5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

iPhone 3G[S] Maxis Registration-Booking-Buying V3, Unconstructive post will be deleted

davidmak
post Aug 24 2009, 11:22 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I received an invitation letter from Maxis too and I made my booking last Sunday. Here are the details of the invitation/rebate:
- purchase the iPhone 3GS 16/32GB outright
- no contract involved, stick back to your current iValue plan
- no deposit required for booking
- RM500 cannot be deducted from RRP.
- Pay full RRP price but the RM500 will be credited to your account over 5 months
- 1 month waiting time or less (they will sms/call for collection, but if more than 1 month just show up to collect)*

I don't know about the last point but the personnel who served me told me in a very consistent voice that if I receive no calls in one month time, I can show up to collect it. Seems to me they have stock but aren't releasing it. Just reserved for potential 'profitable' customers.
davidmak
post Aug 25 2009, 09:26 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 25 2009, 08:47 AM)
ooo.. seems like the stock is growing now..
but whenever I call maxis, they still say have to wait 1 month.. haha..
Yes, stocks are definitely growing by the day. Its almost the end of August now. So I recommend people to plan a trip to your booking centres and ask about it. No harm if you're doing shopping at the same time hehehe...

For me I have to wait for about one month before making some noise hehehehe... but I'm fine since I am using the iPhone 3G already.

Added on August 25, 2009, 9:29 am
QUOTE(chocobo2988 @ Aug 25 2009, 09:23 AM)
Help and Advice: Anybody counter tht ur fren hard to call into ur iphone (maxis)? Sometime i do received Maxis missed call notification. I'm new Iphone 3gs user version 3.0.1. Thanks to all sifu on ur advice.
I only know connections are super erratic at certain places ever since I upgraded to iPhone OS v3.0. I get a weak 3G signal. Then it will drop to Edge. When I make a call, it'll drop E and then show O (GPRS), then signal will drop. Call quality will suffer. When I finish my call, the signal bar goes back up. Hahaha! Damn!

But it only happen in my office and never in other places. Weird.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Aug 25 2009, 09:29 AM
davidmak
post Sep 1 2009, 03:33 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(vanimon @ Sep 1 2009, 03:00 PM)
IT'S HERE!!!!!

It's gorgeous, beautiful, sexy, amazing, sleek, stylish ... everything I imagined it to be!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OMG! You guys! Good luck for those still waiting ok!!! I'll be checking in with you guys regularly !!! WOOO HOOO!!!
Awww.... congratulations! I'm still patiently waiting for mine. Its only over a week but its already felt like more than a month hehehe... I had to admit I tried one of these 'tricks' but it didn't work for me. But I was given a tip over the counter. The maximum days are 30 days (Priority Delivery, ones who receive the invitation card). But its usually 2-3 weeks and you will get a call. That explains why people who have waited 2-3 weeks can just collect it. Maybe mine is a little premature.

There have been reports that the supply has improved so the wait time is no longer as long. This only applies for Maxis Centers and I have no idea about participating stores.
davidmak
post Sep 1 2009, 05:11 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 1 2009, 05:07 PM)
@LEVIATHAN,
And what's the reason Maxis won't sell U the phone on Post Paid basis?! Is it because you're a walk-in?!
Probably he mean have to make booking or something... and probably he went with expectations of getting it immediately?
davidmak
post Sep 1 2009, 05:12 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Sep 1 2009, 04:52 PM)
my fren book 16gb 3GS white tru MEP.. and they said need to wait for 2 weeks only.. summore got a free casing...

anyone from u guys get freebies when booking?
Yes, that is what I have heard too minus the free casing. Its roughly 2 weeks now but most people will stick with the 1 month thing to control expectations.
davidmak
post Sep 2 2009, 07:58 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Sep 2 2009, 07:02 AM)
just got mine yesterday. booked on 8th august at Orange Ampang Point.

now having headache on how to transfer 700+ contacts from SE W960i. sigh!!

btw, u can book with prepaid plan but as usual, u will have to wait.. for how long? only God knows...
I think you can export contacts from SE to Google Contacts. I am not sure which program but there is one. Another way is to export from SE to Windows Contacts. Edit and correct entries there. Then you're good to sync it to Google Contacts. Then set iTunes to sync from Google Contacts. Done.

For me, I do it manually over Google Contacts. At least I can use my keyboard than typing on the phone.
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 07:56 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 3 2009, 07:53 AM)
i saw that day the i-data plan RM30 also kena "marker" oledi
Yeah I saw that too. I was gonna latch that data plan to my supplementary line and get another 3GS. Looks like they're shutting all forms of 'cheap routes' to get into the iPhone craze.
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 03:25 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Dang! I was so excited when I receive a call from Maxis. However, I was shot down as it was only a call to confirm my collection location. Hahaha!

I booked mine on the 23rd August and received this call today, 3 September. I guess that means the phone is already present and allocated to me. Only the matter of transporting it from their supply to the collection centers? I hope so. So that means another week? Sigh... this agony of waiting haha!
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 03:32 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 3 2009, 03:28 PM)
@davidmak,
Er.. 1 week for transporting the thing to another place in KL is ridiculously LONG, IMO.  Y don't U ask if U could go pick it up instead? biggrin.gif
Yeah, I would assume that the HQ has allocated the phone. I was wondering if I should tell them that I can go straight at the HQ. I presume it is Maxis Tower? Instead I asked if there's any location where I can get it sooner. The guy just said its the same everywhere and its typically one month from booking period.

I guess I'll just stick with the Maxis Gardens. The reason why I anticipate 1 week is due to processing of documents, waiting for the rest of the applications, passing of the stocks between hands, actual transportation, incoming processing of documents at Gardens and the rest of those protocols + adding buffers to manage own expectations tongue.gif . I guess thats about a week?
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 03:57 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Sep 3 2009, 03:42 PM)
PS. Damn it was hard typing all this on my iPhone... LOL!
Yes, I hated the auto-correct feature so much. Sometimes I applaud it because it seems to fix a lot of mistakes. Its a love hate relationship really...
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 04:57 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Sep 3 2009, 04:24 PM)
Do I need to go for waiting list if I plan to subscribe this Saturday? How long usually it takes to get the phone?
QUOTE(eviz @ Sep 3 2009, 04:45 PM)
Putraskyline: 14 days to 30 days from the day you booked. That's what Maxis said.
Fall in line soldier! tongue.gif

Added on September 3, 2009, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Sep 3 2009, 04:56 PM)
=.= , i booked mine earlier than u 18th of august, haven receive any call from maxis centre yet! sad.gif do i need to call em up and ask for my iphone?almost 3weeks ady sad.gif
Thats weird. Cause I see some people not receiving any calls (of where would they like to pick up their phone) and still get it within 2-3 weeks. Some receive this call and still get it within the same time frame. Some receive this call and thats it. Nothing happens.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Sep 3 2009, 04:59 PM
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 05:22 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(captain11 @ Sep 3 2009, 05:07 PM)
Hi everyone... my first post here...
Super excited... have become delusional about the iphone.. have been having dreams about coffee table sized iphones... (i.e. the one at maxis center KLCC, or the mythical ipod tablet...)

but.. hey..Davidmak. how come u can get your phone earlier than me?? You're damn lucky...
hsien hsien... me more cham..
Sorry... didn't read your comment properly.. so maxis called you up to confirm pick up location.. i haven't heard anything from Maxis yet... no sms, no email, no call.. nada...

I booked mine on the 14th of August 09... gosh.. tomorrow I'm going to KLCC to create some havoc..hahaha...
Which is why I advise not to be too excited about my report on the calls. It doesn't mean anything. Some who receive this kind of call, still had to wait the typical turnaround time. Some who receive this kind of call could get it earlier (I wonder whether it involve cheating hehehe) and some don't receive any call getting it earlier. Too much variation. I wonder how Maxis manage it.

One suspect is that the HQ is doing it right. Cause once the phone has been allocated to you, the stocks will move from 'somewhere' to the respective pickup locations you choose. Once the stock reaches those locations, its up to that particular Maxis Center's management. And the management of one Maxis Center differs from one another I suspect. Thats why we see different levels of service delivery performance. I'm sure they have some sort of standard procedures but lets not suspect whether they are followed or not.
davidmak
post Sep 3 2009, 10:31 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(DrOzzz @ Sep 3 2009, 10:28 PM)
bro, i booked mine at klcc as well during 14th August roadshow .. until today i still haven receive any calls from them wor ...

wat happen ..same place with same roadshow n same date but u get it 1st ...
i m so sad -.-
Err none of us has gotten any yet. We're still waiting.
davidmak
post Sep 4 2009, 07:52 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Secret Choong @ Sep 4 2009, 12:08 AM)
did you guys get a maxis receipt or machines receipt, if it's a maxis receipt, than i guess you can go try your luck.
Nope, no receipt for me because I booked mine via the Maxis invitation card. I am using the iPhone 3G with iValue plan already. No deposits were required for me so naturally they didn't give me any receipt. But I have the booking number and some documentations.
davidmak
post Sep 4 2009, 09:02 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Secret Choong @ Sep 4 2009, 08:31 AM)
but the whole month wait starts from the day you paid the pre-booking fee, so I have the right to complain to them kao kao by nest sunday. haha.
Yes, as long as its already one month (starting from booking date) just proceed to the store and collect it. Maxis has been telling me consistently to go straight if its more than one month. If you still have a couple of days to full one month, it makes no difference. Just go. Hehehe...
davidmak
post Sep 4 2009, 01:46 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(NewMan123a @ Sep 4 2009, 01:41 PM)
The problem is my current phone will die anytime soon and iphone seems to be a good phone to have.....I am not a heavy web user nor a heavy game user. Would 3G suit my needs?
I say don't do it. Its suicide biggrin.gif Wait for the iPhone 3GS. Seriously its not too long a wait.
davidmak
post Sep 4 2009, 03:24 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I might as well join in the fun rclxms.gif

Date of prebook: 23rd August 2009
Call/SMS: Yes on the 3 September 2009, just to confirm pick up location (not sure what it means)
Model: Iphone 3GS 16GB Black
Date of collection: 30 days as briefed by Maxis customer executive

davidmak
post Sep 4 2009, 04:40 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(DikkieD @ Sep 4 2009, 04:31 PM)
Funny shit smile.gif...already in possesion, booked one day ltr then me smile.gif. Did you perhaps take a RM375 contract or something?...
Is it the same model? I heard the 32GB stocks are more than 16GB due to different demands for each of those variants. Most people would settle for 16GB variants.
davidmak
post Sep 5 2009, 10:07 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dreamingguy2 @ Sep 4 2009, 08:08 PM)
i can see a lot of ppl has not get the iphone set. i wonder if maxis really have the stock ready or just using just few units to test out on the market response. Heard maxis staff said stocks being hold in custom, but dunno true or not....mayb somebody try to figure it out...
I don't think there's a restriction with iPhone 3GS. Its more like we're reaching a holiday season and also the holy month, so processing might be a little slow.

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Sep 5 2009, 07:10 AM)
they may be upgrade the phone for multitasking....their competitor are already in multitasking support. and a few hardware changes....and the rumours is next years....just pray the phone will be out in december next year...huhuhu.... biggrin.gif
Yes, which is why I am anticipating a new remake of the iPhone OS with multitasking. I am very confident a new iPhone will be released next year during WDC together with a new OS. And iPhone 3GS owners will get it for free, and hopefully iPhone 3G too. But seeing iPhone 3G has so little free RAM after bootup, thats gonna be a little risky. Which is why I am aiming for 3GS. I have the 3G already, and believe me its slow due to the low RAM.
davidmak
post Sep 6 2009, 11:40 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Maxis is currently advertising on major newspaper with the statement, "Book now to avoid disappointment". Probably to target the upcoming festive season. At the current rate of distribution, that sounds like a FUD. It'll never be able to meet that kind of demand. I wonder why they still advertise. On the optimistic side, probably THERE IS a large batch coming. So people who pre-ordered within the month of August should be able to get it before Raya. Lets see...

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:41 AM