Games Street Fighter IV | V2 (PS3), checkout the 1stpage for tips n psn id

senzr
post Mar 19 2009, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(coriandery @ Mar 18 2009, 06:22 PM)
I gotta learn some combos and links, it's definitely holding my Sakura back from improving.  Had some good games with senzr last night (or rather, he raped me over and over again)
Hahah, the night before, I got raped by maxcswei. Then after raping you, I got raped by squall_12's Honda. Then I got raped by Tristanx.

Coriandery, if I may, I think you should hold back on spamming sakura's shoryuken so much. Very unsafe when blocked. You were basically giving me free hits. Just constructive criticism...haha. No offense. I used to spam srk all the time cos I love the move so much, but it's the fastest way to get your ass handed back to you.

@ squall_12,
that hate message you got was hilarious! although i can understand how that guy felt cos you crushed my ass 10 times in a row! you only crushed him twice...haha.

@ WongBrothers/masteralvin, kileak79, tristanx, darknightryu
sorry, i didn't reply invites last nite. had a bunch of mates over at my place playing, and my msg screen was damn slow to load for some reason. also, it's damn hard for me to type. maybe i should get that snap on keyboard for the controller....

Added on March 19, 2009, 9:21 pmHere's my interesting link for the day:
http://www.sirlin.net/ptw

This is a free online book, written by David Sirlin, a US street fighter champion and the guy that rebalanced SSF2T HD Remix for Capcom.

His site is interesting overall, and he really delves into the nuances and mechanics of games. He also gives great insight into the psychology of winning. The chapters on "yomi", or reading the mind of your opponents, and the descriptions of play styles are particularly interesting. See what he has to say about Daigo.

After reading it, I still suck, but at least I know WHY I suck. I'm hoping to suck less given more practice...haha.

This post has been edited by senzr: Mar 19 2009, 09:21 PM
senzr
post Mar 20 2009, 12:04 AM

Is it me or is the connection really bad tonight?
senzr
post Apr 2 2009, 05:54 PM

Guys, msian credit cards work with SG PSN!

Dunno if you tried this out already or not, but we've always assumed that we can't download the costume packs because the msian PSN store isn't up yet. I never even bothered to link my credit card to my PSN.

Well, last night I just decided to try linking my msian credit card to my Singapore PSN account.

I just clicked on the Shoryuken costume pack (ryu, ken, akuma, gouken, dan) and Voila! It downloaded without a hitch! I paid SGD5.99 ~ RM14.33. Note, I have the Asian R3 version of the game.

There are 5 separate packs for all characters...a bit expensive if you ask me. On the other hand, there's a rumoured all-in-one pack coming out in awhile which costs less.

If you've got a msian credit card, R3 version of the game, and a singapore PSN account, go get your costume packs now!

Dan's costume alone is almost worth the price of the pack....ALMOST....haha.

senzr
post Apr 14 2009, 08:34 PM

I'll be online tonight, psn id: senzr

Really hard to find kaki with good connection nowadays.
senzr
post Apr 20 2009, 10:28 PM

Here's the link to coverage of the World Championship exhibition matches in the US last weekend. Links to videos too.

http://www.eventhubs.com/news/2009/apr/17/...urday/#comments

Videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/tempzz

Final results from National & World SFIV Championships

The National and World Street Fighter IV Finals have ended. Details were posted live to this article as they happened.

Pre-event and 1st round happenings

* Jason Wilson (Dream Theater) couldn't make it to the event because of plane trouble.
* It's been rumored that Justin Wong beat Poongko 5-1 in a casual match the night before.
* Eric Kim and Ari "Floe" Weintraub lost in the 1st round. Both players use Sagat.
* Jason Cole (Boxer) and Chris "CSB" (Boxer) Justin Wong (Rufus) and Mike Ross (E. Honda) advanced to the second round.

Round 2

* Chris 'CSB' (Boxer) and Rahsaan 'EvilRahsaan' (Dhalsim) lost in the second round.
* Jason Cole, Justin Wong, Antawn Ortiz and Mike Ross all advanced to Round 3.

Round 3

* Justin Wong (Rufus) defeated Jason Cole (Boxer) 4 rounds to 1.
* Mike Ross (E. Honda) defeated Antawn Ortiz (Boxer) 4 rounds to 1.

Finals Match

* Justin Wong (Rufus) vs. Mike Ross (E. Honda). Justin Wong won 4-1 in the best of 7 set.

The Street Fighter IV World Finals featured the following players:

Daigo Umehara, also known as, The Beast. Simply put, a Street Fighter legend.
Iyo who recently won the Japanese National SFIV tournament.
Poongko who won the Korean SFIV National Tournament and is known for playing an extremely aggressive style of play.
Justin Wong who is regarded as one of the best fighting game players around, period. Justin was the only American in this part of the competition.

senzr
post Apr 20 2009, 11:13 PM

Ya, but poongko still lost to daigo. guess slow n steady still wins rclxms.gif

I really expected poongko to put up more of a fight with his mixup skillz. but daigo's psychic power crushed him.

good matches all round, tho.
senzr
post Apr 22 2009, 02:06 AM

Just wanted to share an interesting thread on 'priority linking' technique discussion over on the SRK forums.

http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=186686

It's similar to the piano technique for getting more inputs when doing a special move, but this is specifically applied to normal move links. It's basically pressing 2 buttons ALMOST at the same time so that the game will register the stronger input twice in 1 frame. Handy for connecting those links with a 1 frame window.

Good stuff!
senzr
post Apr 22 2009, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(kileak @ Apr 22 2009, 11:55 AM)
senzr, why don't you get some guys on this thread to come over to your place for a good old face-to-face brawl out? Arcade-style, winner stays. Put a bowl in front of your TV, charge 20 cents/game.
Haha, I don't know about that. You already know first hand that I can't fit more than 3 players. The thought did cross my mind to charge for games. Those hori sticks ain't cheap!!

@rawfish & masteralvin:
Here is a video one of the guys on SRK did to illustrate the priority linking technique clearly:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVK5Kghkqsw&fmt=18

I've been trying to use 2-button piano technique for specials, but now it looks like it works for linking normals too.

Here's the original 'walking demon' trick discovered by the Japanese:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dBubtTjRX0

The Japanese call it 'tsuji' links or something something...
senzr
post Apr 22 2009, 11:25 PM

@ Phyurix

The Madcatz TE stick comes with a Sanwa stick and Sanwa buttons, which is what they use in Japanese arcade cabinets. Hey, if it's good enough for Daigo, it's good enough for me! tongue.gif

I have the HRAP3 SA (Special Addition), which comes with the same Sanwa parts as the Madcatz TE. I'm no pro, but the stick is very responsive and light, in a square gate. The Sanwa buttons are also super responsive to the touch. At first, they will feel TOO sensitive, but this is actually to your benefit once you get used to it, especially with the strict timing needed for inputs in the game. Sometimes, just brushing against the buttons will cause an input. But after awhile, you'll learn to love it. Compared to the regular HRAP3 (with Hori buttons), the Sanwa buttons are lighter to press and release, and overall more responsive. Guess you get what you pay for...these things aren't cheap.

I also have the Hori Fighting Stick 3, which comes with Hori's own stick and buttons. Compared to Sanwa hardware, it doesn't have that 'precision' feel...dunno how else to describe it. But it is still a very good stick. The stick is pretty responsive when new, though only time will tell if it can take the abuse for long. I've tried an older HFS2 which had quite a bit of mileage on it, and it felt loose. I needed to move it further to get the 'click'. The buttons on the HFS3 are okay...a bit more resistance when pressing it compared to the Sanwa buttons. My only other gripe is that the stick is smaller and lighter compared to the HRAP3 and can move about on the table with vigorous inputs. The heavier HRAP3 is rock solid. Doesn't move at all. At a bit more than half the price of a HRAP3, the HFS2 is still a pretty good buy.

I wouldn't go for those RM100 sticks tho...IMO you get what you pay for. Mastering those crazya$$ FADC combos WILL torture your stick, so might as well make sure it'll last.

Added on April 22, 2009, 11:27 pmJust to add one more thing...

Those of you using USB adapters for your sticks should ALWAYS unplug them when updating PS3 firmware. There have been a lot of reports of PS3s bricking with the USB adapters plugged in.

This post has been edited by senzr: Apr 22 2009, 11:29 PM
senzr
post Apr 23 2009, 01:48 AM

@ rawfish

You're right, and I'm right. SA = Sanwa

But "Special Addition" is also printed on the box and faceplate.

I heart Japlish cool2.gif

Unfortunately, this stick is wasted on me. It doesn't help my scrubby skillz. I've never got my ass kicked with so much precision before doh.gif

This post has been edited by senzr: Apr 23 2009, 01:50 AM
senzr
post Apr 23 2009, 02:09 PM

@ eddy

Just wondering...why would you wanna mod your Madcatz TE? It already comes loaded with Sanwa parts, which are just as good, if not better than Seimitsu, right?
senzr
post May 6 2009, 12:59 AM

@ rawfish and all other networkin sifus...

I've been getting bad lag and find it very hard to connect to local lyn players, whether i'm hosting or joining.

I did some homework on port forwarding ps3 and NAT type, and I kinda get the concept. But I have a disease called networksettingphobia, so before I try to mess with my router and ps3 settings, I just wanna ask one thing:

I already have a NAT 2 type connection through my router. Do I still have to do port forwarding?
senzr
post May 6 2009, 02:36 AM

Oh, sorry.

I tot I saw a post from you a few pages back about doing homework on port forwarding to help improve game connections.

Anyway, to other networkin sifus...the question still stands: Is NAT Type 2 good enough for stable games?
senzr
post May 6 2009, 11:34 AM

Thanks for all the replies on networking.

I think since I already have NAT 2, I'll leave it at that. Don't wanna screw anything up.

Just really frustrated that I can't connect more often to local players. Championship mode is all but useless since most of the players I get are overseas. Playing a friggin' slideshow most of the time.

0.0444sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:50 AM