125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

iPhone 3G[S] Maxis Registration-Booking-Buying V3, Unconstructive post will be deleted

v_79
post Sep 29 2009, 02:36 PM

booked: 1-sept
collected: 27-sept
waiting period: 27 days
model: iphone 3gs 16gb black
venue: butterworth sunway carnival mep

rclxms.gif

dinozilla
post Sep 29 2009, 02:41 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(v_79 @ Sep 29 2009, 02:36 PM)

rclxms.gif
good one....

u jz wait and they call or u bug them too?? biggrin.gif
earl-ku
post Sep 29 2009, 02:43 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Iroci @ Sep 29 2009, 12:17 PM)
Yeah it is real true n U have prove it rclxms.gif ...hope other company will distribute Apple next gen devices... cool2.gif
monopolizing is the keyword here - and we are lucky to have unlocked sets but we have to pay for that la ... u see what AT&T is doing ... thats worst ...

see now the keyword here is locked sets or unlocked sets ... but then again we have more issues like the one here la ... 1months wait minimum to get it ...
v_79
post Sep 29 2009, 02:57 PM

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Sep 29 2009, 02:41 PM)
good one....

u jz wait and they call or u bug them too??  biggrin.gif
nope, never called or bug them at all..
received their call inform that my unit is ready, that's all tongue.gif
CrossFirE
post Sep 29 2009, 03:13 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(chernloon @ Sep 29 2009, 01:42 PM)
all the while i tot hotlink plan is not available for order since its stated in maxis site and i enquired at machine at the end of august. just keep on waiting and waiting till managed to find out in this thread that under hotlink plan can be booked as well. else i would have gone to orange end of august, and by now might obtain the phone already sad.gif
gone to orange?
cheonwai
post Sep 29 2009, 03:17 PM

180 posts

Is it possible that we unbox and activate the iphone ourself at home?

QUOTE(jlj @ Sep 29 2009, 10:21 AM)
Collected the iPhone yesterday, never connect/sync with PC at all. Just switched on and to our surprise in the App store someone’s itune a/c has already login. At the bottom there “Account: ****@gmail.com”. The maxis staff unwrapped and unboxed the iPhone in front of us and she activated it on the spot. Could we have gotten a refurbished/secondhand unit?

Our suspicion arose because there has been a mistake on the booking date, my brother and I booked the iPhone on the 27 of August and due to some misunderstanding between the centre staffs they cancel our booking halfway through the waiting period, our booking is not in the system when we demand for the iPhone on the 26 of Sept since is already 30 days. They have iPhones arrived on the day but they told us all had already been tagged with customer names. However, they assure us on the spot that they will follow up with Headquarter and arrange a special unit for us by next week. Indeed they managed to give us the phone yesterday after I received a call in the morning that the special arranged iPhone is here. Could the ‘special’ unit be none other then a refurbished/secondhand unit? Hope you guys can share your thoughts.
henry_1984
post Sep 29 2009, 03:23 PM

Haiz...... today went to Garden check my iphone status. Too bad they said my name is not inside the collection name list yet. I went to the counter and said i received a call from Maxis to collect and they go inside check come out nothing leh....( I thought can see those black box). Keep on asking them to give me whatever unit they had now. But still they dun allow me to take coz those set is pre-booked by others on Aug. Anywhere the supervisor came out and told me he will try to get the stock next week for me.
tnsai
post Sep 29 2009, 03:33 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(henry_1984 @ Sep 29 2009, 03:23 PM)
Haiz...... today went to Garden check my iphone status. Too bad they said my name is not inside the collection name list yet. I went to the counter and said i received a call from Maxis to collect and they go inside check come out nothing leh....( I thought can see those black box). Keep on asking them to give me whatever unit they had now. But still they dun allow me to take coz those set is pre-booked by others on Aug. Anywhere the supervisor came out and told me he will try to get the stock next week for me.
A pity, sad.gif means no hope for me as well.. Ah well better luck next week (good luck for you = good luck for me also)
chernloon
post Sep 29 2009, 03:37 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 29 2009, 03:13 PM)
gone to orange?
ya...this morning went there already. ampang point branch.
mememe12
post Sep 29 2009, 03:41 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 29 2009, 01:52 PM)
Seems like KL side is having much better condition then us in Sarawak here bro. Btw, which number are u calling to makes the complaint?
besides 123.. i think u can email them too.. refer to last 1 or 2 pages..

QUOTE(v_79 @ Sep 29 2009, 02:36 PM)

rclxms.gif
wow.. ur location is very near to me.. i booked at Penang same day as u.. but white color.. i wonder whether they will give me on 1-oct or not..
davidmak
post Sep 29 2009, 04:02 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(jlj @ Sep 29 2009, 10:21 AM)
Collected the iPhone yesterday, never connect/sync with PC at all. Just switched on and to our surprise in the App store someone’s itune a/c has already login. At the bottom there “Account: ****@gmail.com”. The maxis staff unwrapped and unboxed the iPhone in front of us and she activated it on the spot. Could we have gotten a refurbished/secondhand unit?

Our suspicion arose because there has been a mistake on the booking date, my brother and I booked the iPhone on the 27 of August and due to some misunderstanding between the centre staffs they cancel our booking halfway through the waiting period, our booking is not in the system when we demand for the iPhone on the 26 of Sept since is already 30 days. They have iPhones arrived on the day but they told us all had already been tagged with customer names. However, they assure us on the spot that they will follow up with Headquarter and arrange a special unit for us by next week. Indeed they managed to give us the phone yesterday after I received a call in the morning that the special arranged iPhone is here. Could the ‘special’ unit be none other then a refurbished/secondhand unit? Hope you guys can share your thoughts.
QUOTE(tnsai @ Sep 29 2009, 10:53 AM)
Hmmm, I'm not sure, it could be the act of activation (using ITunes) could have imported the Itunes account from that PC .. I could be wrong but I think thats what actually happens.. perhaps you could do a hard reset (clearing all the settings - but not sure if you do this you need to activate again or not) and then connect to ITunes and activate again and see if the account settings from your ITunes would be put into the phone?

Again, someone with more knowledge might be able to offer a less troublesome way to find out.
First time activation alone doesn't import any user setting into the PC unless the guy accidentally set it up or synced or restored to a previous iPhone. Then that will port in settings from the previous iPhone. In my opinion, better demand an explanation from Maxis Center. Used unit or refurbished units usually go through stringent 'check up' and the phone's software is restored to plain vanilla new state. It couldn't possibly harbor previous user's settings. Unless they didn't do a good job or skipped some processes before packing it in.

Come to think of it when I collected my iPhone, my box is double wrapped. The first layer is Apple's shrink wrap. The second layer is Maxis's shrink wrap where the service card resides. However, they don't look like a botched job and look professionally new.

In fact I was shocked to see my iPhone lifetime counter being 1 day + 2 hours. Then later I realized restoring from a previous iPhone's backup will also port these counters into the new iPhone. This has been demonstrated many times and heavily discussed in the forum. Setting up the iPhone as new will reset the counter.

The restoring and syncing of iPhone is pretty interesting thing actually. For example, I managed to restore a backup to 2 different iPhone along with the purchased applications. Both iPhone now sync to iTunes of different PC and they work just fine. Of course, both iPhones belongs to me and has my username activation in it.

QUOTE(cheonwai @ Sep 29 2009, 03:17 PM)
Is it possible that we unbox and activate the iphone ourself at home?
Yes, you could do this at home. The activation is just the matter of plugging it in and going through an automated process. When you reach home and plug it into your iTunes for the second time, it will let you perform user registration to activate your warranty. The Maxis customer executive told me that by letting Maxis activate on the spot allows your Maxis warranty to be activated immediately.

In my opinion, it doesn't matter. You have the service card and the information is registered to your name. You also have the receipts and Maxis has your information. They have no excuse. Basically the activation is just a good will gesture to let you use it immediately rather going away with a no-yet-operational phone. Also on the spot activation allow you to inspect the phone's features and check for dead pixels, dead areas, etc.

The activation process done by Apple is actually the signing servers to authenticate your copy of iPhone OS. This process is done many times over the course of ownership where you may be updating to a new OS version or performing a simple restore.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Sep 29 2009, 04:05 PM
tnsai
post Sep 29 2009, 04:10 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Sep 29 2009, 04:02 PM)
First time activation alone doesn't import any user setting into the PC unless the guy accidentally set it up or synced or restored to a previous iPhone. Then that will port in settings from the previous iPhone. In my opinion, better demand an explanation from Maxis Center. Used unit or refurbished units usually go through stringent 'check up' and the phone's software is restored to plain vanilla new state. It couldn't possibly harbor previous user's settings. Unless they didn't do a good job or skipped some processes before packing it in.

Come to think of it when I collected my iPhone, my box is double wrapped. The first layer is Apple's shrink wrap. The second layer is Maxis's shrink wrap where the service card resides. However, they don't look like a botched job and look professionally new.

In fact I was shocked to see my iPhone lifetime counter being 1 day + 2 hours. Then later I realized restoring from a previous iPhone's backup will also port these counters into the new iPhone. This has been demonstrated many times and heavily discussed in the forum. Setting up the iPhone as new will reset the counter.

The restoring and syncing of iPhone is pretty interesting thing actually. For example, I managed to restore a backup to 2 different iPhone along with the purchased applications. Both iPhone now sync to iTunes of different PC and they work just fine. Of course, both iPhones belongs to me and has my username activation in it.
Yes, you could do this at home. The activation is just the matter of plugging it in and going through an automated process. When you reach home and plug it into your iTunes for the second time, it will let you perform user registration to activate your warranty. The Maxis customer executive told me that by letting Maxis activate on the spot allows your Maxis warranty to be activated immediately.

In my opinion, it doesn't matter. You have the service card and the information is registered to your name. You also have the receipts and Maxis has your information. They have no excuse. Basically the activation is just a good will gesture to let you use it immediately rather going away with a no-yet-operational phone. Also on the spot activation allow you to inspect the phone's features and check for dead pixels, dead areas, etc.

The activation process done by Apple is actually the signing servers to authenticate your copy of iPhone OS. This process is done many times over the course of ownership where you may be updating to a new OS version or performing a simple restore.
Thanks for the info on the activation part.. now I look what to look for when I collect my IPhone
CrossFirE
post Sep 29 2009, 04:13 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(chernloon @ Sep 29 2009, 03:37 PM)
ya...this morning went there already. ampang point branch.
can buy maxis prepaid with iphone there?
saffronlotus
post Sep 29 2009, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(Edoras @ Sep 29 2009, 01:34 PM)
I also called Orange just now. She said 32GB on prepaid will be available more than 3 weeks.
wah, how come they giving different answers, ydy my fren went to book, the lady say have to wait 3 to 4 months for prepaid!
Iroci
post Sep 29 2009, 04:26 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Sep 29 2009, 02:43 PM)
monopolizing is the keyword here - and we are lucky to have unlocked sets but we have to pay for that la ... u see what AT&T is doing ... thats worst ...

see now the keyword here is locked sets or unlocked sets ... but then again we have more issues like the one here la ... 1months wait minimum to get it ...
if i not mistaken...malaysia law not allow to lock devices to specific telco...the monopoly system is sux like what AT&T do...

if maxis do like AT&T i never buy it...bcoz the device cannot travel to other country...this is worst case.
chernloon
post Sep 29 2009, 04:27 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 29 2009, 04:13 PM)
can buy maxis prepaid with iphone there?
ya...eventhough the gal at the registration counter told me that its only for postpaid, but i did call n ask yesterday b4 i went there this mornin. just inform tat gal. but she told me hafta wait for 1-2 months for 16gb black
CrossFirE
post Sep 29 2009, 04:42 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(chernloon @ Sep 29 2009, 04:27 PM)
ya...eventhough the gal at the registration counter told me that its only for postpaid, but i did call n ask yesterday b4 i went there this mornin. just inform tat gal. but she told me hafta wait for 1-2 months for 16gb black
1 or 2 months ah? can you give me that number? when you get the phone only give the money?

Mazda6
post Sep 29 2009, 04:53 PM

Ordered mine from Seremban Maxis Centre on 28th August 2009...

My current Samsung i780 have problems (sometimes it shut down automatically), thus asked the Maxis promoter there when can I get my 3Gs and she told me within 2 weeks. After waiting for 2 WEEKS, I went to the Maxis Centre again to pay my bill, I asked the same staff and she said the item should arrive max 3 WEEKS (another one week)... Hmm, I feel a bit uncomfortable about my booking but what the heck, just 1 week to wait. As I always passing by the Maxis Centre for work, I went there again after 3 WEEKS+ and asked the same staff, she said sorry as there's some delay for the 3Gs, some problems (procedures) with the Customs Department, maybe will take about 1 month from the booking date... F%$& S*&T!

Last Saturday I went back there and met another staff, at first she thought I've booked mid September, when I explained to her that I've booked last month and Maxis staffs kept on promising from 1 date to another, she then checked from the store but disappointed (again), 45 days from the booking date.

Back home, I shoot 2 e-mails to Maxis Centre explaining the inconsistent info given by the staffs, keep on giving dates (and me keep on waiting for it), and yesterday Maxis Centre called me for an apoligize, reason : 3Gs shortage throughout the world + many bookings during fasting month.

What to say, have waited for 1+ month now how to cancel? Just close 1 eye and use my "automatic shut-down phone" until the 3Gs arrive lor... sad.gif
JakzT
post Sep 29 2009, 05:07 PM

455 posts

Anyone know Maxis Garden number?
hades86
post Sep 29 2009, 05:08 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(saffronlotus @ Sep 29 2009, 04:20 PM)
wah, how come they giving different answers, ydy my fren went to book, the lady say have to wait 3 to 4 months for prepaid!
if u gonna book with prepaid plan at orange ampang point....i suggest u talk to a guy name Ben (not sure correct or not)...he looks like the guy in-charge there....when i first book mine there..i ask the lady and she seems unsure at first...after she consult with the guy, the guy personally told me that the prepaid plan is available for booking....

i think all members here who booked there got their iPhone in between 2 and 3 weeks. thumbup.gif

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:57 AM