6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

seaotter
post Jun 16 2009, 06:46 PM

601 posts

SHit, this camera is making me thinking of getting a cheap DSLR.....or this compact changeable lens system....

btw, the Pen was also launched in kl!

http://www.mycen.com.my/buzz/160609_new_ol...pen_ep1_01.html

seaotter
post Jun 16 2009, 07:13 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jun 16 2009, 06:58 PM)
Nice, at last Oly got 3:2 ratio on it. rclxms.gif

And HD video too which much cheaper than the G1H.

But no articulated LCD and built-in EVF for PEN  sad.gif

Dunno how much the 4/3rd adapter too
Personally i dont care about the articulated LCD as it is a bit unwieldy sometimes and is a breakage hazard. Pity about the EVF though, but then the fact that they managed to fit essentially the E-620 into a body of a canon G9 is amazing.

seaotter
post Jun 16 2009, 07:59 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 16 2009, 07:51 PM)
@kimurastanley,
so fast kena poison ah?  laugh.gif

i think its a good alternative for ppl who dream to own a leica  smile.gif
unless it's almost same price wif leica then no difference  tongue.gif
Leica don't have interchangeable lenses do they?
The Price is 800 USD for kit zoom lens, and 900 for pancake + viewfinder

While i WANT the camera now, i would wait a bit until reviews are out, and the price turun sikit.

Besides - money still being collected.
But now i have an alternative to both cheap DSLR AND super/ultrazoom cameras i.e panny's TZ9/ canon's SX200 etc etc
seaotter
post Jun 16 2009, 08:06 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 16 2009, 08:02 PM)
My PEN have IS (Image Stabilization). LOL.
Also, my PEN(IS) is small, but it can expand big big rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

(check out the tele zoom lens to get what i mean)
seaotter
post Jun 16 2009, 09:17 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jun 16 2009, 08:44 PM)
finally lx3 lost in the compact king of camera section...no doubt bout it

but wait panasonic to come out with their micro 4/3 camera as well

coz panasonic and olympus joined venture to create mini dslr digicam
Roxy, they already did you know. its called the G1, then later on with HD recording, so it became GH1

I would love to get the 14-200 GH1 lens for the P1 though....
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 12:36 PM

601 posts

uh god. Just saw the pricing listed on the olympus malaysia facebook.

the body + 14-42 zoom lens - 2999
the body + zoom lens + pancake lens + viewfinder - 3799

This is a bit of a setback for me i think....

blink.gif blink.gif yawn.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by seaotter: Jun 17 2009, 12:45 PM
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 01:36 PM

601 posts

Hey guys, i found this engineering sketches from another site previewing the P1. Check out the engineering.

That is some serious engineering mindbogglingness!

Also, i think the thread should be renamed to its real technical term:

New era of Interchangable Lens Digital Camera Olympus E-P1 aka Pen(IS)

....ILDC eh?

This post has been edited by seaotter: Jun 17 2009, 01:56 PM
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 04:43 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jun 17 2009, 04:02 PM)
No comparison inside the link lol.

If the E-P1 price goes down to 2.6-2.7k alone with the 17mm F/2.8 + OVF, it'd be a sure buy for me. The zoom lens seems extremely kit-tish if you know what I mean.

Under no circumstance will I pay 3k+ (keyword) for a compact that is nice but doesn't do any crazy things.

Same for the Sigma DPs irregardless of features (2.5k below or GTFO) because the image quality is there.
Lets wait for christmas then. the prices should go down by then, then we can buy lol.
Personally i want both the lenses, but not the OVF. i can frame my shots nicely with LCD only. And EVFs are not really same as a true optical viewfinder so...*shrugs*
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 06:41 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jun 17 2009, 05:48 PM)
July 4 in Singapore, list price 1300SGD (RM3,152.01)

At least we get to see the street price soon lol.
XED: which price is that? the 17mm or the zoom lens price?

its going to be 2999 for the body + zoom lens and RM 3799 for the twin lens set + optical viewfinder in malaysia. In early july.

Added on June 17, 2009, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(avenger @ Jun 17 2009, 05:50 PM)
white body looks cool smile.gif
And you know what is nice about it? the body is fully metal. Stainless steel body with alu tops.
So nice.

This post has been edited by seaotter: Jun 17 2009, 06:42 PM
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 07:02 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 17 2009, 06:50 PM)
another common term is EVIL

EVIL=Electronic Viewfinder, Interchangeable Lenses. biggrin.gif
BUT, that is only good for the Panasonic camera - they don't have the EVF here biggrin.gif

So this is not EVIL then hahaha rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 10:55 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 17 2009, 09:47 PM)
and that's just the STARTING price. not counting lens yet.

most people woul've just considered an SLR, say the Alpha A200 is around RM 1.6k with kit lens. the spare RM 1.4k could be used for flash, additional tele-zoom and prime.

does more wonders than a single camera like this.
Alot people do, but some people are just too afraid of the bulk of DSLRs - even me.
Hence the P1 is quite perfect.

Now i just need to wait for it to go down a wee bit more...
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 11:28 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 17 2009, 11:21 PM)
your post just supported my point - PRICE! it's not worth it at that price point.

could just settle for the LX3 instead.
Its an early adopter price anyhow - remember how much higher was the A200 when it first came out? (ok maybe not much. never followed the pricing)
While the price is also a factor, its the physical size of it. If i want an LX3, i'll go for an LX3. But it doesnt have the capability to change lenses - with olympus promising a faster prime lens, a WA lens in the pipeline, i will be very stuck with what i have if i go with fixed lens camera.

This camera is the best of both world - LX3-like size with interchangeable lens. With an adaptor, i can easily fit someone's massive tele lens, then later after i am done, put the body in my shirt pocket (ok, jacket, but you get my point).

This + 17mm lens = best walkabout camera. Much more than the A200 + prime lens. Smaller too.

But this is my opinion so thumbup.gif
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 11:43 PM

601 posts

adapters yes, but not true lenses.

Also, the main problem here is the sensors are two different beings - one is about 40-50mm square big, while the other is about 230mm square big. That difference in information taken in is what i want in the camera.

The P1 should be nice in low-light - and from the sample pics, the images are very workable until ISO6400.
seaotter
post Jun 17 2009, 11:49 PM

601 posts

Actually i also dunno why i am defending it to the gills lol biggrin.gif
But yeah, this is my next camera, damn the rest what they say about DSLR and whatnot. Coming from a compact world - this is a godsent!

Oh do check out this link http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/EP1/EP1A.HTM and read his love story with the camera biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by seaotter: Jun 17 2009, 11:50 PM
seaotter
post Jun 18 2009, 03:55 PM

601 posts

Hey guys, i have more pics of the E-P1 for your eyes to see.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=32169971 <--- some dude in KL managed to get a unit for review.

(the camera concepts before the current form)

(accessories options)

(the E-P1 cut in half. Look at the stuff the crammed inside!)

(an E-3 i presume cut in half. Its so complex....)

(Panasonic G1 cut in half - same tech/mount - smaller volume usage)

(The E-P1 with a FT adaptor and lens)

(the E-P1 with OM adaptor and lens)

(E-P1 with Panasonic's 14-200 lens)

(The whole E family on one table)

Pictures thanks to dc.watch.impress.co.jp
seaotter
post Jun 18 2009, 08:38 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jun 18 2009, 08:23 PM)
I just have an issue with the way they're marketing this camera. They say it's the best of both worlds (SLR and Compact) in a small package, but...

The lens doesn't retract so it's not a compact package when carrying around. (yes yes.. small when compared to an SLR)

But the main place that I feel that it fails to live up to the "convinience of a compact" factor is that there's no built in Flash! Would a non enthusiast photog want a 'compact' where you have to remember to pack the flash?
The LX3 doesnt have a flash. People (enthusiasts) still flock to buy it.
Also, the ISO performance is already good, that the time you really need a flash baru you use a flash. A bounce flash even. Direct flash is too harsh la.
The compactness is to compare a SLR, not a compact camera. Actually the lens can be changed i.e. taken off, so the camera is very flat when there is no lens. And the 14-42 mm (x2 to get 35mm range) zoom lens is collapsable, so there is your retracting lens biggrin.gif

edit: ugh, should have seen the NON in the non-enthusiast. In any case, this is not for everybody i admit. But if they can show those non-enthusiasts that they can print good pics without flash, i know ppl will buy it. Have you seen the sample pics at www.dpreview.com ? the ISO performance is nice!

This post has been edited by seaotter: Jun 18 2009, 08:55 PM
seaotter
post Jun 18 2009, 09:46 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jun 18 2009, 09:12 PM)
While I agree that it has some great high ISO performance end of the day is, who's the target market?

For us enthusist who want more in a slightly smaller camera?

Or for our non enthusiast spouses who when told they can take our the lens to make it smaller so it can fit in their handbags, would probably put the two things in their hand bags then smack us over the head with it.

Not to mention... the PRICE!!
I presume it will be for those pro-sumer owners, rather than those tiny ixus users. But then, maybe the tiny ixus users want to get better camera or something?

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 18 2009, 09:25 PM)
Sorry ah...which country you buy LX3 have no built-in flash? Are we talking about the Panasonic LUMIX DMC-LX3?
Geh, I made an information mistake there. Sorry notworthy.gif sad.gif
What I think I meant to say is LX3 doesnt have viewfinder - ppl still buy it.
seaotter
post Jun 18 2009, 10:27 PM

601 posts

APS-C Sensor is big la. Susah want to shove into a Canon G10 body. And from the "heated discussion" i am following in another channel, they want an EVF and no LCD. dunno why - i can live with only LCD, but EVF not bad also. So canon needs to listen to the customers if they want to go against Olympus.
seaotter
post Jun 18 2009, 11:06 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 18 2009, 10:36 PM)
er, that's because it's a compact! people buy compacts don't care about viewfinder. biggrin.gif

anyway with lens on like 14-140, the fella looks rather big. defeats the purpose already.

i was thinking la. the weight of the lens + EP1 would be on the lens. furthermore more no EVF so you have to hold it in such a way you can view the screen and zoom. might be inconvenient, just a thought. smile.gif
Actually from what i read - the lens is very light, and most of the weight is on the body. Saw pics of ppl using it and i dont see any problem. Even so, ppl will get used to the usage stance after a few shots anyway.

QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ Jun 18 2009, 10:43 PM)
cannot twist and turn lens.
no syok feel laar.
What do you mean? blink.gif got zoom what. besides, you can always pasang any ol 4/3r lens with adaptor. will look funny, but its possible

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jun 18 2009, 10:49 PM)
That's why I'm wondering whose the market for the camera?

Let's face it most of us who do photography as a hobby can only support one system of lenses. And if they could afford the PEN as well, they would be constantly asking themselves why not just buy another body?

Then for most of the people who are currently using compacts the first thing that would probably hit them in the face is the sticker shock, then when they realize that the camera isn't as thin, has as high a zoom as their current compact, doesn't have a flash. What would they think?

It feels quite a niche product to me.

I guess people who are getting into the hobby might consider getting it instead of a SLR.
Yeah. Its for ppl who are choosing between slrs. They want the IQ, but not the bulk - like me.
Which is why i am fanboying like crazy lolol.

Seeing the camera is reaching our shores next month - cant wait to see how it feels like.

seaotter
post Jun 18 2009, 11:40 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jun 18 2009, 11:27 PM)
New one? E-P2 Photo Leaked?

Sos
Lol no. That is a photoshop someone made in the dpreview forums.
E-P1 tak keluar lagi they dah nak announce E-P2.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:37 PM