of junk food too throughout this period. My tummy grew bigger instead of smaller (due to my body type, it seems like fats only accumulate in that area, while other places remain stick thin).

I only started getting into this seriously a month back. I took proper pre/post workout diet, read up about proper ways to work out, and read about proper diet. I do occasionally still eat junk food (maybe once a week), but as a whole, I've maintained a pretty good diet. I'm sure there's much improvement that could be made with it, but I do whatever I can throughout the day to eat properly. On normal days, I manage 4 meals. If there are morning classes, I manage 5 meals.

So here are the pics:

I don't really know how to flex lol. In the recent pics, I'm 2 1/2 weeks into creatine. I didn't load, because the first time I took in 5g + 5g, I didn't feel too good. I stick to 5g/day. Hope to be improving in the months to come smile.gif.

edit: The nearest gym for me is 20 mins away. By the time I get there, 30 mins is already gone. The biggest factor for me to not go to one is that its kinda expensive sad.gif. I only work with a bench, barbell and 2 dumb bells at home. And there's a beautiful lake here for my cardio biggrin.gif. Exercises kinda limited compared to the gym, though.

This post has been edited by winkybear: Oct 18 2009, 12:07 AM
winkybear
post Oct 19 2009, 02:41 AM

489 posts

Thanks guys biggrin.gif. I don't feel sore anymore as compared to in the past. I'm lifting as heavy as I can. Is this normal, or should my workouts be more intense?
winkybear
post Oct 19 2009, 09:56 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 19 2009, 08:17 AM)
Somebody just asked that earlier and the reply was that it's normal. But would be good if you keep adding weights gradually and at a manageable rate.
QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 19 2009, 09:14 AM)
Yes, until you are overhead pressing a ton.
Ah alright thanks. It's just regular fatigue now, no more aches the next day. I thought I was doing something wrong.
winkybear
post Oct 21 2009, 10:05 AM

489 posts

I checked a while back, I think 100plus has less than a serving of Glucoline?
winkybear
post Oct 21 2009, 07:24 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(DWYWIcewolf @ Oct 21 2009, 10:43 AM)
Three months Workout
Result: Failed
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
How is that bod failed? D: Good work I'd say.
winkybear
post Oct 28 2009, 08:23 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(eye_knoxville @ Oct 28 2009, 08:13 PM)
Bros, i started bodybuilding seriuosly(got main goal, scheduled routine, proper diet) 2 months ago. im doing bench press 20Kg for 12X4set. But now i dont feel sore at my muscle after workout and dont like it. it will make me feel that my workout is not enough. Is that mean now is the right time to increase weigh/reps? my main goal is to slim down for now. my weigh is 68Kg, height 172 cm. any recommendation?
Are you doing only bench press, or is that just an example? Whenever I experience what you're going through (not feeling sore/fatigue the next day), I change the exercise that I use, or up the weights. I've not done incline bench press for a couple of weeks, and when I got back at it, I could really feel it smile.gif.
winkybear
post Nov 15 2009, 04:30 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(iceypain @ Nov 15 2009, 11:21 AM)
why the hostility guise? I'm only like 150 lbs of course im not real thick. anyway here's proper front pic semi-flexed.
I just had to point out the man cave sign. lol biggrin.gif
winkybear
post Dec 5 2009, 12:52 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Dec 4 2009, 10:46 PM)
Hey guys, have a question.

How long do you spend in the gym in total? For the serious gym goers that is.

I'm mostly going to the gym for my corrective exercises for my back so it's mostly floor exercises, light cardio and hang-ups on an inversion table for my slipped disc. In total it's about 1.5 hrs.

But I see some gym goes who are using weight machines and using cardio machines but are like gone in like 30-45 min.

So I'm wondering whether I'm just weak atm or they are just in tip top condition that they can do things fast.
Hmm a total time to lift weights of 45 mins is just right for me.
winkybear
post Dec 21 2009, 04:28 AM

489 posts

Two months since my previous pics.
winkybear
post Dec 21 2009, 06:04 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(DWYWIcewolf @ Dec 21 2009, 09:41 AM)
Alot changes liao  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
If you do hardwork on the lower back i think will be much more perfect  thumbup.gif
Keep it up bro rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Added on December 21, 2009, 9:42 am
Not bad bro
Try concentrate more on back side
and will be better result  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(diablokun @ Dec 21 2009, 04:43 PM)
develope more for chest, arms and traps...front delts were good...nice mini v-tapper btw...shred harder bro...
thanks for the encouragement. will work harder biggrin.gif
winkybear
post Dec 22 2009, 12:22 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Dec 21 2009, 09:53 PM)
Yes, keep working harder on the parts visible in the pictures you posted. Feel free to ignore all parts below the waist.
lol. I do perform deadlifts. Currently any leg work is not a possibility. Injured my ankle from basketball and it has not fully recovered yet.
winkybear
post Mar 2 2010, 03:31 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(adamemo @ Mar 2 2010, 01:51 AM)
1 year with super hard-core training...started to take weight gainer a few weeks ago,just finished my 2nd bottle...any1 here is selling powders?
That is very impressive. Do you have before pics?
winkybear
post Apr 13 2010, 08:17 PM

489 posts

You dont look like you're 177. I'm your height + 11 kgs. I'm not far off from your physique.

edit: typo

This post has been edited by winkybear: Apr 14 2010, 12:41 AM
winkybear
post Apr 19 2010, 09:21 PM

489 posts

Hey guys, I'm in need of some advice.

Pics in spoiler:

I've been on stronglifts for a total of 23 sessions (7 weeks+ ?). I've been adding 5lbs progressively to the squat without stalling so far (oddly enough, the oly bar at my gym is around 30 lbs?). I'm squatting 140lbs now. I can continue, but as the squats are relatively heavy now, I find myself being agitated/restless after working out as well as the next day. As I need to concentrate on studying for my exams (2 weeks), I'm stopping for now.

For the past two weeks, I've added interval training at the end of lifting, which is a total of 3x 1 minute sprints. Previously, it was steady state cardio for 12-15 minutes after lifting.

Results: Quads grew by 1.5 inches, and chest grew by 0.5 inches. Butt much firmer. Weight remains relatively the same, so I assume my BF % went down.

Question: As can be seen from the second pic, I have belly fat. I do not like looking at it, although it can only be seen when I sit down. That was my attempt at showing the bulge of my belly fat when I sit down. I am actually satisfied with my mass now (I know I'm small in comparison to other people who lift weights, but I'm satisfied with myself this way). Although it would be a bonus to add on muscle mass (and from lifting more, hopefully I will), my main goal for me now is to be at this size (or bigger), but to lower my BF % to the point I don't have a bulge when I sit down and have visible abs when I'm not flexing.

Diet:

If I do not have class on that day, I would be waking up straight to lunch. But I will still be having 5 meals a day:

Fish oil + vitamin C right after bed

Meal 1: 2 eggs + oats

Meal 2: Brown rice (unless I eat out), vegetables, meat. Portion is equally divided 1/3 of each.

Meal 3: 3 eggs OR 2 wholegrain bread + serving of tuna + soy milk drink OR thosai + 2 eggs or tandoori + chapati.

Meal 4: Brown rice (unless I eat out), vegetables, meat. Portion is equally divided 1/3 of each.

Meal 5: 3 eggs OR 2 wholegrain bread + serving of tuna + soy milk drink or thosai + 2 eggs OR tandoori + chapati.

Meal 6 (sometimes if I can squeeze in an extra meal before bed): 3 eggs

All the eggs, I eat them whole. Sometimes I wonder if its too much yolk lol. Typically, whether or not I wake up in the morning, I have some brown rice twice a day which is lunch and dinner. White rice if I eat out. Portions of rice is relatively small compared to normal people. I try to have as much meat on the plate as possible. The meals in between eating rice is typically the same, which is a either one of the combination of foods mentioned above. It's not equal in terms of carbs and protein, but in general I try to keep the protein intake of around a minimum of 20g/meal.

On workout days, at meal 3, I will be having my protein shake + glucose after workout, and 2 eggs when I reach home instead.

I do cheat with my meals sometimes, but on most days it's relatively stable like the above. I like drinking teh ais (kurang manis) too when I'm at the mamak.

I'm currently at a lost of what to do. My main priority as of now is to lose fats. I like doing the 5x5, but what else should I be doing to make my fats go away? Fat loss has been too slow.

Is this too much? :

Mon/Wed/Fri - 5x5
Tues/Thurs - Circuit training + jog

or

Mon/Wed/Fri- 5x5 + interval training
Another day or two - jog

Btw, I can't use the cardio machines to do steady state cardio. I get bored after 5 minutes or so. Jogging is fine though.

Is it too much? Have I been doing too little? Please guide me sad.gif

Lastly, I was previously extremely skinny, to skinny + belly, and now I'm at my current state. Sorry I did not resize my second pic, I forgot.

This post has been edited by winkybear: Apr 19 2010, 09:25 PM
winkybear
post Apr 19 2010, 09:43 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(D_Predator @ Apr 19 2010, 09:38 PM)
i maybe wrong, but ur diet is like more to cutting one la..hmm,try refer other forumers diet, and change em. you can try kmaru's diet. and why don't u try and change your routine..7 weeks, is,well..kinda short la..just relax and be patient..it's either your lifting weights just for the sake of lifting, or u need some guide from the pros. just my opinion.
I would be continuing stronglifts 5x5 after my exams. It's kinda taxing right now and I need to concentrate on studying. I did circuit training today though. Feels good =D
winkybear
post Apr 20 2010, 12:16 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Apr 19 2010, 11:19 PM)
if u insist on cutting, add intensities on your crunches and abs routine...add variations...and cut out the cardio...7 weeks is too short to place any review imo...even a short cut cylce takes about 10 weeks...

2 cents...
How would increasing intensity for abs help as opposed to doing cardio? Hrm do you think the restlessness I feel after workout has to do with overtraining?

0.0460sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:46 AM