Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB
lovelies
Feb 27 2009, 09:33 AM

i having problem in SD1A just yesterday. I bought since last december and it was SD15.. i updated to SD1A last 2 weeks ago...but now the hdd having problem.. hard accessing the drive. i benchmark the drive the speed running at 3.3Mb/s...i also copying the files from tat drive and also formatting, the pc will very very lag ..sometimes will auto restart.. i checked the COmputer Management>Disk MAnagement from Administrative Tools, Control Panel...the drive says it is at risk... but i check HD Tune, all seems OK...but the Seagate tool also fails some test on tat drive.. so, i can RMA it ?
vearn27
Feb 27 2009, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(lovelies @ Feb 27 2009, 09:33 AM) i having problem in SD1A just yesterday. I bought since last december and it was SD15.. i updated to SD1A last 2 weeks ago...but now the hdd having problem.. hard accessing the drive. i benchmark the drive the speed running at 3.3Mb/s...i also copying the files from tat drive and also formatting, the pc will very very lag ..sometimes will auto restart.. i checked the COmputer Management>Disk MAnagement from Administrative Tools, Control Panel...the drive says it is at risk... but i check HD Tune, all seems OK...but the Seagate tool also fails some test on tat drive.. so, i can RMA it ? Basically if your Seagate HDD failed on SeaTools itself, you can request for RMA already
lovelies
Feb 27 2009, 10:24 AM

im from sarawak state. so i RMA to where? what is the address? and also how to post it? in a box or wat?
Musafir_86
Feb 27 2009, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(lovelies @ Feb 27 2009, 10:24 AM) im from sarawak state. so i RMA to where? what is the address? and also how to post it? in a box or wat? -Contact them first; as from here: http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/about/con...rt-contact-apacQUOTE Malaysia 1.800.80.2335 65.6485.4860 Email (English only) English Mandarin Cantonese 8:00 A.M. to 5:30 P.M. Monday - Friday Malaysia Standard Time (GMT +8) (English 8:00 A.M-9:30 P.M.) -Or try using this form: https://store.seagate.com/webapp/wcs/stores...&shipToCountry=-Hope this helps, thanks. Regards. This post has been edited by Musafir_86: Feb 27 2009, 10:45 AM
lovelies
Feb 27 2009, 11:58 AM

this seagate bricks still a hot issue nowadays? seems like this forum become few ppl posting? so anyone still having the problem on 7200.11 drives?
Radeon
Feb 27 2009, 03:32 PM
it's 45 pages long and call it few ppl posting?
there are issues almost everyday
lovelies
Feb 27 2009, 05:24 PM

what are the steps tat i need to take to RMA the drive? what the checklist? register my warranty on seagate website, perform return on the website, select the place to return, use the correct packaging, then? need any signature? after i send the drive to them, how they gonna send the repaired drive to me? using the order number or wat?...... and, im at sarawak....i decided to send to selangor there, when i gonna get the repaired one back? and can i replace the drive with the higher capacity drive? or they just replace with the same model? doesnt it need to let the seagate to verify if the drive need replacement before sending it to them? i mean...i just create the return order and then post the drive to them without having them to verify the drive beforehand? (get what i mean or not??)
This post has been edited by lovelies: Feb 27 2009, 07:08 PM
nazseha
Feb 27 2009, 11:11 PM
My seagate 500gb so far ok after update to SD1A from SD15..
After update to SD1A the Krek Krek + Eeek Sound really annoying + loud.
Like i said before,i ketuk + tap it for a little then the sound gone...
lucky me..=p
This post has been edited by nazseha: Feb 27 2009, 11:11 PM
one_guy
Feb 28 2009, 10:02 AM
Anyone here have SD15 firmware? I feel tension after updated to SD1A 5 days ago... The sound krek+krek sound very annoying even i already turn off the indexing services.. Seems like the HDD working in the background... Last time SD15 very quite...
This post has been edited by one_guy: Feb 28 2009, 10:03 AM
lovelies
Mar 1 2009, 12:57 AM

if i got IDE 80 conductor cable faulty which connect to hdd (single drive, master) but still can boot windows normally....will it affect the SATA drive I/O reading and the SATA drive speed?.. i having a Maxtor IDE (boot drive) it can boot to windows normally, but the SATAII drive speed is very very slow and will cause the pc lag... so my question is, the faulty IDE cable (which got connected to hdd); will it affect the SATA drive speed and I/O of the SATA drive? (NOTE tat i hav 2 hdd, 1 IDE and another is SATA hdd)
mitodna
Mar 1 2009, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(lovelies @ Feb 27 2009, 05:24 PM) what are the steps tat i need to take to RMA the drive? what the checklist? register my warranty on seagate website, perform return on the website, select the place to return, use the correct packaging, then? need any signature? after i send the drive to them, how they gonna send the repaired drive to me? using the order number or wat?...... and, im at sarawak....i decided to send to selangor there, when i gonna get the repaired one back? and can i replace the drive with the higher capacity drive? or they just replace with the same model? doesnt it need to let the seagate to verify if the drive need replacement before sending it to them? i mean...i just create the return order and then post the drive to them without having them to verify the drive beforehand? (get what i mean or not??) they will send back the info based on what you registered in your website. on website, can you check whether there is a pickup services?
Mar 1 2009, 12:34 PM
I saw 500GB 7200.12 for Rm205 at here, not sure a good buy or not. any comments guys ?
ericpires
Mar 2 2009, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(168257061 @ Mar 1 2009, 12:34 PM) I saw 500GB 7200.12 for Rm205 at here, not sure a good buy or not. any comments guys ? good deal mar... spoil spoil lor.. but i think better u add 100 bux get a 1tb
lovelies
Mar 2 2009, 11:00 AM

the SD1A i think still got problem....mine ST3500320AS... the spin up retry parameter in HDTune having some problem....causing the drive run very very slow... i think the firmware still got problem...
Evil Oracle
Mar 2 2009, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(lovelies @ Mar 2 2009, 11:00 AM) the SD1A i think still got problem....mine ST3500320AS... the spin up retry parameter in HDTune having some problem....causing the drive run very very slow... i think the firmware still got problem... yup after i update da firmware my seagate 1tb n 500gb become slow a bit wth i think dis firmware not totally stable in term of perf just counter da hdd bricks @ fails
Have_nice_day_guy
Mar 5 2009, 11:19 PM
Heard this fuss about my hard disk ST3500320AS....I am still on SD15 firmware...running smoothly...bought this last year at PC Fair....seriously..do I nd to flash the firmware...I heard it causes instability and all those....wonder I should keep this firmware since it's been running well...
Jcsy
Mar 6 2009, 03:33 AM
wy not just get Western D  its less heat + definitely stable
Sib
Mar 6 2009, 09:14 AM
guys, need help here... i jz ran Seatools for my 500GB HDD here n tried Short DST Test but failed each time although it passes on SMART test. what shud i do?
mitodna
Mar 6 2009, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Sib @ Mar 6 2009, 09:14 AM) guys, need help here... i jz ran Seatools for my 500GB HDD here n tried Short DST Test but failed each time although it passes on SMART test. what shud i do?  time to warranty
Sib
Mar 6 2009, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Mar 6 2009, 10:19 AM) forgot to mention tat it's alr updated to SD15... btw, wat does it mean by DST?