Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

SUSgogo2
post Jun 19 2009, 06:37 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Jun 19 2009, 04:38 PM)
Ya lor... the market appeals to people who thinks the same as you. I am not saying that this is wrong. It's prefectly ok but truth is how many people will have the same kind of thinking? Niche market lor.

You're looking for better IQ because you have been exposed to the DSLR IQ range before and can never go back to PnS.

For the average PnS user, most of them don't care that much about IQ. You see them talking about size lah, megapixels lah, how many times zoom lah, design lah and what not. So given the price range of the EP-1, it will only appeal to a subset of these PnS users as the price is on the high side compared even to entry level DSLR.

I won't be the least bit surprised if a typical AhBeng PnS user goes like:

PnS user : Wah! This E-P1 very nice leh. How many times zoom ar, this camera?
Shopkeeper : This kit lens is 14-40mm so about 3x zoom.
PnS user : Wahlau! So big lens only 3x zoom ar? Other camera with so big lens can go 18x zoom leh!
Shopkeeper : You can get a telephoto lens if you want to zoom further. Can change lenses one, this camera!
PnS user : Wah! Now the view is zoomed in. How to get back to the wide view?
Shopkeeper : That one have to change lens again..
PnS user : Hah?! Change again ar... why so mafan one? Better I buy the other camera...  rclxub.gif
Firstly, this one will have dSLR IQ. That's why its easier for dSLR people to move to this camera.
Second, its so small that you can bring it anywhere.
So this will definitely move a lot of dSLR people who want smaller camera to E-P1.

I actually believe this is breakthrough product. People who waited at the side line to buy dSLR but decide otherwise because of the bulk might be
scrambling to buy this camera.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 19 2009, 04:50 PM)
LOL...some of the arguments really funny.
Actually all cameras are niche market if you think about it. You want a big ass camera, get a DSLR, you want a small ass camera get a P&S, you want something medium - get the Pen.... rclxms.gif

Why so work up over a product? No one product will please everyone. What you think works for you then buy it, and remember what works for you doesnt mean it works for others. There is no logic in the decision making.
No product is perfect. But I think Pentax K-7 is probably perfect product (minus articulated LCD sad.gif )

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jun 19 2009, 06:03 PM)
is like ciggrates..either u smoke it or u dont..
Pass me the cigarette bro.

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 19 2009, 06:15 PM)
does anybody know how long does the battery lasts? and for what image resolution?

I've always bought Olympus, and one of the main reasons is because of their really really long battery life. so many shots at one time. really a life-saver for me.
300 pics only.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jun 19 2009, 06:40 PM
RoxyGal
post Jun 19 2009, 07:14 PM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

booked a unit... with 2 kits lense and flash...cant wait for it....

hellfire8888
post Jun 19 2009, 07:48 PM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jun 19 2009, 08:14 PM)
how much dude
SUSgogo2
post Jun 19 2009, 07:56 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jun 19 2009, 07:14 PM)
OMG!!! I still remember you're the first person who take up Panasonic LX3. Congratulations! Post some pics and do some review. drool.gif
idoblu
post Jun 19 2009, 08:12 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

yup i imagine all the LX3 users will definitely be poison to cross over to EP1. for me I would like to keep both
navilink
post Jun 19 2009, 09:36 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 19 2009, 06:15 PM)
does anybody know how long does the battery lasts? and for what image resolution?

I've always bought Olympus, and one of the main reasons is because of their really really long battery life. so many shots at one time. really a life-saver for me.

i thought Casio has the best long lasting battery.. although their camera not famous here..
AlphaBeta
post Jun 20 2009, 12:39 AM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Jun 19 2009, 04:38 PM)
Ya lor... the market appeals to people who thinks the same as you. I am not saying that this is wrong. It's prefectly ok but truth is how many people will have the same kind of thinking? Niche market lor.

You're looking for better IQ because you have been exposed to the DSLR IQ range before and can never go back to PnS.

For the average PnS user, most of them don't care that much about IQ. You see them talking about size lah, megapixels lah, how many times zoom lah, design lah and what not. So given the price range of the EP-1, it will only appeal to a subset of these PnS users as the price is on the high side compared even to entry level DSLR.

I won't be the least bit surprised if a typical AhBeng PnS user goes like:

PnS user : Wah! This E-P1 very nice leh. How many times zoom ar, this camera?
Shopkeeper : This kit lens is 14-40mm so about 3x zoom.
PnS user : Wahlau! So big lens only 3x zoom ar? Other camera with so big lens can go 18x zoom leh!
Shopkeeper : You can get a telephoto lens if you want to zoom further. Can change lenses one, this camera!
PnS user : Wah! Now the view is zoomed in. How to get back to the wide view?
Shopkeeper : That one have to change lens again..
PnS user : Hah?! Change again ar... why so mafan one? Better I buy the other camera...  rclxub.gif
i agree with shootkk.... If one is really into photography, he/she will not complain about the size of DSLR or wht ever. However, i will still get this PEN for events where i can't bring along my bulky DSLR and still get a good quality photos. I see no reason why getting a d90 then selling it off to get this PEN. My guess would be he/she attracted to the style of this PEN and sold his dslr to fund for this, a typical gearhead.
clivengu
post Jun 20 2009, 12:54 AM

1,850 posts

Look like this is the alternative solution for my sister who always wanted good quality dslr-like photos but not so heavy n big.

Few times she wanted to get DSLR but to think she need to bring such big camera everytime.. she afraid it might end up at home most of d time.

I suggest her LX-3 or G1, since for her.. she says price is not a problem.. indeed d more expensive the better sleep.gif" but for her G1 still too big!

I hope she will b getting this one so i can play with it. heheh.. but first i need to make sure it is worth it.. so she will not kill me for recommend her this. So need to check more review first hehe.
yehlai
post Jun 20 2009, 12:57 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Fast you get poisoned. You get from Shashinki rite? Mind to share how much for twin lens?
Should be RM4500+ i think.
SUSgogo2
post Jun 20 2009, 01:53 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jun 20 2009, 12:54 AM)
Few times she wanted to get DSLR but to think she need to bring such big camera everytime.. she afraid it might end up at home most of d time.
Yeah, your sister is right. Anything big will end up at home most of d time. Faster suggest to your sister already thumbup.gif
C-Fu
post Jun 20 2009, 02:15 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 19 2009, 11:36 PM)
i thought Casio has the best long lasting battery.. although their camera not famous here..
I have one casio point n shoot, forgot the model. The exilim type. battery life is good for the size, but not as great as my olympus super zoom.

with 4 AA batteries i managed about 400-500 pics. perfect camera for travelling IMO, as I could zoom as close as I want to, and never run out of power as AA batteries are everywhere.
RoxyGal
post Jun 20 2009, 03:40 AM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jun 19 2009, 07:48 PM)
how much dude
wat dude?wanna get a the panasonic dslr but it's too big for me...so get a ep-1
booked d..no stock yet....dont know the real price yet...

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 19 2009, 07:56 PM)
OMG!!! I still remember you're the first person who take up Panasonic LX3. Congratulations! Post some pics and do some review.  drool.gif
later i make a new ep-1 thread for lyn user lor..kekekek

hopefully..panasonic wont make their own micro 4/3rd cam so soon....

SUSgogo2
post Jun 20 2009, 10:51 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jun 20 2009, 03:40 AM)
later i make a new ep-1 thread for lyn user lor..kekekek
go ahead girl! I'm going to close this thread as soon as you open the user thread sweat.gif
seaotter
post Jun 20 2009, 01:03 PM

601 posts

http://thru-the-zuiko.blogspot.com/

Have a malaysian's POV of the E-P1

Also guys, check out this ISO comparison of the E-P1, Canon 500D, Olympus's E-30, Nikon D5000 and Panasonic's GH1

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/EP1/EP1A.HTM

Staggering!

This post has been edited by seaotter: Jun 20 2009, 01:13 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jun 20 2009, 03:02 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jun 20 2009, 01:03 PM)

Also guys, check out this ISO comparison of the E-P1, Canon 500D, Olympus's E-30, Nikon D5000 and Panasonic's GH1

Staggering!
This is great news. E-P1 image quality is now equal and better than dSLR. This is crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 wub.gif
ianho
post Jun 20 2009, 03:27 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

The 14-42mm kitlens is already converted to 35mm equivalent or is it 28-84mm in 35mm

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jun 16 2009, 07:59 PM)
Leica don't have interchangeable lenses do they?
The Price is 800 USD for kit zoom lens, and 900 for pancake + viewfinder

While i WANT the camera now, i would wait a bit until reviews are out, and the price turun sikit.

Besides - money still being collected.
But now i have an alternative to both cheap DSLR AND super/ultrazoom cameras i.e panny's TZ9/ canon's SX200 etc etc
Leica dont have intechangeable lens???? Even got lens for rm50k ler. laugh.gif

Woot! Roxy divorced the LX3 oredi?

This post has been edited by ianho: Jun 20 2009, 05:39 PM
RevoWithin
post Jun 20 2009, 06:17 PM

120 posts

sorry to post here. i couldnt find any gh1 thread.
anyone know when lumix gh1 coming to msia market ? and i heard its around 4500-5k, is that true ? thats really expensive .
navilink
post Jun 20 2009, 08:32 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jun 20 2009, 01:03 PM)

Staggering!

wow awesome! i beg to differ in the Detail Comparison, i think E-P1 (left) is more detailed than 500D (right)!!!

user posted image user posted image
SUSgogo2
post Jun 20 2009, 08:51 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 20 2009, 08:32 PM)
wow awesome! i beg to differ in the Detail Comparison, i think E-P1 (left) is more detailed than 500D (right)!!!

user posted image user posted image
With this kind of performance (better than dSLR), no wonder people are scrambling to get their hand on one.
I think I might get one soon... hopefully.... icon_rolleyes.gif
harrychoo
post Jun 21 2009, 12:28 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jun 20 2009, 12:39 AM)
i agree with shootkk.... If one is really into photography, he/she will not complain about the size of DSLR or wht ever. However, i will still get this PEN for events where i can't bring along my bulky DSLR and still get a good quality photos. I see no reason why getting a d90 then selling it off to get this PEN. My guess would be he/she attracted to the style of this PEN and sold his dslr to fund for this, a typical gearhead.
1st bold : So DSLR is the only way if someone really into photography? laugh.gif

2nd bold : Sorry to prove u wrong tongue.gif

122 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:47 AM