Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

olivur
post Aug 22 2011, 11:48 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

if you've the budget, you might want to look into the prospect of installing an ssd as well.

but if you're always tied for space then disregard what i said please :P apple just recently stepped up their trim support for ssd's with lion and there'll be a lot of things to iron out.
olivur
post Sep 8 2011, 11:37 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

@ fitri - have you had your ssd filled up to around 80% of it's capacity yet? curious to see how well lion's garbage collection performs.
olivur
post Sep 8 2011, 03:58 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Sep 8 2011, 03:43 PM)
Trim performance under Mac OS X, is for a lack of a better word, garbage. Basically, the system doesn't actually support TRIM, so garbage collection is full under the Sandforce chipset's control. Won't know until a few days if what I am doing now (a lot of video encoding/editing would effect the performance.)
do keep me updated, as i've been putting off ssd upgrades for any of my mbp due to it's shortcomings when it's almost full.

also i hope you're constantly backing up your data. the horror stories of ssd's failing left and right is simply frightening. the only ssd i currently own is in my windows desktop which only holds the os and core programs.

olivur
post Sep 8 2011, 11:20 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

in theory a 5400rpm disc would last longer than a 7200rpm but in the real world, as dvlz mentioned either one could die on you just like that.

the faster the drive, the more heat it emits, and the more power it consumes hold true in theory and real life though.
olivur
post Sep 10 2011, 03:03 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

yeah.. the upgrade steps you take plays a factor.

if you opt for an ssd upgrade prior to rams, you won't "feel" the ram upgrade doing much.

olivur
post Sep 11 2011, 06:52 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

cmd+q always :P
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 01:18 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

+1 on handbrake. i'd also recommend visualhub.
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 09:24 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

i'd tell you what you should not get for that model (late 2008 unibody). a sata 3 ssd. since the 5,1's has sata 2 with a 300mbps cap.
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 10:37 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

sorry, i somehow misread your post and thought you were getting an ssd tongue.gif

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=140

seems to have good reviews for 1tb.
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 11:11 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

momentus? i've heard mixed reviews about those, some regulars here got those and sold them iirc cause they couldnt stand it >_<

what's your budget? should be easier to work out that way :P
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 12:10 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Sep 12 2011, 11:57 PM)
hmmm...... since someone says its a mix review, im afraid to try it, maybe i'll get a 7200 rpm 500gb or more and one external drive
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/990177/+1640

:)

also, personally i'd stick to 5400rpm. 7200rpm would get a liiiiittle hotter running those softwares you mentioned. (speed / heat ratio is a b*tch) unless if you're using a really good laptop cooler :P

ssd's would give a significant boost in performance, especially when doing heavy graphics such as 3d modding and huge renders BUT if it craps, it craps just like that. so if you've the budget, ssd + external to always keep your work backed up in a "safe" spot.
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 07:01 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

i wouldnt recommend a 7200rpm solely because you've had heat issues with the stock 5400rpms before :P

and ssd's fail just as badly on desktops too.
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 05:21 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

the late 08 mbp could be as well. there was a ninja patch that apple did to unlock the support of 8gb of ram for it. (mbp 5,1)

so i assume all mbps could support up to 8gb.

olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 06:56 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

which model was yours?

http://support.apple.com/kb/sp24
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 07:08 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

don't be too disheartened. juxtapose the current mbps with 8gb ram with their bigger desktop brothers the mac pros.

64gb / 128gb of ram.

yeah. tongue.gif

olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 07:59 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

correct me if i'm wrong but i believe apple did that since the nvidia sata chipset had issues (remember in 09 when everyone's mbps were beachballing) with sata ii so they downgraded it to sata i.

not like stock hdd's could get to 1.5gbps anyways. ssd users aren't happy campers though.
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 08:11 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

refer to joeyr's post. hope it helps.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/278051...tart=0&tstart=0
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 08:32 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

price shouldn't be the issue, stability! hence go for entry / mid range ssd's which are genericly faster than normal hdd and you should be gold.

till it pulls an ssd and asses you >.<
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 08:52 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

you're going nas? if so..

raises white flag*

havent done much research on nas since i set up a 6tb nas set up for my rent's place in.. 09? using a seagate blackarmor 440.

stringfellow has a promise pegasus, and his home set up is awesamnas. maybe he could give some insight.

olivur
post Sep 14 2011, 07:02 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

wei, dibs on your drobo s when you've purchased the pegasus. :P

0.0468sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:02 PM