Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

cks2k2
post May 8 2010, 10:24 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 7 2010, 06:03 PM)
Would you guys ever consider giving up your citizenship for Singapore?
I think for the guys, the main stumbling block is NS. I guess I wouldn't mind serving, though I am seriously unfit now.

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 8 2010, 02:10 AM)
Agree. HK is worse compare with SG.
HK wins in terms of food and hot-looking people (saw quite a number of handsome dudes and pretty girls on the streets) but it's way too crowded and polluted for my liking.
Supreme Allied Commander
post May 8 2010, 10:27 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 8 2010, 11:24 AM)
I think for the guys, the main stumbling block is NS. I guess I wouldn't mind serving, though I am seriously unfit now.
HK wins in terms of food and hot-looking people (saw quite a number of handsome dudes and pretty girls on the streets) but it's way too crowded and polluted for my liking.
hahha i was there last week and went clubbing, gotta admit its got lotsa good looking ppl around. Seriously , i dont mind moving there coz i am kinda sick of the lifestyle in SG.
Lester1987
post May 8 2010, 11:41 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 8 2010, 10:27 AM)
hahha i was there last week and went clubbing,  gotta admit its got lotsa good looking ppl around. Seriously , i dont mind moving there coz i am kinda sick of the lifestyle in SG.
never been to HK b4, but if compare HK with SG, of course i will prefer HK. most important reason is because of the language. My mandarin sux and i feel a lot comfortable speaking in cantonese. and also the TVB dramas ^^. no nid to download anymore hehe.
seantang
post May 8 2010, 11:51 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 8 2010, 10:24 AM)

First generation male citizens, like their first gen PR counterparts - are exempted from NS.

Added on May 8, 2010, 11:55 am
QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 8 2010, 02:10 AM)
Agree. HK is worse compare with SG.

Well... you are comparing the 2 places with the highest population densities in the world. It's just a matter of whether you can get used to/tolerate this type of rabbit hutch living or not.

But of course... for the 'right price', there are low density residential areas available.

Added on May 8, 2010, 11:59 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 8 2010, 11:41 AM)
never been to HK b4, but if compare HK with SG, of course i will prefer HK. most important reason is because of the language. My mandarin sux and i feel a lot comfortable speaking in cantonese. and also the TVB dramas ^^. no nid to download anymore hehe.

True... as a Ipohite in HK, I feel right at home. Only thing is that I have trouble reading signs and menus that are solely in Chinese. But that's not a deal breaker. Salary levels are higher in HK as well, along with more professional opportunities. However, HKees are much more resilient and "can do" compared to Singaporeans, and therefore the competition is way tougher.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 8 2010, 11:59 AM
cks2k2
post May 8 2010, 01:00 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 8 2010, 11:51 AM)
First generation male citizens, like their first gen PR counterparts - are exempted from NS.
I understand that 1st gen PR males are exempted while 2nd gen PR males must serve, but last year I attended a briefing for foreign students by ICA, and the ICA officer mentioned that should we decide to become citizens (after min 2 years PR), the men must also serve NS. rclxub.gif
shoduken
post May 8 2010, 03:18 PM

1,741 posts

SG and HK, it's like compare heaven and hell =X

SG is like a glamorous snake in a compact zone. Where HK is a life with competition. Even around 4am you can still see bunch people walking around the street like the night is still young. But if compare cost living, HK more higher than SG 3 times. $HKD 12k is a minimum salary there. Room already around 4-8k depend on where u live =X but if can choose, I rather go HK. Much more like a place for people to live than gloomy SG.
adrive
post May 8 2010, 04:22 PM

826 posts

hey guys, issit a good time to enter singapore now for an experienced software engineer??
Lester1987
post May 8 2010, 08:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ May 8 2010, 04:22 PM)
hey guys, issit a good time to enter singapore now for an experienced software engineer??
If u have the chance better enter early because ur working exp in Malaysia is not as valueble compare to those that u gain in Singapore.
reign226
post May 8 2010, 09:56 PM

804 posts

If given a choice between working in Keppel FELS (rig fabricator) vs working in Kencana Pinewell (malaysian ong service provider) which one would be the better choice?
crapp0
post May 8 2010, 11:02 PM

4,414 posts

Im thinking of getting a 3G plan with a smartphone. Of the 3 telcos, which has the best overall stable g connection speed over the island? Primarily at tuas, sembawang or changi?

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 8 2010, 11:08 PM
Lester1987
post May 9 2010, 12:40 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 8 2010, 11:02 PM)
Im thinking of getting a 3G plan with a smartphone. Of the 3 telcos, which has the best overall stable g connection speed over the island? Primarily at tuas, sembawang or changi?
i believe Singtel gives the best coverage for Singapore. I know Starhub's 3G connection is a little bit laggy when i use my iPhone to watch the starhub TV in Sembawang but the connection is good when i am in Ang Mo Kio area.
Supreme Allied Commander
post May 9 2010, 03:10 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 9 2010, 01:40 AM)
i believe Singtel gives the best coverage for Singapore. I know Starhub's 3G connection is a little bit laggy when i use my iPhone to watch the starhub TV in Sembawang but the connection is good when i am in Ang Mo Kio area.
For those using HF Singtel started blocking all the links soon they will start blocking RS as well. As far as it goes SH hasnt block the links yet.
reign226
post May 9 2010, 03:14 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 9 2010, 03:10 AM)
For those using HF Singtel started blocking all the  links soon they will start blocking RS as well. As far as it goes SH hasnt block the links yet.
That sucks...cannot use file sharing websites anymore?
Supreme Allied Commander
post May 9 2010, 03:16 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 9 2010, 04:14 AM)
That sucks...cannot use file sharing websites anymore?
u still can browse the websites but they blocked all the directlinks liao , so far RS still alright but soon sure kena also.
crapp0
post May 9 2010, 08:27 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 9 2010, 03:16 AM)
u still can browse the websites but they blocked all the directlinks liao , so far RS still alright but soon sure kena also.
I dont think that will be much of a prob since this is for a phone so the 12GB file limit would be a hindrance to use the file hosting sites. I've found that rapidshare download speeds arent that great compared to megaupload or hotfile which give fantastic speeds.

Nobody here uses m1 for their 3g smartphone?

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 9 2010, 08:35 AM
Shinichi
post May 9 2010, 10:58 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, for those who work under EP in SG, do you all apply for SG Credit Card? Or it is better to use cash in SG?

Lester1987
post May 9 2010, 11:05 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 9 2010, 08:27 AM)
I dont think that will be much of a prob since this is for a phone so the 12GB file limit would be a hindrance to use the file hosting sites. I've found that rapidshare download speeds arent that great compared to megaupload or hotfile which give fantastic speeds.

Nobody here uses m1 for their 3g smartphone?
my uncle use M1, according to him (he is a Singaporean btw), interms of coverage in SG Singtel>M1>Starhub.
starhub have the worst coverage. but Starhub u can DL an app in iPhone to watch starhub TV. Singtel u can DL mioTV to ur iphone also.
but M1 u get nothing

Added on May 9, 2010, 11:07 am
QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 9 2010, 10:58 AM)
Hi all, for those who work under EP in SG, do you all apply for SG Credit Card? Or it is better to use cash in SG?

normally i use cash because i am not qualified to apply CC in Singapore. u need to have $60k anual income to apply if u are a foreigner.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: May 9 2010, 11:07 AM
Jurlique
post May 9 2010, 11:08 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

May I know does M1 cap their RS download limit?
seantang
post May 9 2010, 11:20 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 9 2010, 10:58 AM)

It's never better to use cash (in Singapore, NETS too), unless there is a credit card charge involved that you can avoid by paying cash. This sometimes occurs when the vendor is unwilling to absorb the fees that the card companies charge them for the facility. For these type of places, I usually avoid buying from them or will insist on a minimum 3% discount from the 'normal' price.

Malaysia is quickly becoming the exception... with its RM50 per credit card tax.

Shinichi
post May 9 2010, 11:20 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 9 2010, 11:05 AM)
normally i use cash because i am not qualified to apply CC in Singapore. u need to have $60k anual income to apply if u are a foreigner.
Thanks Lester, I got to know from CC thread that DBS has lowest income requirement for foreigner at $45k pa.

For those who work in SG, do you go to Johor to get your groceries? Will the price be "cheaper" this way?

Added on May 9, 2010, 11:30 am
QUOTE(seantang @ May 9 2010, 11:20 AM)
It's never better to use cash (in Singapore, NETS too), unless there is a credit card charge involved that you can avoid by paying cash. This sometimes occurs when the vendor is unwilling to absorb the fees that the card companies charge them for the facility. For these type of places, I usually avoid buying from them or will insist on a minimum 3% discount from the 'normal' price.

Malaysia is quickly becoming the exception... with its RM50 per credit card tax.
Thanks Sean. If I do not qualify to apply for SG CC, do you think its okay to use MY CC in SG? The cons I could think of is 1. extra admin charges incurred for overseas spending, 2. troublesome - need to transfer money from SG to MY bank to pay bills

Reason I'm asking about using CC in SG is because I got used to paying via CC in MY, as it is very convenient for me, no need to brings lots of cash & I only need to pay once per month. Plus I get cash rebates for my spending too.

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 9 2010, 11:30 AM

250 Pages « < 246 247 248 249 250 >Top

0.0955sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:32 PM