Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
Grajindo
Dec 21 2009, 09:28 PM
oh, i see... wanted to buy macbook unibody at the first place cause thought that it will cheaper than macbook pro but looks like macbook pro.. erm..seems like i got no choice anymore..thanks..
llsphinxll
Dec 22 2009, 06:12 AM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ Dec 21 2009, 09:28 PM) oh, i see... wanted to buy macbook unibody at the first place cause thought that it will cheaper than macbook pro but looks like macbook pro.. erm..seems like i got no choice anymore..thanks.. yeah macbook unibody not available anymore. macbook white mayb?
Mackiddo
Dec 22 2009, 09:26 AM
a lot of ppl in Sg are throwing our the new generation Macbook white which they got from signing up for various of broadband package. saw some going for around sgd$1250 (RM3k) compare to retail RM3599
SIWIS
Dec 22 2009, 11:23 AM

I am experiencing a tickling sound when everytime I lift up or carry around my macbook white. The sound is underneath left hand side keyboard where USB port are.
aizad02
Dec 22 2009, 12:17 PM
left hand side? that's the place where ur hdd is place. u changed ur hdd before? coz i'd heard that some hdd has the tickling sound bcoz of the hdd power saving function. try to shut down first ur macbook before u lift up. maybe that would solve the prob.
kwekeugene
Dec 22 2009, 02:40 PM
Sounds like it could be because the HDD head is parking due to movement.
kc_soo
Dec 22 2009, 09:55 PM
Guys~ i heard some ppls said that there is a way to upgrade leopard to snow leopard without need to pay~ anyone here can clarify this? Anyone know how to make it?
from soo
cRazYee
Dec 23 2009, 01:05 AM
ya, by fake it, if your fren got retail copy or depends when you bought your mac, after 8 jun? (but this program is already down) oh come on, it's just RM109
xcharlie
Dec 23 2009, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(aizad02 @ Dec 21 2009, 09:09 PM) apple store only sells latest product only, for macbooks lah... unibody macbooks not in production edi, all unibody are only for macbook pro one,de. u mean aluminium unibody? because the RM 3,599.00 macbook 13" also unibody but polycarbonate not aluminium. I'm referring to apple malaysia website for MacBook 13"
Chronolisme
Dec 23 2009, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(kc_soo @ Dec 22 2009, 09:55 PM) Guys~ i heard some ppls said that there is a way to upgrade leopard to snow leopard without need to pay~ anyone here can clarify this? Anyone know how to make it? from soo If you own a Mac to begin with, a RM109 OS upgrade is really no big deal.
aizad02
Dec 23 2009, 11:08 AM
i mean the aluminium. sry for the confusion. i think it's bcoz, of the trademark of macbooks are white colours, while MBP are aluminium, that's why they stopped producing aluminium casing for macbooks. forgot that the latest macbooks are also unibody, just that it's policarbonate and white colour.
kc_soo
Dec 23 2009, 01:57 PM
haha~ can jimat must jimat lo~ if really no choice then mar pay lo~ LOL~ btw~ currently snow leopard dont have any huge changes compare to leopard~ will upgrade it only when Apple provide very useful features to the snow leopard.
kevin62
Dec 23 2009, 09:16 PM
To all sifu, I would like to ask, can i adjust the brightness when im using window? Thanks.
diners
Dec 23 2009, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(kevin62 @ Dec 23 2009, 09:16 PM) To all sifu, I would like to ask, can i adjust the brightness when im using window? Thanks. yes u can but then the brightness till the last bar also will very bright.
kc_soo
Dec 24 2009, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(kevin62 @ Dec 23 2009, 09:16 PM) To all sifu, I would like to ask, can i adjust the brightness when im using window? Thanks. If u got install the bootcamp in your windows then sure u can use the Mac function buttons.
Mackiddo
Dec 24 2009, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(aizad02 @ Dec 23 2009, 11:08 AM) i mean the aluminium. sry for the confusion. i think it's bcoz, of the trademark of macbooks are white colours, while MBP are aluminium, that's why they stopped producing aluminium casing for macbooks. forgot that the latest macbooks are also unibody, just that it's policarbonate and white colour. I got the 13" Macbook unibody aluminium  . The reason they move it up to the Pro series is because a lot of confusion on the aluminium body that exist in Macbook and Macbook Pro. Now at least simple, Macbook is all white, Macbook Pro is all aluminium  Added on December 24, 2009, 2:45 pmQUOTE(diners @ Dec 23 2009, 10:09 PM) yes u can but then the brightness till the last bar also will very bright. i noticed that with bootcamp Windows 7. Wondering if there is any 3rd party software to dim it ? Also the touch pad is 'ultra' sensitive in windows. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 24 2009, 02:45 PM
Eugene91
Dec 24 2009, 03:44 PM
Download the touchpad driver for windows iirc synaptics made most touchpads for notebooks some are ALPS  Hope dat helps
diners
Dec 24 2009, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 24 2009, 02:43 PM) I got the 13" Macbook unibody aluminium  . The reason they move it up to the Pro series is because a lot of confusion on the aluminium body that exist in Macbook and Macbook Pro. Now at least simple, Macbook is all white, Macbook Pro is all aluminium  Added on December 24, 2009, 2:45 pmi noticed that with bootcamp Windows 7. Wondering if there is any 3rd party software to dim it ? Also the touch pad is 'ultra' sensitive in windows. yes, super sensitive. i just touched it like only with my tips of fingers and move about and it become double click x.x!! some even become drag.
cRazYee
Dec 24 2009, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 24 2009, 03:44 PM) Download the touchpad driver for windows iirc synaptics made most touchpads for notebooks some are ALPS  Hope dat helps but no mac computer they dont have more than 2 gestures multitouch tech commercialist yet
dvlzplayground
Dec 25 2009, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(chypher @ Dec 21 2009, 03:56 PM) aiya. Can take out already. shit. But I want to claim warranty soon. my earphone pod is loose and I dont know why. Will they change for me 1 for 1? And which one should I go to? The BsC one is it? Thanks a lot bro if i remember right, all macbooks/pros right now using the 'three ring type' audio jack that can support both audio in and out..this type of port is slightly loose compared to the old one. mine is loose as well, but still ok la. juz have to adjust2 my headphone a bit when using ;p Added on December 26, 2009, 4:53 pmumm guys, i've just starting shooting RAW on my camera, and when i import them into lightroom 2.5... performance dropped a lot compared to dealing with JPEGs (of the same picture/resolution). i'm aware that RAW files contain more info n such...but do u guys suffer any substantial lag when dealing with RAW files? my specs are as below, using 9600m gt. This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 26 2009, 04:53 PM