Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Lester1987
post May 9 2010, 11:47 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 9 2010, 11:20 AM)
Thanks Lester, I got to know from CC thread that DBS has lowest income requirement for foreigner at $45k pa.

For those who work in SG, do you go to Johor to get your groceries? Will the price be "cheaper" this way?

Added on May 9, 2010, 11:30 am
Thanks Sean. If I do not qualify to apply for SG CC, do you think its okay to use MY CC in SG? The cons I could think of is 1. extra admin charges incurred for overseas spending, 2. troublesome - need to transfer money from SG to MY bank to pay bills

Reason I'm asking about using CC in SG is because I got used to paying via CC in MY, as it is very convenient for me, no need to brings lots of cash & I only need to pay once per month. Plus I get cash rebates for my spending too.
u can use debit card instead of credit card in SG. Their debit card is accepted by all merchants here. and the debit card works as good as a credit card as u will enjoy some rebate when u swipe it just like what we are getting in Malaysia. Not advisable to use ur MY CC here if not needed because the exchange rate sux. I have been using my DBS and citibank debit card here for the pass 6 months, so far non of the transaction got rejected as long as ur account have enough money. My friend tried to use his Malaysia Maybank Debit card here last time but it got rejected. Malaysia really "失败" in their debit card compare to SG.
reign226
post May 9 2010, 11:50 AM

804 posts

Can anyone shed some light on Starhub's $5 free calls to 18 destinations including Malaysia. What are the hidden charges? Seems rather far fetched that I pay $5 and can chat as much as I want with friends and family from Malaysia.

Lester1987
post May 9 2010, 12:30 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 9 2010, 11:50 AM)
Can anyone shed some light on Starhub's $5 free calls to 18 destinations including Malaysia. What are the hidden charges? Seems rather far fetched that I pay $5 and can chat as much as I want with friends and family from Malaysia.
i am using this service. u need to dial 018 before the number. for example. 01860323232323.
u need to pay $5 then all ur calls to the 18 countries will be considered a local call rate.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: May 9 2010, 12:30 PM
reign226
post May 9 2010, 01:23 PM

804 posts

Wah that is damn tat loh! Last time i call they deducted from my intl credit, i end up with hundreds of dollars of local calls that I never use. Thx...this means I can just buy their $28 pack and get $100 to call back as often as I want. Can probably last a few months, hehe.

Why would people consider their postpaid plans with this kind of good deal? The free phones aren't really free anyway since its factored into your monthly payment already.
Lester1987
post May 9 2010, 01:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 9 2010, 01:23 PM)
Wah that is damn tat loh! Last time i call they deducted from my intl credit, i end up with hundreds of dollars of local calls that I never use. Thx...this means I can just buy their $28 pack and get $100 to call back as often as I want. Can probably last a few months, hehe.

Why would people consider their postpaid plans with this kind of good deal? The free phones aren't really free anyway since its factored into your monthly payment already.
i am referring to post paid plans. not sure if that applicable to prepaid plans or not. for post paid plans, u get ur free local mins and u just need to pay $5 extra every month from ur phone bill and u can use the 018 service.
tyj82
post May 9 2010, 04:03 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

Thanks Lester, I got to know from CC thread that DBS has lowest income requirement for foreigner at $45k pa.

For those who work in SG, do you go to Johor to get your groceries? Will the price be "cheaper" this way?

Added on May 9, 2010, 11:30 am
Thanks Sean. If I do not qualify to apply for SG CC, do you think its okay to use MY CC in SG? The cons I could think of is 1. extra admin charges incurred for overseas spending, 2. troublesome - need to transfer money from SG to MY bank to pay bills

Reason I'm asking about using CC in SG is because I got used to paying via CC in MY, as it is very convenient for me, no need to brings lots of cash & I only need to pay once per month. Plus I get cash rebates for my spending too.
You can pay by Nets.. most of the shop allow pay by nets. In fact they prefer nets over CC.

Added on May 9, 2010, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 9 2010, 01:27 PM)
i am referring to post paid plans. not sure if that applicable to prepaid plans or not. for post paid plans, u get ur free local mins and u just need to pay $5 extra every month from ur phone bill and u can use the 018 service.
SH prepaid 128, you will have $28 to call international(so far i only call msia) using 018 at local rate and 100 Free local call.

It think it is cheaper compare to SH post paid. . .considering $5 + local call charges.

Added on May 9, 2010, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(jae @ May 6 2010, 10:20 PM)
Just a quick question, does anyone here have any idea if I could open a savings bank account (with DBS) with just my passport and MoM's Approved-In-Principal letter for my EP pass?
Fyi I have my medical report ready, just that my appointment with the MoM is another 12days away + a few days for it to be processed, so it would be at least another 2 weeks or more before I would get my EP card.

P/S: Btw, I have already started working so I would prefer to have an account opened as soon as I could.

Cheers.
Err...... I opened my POSB account without EP or PR. I just tell them, I am here to do some business and need people to bank in for me and I need to pay people via online banking.

I managed to open the account after 2 hour sitting in the bank filling bunch of forms.....

I only learn that there is lots of fraud case to use ur bank account for other purpose that y it take so long and so hard to open account when you do not have EP or PR.

This post has been edited by tyj82: May 9 2010, 04:23 PM
seantang
post May 9 2010, 05:09 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ May 9 2010, 04:03 PM)
SH prepaid 128, you will have $28 to call international(so far i only call msia) using 018 at local rate and 100 Free local call.

It think it is cheaper compare to SH post paid. . .considering $5 + local call charges.

SH postpaid also has free local call minutes that you can use for 018.

Some plans also have free IDD call minutes that you can use for free 018 calls (ie. even the local call rate is not charged because it is free minutes).

Btw, does your prepaid 128 charge for incoming calls?

Lester1987
post May 9 2010, 05:41 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 9 2010, 05:09 PM)
SH postpaid also has free local call minutes that you can use for 018.

Some plans also have free IDD call minutes that you can use for free 018 calls (ie. even the local call rate is not charged because it is free minutes).

Btw, does your prepaid 128 charge for incoming calls?
the answer is "Yes" for Singtel, not sure about Starhub though.
reign226
post May 9 2010, 06:33 PM

804 posts

Ahh I get it now...you can call international at local rates, but they minus off from your international balance...means I will still get stuck with hundreds of dollars worth of local $$$ I can't use finish, haha.

Incidentally has anyone got SIP working with Android or Apple devices? With proliferation of data plans, it could mean far cheaper calls than even the telcos can provide, maybe at expense of call quality/lag.
minievo
post May 9 2010, 06:46 PM

29 posts

Any of you guys using M1's home broadband? I'm facing major slow down during peak periods (7pm to 10pm).
Find The Way
post May 9 2010, 10:50 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 9 2010, 03:10 AM)
For those using HF Singtel started blocking all the  links soon they will start blocking RS as well. As far as it goes SH hasnt block the links yet.
Sorry, mind to enlighten me a bit... what is HF and RS?
dokidoki
post May 9 2010, 11:13 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ May 9 2010, 10:50 PM)
Sorry, mind to enlighten me a bit... what is HF and RS?
hf = hotfiles
rs = rapidshare
Mackiddo
post May 10 2010, 12:44 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 9 2010, 11:47 AM)
u can use debit card instead of credit card in SG. Their debit card is accepted by all merchants here. and the debit card works as good as a credit card as u will enjoy some rebate when u swipe it just like what we are getting in Malaysia. Not advisable to use ur MY CC here if not needed because the exchange rate sux. I have been using my DBS and citibank debit card here for the pass 6 months, so far non of the transaction got rejected as long as ur account have enough money. My friend tried to use his Malaysia Maybank Debit card here last time but it got rejected. Malaysia really "失败" in their debit card compare to SG.
why debit card since they have prepaid Visa ? no need to open another saving acct just for the debit card.

Added on May 10, 2010, 12:51 am

sometimes when free i'll just drive to jb, makan, cut hair, watch movie, wash + polish car, top up petrol ..and buy groceries. it's nearer than going to town since i'm staying in CCK and i always go on weekdays. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 10 2010, 12:51 AM
Lester1987
post May 10 2010, 01:44 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 10 2010, 12:44 AM)
why debit card since they have prepaid Visa ? no need to open another saving acct just for the debit card.
all of my savings account in SG comes with a debit card. why do we need to open another savings account? citibank even gave me a cheque book for my savings account biggrin.gif
Jurlique
post May 10 2010, 01:45 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 9 2010, 06:46 PM)
Any of you guys using M1's home broadband? I'm facing major slow down during peak periods (7pm to 10pm).
Mind to ask is your RS being capped for M1?
crapp0
post May 10 2010, 08:34 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 9 2010, 06:46 PM)
Isnt that normal for "all" ISP's in singapore?

The exception is business line. Full speed ahead.
Mackiddo
post May 10 2010, 09:22 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 10 2010, 01:44 AM)
all of my savings account in SG comes with a debit card. why do we need to open another savings account? citibank even gave me a cheque book for my savings account  biggrin.gif
right. wouldn't it be a greater risk if someone get whole of the debit card info compare to prepaid visa? I tried to used my prepaid visa if possible for overseas purchases instead of credit card. who knows when the card will be compromise.

i think cheque book is quite the norm nowadays. a lot of transaction still using cheque.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 10 2010, 09:28 AM
crapp0
post May 10 2010, 09:31 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 10 2010, 01:44 AM)
all of my savings account in SG comes with a debit card. why do we need to open another savings account? citibank even gave me a cheque book for my savings account  biggrin.gif
Lester, do you know whats the interest rate of citibank currently or are all banks interest rates controlled by MAS?
minievo
post May 10 2010, 10:48 AM

29 posts

jurlique, yeah both RS & BT have been capped and what bugs me is when you use BT you can't surf the net at all.

This post has been edited by minievo: May 10 2010, 10:48 AM
locust
post May 10 2010, 10:54 AM

14 posts

Wanna ask, those working in Sg, where do u renew your Malaysian driving license. JB can renew? where? thanks

250 Pages « < 247 248 249 250 >Top

0.0222sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:58 AM