Travel MAS (Malaysia Airline System), Discussion, Q&A, and others

hye
post Apr 15 2013, 08:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(lizardjeremy @ Apr 15 2013, 06:06 PM)
Moderator-assuming the existing procedures are to prevent online fraud or ? Would mas or the other airlines be affected by the forgery or fraud?put it simply would mas not have collected the monies from the cc?afterall mas is just a carrier and there's no ground for them to deny the registered party from travelling if the passengers name tally with their official documents and the ticket is already paid for
You are open to your own opinions and views. Whatever it is I speak from my own personal experience, it'll beat speculations and assumptions anytime of the day.
If you have your own which contradicts (good or bad) then you are free to share it here.
lizardjeremy
post Apr 16 2013, 10:37 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 15 2013, 08:44 PM)
You are open to your own opinions and views. Whatever it is I speak from my own personal experience, it'll beat speculations and assumptions anytime of the day.
If you have your own which contradicts (good or bad) then you are free to share it here.
its neither an opinion nor a statement admonshing the airlines for their customer unfriendly or downright nonsensical arrangement that makes a mockery of the cc companies stringent procedure introduce to stem fraud
international online cc frauds are not confined to malaysia only,the airline can joined the cc company to fight this scourge at source but cursory inspection of those documents ie cc at check in counters is not going to contribute to reducing this kind of criminal activity rolleyes.gif

perhaps thats the reason its not a uniform requirement with other premier airlines SIA/Cx etc
b00n
post Apr 16 2013, 02:11 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

From SIA FAQ in regards to SQ Mobile Booking:
If the booker does not bring his or her card used for the booking at check-in for verification, then passengers on the booking will not be allowed to check in and will be asked to purchase a new ticket using a new credit/debit card. However, the ticket price will remain the same. A refund will then be manually processed for the earlier purchased ticket.

From SIA FAQ in regards to Letter of Indemnity (LOI)
The Letter of Indemnity is a declaration in which you agree to use your own credit or debit card to make a booking for passengers who are not travelling with you and give your consent to Singapore Airlines to deduct payment from your payment card. By signing a Letter of Indemnity, you indemnify SIA against any losses that may arise from such bookings.

You will need to sign and submit Letter of Indemnity (LOI) at SIA Ticketing office before departure. You need to bring the credit/debit card used for the booking and photo identity for verification.

However they gave a waiver provided online verification on the card transaction had been done by "SecureCode"
Yes, you may have a waiver for card verification and LOI submission when you pay with a Visa or MasterCard registered under the Verified by Visa or MasterCard SecuredCode programmes. You may not need to present the Credit/Debit card used for the booking for verification nor submit a Letter of Indemnity.

Cathay FAQ: http://www.cathaypacific.com/cpa/en_INTL/f...ketpurchase/pay
Please note: The physical credit card used to pay for tickets must be presented by the cardholder for verification at check-in. Otherwise the cardholder or virtual card user must present the physical card used at the nearest Cathay Pacific Ticketing Office for verification prior to the flight departure.

If the credit card used is renewed with a new card number by the credit card issuer between the time of ticket purchase and time of verification, please retain and present the original credit card for verification.

The cardholder or virtual card user does not need to book and travel. The carriage reserves the right to deny boarding or collect a guarantee payment (in cash or from a new credit card) should you fail to present the card originally used.

In addition: If you choose Visa or MasterCard for payment, you may be required to enter your personal password on a secure page for authentication to complete the online purchase; if Verified by Visa or MasterCard® SecureCode™ security feature is enabled by your credit card company.

Please sign up for Verified by Visa and MasterCard® SecureCode™ with your credit card company if you have not yet registered!

Anyway, so far I have not encountered any of this when I travel with MAS, AA, Cathay nor JAL. But they do reserve the rights not to admit entry if one fails to comply. FYI, I use to buy ticket for my wife and daughter or my wife buys for me or her parents (her parents does not have credit cards); and cross fingers no issue thus far.

This post has been edited by b00n: Apr 16 2013, 02:12 PM
lizardjeremy
post Apr 16 2013, 03:07 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 16 2013, 02:11 PM)
From SIA FAQ in regards to SQ Mobile Booking:
From SIA FAQ in regards to Letter of Indemnity (LOI)

However they gave a waiver provided online verification on the card transaction had been done by "SecureCode"
Cathay FAQ: http://www.cathaypacific.com/cpa/en_INTL/f...ketpurchase/pay
Anyway, so far I have not encountered any of this when I travel with MAS, AA, Cathay nor JAL. But they do reserve the rights not to admit entry if one fails to comply. FYI, I use to buy ticket for my wife and daughter or my wife buys for me or her parents (her parents does not have credit cards); and cross fingers no issue thus far.
thanks for the information which literally means all airlines have this obnoxious universal clause of not allowing bonafide travellers to board in the event that they are dissatisfied with the cc issue
my contention is- why introduce onerous condition when the online transaction is already approved by the banks unless any fraud detected thereafter will lead to non payment to the airlines concerned

my assertion/understanding that any transaction online or otherwise is deemed completed after been approved by the appropiate authorities is perhaps wrong and flawed to the core !!!!!
b00n
post Apr 16 2013, 03:20 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

lizardjeremy
I think it was introduced during the era where credit card fraud is a big issue.
Hence if you look at SIA FAQ as well as Cathay Pacific FAQ, it did mentioned if the transaction was successful vide "SecureCode" i.e. Master Secure or Visa 3D Secure hence one need not go through the hassle. I sampled JAL and it include such clauses. American Airline website also the same information while there is a possibility American Airline might impose one to key in their Credit Card pin at the check in counter sweat.gif .

Notwithstanding a probability of human trafficking racket which we might not know off... brows.gif Fake passport, fake card transaction, everything fake all the way.... p.s. just speculating to lighten things up.

This post has been edited by b00n: Apr 16 2013, 03:22 PM
hye
post Apr 16 2013, 04:16 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 16 2013, 03:20 PM)
lizardjeremy
I think it was introduced during the era where credit card fraud is a big issue.
Hence if you look at SIA FAQ as well as Cathay Pacific FAQ, it did mentioned if the transaction was successful vide "SecureCode" i.e. Master Secure or Visa 3D Secure hence one need not go through the hassle. I sampled JAL and it include such clauses. American Airline website also the same information while there is a possibility American Airline might impose one to key in their Credit Card pin at the check in counter  sweat.gif .

Notwithstanding a probability of human trafficking racket which we might not know off... brows.gif Fake passport, fake card transaction, everything fake all the way.... p.s. just speculating to lighten things up.
Thanks boon
On a lighter note, if he's that deeply opinionated and well experienced (read his posts in other forums) about the subject - start his own airline and make the difference that he is advocating. Being glib on the tongue just wouldn't cut it, would it be ? thumbup.gif
lizardjeremy
post Apr 16 2013, 04:30 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 16 2013, 04:16 PM)
Thanks boon
On a lighter note, if he's that deeply opinionated and well experienced (read his posts in other forums) about the subject - start his own airline and make the difference that he is advocating. Being glib on the tongue just wouldn't cut it, would it be ?  thumbup.gif
well if i m capable of starting an airline i wont be venting nuisance or spewing venom for your consumption here-mr smart alec

This post has been edited by lizardjeremy: Apr 16 2013, 04:35 PM
lizardjeremy
post Apr 16 2013, 04:40 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 16 2013, 04:16 PM)
Thanks boon
On a lighter note, if he's that deeply opinionated and well experienced (read his posts in other forums) about the subject - start his own airline and make the difference that he is advocating. Being glib on the tongue just wouldn't cut it, would it be ?  thumbup.gif
well mr smart alec -the entire discourse was on why introduce extra measures to contain or deter cc fraud which inconvenienced customers .more resources should have been directed to tackle potential frauds at source and not at the airline checkin counters.

maybe you should start your own fraud detecting firm at the airport instead
winifred86
post May 3 2013, 03:00 AM

81 posts

anyone know that MAS will have promotion air ticket to Osaka on this year September with budget below rm1000?

as last few days I checked, go and return trip only rm800, but I was late, now it returned to normal price....
stimix
post May 3 2013, 07:13 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(winifred86 @ May 3 2013, 03:00 AM)
anyone know that MAS will have promotion air ticket to Osaka on this year September with budget below rm1000?

as last few days I checked, go and return trip only rm800, but I was late, now it returned to normal price....
Wait yntil Air Asia promotion, they normally will follow closely vice versa. Otherwise, check with the marketing arm of MAS if there is any brows.gif
GroundMan
post May 3 2013, 09:01 PM

210 posts

have u guys tried multi city booking before?

its cheaper to buy tickets that way it seems, rather than buying separately
winifred86
post May 3 2013, 09:51 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 3 2013, 07:13 AM)
Wait yntil Air Asia promotion, they normally will follow closely vice versa. Otherwise, check with the marketing arm of MAS if there is any  brows.gif
usually when they will have. promotion? as I can't wait too long to make decision... ><

how to check with MAS? just call them?
stimix
post May 3 2013, 09:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(winifred86 @ May 3 2013, 09:51 PM)
usually when they will have. promotion? as I can't wait too long to make decision... ><

how to check with MAS? just call them?
No idea as most of the time I booked AAX/ AA rather than MAS blush.gif biggrin.gif ..Even I dunno when is AAX/AA sales.. just wait for the email announcement.. MAS too expensive for me
winifred86
post May 3 2013, 10:40 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 3 2013, 09:54 PM)
No idea as most of the time I booked AAX/ AA rather than MAS  blush.gif  biggrin.gif ..Even I dunno when is AAX/AA sales.. just wait for the email announcement.. MAS too expensive for me
I see.... have to check their site time by time...

really missed the chance from MAS..they didn't make any announcement, just I click in then only see the low price..... *sigh *
winifred86
post May 6 2013, 02:51 AM

81 posts

anyone know how frequent MAS will have promotion on air tickets? beginning of month? few months? or any specific festival?
hye
post May 6 2013, 07:15 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winifred86 @ May 6 2013, 02:51 AM)
anyone know how frequent MAS will have promotion on air tickets? beginning of month? few months? or any specific festival?
Can't tell. Anyway, you are looking for Osaka tickets right ?
Promotion came back last night night. Although slightly more (RM799 vs RM899) but it is still better than a full price tickets.
nano28
post May 6 2013, 09:14 AM

850 posts

There's no specific rule. But unlike Airasia, they are less likely to give ticket promotion smile.gif
fuzzy
post May 6 2013, 05:54 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Today I got the promotion ticket to Osaka for RM189 return smile.gif
dinz
post May 6 2013, 06:08 PM

104 posts

No more now
deqna
post May 6 2013, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(winifred86 @ May 3 2013, 03:00 AM)

I managed to grab this MAS promo... return tix to Osaka for only 799.. got food, 30kg baggage... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ...
can't wait to go japan again this november.. Autumn season!!!.. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

52 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:22 AM