66 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

Shoot@M3
post Feb 11 2009, 10:54 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

So some says ok and some says not even after firmware update eh.. sweat.gif

Eh Vanguish,
U managed to change ur 7200.11 with 7200.12? Are we able to do that?

Btw, Just got myself WD 1TB green caviar.. seems WD do not produce 1.5TB but from 1TB straight to 2TB which is already in KL market now I think. As usual the new 2TB price gonna be overkill..

QUOTE(vanguish @ Feb 10 2009, 10:12 PM)
First sign is slow down.... sometimes random slow down..

Next the drives will stopped once a while.. meaning it will go missing from the windows os.. if you restart, your hdd will be back again..

Supplier sent me all new 7200.12 drives to do backup and data transfer today..

After this, i'll return the rubbish 7200.11 to them...
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Feb 11 2009, 10:54 AM
zeronehza
post Feb 11 2009, 01:39 PM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

QUOTE(frostmourne @ Feb 10 2009, 11:31 AM)
suddenly when in windows, my pc slowing down.. hang a while..
then i restart, appear bla bla bla and ctrl+alt+del to restart.. something fail,BOOTMGR or what i don't remember it.
and i see in bios, still detect my hdd 1tb 7200.11 SD1A, but can't boot.. i restart 2,3 time but still happen.
then i try use my other hdd (old seagate 320gb), it successfully logon to windows without any problem.. 2,3 times already tested it and successfull with this hdd.
then i try again use my 1tb 7200.11 SD1A hdd, the problem comes again. i shut down pc and watching TV for a while. ekekekek
after that, i on back my pc and successfully logon to windows with 1tb 7200.11 SD1A.

but i don't know 100% this problem comes from 7200.11 SD1A or not.
ada bunyi krek krek tak? sweat.gif

frostmourne
post Feb 12 2009, 12:54 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(zeronehza @ Feb 11 2009, 01:39 PM)
ada bunyi krek krek taksweat.gif
krek gek........ krek gek...... when reading.
i hope that sound not ending with 'tebabo' doh.gif
zeronehza
post Feb 12 2009, 04:26 AM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

this is sound funny, my 1.5TB (not firmware affected) started to sound weird 'krek gek' 'krek gek', but 'till now.. nothing poor performance happen...

but my affected firmware SD15 1TB still get to run great after flash the firmware...

wth... not affected sound weird than affected one... alahai seagate... sad.gif
Xehanort
post Feb 12 2009, 01:07 PM

1,002 posts

hi guys, long time no on9 due to my hardware failure
just to inform u guys, WD hdd might oso has problems cry.gif
mine WD 500GB hdd, bought last year, rosak n cant even make backup copy cry.gif
so, i think seagate n WD both same, depends on u guys' luck blush.gif
frostmourne
post Feb 12 2009, 01:47 PM

219 posts

lol.. later dunno want to buy what brand..
Musafir_86
post Feb 12 2009, 02:15 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Feb 12 2009, 01:07 PM)
hi guys, long time no on9 due to my hardware failure
just to inform u guys, WD hdd might oso has problems cry.gif
mine WD 500GB hdd, bought last year, rosak n cant even make backup copy cry.gif
so, i think seagate n WD both same, depends on u guys' luck blush.gif
-Usually, for every batch of every model of every hardware of every manufacturer, there always be some bad ones.
But this mostly in a very small numbers (less than one percent, I think). smile.gif

Regards.
ericpires
post Feb 12 2009, 02:22 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

i think depends on ur luck also if your hdd got failure... so far i bought 5 hdds in 10 years only 1 has failed me... and it was a maxtor... the rest is okay.

btw, my seagate 1tb hdd still working fine - i did not flashed to latest firmware... hehe
fujkenasai
post Feb 12 2009, 04:28 PM

1,137 posts

Touch wood all my seagate still working fine and my 1.5 TB is ok too, and I have not updated the firmware.
myee
post Feb 12 2009, 10:10 PM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

my HDD model ST750330AS wz firmware SD15 effected d.....just kong last night....waaaaa....my beloved data.... cry.gif
genkis3
post Feb 12 2009, 11:07 PM

789 posts

guys,
just check with seagate serial check for my ST3500320AS firmware SD15. it suppose to be affected right... but serial check show "Drive is not affected. No action required."

my serial start with 5QMXXXX , made in china. issit those affected model is 9QMXXXX made in thailand?
kinwai88
post Feb 14 2009, 04:05 PM

964 posts

(NEED HELP I want to flash my ST3500320AS SD1A 500GB to firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS 750GB)

I got ...

1pcs of ST31000340AS , SD15 , firmware flash to SD1A already.

2pcs of ST3500320AS, SD15 - 1pcs firmware flash to SD1A, the other 1pcs I managed to flash and change the capacity to a bigger size 750GB - firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS

I now want to flash the other ST3500320AS, SD1A to firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS.....

Anybody got that firmware flash? CAn share?

I the other day did the flash, a hacker give me the software...can only use once then self destroy...CAnnot be use anymore but I confirm that firmware able to let me flash to firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS - 750GB..

Look at picture proof k...

Added on February 14, 2009, 4:09 pmand after flash....The capacity is true 750GB...I try to fill it full with contents before...

Already very good I share some good news here can flash to higher capacity....Hope someone can share the firmware with me too

If u have the firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS 750GB , please PM me coz I seldom visit hardware to check status one!!!

This post has been edited by kinwai88: Feb 14 2009, 04:17 PM
davidbilly87
post Feb 14 2009, 07:03 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(kinwai88 @ Feb 14 2009, 05:05 PM)
(NEED HELP I want to flash my ST3500320AS SD1A 500GB to firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS 750GB)

I got ...

1pcs of  ST31000340AS , SD15  , firmware flash to SD1A already.

2pcs of ST3500320AS, SD15  - 1pcs firmware flash to SD1A, the other 1pcs I managed to flash and change the capacity to a bigger size 750GB -  firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS

I now want to flash the other ST3500320AS, SD1A to firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS.....

Anybody got that firmware flash? CAn share?

I the other day did the flash, a hacker give me the software...can only use once then self destroy...CAnnot be use anymore but I confirm that firmware able to let me flash to firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS - 750GB..

Look at picture proof k...

Added on February 14, 2009, 4:09 pmand after flash....The capacity is true 750GB...I try to fill it full with contents before...

Already very good I share some good news here can flash to higher capacity....Hope someone can share the firmware with me too

If u have the firmware 3.AAK , ST3750840AS 750GB , please PM me coz I seldom visit hardware to check status one!!!
u means the ST3500320AS can flash 3.aak became 750gb capacity? sweat.gif
kinwai88
post Feb 14 2009, 09:14 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Feb 14 2009, 08:03 PM)
u means the ST3500320AS can flash 3.aak  became 750gb capacity? sweat.gif
tongue.gif YEs...I done that .. But I no longer have the firmware ...That is why I asking around here...

You can check more info here...since moderator move the thread to Technical Support

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/935921
AREA51
post Feb 14 2009, 10:04 PM

217 posts

//off topic

My 7200.12 500GB already has 2 reallocated sectors after 2 weeks of use. The threshold value is 36 so i'm asking if this is normal for seagate drives. I read quite a few cases regarding the same issue with seagate HDDs after some googling. Reallocated sectors just develop from normal use after some time. My WD 160GB didnt have this problem. oh well... wink.gif
ar188
post Feb 14 2009, 10:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Feb 14 2009, 07:03 PM)
u means the ST3500320AS can flash 3.aak  became 750gb capacity? sweat.gif
wow! didn;'t know can do that!.. liddat we hit jackpot! brows.gif where the firmware.?? thumbup.gif
kinwai88
post Feb 15 2009, 01:46 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 14 2009, 11:18 PM)
wow! didn;'t know can do that!.. liddat we hit jackpot! brows.gif  where the firmware.??  thumbup.gif
That is why I open a thread looking for the firmware.. smile.gif

The firmware that I use no longer works....If not I will have 2pcs 750GB HDD instead of 1pc 500GB and another one 750GB tongue.gif
davidbilly87
post Feb 15 2009, 06:11 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(kinwai88 @ Feb 15 2009, 02:46 AM)
That is why I open a thread looking for the firmware.. smile.gif

The firmware that I use no longer works....If not I will have 2pcs 750GB HDD instead of 1pc 500GB and another one 750GB tongue.gif
y u dont just find an software that can backup/copy/write out firmware,then u can have the 750 firmware?
kinwai88
post Feb 15 2009, 06:43 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Feb 15 2009, 07:11 PM)
y u dont just find an software that can backup/copy/write out firmware,then u can have the 750 firmware?
If got such thing as software....all hdd manufacturer go bankrupt already..

They don't give firmware source code so easily one to public one....

Seagate give the firmware SD1A to update coz force to do so...If not they need to recall every of those baracuda 7200.11 family hdd in market...a recall during this recession period company can go bankrupt one ...
davidbilly87
post Feb 15 2009, 08:05 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(kinwai88 @ Feb 15 2009, 07:43 PM)
If got such thing as software....all hdd manufacturer go bankrupt already..

They don't give firmware source code so easily one to public one....

Seagate give the firmware SD1A to update coz force to do so...If not they need to recall every of those baracuda 7200.11 family hdd in market...a recall during this recession period company can go bankrupt one ...
then u explain y gpuz can copy/backup the firmware,and the sound card also can take out the firmware doh.gif there are many 3rd party software can take out ROM/BIOS/firmware...u just google it ..maybe u have the luck...hacker can take out ,u also can take out tongue.gif

This post has been edited by davidbilly87: Feb 15 2009, 08:05 PM

66 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:36 AM