Games Street Fighter IV | V2 (PS3), checkout the 1stpage for tips n psn id

MasterAlvin
post Apr 22 2009, 02:14 AM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 22 2009, 01:43 AM)
Playing local players with no lag is real arcade experience. It's fun when you don't get problems from lag.

With experience, you will play better after every day. It's all about practice. I can see some improvements from you. I already showed and pointed out what you are missing.

You still need a joystick. That's where the precision is. You will end up wearing your DS3 down playing SF4 with it or you will get your thumb injured.

You'll eventually find the timing and positioning of crossups yourself once you practice more.
i have a stick actually... hehehehehe
i wanted to train my timing and links, so i want to make myself to rely less on focus cancels. i tend to waste 2 bars most the time.
the other real reason is i was too lazy to walk 5 steps to plug in my stick.
and i will work my my mp.srk anti-air, though i really find my reflex ultra slow.

QUOTE(senzr @ Apr 22 2009, 02:06 AM)
Just wanted to share an interesting thread on 'priority linking' technique discussion over on the SRK forums.

http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=186686

It's similar to the piano technique for getting more inputs when doing a special move, but this is specifically applied to normal move links. It's basically pressing 2 buttons ALMOST at the same time so that the game will register the stronger input twice in 1 frame. Handy for connecting those links with a 1 frame window.

Good stuff!
thanks man, just what i needed.
TristanX
post Apr 22 2009, 02:27 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

lol. My joystick is always plugged in. I used a USB 2.0 hub for cheap keyboard, mouse and a joystick. Another USB port connected to DS3.

Reflexes is one of the thing that stop old players.

mikeeeee
post Apr 22 2009, 10:27 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(Ivanvenn @ Apr 21 2009, 11:58 PM)
on the 1st page
try to include (country/state) beside each of the psn id
hehe

some other brunei players psn id like to share with you all here

hasher87
Munky_Gaban
xinlong87

good games to all whom i played jus now
it was hella fun! play again soon ^^
Ivanvenn,

bro, nice playing you again even though the session is short!!! you have a very good ken !!! smile.gif

too bad i couldn't give you a worthy challenge due to the "unblockables" cry.gif hahah , don't get me wrong .. i'm not finding excuses but just that i thought you would enjoyed a more worthy fight hehe

hope we'll try again soon smile.gif

Fruitler,
Good to see you after so long man !!! always been my pleasure to give you a go fight !! like the old days + the better connection smile.gif ...

Phyurix,
Thanks for adding me, had lotsa fun with all your characters, you seems to be master of many characters!!!
We shall play again soon heheh

Ahbeegtr,
Thanks for the game too , good games !!!! Now i'm starting to hate that ELF more tongue.gif

Eddy/Kenneth/Freddy,
OMG u guys, really SF craze people .... so late liao still available for challenge hehehe ... even though laggy .. i truly enjoyed the sessions. Sorry gotta go as it was already 3-4am if not mistaken.

wow, last night was really a busy busy SF4 day for me, shortest sessions were about 5-6 matches and longest were 30 over matches .... enjoyed every bit of it, none stop actions !!!!!

rawfish
post Apr 22 2009, 11:05 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(senzr @ Apr 22 2009, 02:06 AM)
Just wanted to share an interesting thread on 'priority linking' technique discussion over on the SRK forums.

http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=186686

It's similar to the piano technique for getting more inputs when doing a special move, but this is specifically applied to normal move links. It's basically pressing 2 buttons ALMOST at the same time so that the game will register the stronger input twice in 1 frame. Handy for connecting those links with a 1 frame window.

Good stuff!
senzr, this caught my attention as well. As per the replies in that thread, perhaps this excellent discovery stemmed from attempts to discover the Japanese walking raging demon trick.

Imagine being able to do piano-like moves without EX moves coming out. I dedicate my tonight to beer and pizza in the Training Room with boring-ass toilet tiles! I wonder if it'll make Sagat's Fake Kick, or Viper/ELF's cancel strings easier...!

This post has been edited by rawfish: Apr 22 2009, 11:15 AM
eddy230379
post Apr 22 2009, 11:14 AM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 22 2009, 10:27 AM)
Ivanvenn,

bro, nice playing you again even though the session is short!!! you have a very good ken !!! smile.gif

too bad i couldn't give you a worthy challenge due to the "unblockables" cry.gif hahah , don't get me wrong .. i'm not finding excuses but just that i thought you would enjoyed a more worthy fight hehe

hope we'll try again soon smile.gif

Fruitler,
Good to see you after so long man !!! always been my pleasure to give you a go fight !! like the old days + the better connection smile.gif ...

Phyurix,
Thanks for adding me, had lotsa fun with all your characters, you seems to be master of many characters!!!
We shall play again soon heheh

Ahbeegtr,
Thanks for the game too , good games !!!! Now i'm starting to hate that ELF more tongue.gif

Eddy/Kenneth/Freddy,
OMG u guys, really SF craze people .... so late liao still available for challenge hehehe ... even though laggy .. i truly enjoyed the sessions. Sorry gotta go as it was already 3-4am if not mistaken.
wow,  last night was really a busy busy SF4 day for me, shortest sessions were about 5-6 matches and longest were 30 over matches .... enjoyed every bit of it, none stop actions !!!!!
hahaha ... just that it was a coincidence we were at kenneths place and saw u playing so might as well invite u to play ...

we all stopped after u quit cos the line wasnt getting any better ... but it was fun ...

thumbup.gif
S4PH
post Apr 22 2009, 11:48 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

all fighters here add me la wanna train withe sifus out here.
kileak
post Apr 22 2009, 11:55 AM

14 posts

senzr, why don't you get some guys on this thread to come over to your place for a good old face-to-face brawl out? Arcade-style, winner stays. Put a bowl in front of your TV, charge 20 cents/game.

This post has been edited by kileak: Apr 22 2009, 11:57 AM
senzr
post Apr 22 2009, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(kileak @ Apr 22 2009, 11:55 AM)
senzr, why don't you get some guys on this thread to come over to your place for a good old face-to-face brawl out? Arcade-style, winner stays. Put a bowl in front of your TV, charge 20 cents/game.
Haha, I don't know about that. You already know first hand that I can't fit more than 3 players. The thought did cross my mind to charge for games. Those hori sticks ain't cheap!!

@rawfish & masteralvin:
Here is a video one of the guys on SRK did to illustrate the priority linking technique clearly:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVK5Kghkqsw&fmt=18

I've been trying to use 2-button piano technique for specials, but now it looks like it works for linking normals too.

Here's the original 'walking demon' trick discovered by the Japanese:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dBubtTjRX0

The Japanese call it 'tsuji' links or something something...
kileak
post Apr 22 2009, 02:19 PM

14 posts

well, losers can stand outside your balcony, have a smoke, and pout/b**** about why they lost.

At least they won't blame your sticks!

I'll probably be standing on the balcony a lot.
Phyurix
post Apr 22 2009, 05:51 PM

Hello all,

New to the LYN community, havn't been able to spend a small time to greet and say thanks to everyone that I've added and played so far (and also, cause didnt make an account doh.gif ). Please feel free to add me for some friendly matches.

PSN : Phyurix

mikeeeee
Had fun with ya too dude, we'll play more once we get more free time. Need to figure out how to break your Chun-Li's defences hmm.gif

TristanX
Thanks for the forum thread webby, getting grilled on a BBQ pit was fun rclxms.gif . Hope to play ya again when we're free.

sce
"Rufus King" (given title by me) really hard to fight, lately we've been having some bad connections rclxub.gif but still loads of fun thumbup.gif

Darkstalkers
Thanks for a good time on our first match up man. Was really fun that both of us randomizing around. Vega a nice char to use, but using DS3 thumbs hurt from charging cry.gif

Anyone can give recommendations where is the best place to grab a stick or what is a good stick? I know Hori sticks arn't bad as I had 1 for my PS2. RM200-300 is my price range, but any other recommendations is accepted thumbup.gif

Darkstalker
post Apr 22 2009, 06:32 PM

214 posts

Phyurix, great games to you too man the other day. I've been trying to play everyone that's added me at least once so I haven't really been playing the same players over and over again, that's why I don't think I've played you since.

Nice Abel btw. smile.gif

EDIT: I'm using a Hori Real Arcade Pro 3, but I think that currently is out of your budget (game shops inflated the price closing to RM500...if there's stock). You might want to go for the Royd's stick maybe? Saw it in Sunway Pyramid, game shop in Asian Avenue towards the Maybank/Jusco side. Not sure how much they're selling, but I think it's in your price range.

Alternatively, you can get a PS2/PS3 converter for your old Hori stick. Not sure how much it costs and where to get it, but I've seen Kodanshi and rawfish use one. There might be compatibility problems though.

Also, you might want to get the Hori Fight Stick 3? I saw one in one of the Low Yat shops for about RM250 a month or two back.

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Apr 22 2009, 06:41 PM
TristanX
post Apr 22 2009, 06:53 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(Phyurix @ Apr 22 2009, 05:51 PM)
Hello all,

New to the LYN community, havn't been able to spend a small time to greet and say thanks to everyone that I've added and played so far (and also, cause didnt make an account  doh.gif ).  Please feel free to add me for some friendly matches.

PSN : Phyurix

mikeeeee
Had fun with ya too dude, we'll play more once we get more free time. Need to figure out how to break your Chun-Li's defences  hmm.gif 

TristanX
Thanks for the forum thread webby, getting grilled on a BBQ pit was fun  rclxms.gif . Hope to play ya again when we're free.

sce
"Rufus King" (given title by me) really hard to fight, lately we've been having some bad connections  rclxub.gif but still loads of fun  thumbup.gif

Darkstalkers
Thanks for a good time on our first match up man. Was really fun that both of us randomizing around. Vega a nice char to use, but using DS3 thumbs hurt from charging  cry.gif
Anyone can give recommendations where is the best place to grab a stick or what is a good stick? I know Hori sticks arn't bad as I had 1 for my PS2. RM200-300 is  my price range, but any other recommendations is accepted  thumbup.gif
Welcome. Enjoy yourself here with some chat. You can find even more challenge when you have more than just a list. There are 2 good Abels so far. You and someone on real life. Both of you plays identically.

As for joystick, I don't know much about Sabah/Sarawak but I do know almost everything is more expensive there. You can opt for PS2 to PS3 convertor if you can find one. Hori's stick is out of stock, gotta wait for the arrival of new stock. PC version of SF4 is coming in June too. I hope every shop imports a bunch of new joystick.
Phyurix
post Apr 22 2009, 07:28 PM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 22 2009, 06:53 PM)
Welcome. Enjoy yourself here with some chat. You can find even more challenge when you have more than just a list. There are 2 good Abels so far. You and someone on real life. Both of you plays identically.

As for joystick, I don't know much about Sabah/Sarawak but I do know almost everything is more expensive there. You can opt for PS2 to PS3 convertor if you can find one. Hori's stick is out of stock, gotta wait for the arrival of new stock. PC version of SF4 is coming in June too. I hope every shop imports a bunch of new joystick.
I did think of trying to find a convertor but none available, there was once I discovered a similar piece but got bad reviews. Multiple inputs doesnt really accept at one time. So Ultras might be a problem. Really sad for my Hori Stick, if I cant get a convertor for it its gonna end up in my local Museum. Kept perfectly with a glass box thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Apr 22 2009 06:32 PM)
Phyurix, great games to you too man the other day. I've been trying to play everyone that's added me at least once so I haven't really been playing the same players over and over again, that's why I don't think I've played you since.

Nice Abel btw.
No biggie, theres always chances to play. As long you dun quit playing whistling.gif Championship Mode This Friday WooHoo!!!

This post has been edited by Phyurix: Apr 22 2009, 07:29 PM
mazur
post Apr 22 2009, 07:55 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Phyurix @ Apr 22 2009, 07:28 PM)
I did think of trying to find a convertor but none available, there was once I discovered a similar piece but got bad reviews. Multiple inputs doesnt really accept at one time. So Ultras might be a problem. Really sad for my Hori Stick, if I cant get a convertor for it its gonna end up in my local Museum. Kept perfectly with a glass box  thumbup.gif
No biggie, theres always chances to play. As long you dun quit playing  whistling.gif Championship Mode This Friday WooHoo!!!
you abel so good man....
but your elf fuerte also damn good....
can i learn more about your ab elf fuerte? flex.gif
Phyurix
post Apr 22 2009, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(mazur @ Apr 22 2009, 07:55 PM)
you abel so good man....
but your elf fuerte also damn good....
can i learn more about your ab elf fuerte? flex.gif
Haha thx man, I got a friend here who is trying to main Fuerte. Really tricky situations he can make, sad he doesn't have a PS3. Currently trying to pull him into the Dark Side tongue.gif (the bugger always copy cat from me and make it improove to his own style cry.gif )

Fuerte's run>body slam skill is the bomb. Knock-down, crossover, sometimes invulnerable. His run>catch skill can overlapse srk (meaning even if ppl srk on wake up, srk still lose). Practise these 2 skills to me I think is the best basics you should learn about Fuerte. Although I'm no pro, havn't seen anyone playing him here. Most of the time keep watching youtube to get an idea of his gameplays. Keep in mind those 2 skills you can control the distances to setup on crossovers.

Abel oh Abel, you tried out my gameplay already biggrin.gif Abel needs to get agressive. No projectiles, just poke and get close. A lot of his moves can be a good setup for crossovers. So experiment and practise a lot is all I can say

kaozrealm
post Apr 22 2009, 09:30 PM

19 posts

Hey guys,

I'm new to the SF4 world, just wondering how is the connection between local players? I've played a few times online and always ended up getting challenged by players with the lowest connection. Its hard to play when everything jerks...

TristanX
post Apr 22 2009, 09:33 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

Avoid playing with 3 or less bars. It will just piss you off because of lag. Most connections with local players are fine.
QUOTE(Phyurix @ Apr 22 2009, 07:28 PM)
I did think of trying to find a convertor but none available, there was once I discovered a similar piece but got bad reviews. Multiple inputs doesnt really accept at one time. So Ultras might be a problem. Really sad for my Hori Stick, if I cant get a convertor for it its gonna end up in my local Museum. Kept perfectly with a glass box  thumbup.gif
No biggie, theres always chances to play. As long you dun quit playing  whistling.gif Championship Mode This Friday WooHoo!!!
If you can find this one, it should be good.
http://www.rockfire.com.tw/front/bin/ptdet...Category=302639

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 22 2009, 09:35 PM
Phyurix
post Apr 22 2009, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 22 2009, 09:33 PM)
Avoid playing with 3 or less bars. It will just piss you off because of lag. Most connections with local players are fine.

If you can find this one, it should be good.
http://www.rockfire.com.tw/front/bin/ptdet...Category=302639
Dude~~~~ that seems to be the just the right one that can be used, but I have never saw it around here. Maybe i could ask a friend of mine to see if they can try get it for me. Taiwan based company, they always can hack anything rclxms.gif
daydreaming
post Apr 22 2009, 10:05 PM

555 posts

anyone free for sf4 now? =_=
rawfish
post Apr 22 2009, 10:06 PM

30 posts

I have a pre-order slot for the Madcatz TE, hence it will go on sale once Play-Asia fulfills the order. Please come in visit my thread (link = my sig) and share your comments. Thanks!

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:56 PM