122 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Dec 3 2009, 06:13 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tongserseng @ Dec 3 2009, 02:31 PM)
Sometimes while harvesting i also headach  doh.gif ........... after the baby bird fledged the mother bird already lay egg before i havest the nest.................. doh.gif  doh.gif  Want to harvest every two weekly worried will disturb the bird population speed................ once in a month harvesting also feel like not comfortable as not many nest can be harvested for my 14 months old BH with around 130 nest.....
Currently only every 6 weeks then i servicing my BH and do harvesting.......... end up most of the nest can not harvest due to egg already in the nest after the baby bird fledged........those nest harvested many of them have more than 2 layers but lucky my buyer still good enough offer me 3.1k/kg for those thicker corner and dirty nest. Want me throw egg ??????????? kill the future bird that make nest for you ???????
I not able to do it ..................... notworthy.gif Any sifu here can advice on this matter  notworthy.gif ??????????? Cause some of my BH nest 3 layers already still not able to harvest ............... rclxub.gif
Interesting point there? Some friends suggested shifting of eggs to a fake nest or putting extra eggs to the other nests; I don't believe in either ways will work......

Just to share some experiences, I not only not harvest my corner nests during the initial period, I left the corners there (sometime Blocked it with paper) until it blocked the birds from building nests at the place and then they have no choice but to build next to it.....from my experience, they started building nest next to the corner nests and not only that, the next few generation birds seemed to build nests near the "mother of all nests". Initially, I had 90% corners but after a few generation of birds, I ended up 90% half cups. Although many argued that corner fetch lower market price but then, it didn't make sense to me cos if making lesser 25% will make the birds happier, I rather take lesser amount but then, my increment of birds will be much better than that of my neighbours.

That's the reason that I once had nests that form long row of nests and some even had more than 10 nests which sometime ago, a famous Sifu called it the "king of all nests" which were make up from a whole family of birds.

I did observed that when your birds get used to you, they seemed to ignore your presence in the BH and will remained in the BH as maybe they did feel safe with you and knew that you would do them no harm. Long ago, I had a BH just above my shop (home) and every off day, my wife and I used to go up to the BH and do maintenance and then end up to clean ourself or feeding the fishes at the pond just outside the BH. All the while, the birds remained in the BH circling around you and sometime one would missed and hit you. Thus, nobody knew that we were harvesting Birdnests then.....and it was really wonderful.

Me overtalking again, apologies.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 3 2009, 06:50 PM
hitokai
post Dec 3 2009, 07:51 PM

350 posts

sorry for barging in like that, im new to this trade and DO NOT own a BH but was doing supplying and such. The nest are consider good is they are over 2 finger wide and do not have any moisture on them? Thank you in advnace for the future comments.
tongserseng
post Dec 3 2009, 07:58 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 3 2009, 06:13 PM)
Interesting point there? Some friends suggested shifting of eggs to a fake nest or putting extra eggs to the other nests; I don't believe in either ways will work......

Just to share some experiences, I not only not harvest my corner nests during the initial period, I left the corners there (sometime Blocked it with paper) until it blocked the birds from building nests at the place and then they have no choice but to build next to it.....from my experience, they started building nest next to the corner nests and not only that, the next few generation birds seemed to build nests near the "mother of all nests". Initially, I had 90% corners but after a few generation of birds, I ended up 90% half cups. Although many argued that corner fetch lower market price but then, it didn't make sense to me cos if making lesser 25% will make the birds happier, I rather take lesser amount but then, my increment of birds will be much better than that of my neighbours.

That's the reason that I once had nests that form long row of nests and some even had more than 10 nests which sometime ago, a famous Sifu called it the "king of all nests" which were make up from a whole family of birds.

I did observed that when your birds get used to you, they seemed to ignore your presence in the BH and will remained in the BH as maybe they did feel safe with you and knew that you would do them no harm. Long ago, I had a BH just above my shop (home) and every off day, my wife and I used to go up to the BH and do maintenance and then end up to clean ourself or feeding the fishes at the pond just outside the BH. All the while, the birds remained in the BH circling around you and sometime one would  missed and hit you.  Thus, nobody knew that we were harvesting Birdnests then.....and it was really wonderful. 

Me overtalking again, apologies.
Brother WW all my BH nest are corner...........
42 pcs already Rm1.2k...........
130 nest is more than 3k........
Not harvest a bit tempted.........
If really left the corner nest there without harvest not sure how long will it takes for me to start harvesting ?????? rclxub.gif
If block corner nest by paper, will the bird make new nest on the paper ????????
For your info last two week morning count quantity already have 500 birds fledged out ...........
Thanks in advance Brother................

This post has been edited by tongserseng: Dec 3 2009, 08:02 PM
hackwire
post Dec 4 2009, 09:27 AM

4,256 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.p...t-money-iceberg

So moving money out millions of dollars is so easy in malaysia while on the other part of the bird nest have to go through so many red tapes and taxes.
West Wing
post Dec 5 2009, 10:24 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Dec 4 2009, 09:27 AM)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.p...t-money-iceberg

So moving  money out millions of dollars is so easy in malaysia while on the other part of the  bird nest have to go through so many red tapes and taxes.
It's always been the Perhilitan and their requirements. That's why we find it difficult to export unprocessed EBN oversea and need to sell to the Indonesian to export our raw EBN. Only Malaysian processed EBN will be more easier to export as the wifelife department is not involved. China allowed Malaysia to export unprocessed EBNs to China tax free ( EBN that are declared safe and with proper documentations) and we are not utilizing that advantage and we rather smuggle out or sell it to neighbouring countries to export unprocessed EBNs cos of the difficulties and problems to export. Malaysia should infact be the centre for EBN export, a hub where all EBNs from neighbouring countries send their here to be reexported to oversea instead of we selling to the Indo middle men to reexport to oversea....sound stupid but true. By correcting the mistake, we may be the World biggest Exporter of EBN without needing to even own the most BHs.

Given our Government closed and friendly connection with China ( main importer of EBN), we should have taken the initiative to harvest the advantages that we now have or otherwise, when we missed the ship, when come another??????

Everything boleh here, killing a cat will land you in Jail but killing thousands of swiftlets is OK................to charge or not to charge, that's their right.

Am I right? or am I outdated?
Bobby C
post Dec 5 2009, 11:38 AM

663 posts

Tat why as stated earlier, Perhilitan is and is the BIGGEST CULPRIT aka MEGA RED TAPE of swiftlet industry.

If the gomen sincerely wants to help the country economy and increase GDP growth of 6% per annum, first thing they need to fix is to get rid of these red tapes 'infested' departments. The rest shall slowly fall in place, by Allah's grace.

And we shall achieve Vision 2020 sweat.gif.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Dec 5 2009, 11:40 AM
West Wing
post Dec 5 2009, 12:16 PM

1,397 posts

Oyes, Someone in Kuantan told me that Perhilitan also want BHs in Kuantan to pay Rm200 lesen for each BHs but to my knowledge, no one has pay them........
Cergau
post Dec 5 2009, 01:07 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Dec 5 2009, 11:38 AM)
Tat why as stated earlier, Perhilitan is and is the BIGGEST CULPRIT aka MEGA RED TAPE of swiftlet industry.

If the gomen sincerely wants to help the country economy and increase GDP growth of 6% per annum, first thing they need to fix is to get rid of these red tapes 'infested' departments. The rest shall slowly fall in place, by Allah's grace.

And we shall achieve Vision 2020  sweat.gif.
Bobby C,
Aside from ranting here to let off steam (which each of us frequently do biggrin.gif ), I propose the following
1)Education
We need to be on our toes & at every opportunity correct the bad press that seems to be coming our way.
eg (Star 04/Dec) - Local authority plans to look into ways to legalise swiftlet breeders
Extract ###
indiscriminate 'breeding' is inconveniencing the public & 'may' even pose a health hazard
The Kuala Selangor local council after 'hot discussions' is proposing
~ a yearly RM1,000 licence fee
~ centralising BHs ...... (he he I feel the temp rising)
End Extract ###
My observation - past BH reports are by the same reporter (benefit of the doubt given, that the reporter covers this area as part of his work).
I feel a serious lack of education on BN biz in the report. If the reporter was just reporting a press release that's fine but I think he/she could have done better if a certain degree of investigative journalism was applied.
If after some education the reporter continue on the same bias, then it becomes obvious......there's an agenda

2)Legislation
Propose we lobby our local MP to initiate a private member's bill to amend the WildLife Act to refine Aerodramus Fuciphagus into Domesticus & Fuciphagus. - (if you can't arrest the cancer... cut if off).
It does not matter which party the MP is from. In the process we will also test your MP if he/she has your interest at heart for our next exercise of our votes.
If as many here have implied that there is a conspiracy.. selective licensing of BHs & export/import licenses etc, then here is your opportunity to let both parties fight it out in the open. Let them dig & hang out the dirty linen. That's the power of a 2 party system which we must milk for the betterment of our beloved country. This is democracy, if one don't use it one only shortchange oneself. In the process one become an informed Malaysian.

Anyone who is on the DL task force appreciate you PM me with contact so I may start a conversation on how I may volunteer my time in some ways. Thanks

West Wing
post Dec 5 2009, 06:29 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tongserseng @ Dec 3 2009, 07:58 PM)
Brother WW all my BH nest are corner...........
42 pcs already Rm1.2k...........
130 nest is more than 3k........
Not harvest a bit tempted.........
If really left the corner nest there without harvest not sure how long will it takes for me to start harvesting ?????? rclxub.gif
If block corner nest by paper, will the bird make new nest on the paper ????????
For your info last two week morning count quantity already have 500 birds fledged out ...........
Thanks in advance Brother................
Beautiful, so you have over ...let see 250 heavy nests divided by 42 coming to 4 kilo....not bad at such time and buyers are ever ready..... many are complaining of no new nests but to those who really provided sanctuaries, they still have plenty of new nests, new chicks and new eggs to boost about...........one of followers of sanctuary's method of harvesting had a coffee break with me and told me that he was at his BH yesterday and was please the new nests showing at location just harvested after fledgling recently.

Secondly, What I meant on my last posting was during the initial period of having about 30 to 50 corner nests, I blocked some of the empty nests to force the birds to make nest next to its nests but at your counting of 250 corner empty nests, you must have over 1000 of nests in the BH but then, no way by now you still have 90% corners and maybe close to 50/50, I may believe lah....maybe your birds are different.

Or Bro, you must be kidding and April 1 is still far away. hahahaha....
hamidswiftlet
post Dec 5 2009, 07:47 PM

Dapatkan Suara Burung Walit yg berkualiti ngn Harga yg Berpatutan.di http://swiftletcd.blogspot.com
hackwire
post Dec 5 2009, 07:57 PM

4,256 posts

Cergau,What is DL task force ?
I think there won't be many like you who will take the research paper to the govt as the next step as it takes time to convince the cabinets to change the old laws . But it has to start somewhere . Those who already knew the in and out , probably just want to conduct seminars but hopefully they sent free invitation to the press and minister to broaden their mind and get them interested as well.

As we all know it will be difficult to group all the bird farmers together to form an association as later it will only become more political arena only. I know i have not reach the level to be the pioneer in the business but who ever out there already successful , wish that they will move toward the goal of clearing all the negative doubts by providing research material to the cabinet. And this is the part ... i believe any body who saw this as an income or revenue will again take advantage of the businessman. In Malaysia, every dept are involve and sub contractors are involve ...

I think the thoughts of legal way is basically none at all. Investors may come in legally but when withdraw , they are illegal...
Even a malaysia citizen are not spare but to work with them or close shop. If talk about licensing, what license ?? The council even dare to limit the number of license and sometime even delay up to how many years. So what if first year u are approved , how about the 2nd and third years?

Govt should think of creating more jobs and revenue appropriately and not always doubt this and that... we malaysian are famous for complaining and if the govt are serious to help , they could always study and propose the best place for the investo.

West Wing
post Dec 6 2009, 12:09 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hamidswiftlet @ Dec 5 2009, 07:47 PM)
Dapatkan Suara Burung Walit yg berkualiti ngn Harga yg Berpatutan.di http://swiftletcd.blogspot.com
Machang boleh jamin Suara Burung yang berkualiti , adakah "Money Refund" jaminan atau "cuba dahulu, bayar kemudian" jika berpuas. Harga yang berpatutan hanya atas kebolehan suara. Kalau tidak berguna, 10 ringgit pun sudah mahal dah! Adakah trak recod atau tempat bunyi tersebut telah dipakai untok membukti kekuatan nya dan bukan aklan sahaja, kawan. Saya ada ratus suara dan tidak pernah saya pakai menlainkan suara yang pertama (Lagu lama P. Ramli) yang telah berjaya medatangkan burung walit. Harap tuan punya suara datangkan walit dan bukan burung hantu ,,,,,,,hahahaha, Oleh demikian, harap dapat kawan meberikan sedikit bukti atau resume atas kebolehan suara kawan.

Ma'af jika terlebih demi kebaikan semua diforum ini..........

Asalam Mualaikum

Added on December 6, 2009, 12:19 pmYoung or capable or powerful or just anyone willing to help out for the betterment of the industry can always call up DL and knowing DL, he will be most helpful to tell you how you can help the industry in your area or to assist him in convincing the authorities to see the positive views of this industry and also to kick the ass of those who know nothing but acting as expert in this field thus causing so much more difficulties for those who are trying to help but hampered by those idiots.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 6 2009, 12:19 PM
hackwire
post Dec 6 2009, 01:56 PM

4,256 posts

thanks west wing, so DL is a person conducting a task force for the bird nest interest to eradicate the selfish and greedy people like those who wrote nonsense about the private BH owners?

I read a proposal in one of the blog by one idiot to push for the Eco PArk development . I think i read it in the blog call Iloveswiftletfarming. The Eco Park proposer mentioned all the negative and impact of the swiftlet shit and also the noise pollution in the city etc. But all his reasoning have no proven or supporting documents to convince the govt . He seems to be more interested in developing a place like a Condo developer . This sort of people are taking the bad things and complaint from the bad apples to convince the govt to let them develop land for their profits.
Can they guarantee success , value, swiftlet are happy, etc in the eco park? Why u need eco park to be license when everybody with a knowledge can start their own bird house .

What they are doing is not thinking of finding a better solution like using better methods to attract swiftlet instead of loud speaker or any anti-bacterial to treat the BH. They are just intereted to make money on top the food chain with just a simple proposal.

I like to kick their butt for this if i can ...

This post has been edited by hackwire: Dec 6 2009, 01:57 PM
Cergau
post Dec 6 2009, 02:00 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Dec 5 2009, 07:57 PM)
Cergau,What is DL task force ?
DL=David Lim, there is/was (not sure if it still exist) a task force formed by volunteers to fire fight when all hell broke loose towards the end of last year & the early part of this year. I wont repeat it here. You will need to read it up at V1 & initial part of this thread.
search for 'swiftlet' on this site, you will find bothe V1 & V2 (current thread).
I think there won't be many like you who will take the research paper to the govt as the next step as it takes time to convince the cabinets to change the old laws . But it has to start somewhere . Those who already knew the in and out , probably just want to conduct seminars but hopefully they sent free invitation to the press and minister to broaden their mind and get them interested as well.
I wasn't proposing to take anything to the cabinet. Your local MP has a right and responsibility to introduce new/amend laws too. It doesn't have to be the cabinet to initiate them though sadly that's how anything get's done in M'sia. There is a campaign by the Bar Council to 're-aquaint' the M'sian constitution to the general public. There was a writeup in the paper abt the campaign 2-4 weeks ago, but the campaign proper was not carried by the mainstream papers. To be fair I have not googled for the campaign on the net myself, truth be told I am cynical of the mainstream papers to their impartiality knowing that they are mostly controlled either thru political parties of thru current legislation. My point of these info is... know your rights then you know what you can or cannot do... legally and your local MP has the right & responsibility.

As we all know it will be difficult to group all the bird farmers together to form an association as later it will only become more political arena only. I know i have not reach the level to be the pioneer in the business but who ever out there already successful , wish that they will move toward the goal of clearing all the negative doubts by providing research material to the cabinet.
There are folks here on this forum that contributed to the fire fighting during the recent crisis. Don't lose hope, decency is still alive here. If we keep analysing the situation and not do anything..what some folks call analysis- paralysis..nothing is improved. I for one is not willing to sit around to find the worst hitting me unprepared. If I lose I lose trying opposed to not doing anything. Remember you are not powerless.. you chose to change it or sit and wait for whatever that is dished out to you..your choice.
Wheter any association gets hijacked politically or not doesnt really matter at this moment. Like what a Siamese forumer here mentioned ...politics kind of catch up on you if you are in any business.
Point being... We do what we can to each of our ability and hope not be overly disappointed if we fail.

And this is the part ... i believe any body who saw this as an income or revenue will again take advantage of the businessman. In Malaysia, every dept are involve and sub contractors are involve ...
I think the thoughts of legal way is basically none at all. Investors may come in legally but when withdraw , they are illegal...
Even a malaysia citizen are not spare but to work with them or close shop. If talk about licensing, what license ?? The council even dare to limit the number of license and sometime even delay up to how many years. So what if first year u are approved , how about the 2nd and third years?
Govt should think of creating more jobs and revenue appropriately and not always doubt this and that... we malaysian are famous for complaining and if the govt are serious to help , they could always study and propose the best place for the investo.
All the more we shdnt accept a bad system. Not just not accepting but do something... not just talk amongst friends.. write to the papers. Share your feelings about a particular situation. Sooner or later (I hope sooner) a critical mass of like minded vocal people will be achieved and pressure will build up for changes to take place. Recall the last election? People are working to have local elections, so there is hope.. if you stand up and be counted. There is nothing wrong or illegal about it, it;s you right.

hackwire
post Dec 6 2009, 10:46 PM

4,256 posts

Thanks Cergau for the advise above.
I saw this writer post about the Perhilitan . Has this problem been solved ? What happen to the law now for exporter of bird nest.
Can anyone take out the raw bird nest out from Malaysia now?
The article was written back in 2008, i wonder if that has change ?

PERHILITAN

Post 1323

QUOTE(alexdiong @ Jul 23 2008, 08:25 AM)
Anyone saw the banner in KLIA about imposing tax on bird nest? I guess there are just too many people taking it to China by hand-carrying.

The banner in KLIA heard from quite a number of souces before so it should be true. Put up by PERHILITAN clowns to show power. Early this year a few cases of nests being brought out through airport was seized. Even an old lady bringing out 1 tael(両) of processed nests as gift also kena seized. Officially they're in charge of Taman Negara and cave nests. But do the clowns have the jurisdiction over house nests? It's an unclear area of the law. There was these 2 cases of 6kg and 1kg seized by them. Later on the bird nest merchant association of state preparing to fight for their rights in courst the clowns immediately dropped charges and returned the nests. (sources from Mr.L of Kedah Birdnest Merchant Association)
So do they really have the jurisdiction on house nests? What they have is on cave nests only. House nests are different story. Just like catching wild arowana is illegal but buying commercially breed arowana is no problem.

This post has been edited by seeseng: Jul 27 2008, 01:38 PM

aeiou228
post Dec 7 2009, 12:25 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Dec 6 2009, 10:46 PM)
Thanks Cergau for the advise above.
I saw this writer post about the Perhilitan . Has this problem been solved ? What happen to the law now for exporter of bird nest.
Can anyone take out the raw bird nest out from Malaysia now?
The article was written back in 2008, i wonder if that has change ?
No change. The banner is still there when I last seen in October 09.
hackwire
post Dec 7 2009, 12:38 AM

4,256 posts

after reading some of the back post, the business of bird farming is been treated like a pirated dvd business. original dvd distributors only manipulated by the big companies such as Berjaya Ezy video and Speedy Video.

The scenario is pretty similar. They allow illegals pirated business to operate because of the underworld link of some big shots and authorities. they are partners in crime. my ganster dvd supplier told me this.

So those who wants to operate legal and license dVD shop cannot run because illegal one is mushrooming everywhere. So many owners who love movie as hobby cannot have this dream of opening a small dvd shop.

this is Bolehland.... i think the price of swiftlet is expensive also because of the domino effect.
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Dec 7 2009, 07:17 AM

223 posts

Nice to read the recent posts. Go ahead, the research. Perhilitan & DVS both claim they are 'currently in progress' doing research about swiftlets. They have been saying this since i can remember.

Scientific research... so far i only know of Dr. Lim Chan Koon's (yang Malaysian). You can read them in 'Edible Nest Swiftlets Management In Asia' compiled by Perhilitan. For associations, i'd suggest we go for SIA's or social impact studies since this can address the issues (baseless or not) surrounding the industry. This should be doable with the right approach.

Play whatever part we can for the betterment of the industry. Some friends say 'Why confront & provoke agencies?'... all i can say is that we should not feel comfortable and just wait for them to knock at our doors (especially enforcement)... i say we meet them head on and resolve the issues. We need hardliners for stuff like this. Write to papers, complain to agencies, communicate with politicians. Any of them trying to take advantage, we should be able to keep them in check. The KT by election was one rather crude but effective example (some say uncle tok was being harsh, i say thats the way to do it!).
hackwire
post Dec 7 2009, 10:09 AM

4,256 posts

sorry gor being a noob here , what is DVS and SIA? where got sell this book ..Edible Nest Swiftlets Management In AsiaBH
I try to get some books to learn the trade . nobody is interested to do it illegal. we also need to study why or how Govt of Singapore do it? i wonder if singapore have BH?

I just find the eco park agency or seller are not right. i mean why do they need to built the building but not doing the farming themselves if they call them self a true Bird nest farmer. It seems like their passion is building and structure . When i read the proposal, they are hitting it badly on the negative side of the illegal farmers. Ok, i mean its fine if the thing or impact of hazard is present to affect the community like bird shit and unclean bird house but i believe if any of the BH farmer causes bacterial disease to their neighbor, u think we are not afriad of getting jail or pay damages to the people? Common sense right. The authority need to go spot check every week or months meh? If there's any case in the vicinity, im sure the authority will know already and this farmer will be held responsible for it .

The situation i see is the authority harrassing and manipulating the law. State officers don't even have a degree in farming or poultry. Why so prejudice when come to breeding birds when Chicken and Duck is also birds by nature. Maybe, as a bird nest farmer, they should look at other methods to attract swiftlet instead of blasting sound . I am still curious why sound is so effective and is it the only way? how about smell? How about sound with lower decibel which cannot be heard by human level??? that's y we need to improvise further or research more by going legal and expand...

West Wing
post Dec 7 2009, 10:10 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Dec 7 2009, 07:17 AM)
Nice to read the recent posts. Go ahead, the research. Perhilitan & DVS both claim they are 'currently in progress' doing research about swiftlets. They have been saying this since i can remember.

Scientific research... so far i only know of Dr. Lim Chan Koon's (yang Malaysian). You can read them in 'Edible Nest Swiftlets Management In Asia' compiled by Perhilitan. For associations, i'd suggest we go for SIA's or social impact studies since this can address the issues (baseless or not) surrounding the industry. This should be doable with the right approach.

Play whatever part we can for the betterment of the industry. Some friends say 'Why confront & provoke agencies?'... all i can say is that we should not feel comfortable and just wait for them to knock at our doors (especially enforcement)... i say we meet them head on and resolve the issues. We need hardliners for stuff like this. Write to papers, complain to agencies, communicate with politicians. Any of them trying to take advantage, we should be able to keep them in check. The KT by election was one rather crude but effective example (some say uncle tok was being harsh, i say thats the way to do it!).
Personally, I think we should use Tai Chi.......push and pull. Only use force when really require but try soft approaches whenever possible....that way, neither sides will end up bruise or badly hurt. Give other face and we end up having a new friend instead of a enemy. In our industry, better to have friends and no enemy. Convincing opposition/trouble makers to be on our side if possible but then you need guys who really can talk sweet flowers and birds singing to be successful and I ain't that guy cos I F*** more than I can convince lah. Good and successful salesmen are that type of persons we need and anyone around??????

Again, that's my own view on the matter concerned.

Added on December 7, 2009, 10:53 am
QUOTE(hackwire @ Dec 6 2009, 01:56 PM)
thanks west wing, so DL is a person conducting a task force for the bird nest interest to eradicate the selfish and greedy people like those who wrote nonsense about the private BH owners?

I read a proposal in one of the blog by one idiot to push for the Eco PArk development . I think i read it in the blog call Iloveswiftletfarming. The Eco Park proposer mentioned all the negative and impact of the swiftlet shit and also the noise pollution in the city etc. But all his reasoning have no proven or supporting documents to convince the govt . He seems to be more interested in developing a place like a Condo developer . This sort of people are taking the bad things and complaint from the bad apples to convince the govt to let them develop land for their profits.
Can they guarantee success , value, swiftlet are happy, etc in the eco park? Why u need eco park to be license when everybody with a knowledge can start their own bird house .

What they are doing is not thinking of finding a better solution like using better methods to attract swiftlet instead of loud speaker or any anti-bacterial to treat the BH. They are just intereted to make money on top the food chain with just a simple proposal.

I like to kick their butt for this if i can ...
Eco Park's concept of birds park even has nursery for the chicks meaning that they are going to harvest all the nest in approximated 45 days cycle and take all eggs and artificially hatch the eggs and then hand feed the chicks which already is against the wildlife act and why the Perhilitan has no objection in the matter.

If Perhilitan still consider swiftlets as wild, then action must be taken against the Eco guys. I believe that what they are doing is only pretext for harvesting the nests illegally (throwing the eggs and chicks into dustbins in the later stage, I presume)......initially they may do all the above but gradually, they will not because it take alot of labour and time not to mention the cost of doing so. Added to it, there is no assurance that the birds will return to the same place to breed after fledgling. Unless they cage the birds and rear the birds like chicken farms........that will hell for the free birds if possible and what the Perhilitan going to do about it?

Someone asked why the problems facing the industry are posted in this forum cos I believe that many of Government Departments like Perhilitan and Veterinary are reading our forum for signs, feedbacks and idea on industry plus the public's opinions in the matter.

Again, above are my own opinions and suggestions on the matter, apology if offended.

Added on December 7, 2009, 6:56 pmI am glad that the terms created by me "Swiftlet Sanctuaries" has been widely used and I hope that the authorities esp. the Veterinary and Perhilitan understand that we, the providers of the SS are infact helping them to preserve the Swiftlets species........ and that they are suppose and should provide us full assistance and not to create hardship and difficulties. Public and other agencies may not understand us maybe but surely not the Perhilitan or the Veterinary as we are infact providing Swiftlets Sanctuaries and in the same time creating wealth and jobs opportunities for the nation. Not to mentioned that we have help so many other industries to prosper and all dead or wasted buildings have been utillised by us to create wealth and opportunities. That's our PM understand and hope that all will end well for the industry.

Another that I am proud to be the one to bring to the attention of the authorities toward the "One Stop Center" for all applications for this industry during the Seremban Workshop. We do not want to run round in circle from departments to departments.......just one department will do to handle all applications and the department concerned will do the needful for us if necessary.

Appologies for being proud as I believe that I did something right for once toward the bettement of the industry.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 7 2009, 06:56 PM

122 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.1646sec    1.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:50 AM