4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

quantum
post Feb 1 2009, 12:10 AM

624 posts

There was someone with a itchy hand in melb that started a bushfire and burnt down quite alot of area

PS: Is anyone here still in Brisbane??? I'm very bored lol most of my friends went back for CNY

This post has been edited by quantum: Feb 1 2009, 01:20 AM
quantum
post Feb 1 2009, 03:08 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Feb 1 2009, 03:02 AM)
anyone here knows about the limit for hand luggage for air asia as in the weight or the maximum size of luggage permitted?

will be going to perth (curtin - pharmacy) this 4th
All flights limit your hand luggage to 7kg. They can't weigh anything in a plastic bag though. So if you're overweight, bring some plastic bags and put the stuff in.

This post has been edited by quantum: Feb 1 2009, 03:09 AM
quantum
post Feb 1 2009, 03:41 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Feb 1 2009, 03:24 AM)
good idea..

so i suppose i can bring in a luggage of any dimension? scared later the officer say that my hand luggage is too big in dimension
You can't bring those REALLY huge huge bags....

luggage size
tips

These 2 links would be a very good example of what you need to do. Things you need to worry for hand luggage are to:

1)not have metallic sharp objects ( nailclippers, shavers, etc.)
2)no liquids. Or less than I think 100ml
3)Australian customs is really strict. You don't really need to bring any foodstuff anyways because chances are you can find what you want in an asian supermarket
4)lighters should be kept in pocket

I think thats basically it. You are allowed 1 laptop bag and 1 hand luggage and UNLIMITED plastic bags. Ladies are allowed 1 handbag and 1 hand luggage (not too sure about an extra laptop)

PS. Hmm...I notice no information on hand luggage and customs in australia? Should we add it in the front?

This post has been edited by quantum: Feb 1 2009, 03:53 AM
quantum
post Feb 1 2009, 09:26 AM

624 posts

any students travelling overseas with MAS are automatically given 30kg provided you book the correct type of ticket. Remember to inform your travel agent
quantum
post Feb 1 2009, 11:19 AM

624 posts

Gee right??? having fun??? haha my sponsor rejected my claim for air ticket
quantum
post Feb 2 2009, 01:57 PM

624 posts

wait how much is the plan you're talking about??? there are alot of cheap internet plans available

This post has been edited by quantum: Feb 2 2009, 01:59 PM
quantum
post Feb 2 2009, 02:09 PM

624 posts

he's talking about broadband internet/ mobile broadband........you don't need an unlimited plan for lots of video calls haha
quantum
post Feb 2 2009, 02:26 PM

624 posts

for your broadband needs in australia visit www.whirlpool.net.au

for $40-$50 you can get a 256/64 unlimited plan
quantum
post Feb 2 2009, 03:30 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Feb 2 2009, 02:46 PM)
I've check, and I am confuse with all those diff packages. I am looking on wireless broadband instead of fixed line, coz im staying in a student accommodation, and I dun think I can use their fix line to register, and I believe it will be very troublesome when I move out next time. So do wireless broadband come with unlimited package? how i wish streamyx are thr so that I dun need to worry,lols...
Have you checked what type of internet they offer there? For mobile internet just try looking through THREE and Telstra....i think vodafone and optus also have their own mobile broadband. Go check it out
quantum
post Feb 3 2009, 05:28 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Feb 3 2009, 11:25 AM)
I would like to ask about police record check. I have just received a letter from my university to ask me to do police record check.

I have done for Police Record Check for Australian.

However, the letter also state that "students who have lived in Australia for less than one yera must obtain a police record check from the country in which they last resided".

Do you all have any idea about police record check for Malaysia?

If it's the same police check I'm doing for my PR app you've to go to ministry of foreign affairs.

kln website

letter of good conduct
quantum
post Feb 3 2009, 06:08 PM

624 posts

we set up ebay auction for maggi mee, indo mee, etc. for people in tas?
quantum
post Feb 3 2009, 11:46 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Feb 3 2009, 11:33 PM)
Is there any airasia X flight to sydney? Or wht is the cheapest way to fly to sydney? How many connecting flights notworthy.gif ?
why don't you call the travel agent????
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 12:23 AM

624 posts

since when was it a serious offence.......download away lol.....
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 01:06 AM

624 posts

If you're staying in those residential sharing places odds are there'll be someone who would've setup a server for everyone to copy their movies
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 05:58 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:48 PM)
err, guys jz wondering, Has MAS increase their student baggage limit to 30kg?
link

anyone can confirm this??? i asked MAS, they tell me i jz nid to show them my identification as a student there.

but i'm going there as a first year student, can COE be used instead?
it's always been 30kg for students just that u gotta inform them........maybe its a different method now but students will still get 30kg
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 06:36 PM

624 posts

not everyone is able to get the student ticket....you've to inform them when you're buying from travel agent or watever thats why safer to just put 20kg
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 08:41 PM

624 posts

What I notice usually is it depends on the counter staff if you don't have a student ticket. Even without one, if the staff is lenient he/she will let you through even if you're overweight. Some of the staff just have a bad day and won't let you through even if you're 1kg over
quantum
post Feb 5 2009, 01:29 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(EthanLoo @ Feb 5 2009, 01:25 AM)
Guys I going to Sydney on 20th Feb, and my Course start at 3rd March. Do you guys think that period is enough for me to find a accommodation there? Thanks
depends on your luck.........whats important is that your temporary stay allows you to be there for at least 2 weeks....after you reach, it'll take you a few days to view the unit then a few days for selection process then a few days to process papers then you can finally move in hahaha
quantum
post Feb 5 2009, 02:46 AM

624 posts

SAM is just the australian year12 of high school........you might probably find it slightly tougher since the syllabus is slightly different. The australians are able to do it in 1 year i'm pretty sure you can too.

If not, are other pre-u alternatives like CPU. The cert you get is from some canadian high school as well
quantum
post Feb 6 2009, 11:50 AM

624 posts

ANGRY WHOPPER IS THE BEST!!!! i wonder if its still being sold in hungry jacks

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0470sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:24 PM