119 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

CLOSED

ar188
post Sep 26 2009, 03:32 PM

9,206 posts

dunno about sammy panels latest models now, but the 3year old sammy 1024x768 plasma I had got IR but no burn in. tested it with 1-2 months continuous viewing astro on 4:3 mode.. (black bars on left/right side)

when reset back to 16:9 mode, can see IR but after a few days all clear back to normal....

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 26 2009, 04:08 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Sep 26 2009, 03:07 PM)
Ok, what i gather here.. the cons and pros :-

Plasma pros : no lag/ghosting issues, wide viewing angles, slightly natural colors, most have tempered screen glass for durability.
          cons : burn-in, image-retention, slightly more power-consumption.

LCD pros : slightly less power-consumption, no burn-in, no image-retention.
      cons : lag/ghosting issue but hardly noticable(?), too much contrast lead to picture quality doesn't look natural(?), viewing angles not as good plasma(?), no extra protection for the screen.

(Referring to most common lcd/plasma which its not 100Hz and above, or not Kuro and etc.).

Anything i missed there?.. do correct me, if i list wrong there..  blush.gif
What i meant was, normally i watch movies its on "cinema ratio" mah.

I watch abt the same amount of Astro and movies, thats why im worry abt the those burn-in and image-retention, esp. some PS3 gaming.

Cheers smile.gif
One more Plasma Cons - More reflective panel.

Anyway, dun worry so much about burn-ins or IR la. Technically, they still exist but in real life, just practise common sense lo. Like what most say, alternating the ratios helps. I normally will zoom in too sometimes when watching BDs, coz i also just like my pic larger tongue.gif For normal usage, the current gen of plasmas are more diificult to achieve burn-ins than you think smile.gif

If still really ma fan, get a LCD, good also what nod.gif
ar188
post Sep 26 2009, 04:18 PM

9,206 posts

high end LCD also got gloss panel mah...
sam240
post Sep 26 2009, 04:26 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Sep 26 2009, 08:16 AM)
I think this is normal to plasma. This is what we call image retention, and it varies between the make of plasma. Panasonic's plasma has less obvious IR if compare to the korean brand from my observation.

Added on September 26, 2009, 8:31 am

Technically, black bars are not going to cause burn in, but if you watch movies with letter box format for very long hours, it cause the cells at the black bars area to age slower then those cells in the pictures part. After long hours of use, and when you swich to full screen images, you can actually see the difference in colour of the pcitures between the top / bottom of the tv and the other part. Theorithically, this effect can be permanent. Correct me if I am wrong.

Since most movies are in 2.35:1 format, what I do is keep a collection of TV drama series in hi-def (720p) format, such as the CSI, CSI:Miami series (that i truly enjoy). These dramas has aspect ratio of 16:9. I play an episode or two of these dramas after a few hours of movies in 2.35:1 format. Don't have to play them on the same day, you can turn off or TV and watch the series days later. I found this effective in getting rid of the colour differentiation at the bar areas of my plasma. I hope this trick can help. icon_rolleyes.gif
oh, your TV drama series got the channel logo there? consider still image...haha...just to confirm, anyway, this is a good suggestions, by the way, I just leave it play with ZOOM IN (cover all area 16:9) for few min, then IR solved..... sweat.gif

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Sep 26 2009, 03:07 PM)

Plasma pros : no lag/ghosting issues, wide viewing angles, slightly natural colors, most have tempered screen glass for durability.

cons : lag/ghosting issue but hardly noticable(?), too much contrast lead to picture quality doesn't look natural(?), viewing angles not as good plasma(?), no extra protection for the screen.

(Referring to most common lcd/plasma which its not 100Hz and above, or not Kuro and etc.).

Anything i missed there?.. do correct me, if i list wrong there..  blush.gif
What i meant was, normally i watch movies its on "cinema ratio" mah.

I watch abt the same amount of Astro and movies, thats why im worry abt the those burn-in and image-retention, esp. some PS3 gaming.

Cheers smile.gif
Correction, in long period plasma turn ON, the power consumption is slightly lower than LCD TV...hehe...this is what I get the info from the Pana's catalogue. Now I enjoy with my plasma about 5 months, so far really saticfy with it especially the natural color/image and wide angle view (all angle still same brightness/color).... thumbup.gif You can try go to visit nearby Elec shop to view the LCD TV on 50--70 degree from center, then you will see the differents on each LCD TV. Picture will become more brightness, this was what I notice before getting my plasma.... smile.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 26 2009, 03:32 PM)
dunno about sammy panels latest models now, but the 3year old sammy 1024x768 plasma I had got IR but no burn in. tested it with 1-2 months continuous  viewing astro on 4:3 mode.. (black bars on left/right side)

when reset back to 16:9 mode, can see IR but after a few days all clear back to normal....
Oh, even you switch OFF and then switch ON on the next day still can see the IR? is this because of old technology plasma panel? anyway, as long as it is not really burn-in, then it's safe smile.gif

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 26 2009, 04:29 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:18 PM)
panel? ... I mean the screen, soli ... sweat.gif
sam240
post Sep 26 2009, 04:29 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 26 2009, 04:08 PM)
One more Plasma Cons - More reflective panel.

Anyway, dun worry so much about burn-ins or IR la.  Technically, they still exist but in real life, just practise common sense lo.  Like what most say, alternating the ratios helps.  I normally will zoom in too sometimes when watching BDs, coz i also just like my pic larger  tongue.gif  For normal usage, the current gen of plasmas are more diificult to achieve burn-ins than you think smile.gif

If still really ma fan, get a LCD, good also what  nod.gif
oh, I'm agree with this, but it's depends on which brand and model.... sweat.gif what I notice here is the most high reflection screen is Pana X10K model, just wonder why these both model are release at the same time, but the screen look different... unsure.gif ... but S10K look much better....haha.... and Samsung certain model also look low reflections smile.gif

ar188
post Sep 26 2009, 04:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 26 2009, 04:29 PM)
panel? ...  I mean the screen, soli ...  sweat.gif
panel mah same as screen lor.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 26, 2009, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(sam240 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:26 PM)

Oh, even you switch OFF and then switch ON on the next day still can see the IR? is this because of old technology plasma panel? anyway, as long as it is not really burn-in, then it's safe smile.gif
next day still can see faint IR, but after 2-3days then gone..

so IR is not equal burn in.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 26, 2009, 5:16 pmuser posted image

wow so slim this LCD..

This post has been edited by ar188: Sep 26 2009, 05:16 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 26 2009, 06:04 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:36 PM)

wow so slim this LCD..
haha, even the ports are thicker than the panel!
sam240
post Sep 26 2009, 06:09 PM

3,657 posts

What's that model of JVC LCD?....is LED TV technology?
ya, the ports are thicker than panel...haha.....
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Sep 26 2009, 11:59 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

dunno about sammy panels latest models now, but the 3year old sammy 1024x768 plasma I had got IR but no burn in. tested it with 1-2 months continuous  viewing astro on 4:3 mode.. (black bars on left/right side)

Warao eh.. had to wait few days summore... sweat.gif...

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:18 PM)
Agreed, thats why i didnt list it down, especially S10 its much less reflective than X10.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Sep 27 2009, 12:00 AM
daijoubu
post Sep 27 2009, 01:17 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:36 PM)
panel mah same as screen lor.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 26, 2009, 4:37 pm

next day still can see faint IR, but after 2-3days then gone..

so IR is not equal burn in..  biggrin.gif

Added on September 26, 2009, 5:16 pmuser posted image

wow so slim this LCD..
Whats the point of slim lcd tvs >.< besides cosmetic purposes? Many slim tvs are resorting to edge led lighting over full led / local dimming to achieve slimness. Kinda pointless i fell sad.gif
ar188
post Sep 27 2009, 02:30 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Sep 26 2009, 11:59 PM)
Warao eh.. had to wait few days summore... sweat.gif...
I think 1-2days timeframe, slowly fade away..

it;s not permanent, and the TV is functioning 4-6hrs a day for 3years liao.. no IR or burnin to be noticed currently..
azbro
post Sep 27 2009, 09:32 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Sep 27 2009, 01:17 AM)
Whats the point of slim lcd tvs >.< besides cosmetic purposes? Many slim tvs are resorting to edge led lighting over full led / local dimming to achieve slimness. Kinda pointless i fell sad.gif
Its technology...pointless or not it differs from personal point of views. smile.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 27 2009, 01:51 PM

1,442 posts

When there is a demand, so will be a supply. Most people still buy electronics based on the aesthetics, not 'performance'. Some even decide what to buy to match their existing furniture colour .... rolleyes.gif
choontoy
post Sep 27 2009, 01:57 PM

837 posts

[quote=TomatomanzSeedlezz,Sep 26 2009, 03:07 PM]

Bro,Are u sure that lcd do not have IR ? FYI,i had seen those LCD in front my both eyes that they have IR and mostly are from Samsung.
SHOfrE3zE
post Sep 27 2009, 02:57 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

guys, i'm looking fo an LCD tv with 42" or higher in the price range or rm3.5k below.

any recommendations?
daijoubu
post Sep 27 2009, 08:44 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 27 2009, 09:32 AM)
Its technology...pointless or not it differs from personal point of views.  smile.gif
Haha i do agree with you on that. One man's meat could be another's poison =.=. These new slim tvs give me abit of a scare tho. I wont have one if i have a kid at home. Looks like it can break with just a pencil stab >.<.

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 27 2009, 01:51 PM)
When there is a demand, so will be a supply.  Most people still buy electronics based on the aesthetics, not 'performance'.  Some even decide what to buy to match their existing furniture colour ....  rolleyes.gif
Haha this purchasing trait is a very Malaysian thing. I do not think the Americans nor the Europeans are as bad as us when it comes to placing cosmetic appearance as a priority in purchase.
ar188
post Sep 27 2009, 09:13 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Sep 27 2009, 08:44 PM)

Haha this purchasing trait is a very Malaysian thing. I do not think the Americans nor the Europeans are as bad as us when it comes to placing cosmetic appearance as a priority in purchase.
dude these stylish products are meant for 1st world countries, i.e. for people who are into aesthetics.. you see these selling in malaysia meh? laugh.gif
daijoubu
post Sep 28 2009, 12:09 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 27 2009, 09:13 PM)
dude these stylish products are meant for 1st world countries, i.e. for people who are into aesthetics.. you see these selling in malaysia meh?  laugh.gif
Haha i was refering to the cosmetic high priority mentality. Here its more on price and cosmetic over performance and reliability. Of course alot of the good stuff goes to more modern countries le sad.gif.
slk5538
post Sep 28 2009, 08:10 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Sep 27 2009, 01:57 PM)
Bro,Are u sure that lcd do not have IR ? FYI,i had seen those LCD in front my both eyes that they have IR and mostly are from Samsung.
Plasma, LCD, and CRT all have burn-in issue. The only difference is which type get it more easily. For those who doubt LCD and CRT would get burn in, try observe the colour display the next time you visit any ATM machine at HSBC. brows.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 8:11 am

Good to hear that ...

Added on September 28, 2009, 8:16 am
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 27 2009, 01:51 PM)
When there is a demand, so will be a supply.  Most people still buy electronics based on the aesthetics, not 'performance'.  Some even decide what to buy to match their existing furniture colour ....  rolleyes.gif
The appreance of the TV is always a factor, but subjective. Sometimes you also have to get the approval of your HM ma .... if not then everyday ask you to eat white rice and watching your TV program nia without any other dishes ... si pei jia lat .. tongue.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 8:23 am
QUOTE(sam240 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:26 PM)
oh, your TV drama series got the channel logo there? consider still image...haha...just to confirm, anyway, this is a good suggestions, by the way, I just leave it play with ZOOM IN (cover all area 16:9) for few min, then IR solved.....  sweat.gif
Correction, in long period plasma turn ON, the power consumption is slightly lower than LCD TV...hehe...this is what I get the info from the Pana's catalogue. Now I enjoy with my plasma about 5 months, so far really saticfy with it especially the natural color/image and wide angle view (all angle still same brightness/color).... thumbup.gif   You can try go to visit nearby Elec shop to view the LCD TV on 50--70 degree from center, then you will see the differents on each LCD TV. Picture will become more brightness, this was what I notice before getting my plasma.... smile.gif
the TV drama I watch has got the channel logo, since i downloaded them from the nrt. But the logos are semi-transparent logo, wont caused any IR. One thing I don't understand about ASTRO is why are them still using the brightly lighted logos .. doh.gif

Switching on and off the TV won't erase the IR even with the newer plasma. At least that is what i experienced. I don't know about switch it off for a few weeks would do or not but I guess no one would leave their TV off for weeks just to get rid of IR, right? To me, the simplest way of getting rid of IR is to play full screen movies intermittenly.

This post has been edited by slk5538: Sep 28 2009, 08:32 AM

119 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:08 PM