143 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

panda-man
post Jan 14 2009, 10:36 PM

2,691 posts

everytime i see your first page haya. im pretty impressed at all the stuff you wrote up. hehe. keep up the good work. thumbup.gif
wl555
post Jan 14 2009, 10:55 PM

Hi everyone, I am going to Sydney UNSW in February but I haven't got a place to stay, so I plan to book for short term lodge for a week and find accommodation during the week.

Question: I email the lodge asking how to place a booking, the lodge ask me to provide them my credit card details to secure a booking. Is it safe simply give them the details ? I am quite worried about that ! Anyone used to book this kind of lodge before flying to Australia? Can advise me on this ? THANKS !!

This post has been edited by wl555: Jan 14 2009, 10:57 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 14 2009, 10:59 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wl555 @ Jan 14 2009, 10:55 PM)
Hi everyone, I am going to Sydney UNSW in February but I haven't got a place to stay, so I plan to book for short term lodge for a week and find accommodation during the week.

Question: I email the lodge asking how to place a booking, the lodge ask me to provide them my credit card details to secure a booking. Is it safe simply give them the details ? I am quite worried about that ! Anyone used to book this kind of lodge before flying to Australia? Can advise me on this ? THANKS !!
Is it the temporary accommodation?

It should be alright as you are paying the university.

I did apply for the temporary accommodation last time.
wl555
post Jan 14 2009, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 14 2009, 10:59 PM)
Is it the temporary accommodation?

It should be alright as you are paying the university.

I did apply for the temporary accommodation last time.
Erm.... I found the lodge in UNSW website.
But not paying to the university, is paying to the lodge is directly, that's why I worried about it.
It is private, tak sangkut with the university.

By the way, how you apply temporary accommodation through UNSW last time ?I think it safer.
I want to get the information, but the online advisors always offline vmad.gif

ling~
post Jan 14 2009, 11:08 PM

I m currently applying visa online, however i not sure bout the information they want:

Your proposed arrival date : 14 feb 09
Your proposed departure date : what does this mean? they stated there depart from aus, which means the time i finish my course? should i put it as 14 feb 2010 as my course duration is 1 yr?

Added on January 14, 2009, 11:10 pmstudent (TEMPORARY) visa = student visa we apply?

This post has been edited by ling~: Jan 14 2009, 11:10 PM
kamagotchi
post Jan 14 2009, 11:11 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(ling~ @ Jan 15 2009, 02:08 AM)
I m currently applying visa online, however i not sure bout the information they want:

Your proposed arrival date : 14 feb 09
Your proposed departure date : what does this mean? they stated there depart from aus, which means the time i finish my course? should i put it as 14 feb 2010 as my course duration is 1 yr?
refer to your COE. there should be stating the end date of your studies.
SUSb3ta
post Jan 14 2009, 11:18 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

hey this is quite a good guide for fresh students coming into australia.

kudos to the threadstarter.

and good luck to all you new uni starters. have a good stay. as usual, we will help if we can, or if we're not too lazy
ling~
post Jan 14 2009, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 14 2009, 11:11 PM)
refer to your COE. there should be stating the end date of your studies.
ya i know, but what should i state for my proposed departure date? ohmy.gif
kamagotchi
post Jan 14 2009, 11:46 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(ling~ @ Jan 15 2009, 02:20 AM)
ya i know, but what should i state for my proposed departure date?  ohmy.gif
er... the end date as stated on your COE? What else? Dude, just put the date, you can extend it later.
Cheesenium
post Jan 14 2009, 11:59 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wl555 @ Jan 14 2009, 11:06 PM)
Erm.... I found the lodge in UNSW website.
But not paying to the university, is paying to the lodge is directly, that's why I worried about it.
It is private, tak sangkut with the university.

By the way, how you apply temporary accommodation through UNSW last time ?I think it safer.
I want to get the information, but the online advisors always offline vmad.gif
I think there is a form behind the prospectus to request for temporary accommodation from ISS.
Grimm
post Jan 14 2009, 11:59 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I think she's not a dude. Anyway, just use the end-date of your course. Or a few days later. It's stated somewhere, that Australia usually extends your VISA period for 2 or 3 months after you complete your course, so that you can Cuti-Cuti Australia abit, I assume.
ling~
post Jan 15 2009, 12:31 AM

okey, thx for ur info smile.gif
tsm
post Jan 15 2009, 05:28 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(Sophia228 @ Jan 14 2009, 10:14 PM)
Anyone going to Bradford College for Feb 2009 intake?

One thing i made a mistake. actually under 18s can stay in student hostels,right? Not necessary homestay right? i paid AUD250 for accommodation placement and they gave me a place which takes 1 hour to the city (not even reaching the school !)
Students under 18 need to be homestay. No mater you like it or not. Please contact with your university for more information.
kamagotchi
post Jan 15 2009, 08:44 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Jan 15 2009, 08:28 AM)
Students under 18 need to be homestay. No mater you like it or not. Please contact with your university for more information.
International students who are under the age of 18 years and who will be studying on a student visa are required by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) to have care and accommodation provided by:

* a parent or homestay
* a suitable nominated relative, or
* the University

A suitable relative is defined by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) as, a grandparent, brother, sister, aunt, uncle, niece or nephew, or a step-grandparent, step-brother, step-sister, step-aunt, step-uncle, step-niece or step-nephew. A suitable nominated relative must be over 21 years of age.

Since I was underaged when I got to Australia, I was living in Unilodge@UNSW under the care of the Unilodge on behalf on the university. Beats homestay I reckon smile.gif
TY_AA
post Jan 15 2009, 10:54 AM

132 posts

In regards to the rain issue asked by someone in the previous thread, Melbourne and Sydney are extremely dry. It's a dessert here. It does rain, but not enough to supply the population with enough water. If I am not wrong, November is the wettest month.

Contrary to UK's weather, it is not as gloomy and depressing here in the winter months, though you do get the gloominess, just not everyday like the Brits get.

Can't say much about Queensland but I THINK the weather there is much closer to Malaysia than Melbourne is.

To me, the temperature in Melbourne isn't that cold, it's the wind that is unbearable, most un-windy days are fine, but the winds that pierce through my jumper makes me shiver. A good wind breaker is advisable, especially if you like going running.
panda-man
post Jan 15 2009, 11:48 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(TY_AA @ Jan 15 2009, 10:54 AM)
In regards to the rain issue asked by someone in the previous thread, Melbourne and Sydney are extremely dry. It's a dessert here. It does rain, but not enough to supply the population with enough water. If I am not wrong, November is the wettest month.

Contrary to UK's weather, it is not as gloomy and depressing here in the winter months, though you do get the gloominess, just not everyday like the Brits get.

Can't say much about Queensland but I THINK the weather there is much closer to Malaysia than Melbourne is.

To me, the temperature in Melbourne isn't that cold, it's the wind that is unbearable, most un-windy days are fine, but the winds that pierce through my jumper makes me shiver. A good wind breaker is advisable, especially if you like going running.
yeah it hardly rains in melbourne and as such it poses a threat to drivers. not in the sense that they are inexperienced. but due to the oil build up on the road. it never rains so over time oil patches form on the road and dont get washed away. when the rain hits the oil comes back up to the surface. this is especially dangerous because many cars in aussie are high powered cars like v6's and v8's. also the roads cannot stand the rain. if you are a driver watch out for pot holes, tons and tons appear after the rain.

plus... when i first got to melbourne. my friend is like "MAN ITS RAINING LIKE CRAZY!" i went outside and its like a the light rain you get in malaysia. hahahahha. doh.gif of course there are times you get the storms. but usually its nothing to freak out about.
linkolynn
post Jan 15 2009, 05:51 PM

123 posts

Hey guys.. I have another problem..

I just received the revised offer, which means I need to apply the Visa again.. But I've done the health check.. Do I need to redo again?

Thanks..

p.s. Anyone met this situation before??

KVReninem
post Jan 15 2009, 07:06 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Jan 15 2009, 06:51 PM)
Hey guys.. I have another problem..

I just received the revised offer, which means I need to apply the Visa again.. But I've done the health check.. Do I need to redo again?

Thanks..

p.s. Anyone met this situation before??
what is revised offer? unsure.gif
this you better speak with monash itself. hmm.gif
Grimm
post Jan 15 2009, 10:28 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Yeah, my friend said she got a revised offer but refused to tell me what it was coz she "no mood". Doesn't sound too wonderful.

What's revised offer? =/ Got any questions, call Ms. June herself. Directly. Better yet, go speak to her in person.
linkolynn
post Jan 16 2009, 12:28 AM

123 posts

em.. revised offer means the offer that came after the previous offer that they gave us..

it's ok dy.. I just emailed Naomi, she said it's for me to apply the Visa, for longer period only..

143 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:10 PM