119 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

CLOSED

slk5538
post Sep 25 2009, 10:01 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Sep 24 2009, 06:36 PM)
Really, choice is yours. If the price difference between JVC LCD and S10K is negligable, let your eyes decide. I don't think you'll need to worry about burn in if you are using it for ps3, movies and astro.
Anyone experience anything before? Care to testify? I thought the static bright coloured text / icon during the game mode is a serious threat to burn in? Panasonic still won't gives warranty for its Plasma against burn in right?

If this is no more an issue then I wanna seriously thinking about replacing my LCD TV with the S10k liaw, the S10k PQ is really thumbup.gif taking into consideration the price

This post has been edited by slk5538: Sep 25 2009, 10:01 AM
kevinc66
post Sep 25 2009, 11:40 AM

197 posts

Not really highly advisable to play long period of gaming in your plasma TV. High risk of burn-in mark.
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 25 2009, 12:10 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Sep 25 2009, 11:40 AM)
Not really highly advisable to play long period of gaming in your plasma TV. High risk of burn-in mark.
Risk of burn-in from gaming happens when you only play static games for hours.

example of the static game? hmm.gif
sam240
post Sep 25 2009, 02:28 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 25 2009, 12:10 PM)

example of the static game?  hmm.gif
How about the games that has static menu at corner (like racing car meter...etc)? But I guess only can "really" burn-in for more than 24 hours static display.....correct me if wrong.

FYI, if you are in a dark surrounding / dark room, when you enter the TV menu of setting and then exit all the menu, with background is black, you can see the menu "ghost image" is still there, my experience with plasma blush.gif But during watching movie, it cannot noticeable, and will gone after OFF & ON TV or play movies on it sweat.gif
Is this normal with plasma? sweat.gif Need some advise rolleyes.gif

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 25 2009, 02:40 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 25 2009, 12:10 PM)

example of the static game?  hmm.gif
I think to be more precise, its not static game but static images, eg. HUDs or health bars when the game is running. Actually, this effect is similiar to network logos on TV channels.

kevinc66
post Sep 25 2009, 02:42 PM

197 posts

Static games...hmmmm C&C Tiberium Wars with the menu on the right.? Sometimes certain games can play for hours.
low98944
post Sep 25 2009, 02:47 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

Someone here said Sammy Plasma got serious burn-in than Panny Plasma. Correct me if I am wrong.
anfieldude
post Sep 25 2009, 02:51 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Sep 25 2009, 02:47 PM)
Someone here said Sammy Plasma got serious burn-in than Panny Plasma.  Correct me if I am wrong.
Sammy plasma has worse image retention compared to Panny Plasma. I don't think anyone said burn in. Burn in not equals to image retention. They are related but not the same...Burn in is permanent, image retention is temporary.
low98944
post Sep 25 2009, 02:56 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 25 2009, 02:51 PM)
Sammy plasma has worse image retention compared to Panny Plasma. I don't think anyone said burn in. Burn in not equals to image retention. They are related but not the same...Burn in is permanent, image retention is temporary.
sweat.gif Correct. Should be IR not Burn in. tongue.gif
azbro
post Sep 25 2009, 03:29 PM

4,403 posts

I dun think much of burn in for plasma, only image retention like those black bars at the top and bottom after watching those kinda movies.

What I do is remove the aerial connection and let my Panny Plasma display white noise for a few minutes before turning it off...kinda solve all problems so far.
sam240
post Sep 25 2009, 03:41 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 25 2009, 03:29 PM)
I dun think much of burn in for plasma, only image retention like those black bars at the top and bottom after watching those kinda movies.

What I do is remove the aerial connection and let my Panny Plasma display white noise for a few minutes before turning it off...kinda solve all problems so far.
oh, but I tried for this before, not really work if you run few min for the white/black noise....but I try to run the any movie with ZOOM IN (fit the 16:9 area) for few min, then directly solve after few min, no need OFF & ON back TV....hehe.....

oh, what is IR (image retention) means?.....any picture to view? sweat.gif

azbro
post Sep 25 2009, 03:47 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Sep 25 2009, 03:41 PM)
oh, but I tried for this before, not really work if you run few min for the white/black noise....but I try to run the any movie with ZOOM IN (fit the 16:9 area) for few min, then directly solve after few min, no need OFF & ON back TV....hehe.....

oh, what is IR (image retention) means?.....any picture to view?  sweat.gif
I cannot use the Zoom features cause if I do that then I will sit down again to watch TV and never go to sleep laugh.gif
My mind is oledi set...White Noise means time to sleep nod.gif

The only image retention i experience is the top and bottom bars.

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 25 2009, 04:54 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 25 2009, 03:47 PM)
I cannot use the Zoom features cause if I do that then I will sit down again to watch TV and never go to sleep  laugh.gif
My mind is oledi set...White Noise means time to sleep  nod.gif

Har??
sam240
post Sep 25 2009, 05:00 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 25 2009, 03:47 PM)
I cannot use the Zoom features cause if I do that then I will sit down again to watch TV and never go to sleep  laugh.gif
My mind is oledi set...White Noise means time to sleep  nod.gif

I see, the reminder alarm to sleep blush.gif
Well, I also have image retention for the top and bottom black bar, so for those are not 16:9 movies, I will "move" the picture of movie go down to the bottom line of tv OR "move" up to the top line, so that at least my bottom and top line still has movie covered (not black bar). Maybe 1st movie I put it at bottom side, and then maybe after 1 hours or 2nd movie I will "move" it to top side. Just try to make it balance sweat.gif

Since most of the movies, about 9.5/10 movies are not in 16:9, so that I just manually try to cover the top and bottom black bar by "move" the movie to top or bottom line. Because my plasma just connected to my laptop only, no TV show laugh.gif , so if I keep watching movies (if not 16:9), then worry the top and bottom black bar can burn-in blush.gif , but I'm not sure is black area can burn-in or not....haha...anyone know?

slk5538
post Sep 26 2009, 08:16 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Sep 25 2009, 02:28 PM)
FYI, if you are in a dark surrounding / dark room, when you enter the TV menu of setting and then exit all the menu, with background is black, you can see the menu "ghost image" is still there, my experience with plasma  blush.gif   But during watching movie, it cannot noticeable, and will gone after OFF & ON TV or play movies on it  sweat.gif
Is this normal with plasma?  sweat.gif   Need some advise   rolleyes.gif
I think this is normal to plasma. This is what we call image retention, and it varies between the make of plasma. Panasonic's plasma has less obvious IR if compare to the korean brand from my observation.

Added on September 26, 2009, 8:31 am
QUOTE(sam240 @ Sep 25 2009, 05:00 PM)
Since most of the movies, about 9.5/10 movies are not in 16:9, so that I just manually try to cover the top and bottom black bar by "move" the movie to top or bottom line. Because my plasma just connected to my laptop only, no TV show  laugh.gif , so if I keep watching movies (if not 16:9), then worry the top and bottom black bar can burn-in  blush.gif  , but I'm not sure is black area can burn-in or not....haha...anyone know?
Technically, black bars are not going to cause burn in, but if you watch movies with letter box format for very long hours, it cause the cells at the black bars area to age slower then those cells in the pictures part. After long hours of use, and when you swich to full screen images, you can actually see the difference in colour of the pcitures between the top / bottom of the tv and the other part. Theorithically, this effect can be permanent. Correct me if I am wrong.

Since most movies are in 2.35:1 format, what I do is keep a collection of TV drama series in hi-def (720p) format, such as the CSI, CSI:Miami series (that i truly enjoy). These dramas has aspect ratio of 16:9. I play an episode or two of these dramas after a few hours of movies in 2.35:1 format. Don't have to play them on the same day, you can turn off or TV and watch the series days later. I found this effective in getting rid of the colour differentiation at the bar areas of my plasma. I hope this trick can help. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by slk5538: Sep 26 2009, 08:31 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Sep 26 2009, 02:53 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Dammm.. now i have think twice getting plasma liaoz... *sigh*... was aiming for 50S10 for its price value.

Like quite mafan to avoid image-retention and burn-in... esp. i like to watch movies on it, as its mostly not 16:9 ratio meaning theres 'black bars' topbottom of the screen... and at the same time wanna play PS3 games on it.. then had to worry abt 'static images', like "HUD, Scores, CommandPanel etc".

Wherelse lcd has no such issue rite?...

Cheers sweat.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Sep 26 2009, 03:05 PM
low98944
post Sep 26 2009, 03:00 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Sep 26 2009, 02:53 PM)
Dammm.. now i have think twice getting plasma liaoz... *sigh*... was aiming for 50S10 for its price value.

Like quite mafan to avoid image-retention and burn-in... esp. i like to watch movies on it, as its mostly not 16:9 ratio meaning theres 'black bars' topbottom of the screen... and at the same time wanna play PS3 games on it.. then had to worry abt 'static images', like "HUD, Scores, CommandPanel etc".

Wherelse lcd has no such issue rite?...
You only use your TV to watch non 16:9 movie? sweat.gif Don't use TV to watch Astro, etc.? If you use it to watch Astro, etc., why do you worry about it? rclxub.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Sep 26 2009, 03:07 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Ok, what i gather here.. the cons and pros :-

Plasma pros : no lag/ghosting issues, wide viewing angles, slightly natural colors, most have tempered screen glass for durability.
cons : burn-in, image-retention, slightly more power-consumption.

LCD pros : slightly less power-consumption, no burn-in, no image-retention.
cons : lag/ghosting issue but hardly noticable(?), too much contrast lead to picture quality doesn't look natural(?), viewing angles not as good plasma(?), no extra protection for the screen.

(Referring to most common lcd/plasma which its not 100Hz and above, or not Kuro and etc.).

Anything i missed there?.. do correct me, if i list wrong there.. blush.gif

QUOTE(low98944 @ Sep 26 2009, 03:00 PM)
You only use your TV to watch non 16:9 movie?  sweat.gif  Don't use TV to watch Astro, etc.?  If you use it to watch Astro, etc., why do you worry about it?  rclxub.gif
What i meant was, normally i watch movies its on "cinema ratio" mah.

I watch abt the same amount of Astro and movies, thats why im worry abt the those burn-in and image-retention, esp. some PS3 gaming.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Sep 26 2009, 03:10 PM
low98944
post Sep 26 2009, 03:20 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Sep 26 2009, 03:07 PM)
Ok, what i gather here.. the cons and pros :-

Plasma pros : no lag/ghosting issues, wide viewing angles, slightly natural colors, most have tempered screen glass for durability.
           cons : burn-in, image-retention, slightly more power-consumption.

LCD pros : slightly less power-consumption, no burn-in, no image-retention.
       cons : lag/ghosting issue but hardly noticable(?), too much contrast lead to picture quality doesn't look natural(?), viewing angles not as good plasma(?), no extra protection for the screen.

(Referring to most common lcd/plasma which its not 100Hz and above, or not Kuro and etc.).

Anything i missed there?.. do correct me, if i list wrong there..  blush.gif
What i meant was, normally i watch movies its on "cinema ratio" mah.

I watch abt the same amount of Astro and movies, thats why im worry abt the those burn-in and image-retention, esp. some PS3 gaming.

Cheers smile.gif
I am using my Plasma to watch non 16:9 movie and Astro. After 200 hours, so far so good. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Sep 26 2009, 03:20 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Sep 26 2009, 03:28 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Sep 26 2009, 03:20 PM)
I am using my Plasma to watch non 16:9 movie and Astro. After 200 hours, so far so good.  laugh.gif
Cool, good to know there wink.gif

Anyone else gotten the same?..

Cheers smile.gif

119 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:19 AM