Games Street Fighter IV | V2 (PS3), checkout the 1stpage for tips n psn id

Kyoyagami
post Apr 20 2009, 10:57 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I seriously love how Poongko plays. its so aggressive that it really gives you an awe.

And Daigo can notice people's reaction within 0.5 seconds. Yeouch, very fast reflexes. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Kyoyagami: Apr 20 2009, 11:16 PM
senzr
post Apr 20 2009, 11:13 PM

Ya, but poongko still lost to daigo. guess slow n steady still wins rclxms.gif

I really expected poongko to put up more of a fight with his mixup skillz. but daigo's psychic power crushed him.

good matches all round, tho.
shinjite
post Apr 21 2009, 12:12 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

more like experience counts the most XD
rawfish
post Apr 21 2009, 01:06 AM

30 posts

Story time!

Just sharing some stuff here and affirming my strong support for real-life player matches instead of online. Aside from rage-quitters, there's kids like him too.

It all started with me fishing for the remaining nonsense icons and titles to achieve the 'Title Master' and 'Icon Master' trophies, to simply get Platinum and be over with it. For that I had to get a few more wins by Super finishes and a timeout, hence I was scouting for random games in Player matches.

For the final few matches I met 'nuttahzx'. I used Viper, then Rufus followed by Sagat while he used Honda, Rufus and Abel. I was winning mostly though he put up an excellent fight. I'm not a person who give a damn about scores or winning as finding good and sporting players are items I seek. Losing is part of the improvement process, right?

In the last Abel vs Sagat game, in one round I got careless and ate an Ultra after a mid-screen Tiger Shot. Hence I became more careful and tried to get in close. I guess he didn't like being up close and personal with Sagat so he changed his style to keeping distance, and only seemed eager to land another Ultra. No idiot would fall for that again so I just played his game and tried mixing in QCF motions with my character. He did the same until time just ran out, not coming in close to me at all though I had more health.

I got what I wanted (final trophy) and it was 5am so I sent him a message. This was sincerely to thank him but with a touch of sarcasm to highlight his playing ways:

He replied:

On the contrary I was rushing him down all the while with all characters so I replied:

I thought he was still a good player to add, especially when the line was good. I hated people who thinks winning is everything so I also constructed my reply to indicate what kind of person I am, at the same time complementing him:

His final reply before I set him into my ignore list:

Anyone having this person in their list? He could be from this region e.g. Malaysia, Singapore or even Thailand - as I didn't really experienced any smoothness in other games with Japan, Korean or Hongkie players.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Apr 21 2009, 01:18 AM
TristanX
post Apr 21 2009, 02:13 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

He should be staying nearby. Well, you should beat the crap out of him again using your best. Some people who uses strong characters to play to win. It's his fault getting himself stuck with one strategy. Defensive play waste a lot of time and it's boring.

It gets boring when you are forced to play your best character and playing the same thing over again.

As for me, I'm not like the old days sticking to only 1 character. It kills the game. It's more fun playing with something new. I also need practice against characters I hardly play against.
leongteng5
post Apr 21 2009, 02:35 AM

27 posts

Its not wrong to stick on the defensive, it's just a playstyle. Some characters need to actually, like Dhalsim and Gouki, though characters like Sagat can go either way. Some find it boring but ironically I find these guys more fun to play with. I like finding ways of getting in and breaking their illusion of being untouchable smile.gif

If you're fed up of this tactic you can use it too. Use your offensive moves at the start and put in the hurt, create a sizable health difference between you and him. Then stay your corner and wait for the timer to run. He has no choice but to come at you now. Give him a taste of his own medicine!

This post has been edited by leongteng5: Apr 21 2009, 02:39 AM
MasterAlvin
post Apr 21 2009, 03:13 AM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

defensive = wait for a chance to deliver a painful counter
boring = unless you come over

i dun really mind defensive players. some defensive players has helluva counter combos to make you eat them. i love them.
i also love attacking players that never stops attacking that beats me perfect sometimes.
i dun like turtles that dun finish off opponents, and waste time by crouching and waiting forever for you to jump over and uses a defensive EX move.

and thanks tristan.
haha that was fun.
damn syok trying to land combos on you.
i scream just by hitting one!
i was so obsessed with landing a Solar Plexus>lp>tatsukami on you that i kept trying again and a gain!
hahaha

This post has been edited by MasterAlvin: Apr 21 2009, 03:14 AM
TristanX
post Apr 21 2009, 03:21 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

lol. I'm trying to my reflexes back by doing shoryuken late when you jump over or expecting something from you. Speeding up my Z maneuver + P . Did you learn something from my Ryu? Especially the kicks.

Well, I'll just push as much as possible if I see someone plays defensive.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 21 2009, 03:26 AM
Darkstalker
post Apr 21 2009, 06:17 AM

214 posts

Nice story rawfish.

If I were you I'd totally play him again, and do exactly what he does. Just to screw around.

As for how I play, I like to mix the tempo up. However, online most of the time I play offensive for two reasons. 1, I just want to see what works and what doesn't in terms of breaking defences. 2, I understand it can get boring so to keep it interesting it's all offense baby. There are exceptions of course (vs Zangief = me being *****).

How come I only get ragequitters? I never get flaming people. sad.gif I'll try adding him later. I'll say that I heard he was good or something.
MasterAlvin
post Apr 21 2009, 09:25 AM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 21 2009, 03:21 AM)
lol. I'm trying to my reflexes back by doing shoryuken late when you jump over or expecting something from you. Speeding up my Z maneuver + P . Did you learn something from my Ryu? Especially the kicks.

Well, I'll just push as much as possible if I see someone plays defensive.
i cant seem to grasp the timing for kicks =(
especially the range.
but i know that your cross ups can be countered in some ways.
i think i need to counter more when i'm under pressure. trying to block everything totally made me lost all initiatives.

rawfish
post Apr 21 2009, 10:53 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 21 2009, 02:13 AM)
He should be staying nearby. Well, you should beat the crap out of him again using your best. Some people who uses strong characters to play to win. It's his fault getting himself stuck with one strategy. Defensive play waste a lot of time and it's boring.
QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Apr 21 2009, 06:17 AM)
If I were you I'd totally play him again, and do exactly what he does.  Just to screw around.
How come I only get ragequitters?  I never get flaming people. sad.gif  I'll try adding him later.  I'll say that I heard he was good or something.
It was around 5am and I needed sleep though it was a weekend. Had probably 7hrs of matches due to trophy-whoring and time is a luxury for me. I don't have any beef with him and was just dissapointed a player of his level would have the mentality of a garbage can lid (no offence to garbage can lids).

DS, he probably had a bad day (or morning) or something.

QUOTE(leongteng5 @ Apr 21 2009, 02:35 AM)
Its not wrong to stick on the defensive, it's just a playstyle. Some characters need to actually, like Dhalsim and Gouki, though characters like Sagat can go either way. Some find it boring but ironically I find these guys more fun to play with. I like finding ways of getting in and breaking their illusion of being untouchable smile.gif

If you're fed up of this tactic you can use it too. Use your offensive moves at the start and put in the hurt, create a sizable health difference between you and him. Then stay your corner and wait for the timer to run. He has no choice but to come at you now. Give him a taste of his own medicine!
How true. I really like how players like Kindevu, even Justin (Rufus), Joe (Viper) and needless to say, Daigo, breaks through Iyo's defense. Very good reference matches. I remember you, Leong - from Alan's name list that day in Outpost - though I don't know why you didn't stay which was a waste as you had a really good Gief, but I'm sure you had your reasons smile.gif
leongteng5
post Apr 21 2009, 11:21 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(rawfish @ Apr 21 2009, 11:53 AM)
How true. I really like how players like Kindevu, even Justin (Rufus), Joe (Viper) and needless to say, Daigo, breaks through Iyo's defense. Very good reference matches. I remember you, Leong - from Alan's name list that day in Outpost - though I don't know why you didn't stay which was a waste as you had a really good Gief, but I'm sure you had your reasons smile.gif
Had to rush as I had important obligations elsewhere sad.gif

Who won?

Rawfish.. Are you the Abel that beat me that day? Those few matches were awesome..

I really wanted nothing more than to have more matches with you guys, especially when my brother said there was a good viper there that I missed that was itching to challenge me! Never mind.. there's always a next time! That Viper.. if you're out there, add me. I'll definitely challenge you later in the weekend if luck permits.

This post has been edited by leongteng5: Apr 21 2009, 11:25 AM
brastel
post Apr 21 2009, 03:48 PM

add me on psn for sf4: abelity

w00t
mikeeeee
post Apr 21 2009, 03:54 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

leongteng,

i think the abel u referring to is Kodanshi which got 2nd place in the tourney .. Eddy won first place with his guile ... anyway, this should be in the tournament thread tongue.gif

eddy230379
post Apr 21 2009, 04:04 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 21 2009, 03:54 PM)
leongteng,

i think the abel u referring to is Kodanshi which got 2nd place in the tourney .. Eddy won first place with his guile ... anyway, this should be in the tournament thread tongue.gif
mikeeeee ... had a blast playing with u online yesterday ... even tough for a brief time only ... it was fun ...

thumbup.gif
mikeeeee
post Apr 21 2009, 04:29 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

ya man !!! nice playing with you, freddy and "hau sui" i think !!! hehee another 1 that uses akuma is who ar ??

you are definitely right ! it was fun !!! i was like being gang banged !! hahaha
eddy230379
post Apr 21 2009, 04:39 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 21 2009, 04:29 PM)
ya man !!! nice playing with you, freddy and "hau sui" i think !!! hehee another 1 that uses akuma is who ar ??

you are definitely right ! it was fun !!! i was like being gang banged !! hahaha
akuma was me and freddy alternately ... tried a lot of raging demons on u but we failed miserably ... lol ...

guess a pro wouldnt fall for that ...

anyway ... honda really does massive damage ... i left after hau sui reached ... so how was ur matches against his gief ???

mikeeeee
post Apr 21 2009, 04:47 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

against his gief ??? hahaha what else , eat super and ultras for free lor hahaha

ya man , honda although have few options only but he really does massive damages ... to bad his head butt doesn't goes through fireball's like in sfhd sad.gif
eddy230379
post Apr 21 2009, 05:04 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 21 2009, 04:47 PM)
against his gief ??? hahaha what else , eat super and ultras for free lor hahaha

ya man , honda although have few options only but he really does massive damages ... to bad his head butt doesn't goes through fireball's like in sfhd sad.gif
if it goes through fireballs using his EX also i wont mind ... but it doesnt ...

if it does i would have taken him up to fight against characters with fireballs ...

brows.gif
rawfish
post Apr 21 2009, 05:19 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(leongteng5 @ Apr 21 2009, 11:21 AM)
Had to rush as I had important obligations elsewhere sad.gif

Who won?

Rawfish.. Are you the Abel that beat me that day? Those few matches were awesome..

I really wanted nothing more than to have more matches with you guys, especially when my brother said there was a good viper there that I missed that was itching to challenge me! Never mind.. there's always a next time! That Viper.. if you're out there, add me. I'll definitely challenge you later in the weekend if luck permits.
As Mike shared, Eddy won. I was the Rufus/Sagat player (we played once). I guess your brother was the one who used Ken?

To everyone:Is anybody else besides mikeeeee on Izzi? My friend Freddy (PSN = virus708) uses P1 and he reported good connections with Izzi users. Please do add him! FYI playing him is like buy 1 free 4 coz sometimes there will be multiple guys at his shop taking turns on the console. You will get to fight chars like Blanka, Dhalsim, Akuma, Gief, Abel, Cammy, Guile, Ryu, Ken, Sagat.. by Freddy himself (3rd placed guy in the Sony Tourney / Hau Sui (Saliva) / Eddy (mini tourney champ) / Kenneth (Sony Tourney champ) / TristanX (Sony Tourney 1st runner up) so you can definitely have a wholesome experience - just like eating Gardenia bread!

Please feel free to add me too: rawfish_us thanks! smile.gif

126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0364sec    1.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:23 AM