Damn i wish i was still in Melbourne - Big Day Out, Australian Open, F1, arghhhhh
Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn
Jan 17 2009, 01:40 PM
310 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Damn i wish i was still in Melbourne - Big Day Out, Australian Open, F1, arghhhhh
Jan 17 2009, 02:11 PM
189 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(tsm @ Jan 17 2009, 12:31 PM) Wau, quite expensive. Yup, really... those packages offered are USELESS. Services like explanation of public transport system, opening bank account, tour around uni & city are very very basic stuff that every student intending to study overseas is supposed to know. Just pick up a brochure about public transport, browsing aussie bank website looking for details beforehand then go to the bank and get a uni & city map will do. It's even ridiculous that service like 'guidance to registering with university or college' is offered... what's for?? you just go to the relevant department to register that's all (ask for direction if got lost)... students should not try those services...Me, currently at homestay. AUS $ 250 per week. Include everything food (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Internet a lot of quota. I advise students try to familiarise with university website and find more information. Although this type of agent can help you safe a lot of time and ease some problems, you need to spend more. Why not just do more homework. Try to search from university website, forum here from version 1 (read all). If don't understand then ask. Of course other forum too This post has been edited by alwayshappy: Jan 17 2009, 02:12 PM |
Jan 17 2009, 06:20 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Jan 14 2009, 09:08 PM) Hi guys...I think is almost time for every1 to pay the international fees.I have 1 enquiry ie do we pay our fees for the whole course according to the year we enrol in or do we pay differently each year becox they increase the fees every year....Thanks a lot.... check you offer letter lah......it's all stated there........very few oz unis now fix their fees for the whole course, most will increase the fees every year pegged to inflation, and you will be informed yearly how much you have to pay each semester....... |
Jan 18 2009, 03:12 PM
132 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Indeed, agents aren't really necessary unless you're rich and spoilt and aren't willing to do any work.
Universities' International students department can provide you with a great deal of help. There are way too many Malaysians studying or have studied in Australia and so they are very well versed with Malaysian students' questions. Just shoot them an email or give them a call, most of the time problems would be solved. Or look for someone already in Australia, most are willing to help for free. It is up to you if you want to buy them dinner afterward or not. Oh and Australians reply emails much faster than Malaysians, so feel free to use emails. Normally it wouldn't take 3 months for a reply unless it's holiday period(Christmas mostly). |
Jan 18 2009, 03:50 PM
2,030 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Melbourne |
I deal a LOT with Monash through emails.
Each time there is a tight dateline for something, and I can't possibly courier them the stuff they requre, I will email them saying that i will scan and fax/email a copy over, then send the original over when I have the time. They always reply immediately and are very understanding. Most of the things are not set in stone, unlike here, all the civil servants follow orders damn straight. Superior say must do like that means do like that, cannot bend to accomodate different situations. Just send them an email with properly written English and everything can be solved. |
Jan 19 2009, 04:36 PM
66 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: UNSW, Sydney, Australia |
I m going to UNSW this FEB. & i still cant find any suitable accommodation coz most accom that are reasonable have been fully-booked.
So, is there any off-campus accommodation that i can book that are cheaper? or izit still possible to find cheaper accommodation the time i reach UNSW in mid-feb? |
Jan 19 2009, 06:56 PM
960 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Miri..... |
Ello. Me and ColdBlood already in Perth now. Having orienation at trinity here.
Jan 19 2009, 07:08 PM
3,768 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Tennis heaven |
Jan 19 2009, 07:11 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
it is summertime now..........
Jan 19 2009, 08:03 PM
1,172 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
PM me if you guys need optus recharge. got special deals for you guys
Jan 19 2009, 08:36 PM
359 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Jan 19 2009, 04:36 PM) I m going to UNSW this FEB. & i still cant find any suitable accommodation coz most accom that are reasonable have been fully-booked. If this is your first time heading over to Sydney, which I assume you are, I think it is best that you look for your accommodation after you arrive. It is however, a good idea to book a temporary accommodation. You can approach the uni accommodation service for help on temporary accommodation bookings or alternatively Malaysian Hall which is located along Alison Road, but I have never dealt with Malaysian Hall before so don't ask me anything about it, all I know is they used to provide temporary accommodation for Malaysian with a low daily rate compared to the other temporary accommodation out there, not sure if they still do that now.So, is there any off-campus accommodation that i can book that are cheaper? or izit still possible to find cheaper accommodation the time i reach UNSW in mid-feb? Although I have never looked for a place in Kingsford before, but based on what I gathered from my friends who did, good places around uni would be taken by mid-feb. I wouldn't say it's totally impossible, but definitely it wouldn't be easy by all means. |
Jan 19 2009, 10:28 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Jan 19 2009, 04:36 PM) I m going to UNSW this FEB. & i still cant find any suitable accommodation coz most accom that are reasonable have been fully-booked. I think you just send the Temporary Accomodation to ISS.There should be a form to request for it behind the prospectus.So, is there any off-campus accommodation that i can book that are cheaper? or izit still possible to find cheaper accommodation the time i reach UNSW in mid-feb? Then,try to go there early to get the accommodation. QUOTE(jae @ Jan 19 2009, 08:36 PM) If this is your first time heading over to Sydney, which I assume you are, I think it is best that you look for your accommodation after you arrive. It is however, a good idea to book a temporary accommodation. You can approach the uni accommodation service for help on temporary accommodation bookings or alternatively Malaysian Hall which is located along Alison Road, but I have never dealt with Malaysian Hall before so don't ask me anything about it, all I know is they used to provide temporary accommodation for Malaysian with a low daily rate compared to the other temporary accommodation out there, not sure if they still do that now. Malaysian Hall is always fully booked.Very hard to get it unless you book early.Although I have never looked for a place in Kingsford before, but based on what I gathered from my friends who did, good places around uni would be taken by mid-feb. I wouldn't say it's totally impossible, but definitely it wouldn't be easy by all means. |
Jan 19 2009, 10:29 PM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
Jan 20 2009, 12:32 PM
417 posts Joined: May 2008 |
any one here care to explain and share their experience in owning a car in australia? what are the process do we have to go through in buying a car?
and the driving license. can we somehow convert our malaysian driving license for the australian government to recognize it? or do we have to start from scratch again just to get an australia driving license? |
Jan 20 2009, 12:40 PM
658 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: dowan say |
Glad to hear that my accommodation has been confirmed booked liao
Anyone going to Australia GP? I heard my friend say got discount with student id |
Jan 20 2009, 02:35 PM
90 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Jan 20 2009, 02:42 PM
2,030 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Melbourne |
You only need your Malaysian driving license.
Jan 20 2009, 04:57 PM
2,691 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Jan 20 2009, 12:32 PM) any one here care to explain and share their experience in owning a car in australia? what are the process do we have to go through in buying a car? when you are using a student visa or travel visa you can use your malaysian drivers license. and the driving license. can we somehow convert our malaysian driving license for the australian government to recognize it? or do we have to start from scratch again just to get an australia driving license? but i think once you are a PR then you gotta get aussie drivers license. |
Jan 20 2009, 05:27 PM
104 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Jan 20 2009, 12:32 PM) any one here care to explain and share their experience in owning a car in australia? what are the process do we have to go through in buying a car? Yes, when you hold a aust. visa, you can drive with your license, but that only valid you for 3 months. If you want to drive longer through out your stay, you got to convert your license to an international license which cost RM100 or Rm150 from JPJ - price not confirm- and is only valid for 1yr, not sure is there any longer duration. No need to take any test or what ever, just convert and they will give u a piece of paper looks like rubbish but it's a valid international license.This is as far as I know of, and if you plan to apply for PR, yes you got to take their driving license test. GOod luck!and the driving license. can we somehow convert our malaysian driving license for the australian government to recognize it? or do we have to start from scratch again just to get an australia driving license? This post has been edited by ivango88: Jan 20 2009, 05:54 PM |
Jan 20 2009, 06:22 PM
2,691 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
really? i was there for 4 years and used my malaysian license. of course polis never stopped me. soooo i dunno if i was legal or not hahaha. but yeah my uni said it was ok. check online. or call your uni counselor
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:04 PM |