Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

Grimm
post Feb 4 2009, 12:50 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Lol. Download away biggrin.gif

Buy a few ori games? w00t! RA3, SC2 and the likes.

Btw, i've only ever been on Air Asia flights. I've flown 3 times. No problems for me, and i'm 181cm. Maybe you guys are claustrophobic? Afraid of tight spaces? I just sleep on the plane. 30 min flight I also can sleep xD I love sleeping while traveling. So fun. U wake up ur almost at ur destination d biggrin.gif
evilhomura89
post Feb 4 2009, 12:56 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 12:50 AM)

Btw, i've only ever been on Air Asia flights. I've flown 3 times. No problems for me, and i'm 181cm. Maybe you guys are claustrophobic? Afraid of tight spaces? I just sleep on the plane. 30 min flight I also can sleep xD I love sleeping while traveling. So fun. U wake up ur almost at ur destination d biggrin.gif
download away??
i'm staying in the residential halls...and i think the uni are monitoring the internet usage as well...there's the risk
StarGhazzer
post Feb 4 2009, 01:04 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 4 2009, 12:18 AM)
For me,i dont watch at all.BT in Aus is quite difficult,IMO.

Grab a few good ori games and bring it there.Since there is no Streamyx there,you could play online better than here.
BT is much better over in Australia, but of course it's likely to be "ahem"... Yet they aren't exactly strict like in the US. Everyone's BT-ing like crazy especially when you have ADSL2.

Then again it's easy to go over the quota if you dl TV series and you'll end up with a shaped line sad.gif

Instead of dl, one could also view the serials directly online since the internet is fast enough hehe...
quantum
post Feb 4 2009, 01:06 AM

624 posts

If you're staying in those residential sharing places odds are there'll be someone who would've setup a server for everyone to copy their movies
jerk
post Feb 4 2009, 01:51 AM

1,039 posts

@Grimm

well. clothes are the main stuff.. i brought A4 papers and stationary and etc.. 1 universal adaptor so that i can plug in my laptop. oh ya shoes as well
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 10:26 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Feb 4 2009, 01:51 AM)
@Grimm

well. clothes are the main stuff.. i brought A4 papers and stationary and etc.. 1 universal adaptor so that i can plug in my laptop. oh ya shoes as well
paper.... isnt that heavy? oh well.

stationary yeah. i recommend bringing that. its quite expensive over there. although they got a large supply and lotsa choice over there. just run into office works and you'll find everything you need.

i dont think you need universal adapter for your laptop. i just bought a power cable when i was in aussie. just switch the power cable to the adapter. costs around AUD$5 at the china shop. some are up to AUD$ 10.
Grimm
post Feb 4 2009, 11:20 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Yeah, I think my main bulk of luggage will be my shoes xD

Stationary? Hmm... okay.

Annyone bring books along? I think it'll cost me a lot on the scales @_@
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 11:35 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 11:20 AM)

Stationary? Hmm... okay.

yeah stationary is easy to get there, but its quite pricey.... its roughly dollar for dollar.

shoes? make sure you bring some slippers too. or as the aussies say. thongs. cause it gets pretty hot.... you'll end up like me... got a slipper tan. hahahah.
booby
post Feb 4 2009, 11:43 AM

oh god why
658 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 4 2009, 11:35 AM)
yeah stationary is easy to get there, but its quite pricey.... its roughly dollar for dollar.

shoes? make sure you bring some slippers too. or as the aussies say. thongs. cause it gets pretty hot.... you'll end up like me... got a slipper tan. hahahah.
lol slipper tan >.<

but cannot wear to class rite? Maybe i'll get a pair over there, luggage no more space liao rclxub.gif
wKkaY
post Feb 4 2009, 11:45 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(giomanach @ Feb 3 2009, 10:59 PM)
Anyone taken Air Asia to Aussie before?

I took D7 to melbourne and didn't like it at all. I've flown 15-hour long-hauls on different carriers several times last year, and I walk out of the plane feeling better than an 8-hour flight on D7! I don't regret though, since at the time of purchase it was RM1000 cheaper than MAS (I bought a one-way ticket).

If you are to fly D7, I suggest that you take a daytime flight. It's difficult to sleep in the plane due to the rigid seats and tight seating arrangement.
Grimm
post Feb 4 2009, 11:47 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I'll get some harvs over there la for thongs. Dont wanna bring all the extra extra things. 3 pairs of shoes and a pair of thongs, me thinks ^^
wKkaY
post Feb 4 2009, 11:47 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Feb 4 2009, 02:43 PM)
lol slipper tan >.<

but cannot wear to class rite? Maybe i'll get a pair over there, luggage no more space liao  rclxub.gif

You'll be surprised how casual it is here. Your lecturers may wear them too.

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:51 am
QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 4 2009, 01:26 PM)
i dont think you need universal adapter for your laptop. i just bought a power cable when i was in aussie. just switch the power cable to the adapter. costs around AUD$5 at the china shop. some are up to AUD$ 10.
I recently found something that's better - univeral power strip. If you have many appliances from different countries, this does the job better than a single-appliance adapter (which tends to get loose). They don't cost much in KL too - about RM30-40?

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:57 am
QUOTE(jerk @ Feb 4 2009, 04:51 AM)

A 500-sheet ream of 80gsm paper is 2.5kg. Think about that wink.gif
TShaya
post Feb 4 2009, 12:28 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 11:47 AM)
I'll get some harvs over there la for thongs. Dont wanna bring all the extra extra things. 3 pairs of shoes and a pair of thongs, me thinks ^^
You don't need to bring so many things over. Member jerk even brought reams of paper over, which is absurd when you think about it: I don't think it is any cheaper in Malaysia, and I can think of more interesting things to bring in the 2KG a ream of paper takes up on average.

This post has been edited by haya: Feb 4 2009, 07:01 PM
bakakenshin
post Feb 4 2009, 02:22 PM

Hows the weather in Brisbane now? hot, cold, warm, flood, storm or windy? just wanna know what to wear before i arrive to brisbane..
TShaya
post Feb 4 2009, 02:28 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(bakakenshin @ Feb 4 2009, 02:22 PM)
Hows the weather in Brisbane now? hot, cold, warm, flood, storm or windy? just wanna know what to wear before i arrive to brisbane..
Just dress like Malaysia. 22C at night at best, but average 25C outside, about 2-3C warmer inside without any cooling. Day is 30C, 32C tops.
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 02:37 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 4 2009, 12:28 PM)
You don't need to bring so many things over. Member jerk even brought reams of paper over, which is absurd when you think about it: I don't think it is any cheaper in Malaysia, and I can think of more interesting things to bring in the 2KG a ream of paper takes up on average.

@wKkaY: maybe I should put this and the whole powerbank thing on the front page?

Through I wonder why I bother sometimes.
you need to "quote" the front page in your siggy me thinks. or in every post. hehehe.
StarGhazzer
post Feb 4 2009, 02:37 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 4 2009, 01:06 AM)
If you're staying in those residential sharing places odds are there'll be someone who would've setup a server for everyone to copy their movies
Obviously. biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif

Network gaming too... study lah... jgn main banyak banyak.

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 11:20 AM)

Stationary? Hmm... okay.

shoes sweat.gif

For guys, one pair of sneakers (worn on your feet while on the plane), one sandals/slippers, and one formal leather shoes for those odd occassions would suffice for at least one year.

Probably different for girls though as they often have numerous pairs of sandals, boots, bla bla.

Books... if you have lots of them yet not much luggage allowance then might as well pack them and send via courier. Unless, of course, you have 40kg baggage like I did... even so I didn't bring many books either, just one or two light ones. You can get them in libraries and then zap 'em.

What students often do is to bring along a year's supply of toiletries eg toothbrushes/toothpaste, shampoos/soaps/shower foams etc; and of course lots of dried food/local produce that you can't get in Australia. Stationary wise, a dozen of pens won't add much to your baggage so why not? And if your uni only offers online lecture notes, make damn sure that you buy printer cartridges in M'sia (buy your printer in Aussie, they cost approx. the same even after $-RM conversion). You'll save hundreds if you buy in bulk and bring 'em over.

haya: put the powerbank thingy at the front page... it's a handy tool for travellers although the usual RM5 adapters suffice for me.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 4 2009, 02:39 PM
QuackSilver
post Feb 4 2009, 02:39 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 4 2009, 01:45 PM)
I took D7 to melbourne and didn't like it at all. I've flown 15-hour long-hauls on different carriers several times last year, and I walk out of the plane feeling better than an 8-hour flight on D7! I don't regret though, since at the time of purchase it was RM1000 cheaper than MAS (I bought a one-way ticket).

If you are to fly D7, I suggest that you take a daytime flight. It's difficult to sleep in the plane due to the rigid seats and tight seating arrangement.
ditto. i recently took a D7 flight from OOL to KUL. they were flying the new plane and the seats were horrendous. lack of legroom, seats that doesn't recline but just slides forward (which makes things worse by reducing the already little legroom one has). if you were on the aisle seats you'd notice that the leg of the seat in front of you is smack right in the middle of the seat, thus making you dump all your hand carry on top instead of putting it just in front of you.

i'm taking a full service airline from now on.

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 4 2009, 01:47 PM)
You'll be surprised how casual it is here. Your lecturers may wear them too.

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:51 am
I recently found something that's better - univeral power strip. If you have many appliances from different countries, this does the job better than a single-appliance adapter (which tends to get loose). They don't cost much in KL too - about RM30-40?

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:57 amA 500-sheet ream of 80gsm paper is 2.5kg. Think about that wink.gif
well it was so casual at my uni to the point where no footwear seemed to be the in thing during Autumn
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 02:57 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Feb 4 2009, 02:39 PM)
ditto. i recently took a D7 flight from OOL to KUL. they were flying the new plane and the seats were horrendous. lack of legroom, seats that doesn't recline but just slides forward (which makes things worse by reducing the already little legroom one has). if you were on the aisle seats you'd notice that the leg of the seat in front of you is smack right in the middle of the seat, thus making you dump all your hand carry on top instead of putting it just in front of you.

i'm taking a full service airline from now on.
well it was so casual at my uni to the point where no footwear seemed to be the in thing during Autumn
i still dont understand the concept of the no footwear thing. my friend asked an aussie guy. "hey why you not wearing shoes?" his reply was... "because its sunny."..... maybe he doesnt want a slipper tan. LOL

they are really lenient in aussie campus. people are drunk off their asses sometimes when the uni gives out free beer. half naked and sleeping on the grass.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 4 2009, 02:57 PM
Cheesenium
post Feb 4 2009, 03:28 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 4 2009, 12:50 AM)

I just buy a few ori games and bring over.I dont watch dramas at all,so it doesnt bother me.It's a waste of time and bandwidth to get them.

I have ori RA3 now,with a few other good games like CoH,DoW,Spore and Sins of Solar Empire.Considering to get DoW2 ori too.If im really desperate for a game,there is Empire:Total War which is coming out in march and SC2 Beta later on.I have signed up for DiRT 2 Beta too.It's enough to keep me entertained.

The PC games industry is dying due to piracy.Also,respect other people's intellectual property.Making a software isnt easy in the first place.So,it's either original,use free alternatives or dont use it.

I do plan to get original AutoCAD,if the price is not ridiculous.

143 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.5236sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:22 AM