Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic
taxpayer
Jul 16 2009, 08:43 PM

I cant believe that CIMB and SCB are allowing people to apply for Visa Infinite cards(higher than platinum). This card is usually given to private bank customers only by invitation. You have to deposit a min of 1 mil before u can become a private bank customer anyway. Their requirement is a bit on the low side as well.
tinkerbel
Jul 16 2009, 08:54 PM
Fanaddict!
@taxpayer, CIMB's asking for RM240k income p/annum whilst SCB is RM150k p/annum. Currently, only RHB's Visa Infinite remains 'By Invitation Only'. I guess it's business afterall and bottom lines what's most important
taxpayer
Jul 16 2009, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 08:54 PM) @taxpayer, CIMB's asking for RM240k income p/annum whilst SCB is RM150k p/annum. Currently, only RHB's Visa Infinite remains 'By Invitation Only'. I guess it's business afterall and bottom lines what's most important  yeah i've heard that SCB has issued platinum cards to people with annual income of 70k ish. That's why i cant be bothered using their cards. No exclusivity. Do you know anyone who have applied for that card in malaysia?
winner
Jul 16 2009, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 08:39 PM) @winner, I don't see a point in comparing how much CLs we have; i don't find it v ego-boosting or breaking  I can say I've got RM90k CL on one of my CCs but are U or not going to believe it?  It's only a joke!  Do you think I'll tell you my CL if you inform me of your CL? It should remain my privacy then!  Btw, only my loved ones know my CL so far.  QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 16 2009, 08:43 PM) I cant believe that CIMB and SCB are allowing people to apply for Visa Infinite cards(higher than platinum). This card is usually given to private bank customers only by invitation. You have to deposit a min of 1 mil before u can become a private bank customer anyway. Their requirement is a bit on the low side as well. SCB Visa Infinite was only by invitation last time. It is no longer "extremely exclusive" now as it is open to public. I did receive call from an SCB cc staff promoting this product to me some 2 weeks ago.
Gen-X
Jul 16 2009, 09:22 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 16 2009, 09:00 PM) yeah i've heard that SCB has issued platinum cards to people with annual income of 70k ish. That's why i cant be bothered using their cards. No exclusivity. Do you know anyone who have applied for that card in malaysia? every bank is competing among each other to get customers, won't be surprise in 5 years time, people with less than RM100K PA income will also qualify for Infinite. just like Plat where annual income had to be >RM100 when it was first introduced. If you read the earlier posts, many people here have Infinite and there is even a photos of cards. The only really exclusive card here so far where none of the other LYN members have is vampbreak's AMEX Centurion Card.
tinkerbel
Jul 16 2009, 09:26 PM
Fanaddict!
@winner, Hey.. NO fair cause I told U mine!!!  @taxpayer, Yes I know a couple of people who's holding the SCB Visa Infinite.
VeeJay
Jul 16 2009, 09:37 PM
Recent offering from Citibank, seems to be catchy! [url=http://www.citibank.com.my/APPS/por...lobeshopper.htm[/url] It solves the problem for those who wants to purchase stuff from US. This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jul 16 2009, 09:54 PM
winner
Jul 16 2009, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 09:26 PM) @winner, Hey.. NO fair cause I told U mine!!!  I know it was a joke from you too by simply giving a fake figure, likewise.  It's because you have given me an indication few days ago. Remember that?  Anyhow, CL is a very personal thing.  Added on July 16, 2009, 9:59 pmQUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 16 2009, 09:44 PM) AHHHHHHHHHHH.. I'm back again.!! guess what??? i got rejected apply younique.. @.@ how come??? last week i went to apply and today letter arrived..  Don't give up. It was your 1st ever cc application anyway. You may try to apply through other banks with lower requirements, such as DA/CIMB, if you are qualified. This post has been edited by winner: Jul 16 2009, 09:59 PM
VeeJay
Jul 16 2009, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 16 2009, 09:54 PM) I know it was a joke from you too by simply giving a fake figure, likewise.  It's because you have given me an indication few days ago. Remember that?  Anyhow, CL is a very personal thing.  Hmmm wondering whats wrong in mentioning CL?
Gen-X
Jul 16 2009, 10:09 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 16 2009, 09:44 PM) AHHHHHHHHHHH.. I'm back again.!! guess what??? i got rejected apply younique.. @.@ how come??? last week i went to apply and today letter arrived..  Wah, very efficient one week already get letter. Call them and ask and maybe you'll get an answer. Like winner mentioned, go apply for other cards. Or if you bank with HLB, they do issue card with one of their accounts (smartlink or something like that).
Michael_G
Jul 16 2009, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 16 2009, 09:54 PM) Added on July 16, 2009, 9:59 pmDon't give up. It was your 1st ever cc application anyway. You may try to apply through other banks with lower requirements, such as DA/CIMB, if you are qualified. hurm wondering why im not qualify to apply it le.. my salary over RM18k le.. QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 16 2009, 10:09 PM) Wah, very efficient one week already get letter. Call them and ask and maybe you'll get an answer. Like winner mentioned, go apply for other cards. Or if you bank with HLB, they do issue card with one of their accounts (smartlink or something like that). if i can back to the person that handle me that day do u think she can answer why i cant get my card..?? HLB ah? i got HLB acc but no $$ de  any other cards for lower qualification?
tinkerbel
Jul 16 2009, 10:28 PM
Fanaddict!
@Michael_G, No one but the bank can tell U Y ur application was rejected. Eh could it be that U didn't give them sufficient documents? Sometimes that can be a reason for rejection  @winner, I gave U indication meh a few days ago?! Mana ada?! Eh.. oK.. revealing CL is a no-no. In that case, can I have your monthly income?  @VeeJay, winner doesn't want to reveal it is because he's got like RM200k CL on one card, RM90k on another and perhaps RM60k on another one. The total combined CL he has is probably sufficient to pay for a bungalow in Rawang - unlike us, RM5k saje so that's why he a bit antsy lor This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 16 2009, 10:30 PM
Michael_G
Jul 16 2009, 10:34 PM

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 10:28 PM) @Michael_G, No one but the bank can tell U Y ur application was rejected. Eh could it be that U didn't give them sufficient documents? Sometimes that can be a reason for rejection   i gave them my EA form, EPF form, 3months salary, my IC still not enough meh? @.@
Noyoudontcare
Jul 16 2009, 10:39 PM

I have checked Affin bank...they only charge 9.99% p.a...wow...
and bank simpanan nasional and bank rakya.t..no compounding interests...another wow...
do you think its worth a go for these less popular banks?
tinkerbel
Jul 16 2009, 10:43 PM
Fanaddict!
@Noyoudontcare, Y not if the benefits are something U can make use of
ronnie
Jul 16 2009, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 16 2009, 10:34 PM)  i gave them my EA form, EPF form, 3months salary, my IC still not enough meh? @.@ Maybe certain details in the application form is not accurate or left out ?
Reventon
Jul 16 2009, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 16 2009, 08:43 PM) I cant believe that CIMB and SCB are allowing people to apply for Visa Infinite cards(higher than platinum). This card is usually given to private bank customers only by invitation. You have to deposit a min of 1 mil before u can become a private bank customer anyway. Their requirement is a bit on the low side as well. Infinite or World doesn't make you exclusive lah ! Some of the bank staff don't even know the " existence " of this card too , to them the highest is platinum currently  . But Vampy's Centurion certainly is the only " exclusive " card around here  !
taxpayer
Jul 16 2009, 11:13 PM

[quote=Gen-X,Jul 16 2009, 09:22 PM] every bank is competing among each other to get customers, won't be surprise in 5 years time, people with less than RM100K PA income will also qualify for Infinite. just like Plat where annual income had to be >RM100 when it was first introduced. If you read the earlier posts, many people here have Infinite and there is even a photos of cards. The only really exclusive card here so far where none of the other LYN members have is vampbreak's AMEX Centurion Card. [/ I have no idea whether i will make the cut or not. I certainly do not meet the income requirements. However, I do have the following cards HSBC premier master card, HSBC visa platinum, Citibank Visa Platinum and UOB preferred platinum. Maybe i should give it a try. I think the most exclusive visa card you can get nowadays is the Visa Signature.I dont think it's available in Malaysia though.
MilesAndMore
Jul 16 2009, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 16 2009, 11:13 PM) I have no idea whether i will make the cut or not. I certainly do not meet the income requirements. However, I do have the following cards HSBC premier master card, HSBC visa platinum, Citibank Visa Platinum and UOB preferred platinum. May i know if you enjoy an automatic annual fee waiver on your HSBC VISA Platinum ? And did you ask your RM to applied the HSBC VISA Platinum as an additional card for you ? QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 16 2009, 11:13 PM) I think the most exclusive visa card you can get nowadays is the Visa Signature.I dont think it's available in Malaysia though. Not quite. VISA Infinite is ranked higher than VISA Signature. VISA Signature is widely available in USA. Also offered by DBS Bank and UOB Bank in Singapore but unfortunately not in Malaysia.