Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

llsphinxll
post Aug 7 2009, 11:28 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

right click on the Macintosh HD and press get info. inside there can change if im not mistaken. smile.gif
llsphinxll
post Aug 10 2009, 12:51 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(heyrussell @ Aug 9 2009, 08:28 PM)
I recently ordered a 17" MacBook Pro matte display from Hong Kong and had a friend pick it up for me. Unfortunately, the unit died on me the next day. Ran all the usual diagnostics I can think of but finally sent it to VR Tech. They knew the unit was bought in HK when they checked the serial number against their database. So I presumed I was going to be charged for labour.

In the meantime, the shop in HK asked me to bring the unit back and they can give me a replacement unit. But I had to wait for a week since the matte display needs to be specially ordered. That didn't work for me.

Anyway VR Tech called later to inform me that the issue was with the logic board and it needed to be replaced but they have to order from S'pore. Was surprised that the part only took a day to arrive. I collected the unit  3 days later and no charges from VR Tech. I guess Apple picked up the tab. Thank god for Apple's Int'l warranty! So why did I risk getting it from HK. Because the price difference is about RM870 and its the cheapest place in the world to buy a Mac. If you can get a friend to bring it down for you, then by all means go for it!
wow dude you shud count yourself really lucky man. the usual cases like yours wud take months to resolve. smile.gif cheers for apple international warranty. oh and you are now rm800+ richer! smile.gif hahha.
llsphinxll
post Aug 13 2009, 11:49 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

whoa bro. firstly congratulation on making your first step into the mac world. biggrin.gif haha.
if you were to ask me i think you shud get the 15" mbp. mayb even the entry level of the 15" bcos like you said, you dont need a dedicated graphic card.

it might b abit more expensive than the 13" one but its one go. and you can enjoy 15" for the whole time you use the mbp. rather than havin the 13" and den after using it for awhile, you wanna add another lcd. that wud pretty much sum up to the same thing.

oh well, just my opinion. cheers! biggrin.gif
llsphinxll
post Aug 19 2009, 07:45 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Aug 19 2009, 02:57 PM)
My protection on my aluminum MacBook 13" >> Moshi Codex 13 White SE > Speck See-Thru Clear> Moshi iVisor 13AG> Moshi Clearguard > Moshi Palmguard > Moshi Shieldpad.

LOL protection kaw kaw. Don't know why I just love Moshi stuff. Very apple-ish and simple.

at first i was like you. wanted to buy heaps of protection. but i ended up not getting anything. well accept for a laptop sleeve and i good bag for it. and im quite happy that the macbook seems alright. the only complaint i have is the oil stains on my keyboard. cos i didnt clean it everyday after use in the beginning so now there is certain areas of the keys thats 'shiny'. think that is caused by the oil. think new users shud clean it everyday with iklear rather than buyer a keyboard protector as this well effect the heat ventilation right?
and a trackpad protector is recommended too. blush.gif
llsphinxll
post Aug 21 2009, 06:48 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(Kriss @ Aug 21 2009, 12:42 PM)
Is there anything i can use to polish my macbookpro ? It look a bit dull with few hairline scratch.
try iklear! biggrin.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 13 2009, 12:17 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(lemonie @ Sep 13 2009, 11:19 AM)
hey. hw long does ur mbp battery last? i was using wifi yesterday (videos , msn , facebook etc) from 80%+ went down to 20% in like 2 hrs +.. so much for 7 hrs battery life. D:
QUOTE(Criollo @ Sep 13 2009, 11:20 AM)
7 hours is if your brightness is the lowest, wifi off, no applications running... XD
hahha yeah. 7hours can b achieved only if everything is at the lowest setting. tongue.gif should have read the small prints before being convinced that it lasts for 7hours. gave me hell the last time i decided not to bring the charger.haha.
llsphinxll
post Sep 21 2009, 02:17 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

hey i dont knw if this is the correct thread to b asking abt this, but my safari often hangs. like the colorful turning thing appears and the browser will b stuck for a few seconds before resuming to load or something. im using safari 4.1. this never happened before i upgraded to safari4.
hmm will upgrading to SL help? i have the cd here with me, but just contemplating still whether or not to install it. tongue.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 24 2009, 01:59 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Sep 24 2009, 12:06 AM)
hi all,

i tried to search for answers but couldnt find anything so here goes:

my macbook pro 13 (mid2009 model) 2.26 is freezing (with spinning beachball) every so often. it happens and computer freezes and i cant do anything for a few seconds while the beach ball spins. then it goes back to normal like nothing has happened and i am able to see the normal cursor again. this happens no matter what i'm doing, whether on the internet or working in photoshop. it seems like a memory ram problem, because i upgraded to 4GB from the original 2GB ram. i think the ones i got are the corsair brand. anyone has the same issues with these rams?

thanks for the help guys. i will call for apple phone support too cos my mac is still under warranty.
ok i just saw some posts above regarding safari showing the beach ball. yes it happens to me too. so maybe its not the ram after all?
hey! i suffer from the same problem as well. but mine mostly on safari. urm haven been opening other softwares lately. my ram is untouched at the stock 2gb. hmm anyone cud help? notworthy.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 25 2009, 02:42 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Sep 25 2009, 02:03 PM)
guys, got some questions here.

let say i wanna buy an ext hdd for mac, do you think getting the 3.5 inch with power supply or getting the normal ext hdd w/o power.

mbp only has 2 usb ports but i hv

- wired mighty mouse
- drawing tablet
- the planned ext hdd

so now i m thinking whether it is better to get a 3.5" ext hdd, or get the USB hub with standalone power supply (never use before..not sure useful or not)
you can buy a laptop cooler fan. most offers usb hub in them. but of cos they wont b able to support your ext hdd. proly small items like your mouse or thumbdrives. if you want a usb hub that can support all thee ext hdd and etc you can consider the space station from bluelounge. smile.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 25 2009, 08:50 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Sep 25 2009, 02:48 PM)
laptop cooler fan? mmm i only know usb fan. lol. is it like the laptop stand with fan at the bottom ?

bluelounge looks nice. but msia nobody selling i think
hey machines' selling the space station. got mine from there a few months back. but one drawback thou, is that the surface accumulates dust. anyways, go search for cooler master infinite. it has a model with 4 extra usb. but like i said earlier, it wudnt support ext hdd that needs to b connected straight to the laptop. nod.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 26 2009, 01:41 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Sep 26 2009, 12:11 AM)
how much did u buy space station fr machines? my mbp actually has a casing already so i not sure if the cooler master infinite can work.
got mine for rm298 a few months back. not sure if they are still selling. i had a infinite before. bought it for the 4usb hub but it didnt work like how i thought it wud. laptop was still hot. in the end, went for space station instead bcos the usb hub comes with an ac adapter. meaning ext hdd can b plugged into the hub. bsides, it solves my mess. laugh.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 26 2009, 03:38 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 26 2009, 12:41 PM)
how to use picasa to replace with preview?

I cant go to next photo in preview sad.gif
you have to select all the photos that you wanna view. den double click on either one of them. den the list will b on the right of your preview window. haha it aint like windows picture preview thing were you can scroll up and down with the pictures within that folder. tongue.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 26 2009, 07:22 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

dude there is a guide that you shud read. its in your mac's hd. mayb reading that wud help. smile.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 1 2009, 12:20 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

hey sifus,
have a question.

is there any way i can lock my mac, without havin the need to close the running applications. i tried fiddling around and the only option that i found is 'log out'. and closing the lid only puts it into 'sleep' mode which doesnt require a password to use.

do advice. thank you! biggrin.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 1 2009, 02:10 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

ouh thanks.
let me try that. biggrin.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 2 2009, 07:15 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Oct 2 2009, 06:29 PM)
me also having this problem.. i using MBP 13"
doesnt only happen to mbp 13". im using mbp 15" and it happens to me when browsing the web using safari too. sigh, unsure.gif mayb its something to do with one of the upgrade. but i really regretted upgrading to safari4. safari3 never used to gave me such problems but in order to use it with iTunes9, have to upgrade. cry.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 4 2009, 11:22 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 4 2009, 04:11 AM)
current MM is already in the market for ages, time for new one

there are rumours about new mac peripheral (new keyboard, apple remote & mm)
yeah. eager to know how they fit multi touch into the MM. brows.gif

This post has been edited by llsphinxll: Oct 4 2009, 04:09 PM
llsphinxll
post Oct 5 2009, 05:26 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 5 2009, 04:56 PM)
make me laugh! new look mean another new production line, apple may lost alot money from there
well there is always a chance of a new line of apple computers coming out anytime soon, whether its design wise or modification internally. but either way the update of the new line, doubt apple will lose out in terms of profit. not saying that their stuff is expensive, just that, it might all b a marketing plan. just look at the nano. call it gimmick, apple ppl call it marketing. biggrin.gif
but either way, i will b waiting eagerly. apple never fails to surprise me. thumbup.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 5 2009, 09:40 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(remeron @ Oct 5 2009, 09:17 PM)
hello..I just got my MBP 13 inch and am loving it.
However, I am just wondering, when I'm just using it at home, is it advisable to keep the power plugged in all the time or do I use battery power instead?
it doesnt really matter. bcos unlike other laptops, the ac doesnt go straight to the battery when its plugged in. thumbup.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 12 2009, 10:10 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 12 2009, 04:28 AM)
i think by christmas time, they will update the spec already
one verdict is, as long as new spec coming out, it's good time to have it
true la. but when new specs come out the price will b sky high. shocking.gif