122 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

coolandy
post Aug 17 2009, 06:47 AM

314 posts

In weather systems, air always flow from cold regions (high pressure) to warm regions (low pressure) where the warm air rises.

What CWG probably says is that in a closed system, heated air could not expand and hence builds up more pressure.
hamidswiftlet
post Aug 17 2009, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 16 2009, 02:12 PM)
Rearing swiftlets as agriculture: Mukhriz

2009/08/15

KULIM, Sat: Rearing of swiftlets should be made one of the industries in the country's agriculture sector because of its lucrative income, Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Mukriz Mahathir said today.

He said the technology in the rearing of swiftlets had changed and that the bird could be bred using the hatchery process and then reared for its nests.

Speaking to reporters after opening an association for agriculture and agro-based industry entrepreneurs and a swiftlet rearing project here, he said such a project was being carried out by the association at Kampung Sungai Tengas, near here.

Some 8,000 birds were being reared in the project and when fully operational was expected to yield an income of RM120,000 a month, he added. -- BERNAM

Hanya orang bodoh yang bercahaya.......Ramai orangĀ  dulu dibodohkan, sekarang pun ada orangĀ  bodoh lagi. Hanya orang politic bolih cakap bergini dan ada juga orang bercahaya........
8000 dpt hasil 120.000 sebulan?, heeee.... kira baik-baik beb..

ehm nampaknya masa depan industri ni semakin gelap.. pelbagai masalah akan timbul seperti penyakit (selsema burung),perubahan= kos, fisikal walit, habitat, harga sarang, kandungan dan sebagainya. terlalu berisiko dan banyak kelemahan sebab menternak walit sudah lama di buat di indonesia tapi ramai tidak mampu untuk teruskannya

dato Mukriz tidak boleh di persalahkan sebab beliau kemungkinan besar tidak tahu sepenuhnya industri ini .

This post has been edited by hamidswiftlet: Aug 17 2009, 05:52 PM
West Wing
post Aug 17 2009, 11:32 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hamidswiftlet @ Aug 17 2009, 05:43 PM)
8000 dpt hasil 120.000 sebulan?, heeee.... kira baik-baik beb..

ehm nampaknya masa depan industri ni semakin gelap.. pelbagai masalah akan timbul seperti penyakit (selsema burung),perubahan=  kos, fisikal walit, habitat, harga sarang, kandungan dan sebagainya. terlalu berisiko dan banyak kelemahan sebab menternak walit sudah lama di buat di indonesia tapi ramai tidak mampu untuk teruskannya

dato Mukriz tidak boleh di persalahkan sebab beliau kemungkinan besar tidak tahu sepenuhnya industri ini .
Itu lah orang Politic.....semua pun dia tahu , yang tak tahu pun tahu.
Mau tujuk kebolihan, saya fikir lah.

Tanya yang tahu bukan orang yang pandai angkat kaki sahaja and dengar dahulu nanti dinampak bodoh. Sayang bukan..............

Maaf kalau ada terlebihan cakap, Asalam Mualaikum
autopilot
post Aug 19 2009, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 17 2009, 11:32 PM)
Itu lah orang Politic.....semua pun dia tahu , yang tak tahu pun tahu.
Mau tujuk kebolihan, saya fikir lah.

Tanya yang tahu bukan orang yang pandai angkat kaki sahaja and dengar  dahulu nanti dinampak bodoh. Sayang bukan..............

Maaf kalau ada terlebihan cakap, Asalam Mualaikum
ya mah, like tat so simple also dunno meh.....

8000 birds = 4000 nests (1 male & 1 female bird each nest)
4000 nests = 40 Kilo
so every month you sapu 40Kilo & sell lor
1 Kilo = Rm3000 at least, 40Kilo = RM120,000 se tiap bulan lor chun chun one no miss one

wa.... really ngau lun so hehe

coolandy
post Aug 19 2009, 03:42 PM

314 posts

Sadly there are so many CON MEN in this world. The politicians just read out what their runners have typed out for them.

Siapa yang ramai akan kena tipu?
West Wing
post Aug 20 2009, 12:42 PM

1,397 posts

Mr West Wing,

My BH zinc roof creates a lot of noise during raining. Will this scare away the swiftlets?

Some people say the humidity level above 85% is to make sure that the nest won't crack (due to dryness). And it won't affect the swiftlet to stay in the BH even the humidity level is below 70%. What is your opinion on this?

Another question, may I know the lifespan of a swiftlet?

My Answers and only my Opinions only

1. Loud Noises not only will scare birds but other animals too. How do you feel if you are living under a noisy zinc roof...ou surely will go to the next door's comfort home....unless you have no choice.
2.Yes but high humidity is good for the nest and also good for the the eggs and chicks but must not be cold.....and cold is worst than dry.............
3. Life span????? Some expert say 12, other say 15 and others have other says and I say it all depand, if healthy living, live longer lah but at least 10 years if nothing happened...hahahaha

swift4ever
post Aug 21 2009, 08:17 AM

263 posts

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/74652?tid=9

Segamat Local Council is doing the legal way with court order! Good job, isn't it? Others should follow suit. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Aug 21 2009, 08:21 AM
aeiou228
post Aug 21 2009, 11:42 AM

5,867 posts

I was in Brinchang CH 7.30pm the previous night and I saw a lot of swiftlets flying home in town. The next morning, I took a closer look at the nest ( right below the roof and outside of the hotel building ) and found that they are all grass nest. This observation suggest that swiftlet's egg still can be hatched at such a climate (chilly and windy).
Bobby C
post Aug 21 2009, 07:02 PM

663 posts

Good job Perhilitan, broke into Mukah bhs, killing chicks and now issue wildlife permit.

This department is turning the country upside down!

M'kini
Why a convicted smuggler gets wildlife permits?
Hazlan Zakaria
Aug 21, 09
6:13pm

A group of animal rights activists, NGOs and Pakatan MPs today lodged a police report against Perhilitan over the issuance of permits to convicted wildlife smuggler Anson Wong.

The report was lodged at around 10.30am at the Brickfields district police headquarters.

Lawyer N Surendren made the report in his capacity as president of the Malaysian Animal Rights Society (Roar) and on behalf of Petpositive, Malaysian Animal Welfare Society (Maw), Teluk Intan MP M Manogaran and Kapar MP S Manikavasagam.

According to the Roar president, Wong - dubbed 'Pablo Escobar' of the illegal international wildlife trade - is allegedly still being issued permits and given assistance by Perhilitan despite his conviction and subsequent incarceration in Mexico and the United States for wildlife smuggling.

Wong was indicted in 2001 based on evidence from a three-year joint 'sting' operation conducted by the governments of Mexico and United States in conjunction with Interpol for the illegal transport of endangered animal species to Mexico and the United States.

"I have seen the permits," Surendren said, adding that it is puzzling why someone convicted with wildlife smuggling would still be issued permits to transport, keep or hunt wildlife.

"He is stripping our forest of wildlife, naked... we might as well appoint a serial rapist for a teacher in a girl's school," he remarked.

More so, Surendren expressed the shared disappointment of his fellow animal rights activist with Perhilitan's failure to do its job in protecting our wildlife.

"We no longer have faith in Perhilitan to protect our wildlife. We believe this is because of corruption in the enforcement body," he added.

"Today it stops, we know who you are, we are coming for you," warns Surendren to wildlife smugglers and the allegedly corrupt Perhilitan officers alike.

Because of their lack of faith in Perhilitan, Surendren now puts his faith in the police to enforce the law of the land and protect the animals.

Last Friday, another report was filed by Surendren and another with the Malaysian Anti-Coruption Commission over the alleged corruption of Perhilitan officers.

On Monday, Deputy director-general I Misliah Mohamad Basir denied the allegations in a statement to media stating that "as far as Malaysia is concerned, he abides by local laws and has the necessary licences. What he does outside the country is not our concern."

Famous for the wrong reason

Teluk Intan MP Manogaran who was also present, added that this is another case where "Malaysia is famous for the wrong reason." He lamented that not only are we known as the hub for the trafficking of drugs and people, we are also now apparently the hub for the illegal wildlife trade.

"We will be taking this matter up in parliament," said Kapar MP Manikasavagam, reiterating the seriousness of the issue.

Manikasavagam was there in support of the animal rights activists, as well as, to lodge another police report pertaining to the 'mystery letter' which came up during the Teoh Beng Hock inquest.

Also present was Francis Siva from the Independent Living & Training Centre and Petpositive president Anthony Thanasayan (right).

Both organisations advocates the use of animals and visits to wildlife for disability rehabilitation.

They are here to show their support for the rights of the animals which according to them play a huge part in helping the disabled.

globalexm
post Aug 23 2009, 12:54 PM

33 posts

Persekutuaan Persatuan Pedagang Sarang Burung Malaysia (PPPSBM) & JPV @ News

Keratan Akhbr: - http://www.gem.socialgo.com/forum/topic/103

This post has been edited by globalexm: Aug 23 2009, 02:21 PM
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Aug 23 2009, 01:11 PM

223 posts

Sorry guys, just bumping in to tell you guys to read Starmag (23 August). Kudos to Datuk Beh & Dr. Lim.

Will comment later about that "revolusi penternakan burung layang-layang".

Just some things that Dr. Lim & Datuk Beh failed to get in the paper (maybe because of censorship);

First of all is how essential it is for revising or removing Aerodramus fucipagus from the endangered list, saying so there is a need for PERHILITAN to go back and read the definition set by international conventions. To strengthen the first point, there is a need for a national scale independent survey/study on house nests/swiftlet farms population, epidemiology and other necessary information. This research can further prove that there is no known case of bird flu transmission from house swiftlets to humans and at the same time rebutting any claims by any counter productive agency that strives at killing this industry. Let PERHILITAN monitor cave nests, they have no right oppressing house nests/ranch owners.

The second most important issue is the location of swiftlet hotels and jurisdiction of local authorities. This has been a never ending story since both the hotel owners & local authorities are playing the blame game and at the same time both are at fault. One side being errant not following guidelines blasting sounds 24/7 and other violations of undang-undang kecil PBT, the other not issuing licenses even when all terms are met. This is where the race issue is commonly played. There is no easy solution for this, and the authorities must carefully go through options that will benefit each party fairly. The 1Malaysia concept is essential.

Next, is the issue of con-men claiming as professional consultants of the industry. One of the reasons the failure rate is as high as 80% (according to Dr. Lim) is due to unscrupulous individuals or groups charging ridiculous amounts for advice/consultancy for bird house projects that are doomed for failure. There must be something done to curb such parties from damaging the industry's image.

Last but not least is educating not only the public, but also the agencies involved. Many a time i have been personally disgusted at how negative some agency officers can be when talking about this industry, and this is out of their own ignorance and refusal to understand properly the issues involved. Words like "Saya tak minat dan tak nak ambil tahu pasal rumah burung" and similar attitudes is not uncommon.

Hopefully those from the Prime Minister's Department are getting proper advice from the proper people. The wrong advice from the wrong people with hidden agendas will result in some form of industry monopoly (outsourcing licenses/permits/taxes/endless red tape etc).
globalexm
post Aug 23 2009, 01:22 PM

33 posts

The Star

[B]Are they really healthy? -

Swift fortunes await -

Farming nests -

Home sweet home -

[SIZE=7]Rujukan: http://www.gem.socialgo.com/forum/topic/103

This post has been edited by globalexm: Aug 23 2009, 02:24 PM
Semuabumi
post Aug 24 2009, 10:54 AM

45 posts

Sifu West Wing,

I have a question for you hope you can help. I heard a friend says all swiftlets eggs in his farm drop to the floor.
What is the reason? The parents reject the eggs?

Thank you in advance.
dc_hunter
post Aug 24 2009, 02:15 PM

124 posts

Hi

I'm new in this forum and i have been in this indusry for 2 year.

Can i know where i can enroll the Bird Nest cleaning and re-mould process in KL? (other than the course provided by Nxst Txch)

West Wing
post Aug 26 2009, 09:38 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Aug 24 2009, 10:54 AM)
Sifu West Wing,

I have a question for you hope you can help. I heard a friend says all swiftlets eggs in his farm drop to the floor.

Thank you in advance.
I am still in Hospital and just an small operation and hope all's well. Will be in Hospital for the next few days hopefully and since your posting is address to me, I will reply ti the best of my present situation.

Swiftlets do push their bad eggs out of the nests and all the nests is the first time I heard and it sound danger and something very serious. Ask your friend what did he did with the birdhouse and with that you will find the reason providing that the BH at least a year old.

Can't write much due to the pain and only able to read postings now and will rest now.
Semuabumi
post Aug 26 2009, 10:35 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 26 2009, 09:38 PM)
I am still in Hospital and just an small operation and hope all's well. Will be in Hospital for the next few days hopefully and since your posting is address to me, I will reply ti the best of my present situation.

Swiftlets do push their bad eggs out of the nests and all the nests is the first time I heard and it sound danger and something very serious. Ask your friend what did he did with the birdhouse and with that you will find the reason  providing that the BH at least a year old.

Can't write much due to the pain and only able to read postings now and will rest now.
Sifu,

Didn't know that you're not well. Take care and have good rest. You will be well soon.

Thank you for your reply. Will check with him.

Have a good rest.
Lucas 1
post Aug 26 2009, 11:43 PM

236 posts

W.W, What are you doing in hospital? Holidaying? Having your piles fixed? Take a good rest and relax.......... Dont have to worry about your birds, they won't fly away..........
TSseeseng
post Aug 26 2009, 11:58 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Aug 24 2009, 10:54 AM)
Sifu West Wing,

Thank you in advance.
Check the condition of eggs. Broken or not. If not broken try bounce the egg on floor. If it bounce back like a ping-pong and will not break mean the egg already dead. Parents already dumped the egg from nest. Normally due to extreme cold or hot condition cause this type of dead eggs.
swift4ever
post Aug 27 2009, 10:33 AM

263 posts

Long time no see Seeseng! Eggs bounce like ping-pong? Are you refering to the real eggs? I guess many including me don't know dead bird egg can be played like ping-pong. mega_shok.gif
coolandy
post Aug 27 2009, 11:07 AM

314 posts

Wishing West Wing a quick recovery.

With so many doctors in the family, sure get good treatment.

122 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.2596sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:56 AM