120 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

RAMChYLD
post Oct 14 2011, 08:00 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Private.G @ Oct 12 2011, 11:12 PM)
Yep mine was using KVR1333D3S9/4G as well. Memtest shows no problem at all as I mentioned before. My initial impression about it was not so great either as many foreigners on macrumors.com recommend Crucial. Nevertheless I still opt for KVR as it's the best bang for money smile.gif Apple certified RAM is just too expensive for the same performance as KVR.
I also used that RAM. No problems, but I did see improvement by lots on my Mac Mini. For one, speed boost- everything more responsive, must less waiting. I suspect hard disk is thrashing less also.

Also, my shared graphics RAM went up to 512MB, and there is noticeable performance improvement in many 3D games even if it's still not liquid smooth.
maxtor1
post Oct 17 2011, 07:46 PM

990 posts

My MacBook still work with pretty.. Nice. Problem is getting slow when boot up. Anything to do? Now I am at LION already. Work smooth when running apps. Only boot up has a bit slow compare to leopard. Mine is c2d but 4gb ram.
Any good software to do system cleaning?
Private.G
post Oct 18 2011, 04:57 PM

185 posts

Perhaps you have a bunch of login items? Try to close unnecessary ones. In fact I hardly reboot my Mac unless needed to. But one thing I noticed is the RAM usage will keep on increasing over days.
wiraone
post Oct 20 2011, 10:24 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

I wonder who'll be the first here having this smile.gif

http://gizmodo.com/5851546/the-worlds-firs...-belly-like-now
olivur
post Oct 20 2011, 10:52 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Oct 20 2011, 10:24 PM)
I wonder who'll be the first here having this smile.gif

http://gizmodo.com/5851546/the-worlds-firs...-belly-like-now
such a huge gamble to get it shipped from overseas though, rma nightmare laugh.gif
absan
post Oct 31 2011, 11:51 AM

324 posts

hello all bros

thinkin to upgrade my mbp2010 ram.

wanna ask what is the best ram for my 2010 mbp.

1066 vs 1333 got differences?

which one is the best corcair , kingston , munchkin but value for money since im a student. tq
olivur
post Oct 31 2011, 12:09 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(absan @ Oct 31 2011, 11:51 AM)
hello all bros

thinkin to upgrade my mbp2010 ram.

wanna ask what is the best ram for my 2010 mbp.

1066 vs 1333 got differences?

which one is the best corcair , kingston , munchkin but value for money since im a student. tq
your macbook pro uses a pc3-8500 ddr3 1066 mhz type ram. if you were to install a 1333mhz type ram it would simply be clocked down to 1066mhz. any of those brands you've mentioned would do. i got the kta range of rams from kingston for my 2010 mbp. kta would be the "for mac" range, but on my early 2011 mbp i used the kvr range which works just fine as well.

This post has been edited by olivur: Oct 31 2011, 12:10 PM
BRY7
post Oct 31 2011, 03:42 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

KVR is much much more cheaper than KTA.
don't even know whats the point of selling KTA when KTV works fine on Apple Computers
xaw5126
post Oct 31 2011, 04:23 PM

3,488 posts

@ BRY7 cos the KVR is not guaranteed to work 100%.
its like using low-end tyres on your car. if someone only drives from home to office and back, its fine. but if you're the kind of driver who has a need for speed, you sendiri mau jaga la
D.Sync
post Oct 31 2011, 05:49 PM

777 posts

I myself is using 2 sticks of KVR (2x4GB) and it works charm after 3 weeks of usage :-D Never switch my notebook off and just putting it to sleep all the time since the day of upgrade to test the stability of it. And so far it's working just FINE. Will let see if I can pass the 1 month of my so-called 'burn-in' period XD
olivur
post Oct 31 2011, 05:55 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(D.Sync @ Oct 31 2011, 05:49 PM)
I myself is using 2 sticks of KVR (2x4GB) and it works charm after 3 weeks of usage :-D Never switch my notebook off and just putting it to sleep all the time since the day of upgrade to test the stability of it. And so far it's working just FINE. Will let see if I can pass the 1 month of my so-called 'burn-in' period XD
use memtest for the ultimate in placebo ease of mind :p
D.Sync
post Nov 1 2011, 05:09 PM

777 posts

I take back what I had said before. The entire laptop freezes when I attempt to waking it back up after the complete battery depletion. Now I need to reopen every single things that I had opened in the past 21 days !!! Friggin' unbelievable!!!!!!
cRazYee
post Nov 1 2011, 05:25 PM

2,642 posts

to be honest guy, i have used 3 type of RAM
1. Apple fitted 4GB
2. Kingston KTA 8GB
3. Kingston KVR 4GB

i do feel that KVR isn't as smooth as Apple fitted 4GB, weirdo feeling, dunno why
olivur
post Nov 1 2011, 06:08 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 1 2011, 05:25 PM)
to be honest guy, i have used 3 type of RAM
1. Apple fitted 4GB
2. Kingston KTA 8GB
3. Kingston KVR 4GB

i do feel that KVR isn't as smooth as Apple fitted 4GB, weirdo feeling, dunno why
as i mentioned above, placebo effect.

using kta on my 2010 mbp and kvrs on my 2011 mbp, i personally "feel" that too :p

spots beachball > ahmagad it's the rams fault!
gfx
post Nov 2 2011, 12:41 PM

103 posts

hey guys, thinking about upgrading to SSD for my MBP 13" 2011. from what i read here, the only way to put both SSD and HDD is by removing the superdrive, and it decreases the battery power slightly, correct? can this be done by myself? and is it easy?
another thing, to those that upgraded yours, where did you bought your SSD? how much, and can I store my APPS in the HDD?

thank you..
RAMChYLD
post Nov 2 2011, 12:48 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Nov 1 2011, 06:08 PM)
as i mentioned above, placebo effect.

using kta on my 2010 mbp and kvrs on my 2011 mbp, i personally "feel" that too tongue.gif

spots beachball > ahmagad it's the rams fault!
Agreed. Sure, feels like loading time slower, but then you remember that Mac Mini uses 5400rpm laptop hard disk. That's the real bottleneck after you upgrade the RAM. I've done more tests and come to that conclusion.

Now if I can find a WD Scorpio Black, and find a shop that can do the HD change for me without voiding my warranty...

Dun feel like SSD is worth it, too expensive given the difficulty of replacing a HDD in a Mac Mini and the current lifespan of flash memory.
uniquexme
post Nov 2 2011, 01:25 PM

839 posts

i have upgraded to KTA RAM 4GBx2 and 1TB WD Scorpion blue on Lion. i feel there is not much difference between 4GB and 8GB RAM. But i do feel the lag on the HDD.

side by side comparison to a new mbp with i5, still i5 boot up much faster by about 5sec compared to my 2.53Ghz dual core (mid2009 mbp).

JohnnyBeGud
post Nov 2 2011, 06:04 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(gfx @ Nov 2 2011, 12:41 PM)
hey guys, thinking about upgrading to SSD for my MBP 13" 2011. from what i read here, the only way to put both SSD and HDD is by removing the superdrive, and it decreases the battery power slightly, correct?  can this be done by myself? and is it easy?
another thing, to those that upgraded yours, where did you bought your SSD? how much, and can I store my APPS in the HDD?

thank you..
1. Decreases battery? - check
2. DIY? - check
3. Easy? - check albeit a little scary
4. Bought mine from garage sales. Price varies.
5. I'm not sure if you can store your apps on the HDD but I would think that it is counter productive since the main reason you buy SSD is speed.

P/s: it'll void your warranty, so think carefully before deciding.
gfx
post Nov 2 2011, 08:18 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Nov 2 2011, 07:04 PM)
1. Decreases battery? - check
2. DIY? - check
3. Easy? - check albeit a little scary
4. Bought mine from garage sales. Price varies.
5. I'm not sure if you can store your apps on the HDD but I would think that it is counter productive since the main reason you buy SSD is speed.

P/s: it'll void your warranty, so think carefully before deciding.
thanks for the answer, my my, i guess its a bothersome to upgrade to SSD, I rarely shutdown my mbp, so, a fast boot up is not the thing I need. I usually open up a lot of apps at the same time, the most thing I ever opened at the same time is iTunes, aperture, youtube, micr. words, fb, and twitter, now and then, and never had any problem with them..

what do you use yours mostly for the needs of SSD anyway? video editing?
JohnnyBeGud
post Nov 2 2011, 09:18 PM

290 posts

@gfx quite frankly, I upgrade my MBP to a dual HDD/SSD setup not because of my needs, but because of the temptation to customize my MBP to the max tongue.gif

Joking aside, its true what others are saying that SSD is the best upgrade you could make, and once you've feel the SSD, you won't go back to HDD.

120 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:53 AM