119 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

CLOSED

TSkianwee
post Jan 29 2009, 08:46 AM, updated 16y ago

Cube
6,562 posts

Continue your debates, rants and stuff here.

Version 1 : CLICK ME

Version 2 : CLICK ME

Version 3 : CLICK ME

This post has been edited by kianwee: Aug 14 2010, 02:03 PM
overfloe
post Jan 29 2009, 08:57 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

wah.. version 4 already!

i'm still toying around with the settings in my PV80.. DVE disc haven't arrived yet.
ar188
post Jan 29 2009, 09:46 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943)
funny, once upon a time I had a friend who swore that handphones will never be less than RM500. He told me about the raw materials crap story too.

Friend, I used to use my company's Mobira Talkman on Atur 450 mobile phone. It was something like RM18,000.

Today, the Rm89 Nokia 1200 is far smaller, cheaper and better yet much cheaper. How come they never stopped production?

My Sony analogue handycam cost RM20,000 too when I first bought. Funny how come can get a Sony hadnycam now for RM800 even. But how come they never stopped production?

You need to start shaving first....
you are talking without logic or manufacturing background.. this theoretical RM999 50inch plasma will be 30-40KG thing made out of 30KG ot metal, plastics and electronics.. bos you know how much is raw material for 30KGs worth of grade A virgin raw material parts (without processing/manufacturing/molding/metal stamping) or not?
those examples you given are 100gm to 2kg items.
also, due to bulk weight, significant distribution and warehousing costs will already eat into a RM999 plasma's retail price.
besides unless you can show me a RM999 plasma, your assumption of a RM999 is dead wrong.

you can't even show me a RM999 34inch jap brand CRT TV, still want to talk so much.

htkaki
post Jan 29 2009, 10:06 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The biggest issue with plasma tv is the production cost sweat.gif . Hence, there is too little models that are 32" (probably only LG). Most of the plasma tv manufacturers aims for 37" and above. Majority go for 42" as it is not feasible to produce.

Some have even abandoned the whole production of plasma to focus on LCD TVs. While there are debates that the tv price will go very very low, I doubt it would. Unless, there are ways to cut down on the production & distribution costs. Even then, manufacturers will always strive for good profit margin by re-inventing the products or adding more value to the products.

No one would want a dwindling profit margin, right wink.gif ?

ar188
post Jan 29 2009, 10:22 AM

9,206 posts

yeah lor, if not we will see a RM999 32inch plasma now..
ronnt88
post Jan 29 2009, 11:52 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 29 2009, 09:46 AM)
QUOTE(michaeltan1943)
funny, once upon a time I had a friend who swore that handphones will never be less than RM500. He told me about the raw materials crap story too.

Friend, I used to use my company's Mobira Talkman on Atur 450 mobile phone. It was something like RM18,000.

Today, the Rm89 Nokia 1200 is far smaller, cheaper and better yet much cheaper. How come they never stopped production?

My Sony analogue handycam cost RM20,000 too when I first bought. Funny how come can get a Sony hadnycam now for RM800 even. But how come they never stopped production?

You need to start shaving first....
you are talking without logic or manufacturing background.. this theoretical RM999 50inch plasma will be 30-40KG thing made out of 30KG ot metal, plastics and electronics.. bos you know how much is raw material for 30KGs worth of grade A virgin raw material parts (without processing/manufacturing/molding/metal stamping) or not?
those examples you given are 100gm to 2kg items.
also, due to bulk weight, significant distribution and warehousing costs will already eat into a RM999 plasma's retail price.
besides unless you can show me a RM999 plasma, your assumption of a RM999 is dead wrong.

you can't even show me a RM999 34inch jap brand CRT TV, still want to talk so much.
rite on bro... handphone on the other hand is just one small circuit board & some plastic. furthermore, some handphone costs are subsidized by telcos as their main income is the monthly call rates hence the markeing plan for cheap handsets.
jagz
post Jan 29 2009, 02:50 PM

43 posts

hi everyone.. i need some help.. im thinking of getting a lcd tv + the home theatre system (that comes as a package) .

Im currently looking @ this package.. Sony KLV - 40S400 (TV) + DAV - DZ777K ~ RM 5898 ...
is this okay??

My budget is arnd 6k.. is there anyone who can help to advise how to choose a LCD tv .. first time buying .. previous tv is CRT.. thx..

** urmmm .. anyone?? hmm.gif **

This post has been edited by jagz: Jan 29 2009, 05:27 PM
lousycar
post Jan 29 2009, 03:28 PM

234 posts

Hmm.. now.. i know most of you argue bigger is better, but, if you are to choose between 46A950 (7k+) and 52A650 (8k+), which one will you go for?

ronnt88
post Jan 29 2009, 04:07 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Jan 29 2009, 03:28 PM)
Hmm.. now.. i know most of you argue bigger is better, but, if you are to choose between 46A950 (7k+) and 52A650 (8k+), which one will you go for?
err.. go for 46A950... at least it's bigger than 40" tongue.gif Contrast is better smile.gif
ic-klass
post Jan 29 2009, 04:34 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 29 2009, 04:07 PM)
err.. go for 46A950... at least it's bigger than 40" tongue.gif Contrast is better smile.gif
series 9n is LED/newer - but why not consider a plasma 50pv80 or 42py800 at that budget??
lousycar
post Jan 29 2009, 04:39 PM

234 posts

oh ya.. maybe the 42py800 but.. LED is the darkside we are talking about now.. hehehe.. so ronnt88.. not bigger is better this round? hahaha
ic-klass
post Jan 29 2009, 04:44 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 29 2009, 08:57 AM)
wah.. version 4 already!

i'm still toying around with the settings in my PV80.. DVE disc haven't arrived yet.
I tried this: http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/Panasonic-TH42PX80/Settings/
So far satisfied with the PQ with DVD and Xbox - astro..emm just live with it la..
ronnt88
post Jan 29 2009, 05:40 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Jan 29 2009, 04:39 PM)
oh ya.. maybe the 42py800 but.. LED is the darkside we are talking about now.. hehehe.. so ronnt88.. not bigger is better this round? hahaha
tongue.gif ... err..... ideally 55"A950 la.. tongue.gif
kekeke
ar188
post Jan 29 2009, 05:53 PM

9,206 posts

wah this Ronn, support korean kau kau..

wei. I read FEB issue HomeTheater liao.. even XBR8 cannot fight KURO FD-111... your LCD buang in kongkang la. cabuts..
ronnt88
post Jan 29 2009, 05:55 PM

2,353 posts

price/performance ratio my fren...
by the way, i wanna buang oso but too heavy to carry on my own so keep la tongue.gif

Added on January 29, 2009, 5:56 pmP/S : everywan on this thread oso support their own stuff wan... so i follow la... hahahahah

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jan 29 2009, 05:56 PM
ar188
post Jan 29 2009, 05:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 29 2009, 05:55 PM)
price/performance ratio my fren...
by the way, i wanna buang oso but too heavy to carry on my own so keep la tongue.gif

Added on January 29, 2009, 5:56 pmP/S : everywan on this thread oso support their own stuff wan... so i follow la... hahahahah
aiseh.. forgot.. guess you rite. your A950, at 10-11k (cant remember) , cannot get XBr8 (USD7k) or Kuro (USD5k) biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 29 2009, 06:00 PM

2,353 posts

i think xbr8 ~27k?? Kuro ~22k?? better get 2 full HD projectors la.. tongue.gif

Added on January 29, 2009, 6:04 pmno wait.. better get 1 A950 and 1 full HD projector... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jan 29 2009, 06:04 PM
htkaki
post Jan 29 2009, 06:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jagz @ Jan 29 2009, 02:50 PM)
hi everyone.. i need some help.. im thinking of getting a lcd tv + the home theatre system (that comes as a package) .

Im currently looking @ this package.. Sony KLV - 40S400 (TV) + DAV - DZ777K ~ RM 5898 ...
is this okay??

My budget is arnd 6k.. is there anyone who can help to advise how to choose a LCD tv .. first time buying .. previous tv is CRT.. thx..

** urmmm .. anyone??  hmm.gif **

Does it specifically has to be Sony? What is the main usage?

no wait.. better get 1 A950 and 1 full HD projector... rclxms.gif

Potential HD pj kaki brows.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jan 29 2009, 06:10 PM
rthj
post Jan 29 2009, 06:15 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 29 2009, 01:00 PM)
no wait.. better get 1 A950 and 1 full HD projector... rclxms.gif
i agree with this.....well....dont need to be A950....but a TV and a FullHD PJ....

that is my setup...

ronnt88
post Jan 29 2009, 06:16 PM

2,353 posts

Potential HD pj kaki brows.gif

[/quote]
just waiting 4 my time to come drool.gif

119 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top