Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

Grimm
post Feb 4 2009, 04:30 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Its not a concept or anything... if its sunny, why bother with shoes? @_@

Over here different story la. Everywhere u go, got nails la, got broken glass la, got live cigarrete buds la, got pampers la, got ppls puke la, got sanitary pad la.

I think i'll have 2 pairs of thongs over there in the summer. Shoes are important StarGhazzer! I'll bring over my walking shoes and converse. My friend said converse better buy here. Vans and the rest, buy there.
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 04:46 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 04:30 PM)

Over here different story la. Everywhere u go, got nails la, got broken glass la, got live cigarrete buds la, got pampers la, got ppls puke la, got sanitary pad la.

I think i'll have 2 pairs of thongs over there in the summer. Shoes are important StarGhazzer! I'll bring over my walking shoes and converse. My friend said converse better buy here. Vans and the rest, buy there.
hahahah. over there is the same lah. got glass, got syringes even. ph34r.gif but i have to admit in the city day time is ok lah. i used to watch the cleaners go to work late at night. its a whole squadren of cleaners. but still its kinda gross. and then they walk in their house back. eiiyerrr. heheh.

yeah get good walking shoes. you'll walk a lot in australia. bring socks too. cheaper heheh.
kwh1989
post Feb 4 2009, 05:48 PM

412 posts

err, guys jz wondering, Has MAS increase their student baggage limit to 30kg?

link

anyone can confirm this??? i asked MAS, they tell me i jz nid to show them my identification as a student there.

but i'm going there as a first year student, can COE be used instead?
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 05:58 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:48 PM)
link

anyone can confirm this??? i asked MAS, they tell me i jz nid to show them my identification as a student there.

it's always been 30kg for students just that u gotta inform them........maybe its a different method now but students will still get 30kg
kwh1989
post Feb 4 2009, 06:15 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 4 2009, 05:58 PM)
it's always been 30kg for students just that u gotta inform them........maybe its a different method now but students will still get 30kg
oh ok, then the front page of this thread may nid to update???
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 06:36 PM

624 posts

not everyone is able to get the student ticket....you've to inform them when you're buying from travel agent or watever thats why safer to just put 20kg
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 06:41 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:48 PM)
link

you can show ur student card. the ISIC. this should be adequate proof that you are a student. you can apply for it in malaysia for rm20-30 bring your eCOE i think. and few passport photos. i think should be all you need.
TShaya
post Feb 4 2009, 06:53 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Also, I only know of MAS and SIA who will give students an extra 10KG. I can vouch that Qantas, Emirates and Royal Brunei do not give students the extra allowance.

Why is it so difficult looking at your ticket to know how much allowance there is? It is not exactly 20KG. Qantas gives you 23KG, and I know it is possible with Emirates to get away with 25KG if the flight is not that full.

Which part of "use this thread as a guide, not a hard set of rules" don't you guys understand? When Sim Kwang Yang returned from studies in Canada 30 years ago he described it as "[t]he intellectual, cultural, and political backwardness [...] hit me in my face like a train." Today despite the internet and a search which is better than the Altavista I grew up with, the stupidity Malaysians bring with them when they go overseas just staggers me.

The reason I have second thoughts of going back to Malaysia is going back to a place where old habits die hard, and new ideas not easily accepted.

I also can't believe we are actually having a discussion on footwear. Legend that there are no girls on the internet. And surely there are more important things in life than how many shoes you need?

Added on February 4, 2009, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 4 2009, 02:37 PM)
haya: put the powerbank thingy at the front page... it's a handy tool for travellers although the usual RM5 adapters suffice for me.
the whole "take a power bank and remove the head with an Australian plug" has ALWAYS been on the front page from day one.

And threads like "Why can't [Malaysia] be a developed country" exist in the Real World Issues subforum. Its so blindingly obvious.

This post has been edited by haya: Feb 4 2009, 06:59 PM
BlueBerry~
post Feb 4 2009, 08:34 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 4 2009, 06:53 PM)
Also, I only know of MAS and SIA who will give students an extra 10KG. I can vouch that Qantas, Emirates and Royal Brunei do not give students the extra allowance.

I beg to differ. I came to Perth using Royal Brunei and they gave me 10KG extra for being a student. They even let me through when me and my cousin's luaggage was overweight by 4KG. You need to tell them beforehand that your a student.

This post has been edited by BlueBerry~: Feb 4 2009, 08:34 PM
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 08:41 PM

624 posts

What I notice usually is it depends on the counter staff if you don't have a student ticket. Even without one, if the staff is lenient he/she will let you through even if you're overweight. Some of the staff just have a bad day and won't let you through even if you're 1kg over
ivango88
post Feb 4 2009, 11:50 PM

104 posts

I wonder is everyone of us supposed to have a ISIC card? Whr is this card being issued? and when? coz I hv no knowledge about this... and I am already here in aust. anyone? thx.. perth has a nice weather today..! love it.
Crescendo MY
post Feb 5 2009, 12:07 AM

32 posts

Good Evening,

I wanted to know, when flying on MAS Airline, am i allowed to carry my backpack and one hand carry aboard?

Just wanted to know before I fly to australia.
hihihehe
post Feb 5 2009, 12:24 AM

13,784 posts

hmm...i transit from sg to melbourne with qantas airway and they offer me 30kg because i showed them that i m student
StarGhazzer
post Feb 5 2009, 01:05 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 04:30 PM)

Of course shoes are important tongue.gif Without them you'll mess up your soles very quickly... And don't follow those locals who for some reason just love to walk around barefooted. Why go and make your feet dirty with mud/dirt/dust and scratch them on the bitumen?

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 4 2009, 06:53 PM)
the whole "take a power bank and remove the head with an Australian plug" has ALWAYS been on the front page from day one.
I was replying to what you've posted yesterday afternoon:
@wKkaY: maybe I should put this and the whole powerbank thing on the front page?

which you removed later that evening.

If it's already there then good.
panda-man
post Feb 5 2009, 01:17 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:50 PM)
I wonder is everyone of us supposed to have a ISIC card? Whr is this card being issued? and when? coz I hv no knowledge about this... and I am already here in aust. anyone? thx.. perth has a nice weather today..! love it.
no need lah. you can have it. but since you are already in australia. your uni will be giving you their university student card. it is valid all over australia. the ISIC is not that special over there. when i was there. only ISIC purchased in australia worked. the one i registered in malaysia was not accepted. so stooopid. dunno if its still like that. and also as an international student we cant even get discount on public transport. well in victoria anyway. which sucks. only locals get the discounts

QUOTE(Crescendo MY @ Feb 5 2009, 12:07 AM)
Good Evening,

I wanted to know, when flying on MAS Airline, am i allowed to carry my backpack and one hand carry aboard?

Just wanted to know before I fly to australia.
should be ok. i done that before. malaysia not so strict on handcarry. as long as its not like a GIANT backpack and a giant handcarry. dont over pack your backpack though. they probably wont like that.

australia is very strict on handcarry rules. so when leaving. you will not be allowed handcarry and additional backpack. in most cases at least.
EthanLoo
post Feb 5 2009, 01:25 AM

Guys I going to Sydney on 20th Feb, and my Course start at 3rd March. Do you guys think that period is enough for me to find a accommodation there? Thanks
quantum
post Feb 5 2009, 01:29 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(EthanLoo @ Feb 5 2009, 01:25 AM)
Guys I going to Sydney on 20th Feb, and my Course start at 3rd March. Do you guys think that period is enough for me to find a accommodation there? Thanks
depends on your luck.........whats important is that your temporary stay allows you to be there for at least 2 weeks....after you reach, it'll take you a few days to view the unit then a few days for selection process then a few days to process papers then you can finally move in hahaha
EthanLoo
post Feb 5 2009, 01:32 AM

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 5 2009, 01:29 AM)
depends on your luck.........whats important is that your temporary stay allows you to be there for at least 2 weeks....after you reach, it'll take you a few days to view the unit then a few days for selection process then a few days to process papers then you can finally move in hahaha
Thanks man ^^ thumbup.gif
stevenchang
post Feb 5 2009, 02:28 AM

160 posts

I'm not sure if it's right to post this question here. But anyway, it is still slightly a bit related to studying in Australia.=)

I got a question here.

The duration for SAM is probably around 8-12 months. That depends on which intake you take.

If I join the SAM intake on March, it will just be 8 months study. An intensive one. Will it be tough? I heard my seniors saying that cramming all the subjects in 8 months is hell of a roller coaster ride. They actually had a hard time too even though they joined the Jan intake. Covering all the assignments, projects, and examinations in just 8 months. I wonder how to. I do not feel like taking STPM or A levels cause the duration of the time is too long. A levels is expensive as well and I'm planning to further my studies in Aus in the future.

Will I just managed to pass or will I pass it with flying colours if I take SAM? I'm not a genius, just an average student who had just finished his SPM.

Any opinions? Am I having the wrong perception on this matter? Can anyone tell me more?

Besides, if I do take SAM. Means I can only further my studies in universities in Southern Australia? And whats the difference between SAM and AusMat?

I'm confused.

Your help would be deeply appreciated.

Added on February 5, 2009, 2:29 am
QUOTE(EthanLoo @ Feb 5 2009, 01:25 AM)
where are u studying? and what course?

This post has been edited by stevenchang: Feb 5 2009, 02:29 AM
quantum
post Feb 5 2009, 02:46 AM

624 posts

SAM is just the australian year12 of high school........you might probably find it slightly tougher since the syllabus is slightly different. The australians are able to do it in 1 year i'm pretty sure you can too.

If not, are other pre-u alternatives like CPU. The cert you get is from some canadian high school as well

143 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:05 PM