Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
elfreakz
Dec 27 2009, 10:46 PM
i hear something weird three times this week... a click sound... something like u put a paper on a running fan...
is it the hdd or the fan??? serious or??? im using macbook unibody late 2008..
yeahs4.1
Dec 27 2009, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 25 2009, 08:12 PM) if i remember right, all macbooks/pros right now using the 'three ring type' audio jack that can support both audio in and out..this type of port is slightly loose compared to the old one. mine is loose as well, but still ok la. juz have to adjust2 my headphone a bit when using ;p Added on December 26, 2009, 4:53 pmumm guys, i've just starting shooting RAW on my camera, and when i import them into lightroom 2.5... performance dropped a lot compared to dealing with JPEGs (of the same picture/resolution). i'm aware that RAW files contain more info n such...but do u guys suffer any substantial lag when dealing with RAW files? my specs are as below, using 9600m gt. raw file is huge, maybe it's a call to upgrade your RAM to 4gb?
kc_soo
Dec 27 2009, 11:51 PM
Guys~ i just reinstall WinXP by using bootcamp~ I found that the previous problem still occur even it is a newly install XP.
Did any of you experienced your macbook left speaker has a very low volume compare to right speaker when using winXP? i dont have this problem while using MacOS.
from soo ps: i am using Macbook 13" alu unibody late 2008.
dvlzplayground
Dec 28 2009, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Dec 27 2009, 11:36 PM) raw file is huge, maybe it's a call to upgrade your RAM to 4gb?  i hope not  cuz in activity monitor still lots of free RAM
Crefigz
Dec 28 2009, 02:51 PM

I'm using MBP & Magic Mouse, but the tracking speed is a pain in the !@#, I want it to be faster, any software for this ?
preducer
Dec 28 2009, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Crefigz @ Dec 28 2009, 02:51 PM) I'm using MBP & Magic Mouse, but the tracking speed is a pain in the !@#, I want it to be faster, any software for this ? MagicDriver > http://plentycom.jp/en/magicdriver/index.html
Crefigz
Dec 28 2009, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(preducer @ Dec 28 2009, 02:55 PM) Wow, that seems good software for it. I will try it out right now ! THANK YOU !!! Added on December 28, 2009, 3:11 pmQUOTE(Crefigz @ Dec 28 2009, 03:04 PM) Wow, that seems good software for it. I will try it out right now ! THANK YOU !!! That is the greatest driver ever, just made magic mouse more powerful ! This post has been edited by Crefigz: Dec 28 2009, 03:11 PM
diners
Dec 28 2009, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(kc_soo @ Dec 27 2009, 11:51 PM) Guys~ i just reinstall WinXP by using bootcamp~ I found that the previous problem still occur even it is a newly install XP. Did any of you experienced your macbook left speaker has a very low volume compare to right speaker when using winXP? i dont have this problem while using MacOS. from soo ps: i am using Macbook 13" alu unibody late 2008. macbook's speaker is only on the right side. macbook only had one speaker.
wei
Dec 28 2009, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(diners @ Dec 28 2009, 04:07 PM) macbook's speaker is only on the right side. macbook only had one speaker. All MacBook have stereo speaker. Left & Right. The aluminium MacBook even have a Subwoofer. http://www.welovemacs.com/9228617.htmlhttp://apple-parts.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=2434
diners
Dec 28 2009, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Dec 28 2009, 05:01 PM) it says "Only one Right Speaker with Subwoofer is included."  Added on December 28, 2009, 6:09 pmfine, maybe it has both. but i often hear it more to the right. but from far, u won't notice anything. This post has been edited by diners: Dec 28 2009, 06:09 PM
kc_soo
Dec 28 2009, 09:08 PM
Did anyone of u try the volume setting in winxp?? when u change the balance setting in the volume to the right~ the sound loud enough to boom your ear.. but when u drag it to the left.. the sound produced become very very pity low volume.. ANyone in here with winxp pls try this see anyone of you got the same problem like mine ~ ?
from soo
MattJ
Dec 28 2009, 10:10 PM
Dear All,
Need some help before I purchase my MBP tomorrow. Is 2gb ram good enough for surfing, occasional gaming such as left for dead, video and movie watching, Itunes and Blackberry as well as office work at home? Also what about hard disk space, is 160gb enough or I can upgrade cheaper outside myself for both ram and hard disk later when I have money. Thanks
llsphinxll
Dec 28 2009, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(MattJ @ Dec 28 2009, 10:10 PM) Dear All, Need some help before I purchase my MBP tomorrow. Is 2gb ram good enough for surfing, occasional gaming such as left for dead, video and movie watching, Itunes and Blackberry as well as office work at home? Also what about hard disk space, is 160gb enough or I can upgrade cheaper outside myself for both ram and hard disk later when I have money. Thanks urm firstly i dont know which mbp you are getting so i cant really advise on what you shud do. but from the info you provided, i think 2gb is enough for the stuff you wanna do. seems pretty basic.  but you might wanna up the 160gb hardisk space. but dont have to buy from machines or wherever you are planning to buy your mac with cos its usually more ex. buy seperately. hdd are even available at GS.
dvlzplayground
Dec 28 2009, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(MattJ @ Dec 28 2009, 10:10 PM) Dear All, Need some help before I purchase my MBP tomorrow. Is 2gb ram good enough for surfing, occasional gaming such as left for dead, video and movie watching, Itunes and Blackberry as well as office work at home? Also what about hard disk space, is 160gb enough or I can upgrade cheaper outside myself for both ram and hard disk later when I have money. Thanks no one can say if 160gb is enough for u or not  . but if u wanna upgrade, get a 2.5" SATA hdd urself at normal computer shops n upgrade yourself. very easy. same goes to RAM but for ur usage, 2GB is fine
MattJ
Dec 29 2009, 11:49 AM
Thanks all for the feedback. Ordered my MBP 13.3 2.26ghz via Apple Online just now. Will upgrade later myself the hardisk and ram when needed and after warranty expires. Was torn between the macbook white and this but decided to go for the MBP for its form factor and slightly less weight compared to MBW. Also saw somebody trying to sell off his MBW after a few days and upgrading to MBP, I would not wanna be in that situation. Just got a call from my credit card company on approval. Woohoo Mac here I come...........Actually this has been on my wishlist for quite some time so its like a dream come true.
llsphinxll
Dec 29 2009, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(MattJ @ Dec 29 2009, 11:49 AM) Thanks all for the feedback. Ordered my MBP 13.3 2.26ghz via Apple Online just now. Will upgrade later myself the hardisk and ram when needed and after warranty expires. Was torn between the macbook white and this but decided to go for the MBP for its form factor and slightly less weight compared to MBW. Also saw somebody trying to sell off his MBW after a few days and upgrading to MBP, I would not wanna be in that situation. Just got a call from my credit card company on approval. Woohoo Mac here I come...........Actually this has been on my wishlist for quite some time so its like a dream come true. hahha congratulations!  althou after buyin a couple of macs, every purchase seems like the first mac for me, cos every mac gives me something different to look forward to. but either way, welcome to the world of mac Matt.
Voxe
Dec 30 2009, 01:45 AM
Macbook Pro 13 seems a ripoff to me. You can similiar spec (same proc, same ram, same gpu) for Macbook 13 with bigger HDD (250 over 160) for RM1000 lesser. All you get in the Macbook Pro is Aluminium unibody.
I think you should wait for the MBP update.
dvlzplayground
Dec 30 2009, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 30 2009, 01:45 AM) Macbook Pro 13 seems a ripoff to me. You can similiar spec (same proc, same ram, same gpu) for Macbook 13 with bigger HDD (250 over 160) for RM1000 lesser. All you get in the Macbook Pro is Aluminium unibody. I think you should wait for the MBP update. u forgot firewire. some people need this. and, well, MBP looks better, for a longer time. white plastic, after a few months can get dirty hehe...
Voxe
Dec 30 2009, 02:03 AM
Just wait January, I'm pretty sure there will be an update. http://guides.macrumors.com/Buyer%27s_Guide#MacBook_ProThis post has been edited by Voxe: Dec 30 2009, 02:08 AM
preducer
Dec 30 2009, 02:32 AM
the will always be updates..buy whenever u need it.