127 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?

twwong
post Mar 16 2009, 01:52 AM

220 posts

Thank you all street fighter fellows for the fights, I learned 'A LOT' (and I mean it). To be honest I don't really like defensive/crouching/turtle/charging characters (used by humans) such as Guile, M.Bison, Balrog, Blanka, Vega and so forth because I find it difficult to defeat them :].

I'm always on the offensive/'ultra combo' aggressive side because that's my style for using characters like Akuma. If no one attacks the game would be 'boring' lol...
I get beaten up most of the time but as long as I can enjoy the game in my style nothing else matters biggrin.gif.

The turtle guy stated by my brother is a fellow forumer. He used Akuma against my Akuma, if I just stand or crouch there he would do NOTHING except 1 or 2 rare hadoukens sometimes, and it would be the 'staring' fight. I still can't believe I lost to him multiple times when I first fought him, maybe I wasn't familiar with the defensive style yawn.gif. And I defeated him recently in a match of 5 rounds, and I used mostly GRAPPLEs LOL.

This post has been edited by twwong: Mar 16 2009, 02:05 AM
kabuto rider kick
post Mar 16 2009, 02:10 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(twwong @ Mar 16 2009, 01:52 AM)
Thank you all street fighter fellows for the fights, I learned 'A LOT' (and I mean it). To be honest I don't really like defensive/crouching/turtle/charging characters (used by humans) such as Guile, M.Bison, Balrog, Blanka, Vega and so forth because I find it difficult to defeat them :].

I'm always on the offensive/'ultra combo' aggressive side because that's my style for using characters like Akuma. If no one attacks the game would be 'boring' lol...
I get beaten up most of the time but as long as I can enjoy the game in my style nothing else matters biggrin.gif.

The turtle guy stated by my brother is a fellow forumer. He used Akuma against my Akuma, if I just stand or crouch there he would do NOTHING except 1 or 2 rare hadoukens sometimes, and it would be the 'staring' fight. I still can't believe I lost to him multiple times when I first fought him, maybe I wasn't familiar with the defensive style yawn.gif. And I defeated him recently in a match of 5 rounds, and I used mostly GRAPPLEs LOL.
dude hv some manners when posting about others will ya,i read ur post before u edited it just now,i may not be the best fighters in the world but i dont recall doing NOTHING except for 1 or 2 hadoukens waiting for u to come to me,so pls dont talk rubbish like im some noob here
abel
post Mar 16 2009, 02:47 AM

571 posts

today tournament is my first time playing SF4 tongue.gif
nice to meet u all and thanks to alvin

This post has been edited by abel: Mar 16 2009, 02:48 AM
Darkstalker
post Mar 16 2009, 09:30 AM

214 posts

Just to clarify;

Balrog is NOT a defensive character. He's strongest on offence. I just haven't practised with the game enough to get the most out of it.

Practising safe ways to attack is important though. And when something doesn't work anymore, don't keep using it. Remember when I mirror matched Balrog yesterday and he kept catching me with the Turn Around Punch (TAP)? Had to stop doing attacks as he got up. tongue.gif

Btw, you should look into usin the Raging Demon as an anti cross up attack. Not sure if it would work (if Akuma turns around or not) but seems like a good idea.

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Mar 16 2009, 09:30 AM
Kyoyagami
post Mar 16 2009, 09:35 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Balrog is crazy on offence. Absorbing hits during his charge moves is by far the sickest thing I've seen in a SF game.
shinjite
post Mar 16 2009, 10:21 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

No wonder mike tyson can absorb hard punches during his prime
eddy230379
post Mar 16 2009, 11:45 AM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

sigh ... sweat.gif

if only i had the time i would have joined u all ...

by the way ... i m a guile user also ...

brows.gif
Joshi
post Mar 16 2009, 12:08 PM

thanks guys for the matches! Joshua here.. I'm gonna train up my El Feutre for the next "tournament"! Low Tier power ;D
TSalanmukkl
post Mar 16 2009, 12:11 PM

QUOTE(rawfish @ Mar 16 2009, 12:29 AM)
Don't hate the fat guy ler bro hehe.

Anyway, good games tonight and I'm sure everyone had fun! Hey Alan, thanks for putting this whole thing together, especially when it was back-to-back with your Dragonball event!

To Joshua and (sorry I forgot the other guy's name), if you're on PSN please add me - rawfish_us - didn't manage to get your PSN contacts as I had to leave early today.
Thanks guys...and YES I HATE YUN.....its like being his punching bag ...thank god i didnt play with Michael in the Arcade ....

Added on March 16, 2009, 12:12 pm
QUOTE(abel @ Mar 16 2009, 03:47 AM)
today tournament is my first time playing SF4 tongue.gif
nice to meet u all and thanks to alvin
taiko ...,

ADD ME AT alan_muk@hotmail.com for msn ok?

GUYS!!!

For those who didnt had a chance for a friendly game and win some T shirts and so on....not to worry...next Friendly matches will be sometime first week of next month...this time around, we are giving away STREET FIGHTER MOVIE STANDEE or other movie Standee...for the Champ !!! I know the Movie SUCK big time, but the Standee is a one off thing and its limited. It is also expensive to be printed so it worth something !!!! Also will include some T shirts and Goodies....

Hope you all love what we do for you guys and hope we all SF fans can maintain our community and as brothers !!!!

Love you all and thaks for your support !!!

Outpost Events and SF fan

Alan / Richard Chua

This post has been edited by alanmukkl: Mar 16 2009, 12:15 PM
Darkstalker
post Mar 16 2009, 12:12 PM

214 posts

I played Michael in the arcade, I think (he says he's the only Yun Genei Jin player).

HE COST ME ONE RINGGIT FIFTY CENTS (Urien, Makoto, Dudley).

EDIT: I remember this because it's hte only time I ever lost 3-0.

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Mar 16 2009, 12:13 PM
twwong
post Mar 16 2009, 12:40 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(kabuto rider kick @ Mar 16 2009, 02:10 AM)
dude hv some manners when posting about others will ya,i read ur post before u edited it just now,i may not be the best fighters in the world but i dont recall doing NOTHING except for 1 or 2 hadoukens waiting for u to come to me,so pls dont talk rubbish like im some noob here
Sorry if you think I was being rude, I've made some typing errors in my post. I just 'tried' to describe your style LAST TIME a little bit. I never said anything about newb or noob. I also want to say thank you because I learned something when fighting against you, patience is good if we know how to use it.

Just take it easy and enjoy the game.

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Mar 16 2009, 09:30 AM)
Just to clarify;

Balrog is NOT a defensive character.  He's strongest on offence.  I just haven't practised with the game enough to get the most out of it. 

Practising safe ways to attack is important though.  And when something doesn't work anymore, don't keep using it.  Remember when I mirror matched Balrog yesterday and he kept catching me with the Turn Around Punch (TAP)?  Had to stop doing attacks as he got up. tongue.gif

Btw, you should look into usin the Raging Demon as an anti cross up attack.  Not sure if it would work (if Akuma turns around or not) but seems like a good idea.
I've been trying to use the Raging Demon against cross up attacks but sadly most of the time it doesn't work T_T because AKUMA refuse to turn around! I tried doing the input in the opposite direction and it doesn't work. At least I could run away and still keep a distance :], but it's a waste of the ultra combo so I won't do it anymore.

This post has been edited by twwong: Mar 17 2009, 12:27 AM
maxwongsauwei
post Mar 16 2009, 01:26 PM

311 posts

WAHHHHHHHH

i want it on penang man~~~~~~
PENANG PENANG PENANG~~~~~~
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxwongsauwei: Mar 16 2009, 01:26 PM
rawfish
post Mar 16 2009, 01:27 PM

30 posts

Actually, on being defensive, turtling is a style which has been much discussed, debated, disinterpreted and digressed since the days of past.

The player who would simply just crouch his/her own end of the corner and bank-in on opportunities aka mistakes by the other player, is usually the least popular person in any match with an audience. Just because he/she doesn't show any flash, proactiveness or initiative to make the attacking move does not mean he/she has lesser skill. Over the years I have grown to accept this style of play even if I find it irritating. Turtling requires plenty of patience and concentration, as the intended effect is to bait your opponent to give in to come forward.

I faced a really good Japanese Claw user on PSN a few days ago, and he was so good at being defensive, aka TURTLING and at the same time excellent at prioritizing his pokes and footsie game I fell for almost all his tricks, when he went all out for the offensive. His timing for cross-up (on me waking up) EX Wall Dive to Izuna Drop was flawless. To differentiate his play style, he later on switched to Ryu which was close to Daigo's offensive play style. What an experience.

Bottom line, I strongly recommend you guys to accept this defensive play style and to work harder to tactfully counter their tactics / break through their defence. Nothing's more satisfying than having a big lead in the round while they themselves play "catch up" when you turn the tide on them smile.gif

EDIT: disinterpreted = misinterpreted.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 16 2009, 01:27 PM
TristanX
post Mar 16 2009, 02:23 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

Bleh, never a fan of defensive play for me. It is boring and time wasting. I prefer looking for ways on attacking and put pressure to the opponent. That's one of the things I do to be steady while playing.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 16 2009, 02:26 PM
Kyoyagami
post Mar 16 2009, 02:26 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

When talking about Turtling, I will always remember Justin Wong. The best turtle player of all time. biggrin.gif
TristanX
post Mar 16 2009, 02:28 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

You don't wanna see my old self of 100%. No one can turtle. hehehe

I'm looking forward to see someone like my old days. Currently, I'm 70% and I can't do certain things that require reflexes. sad.gif

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 16 2009, 02:38 PM
MasterAlvin
post Mar 16 2009, 04:01 PM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

heh Aiman he tried the anti cross up raging demon, and as you could see last night, all Akuma did was run away by spending his ultra... lol
even if he does go to the right direction once in a blue moon there's a big chance of missing it coz the opponent is too close to the ground when performing a cross up and most of the time he would have enough time to jump away.

me and my brother are not fans of defensive styles, but we dun hate it, becoz though we dun play SF a lot over the years we are aware that there are some characters that easily make strong defensive styles.

we just dislike rounds that we lose on TimeOver with more than 70-80% health left for the opponent coz he could just crouch there forever. trust me there are ppl like that.
Darkstalker
post Mar 16 2009, 04:07 PM

214 posts

I know there're people like that. If that's what it takes to win, I'll do it. tongue.gif

Though I tend to use characters where that sort of strategy won't work for the most part.
TSalanmukkl
post Mar 16 2009, 05:12 PM

Here is the BREAKDOWN of yesterdays Friendlt Matches...

Abel, were you the one with the Camera? Can you send me some picture please?

Ex_Guile
post Mar 16 2009, 05:53 PM

Hi everybody, I'm Peter the one who using guile yesterday. Instead of crouching heavy punch i use flash kick due to more damage so most of the time i was crouching. Sorry, I don't know if you guys was feel irritating. I'll put more effort on using guile to play more offensive and not to disappointed you all anymore. btw, I enjoy playing with you guys and i did learn something from all of you. I should hang out with you guys more frequently rather than playing online (tmnet su*ks) and robot. Hope to cya guys soon. ggs.

127 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:54 PM