Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

QuackSilver
post Jan 21 2009, 02:13 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Jan 20 2009, 10:01 PM)
i see, thanks for the info guys. so lets say i converted my license, then after it expired, could i renew it again at JPJ, or thats the only time you could do that and the australian government force u to take their aussie driving license?
translate your license (use a translator from NAATI. you can find a translator that will translate your M'sian driving license to English on the NAATI website) and it will be valid till the day your Malaysian driving license expires. say your M'sian driving license expires during your stay in Australia, you can get a new license from M'sia and do the translation all over again or just get an Australian driving license.
QuackSilver
post Jan 21 2009, 09:15 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Jan 21 2009, 10:33 PM)
the M'sian consulate can also do the translations for $8-12 per document,

I heard the NAATI charge by words is it?
not too sure on how they charge. i got my driving license translated for $40 and my birth cert for $25. mind you those were two different translators that i used
QuackSilver
post Feb 1 2009, 11:06 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 1 2009, 02:10 AM)
There was someone with a itchy hand in melb that started a bushfire and burnt down quite alot of area
PS: Is anyone here still in Brisbane??? I'm very bored lol most of my friends went back for CNY
i'm heading back to Bris on the 4th of March. i thought you would have gotten back to KL lol

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 1 2009, 05:08 AM)
All flights limit your hand luggage to 7kg. They can't weigh anything in a plastic bag though. So if you're overweight, bring some plastic bags and put the stuff in.
erm last i looked MH limited their hand luggage to 5kgs. the rest are all 7kgs i think
QuackSilver
post Feb 1 2009, 12:08 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 1 2009, 01:19 PM)
Gee right??? having fun??? haha my sponsor rejected my claim for air ticket
yup. not too bad myself at the moment. ouch that sucks

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 1 2009, 01:19 PM)
What is this "correct type" of ticket? I always thought there is only 1st class, Business Class and Economy Class. Is there such thing as Student Class to qualify for 30-kg?
what he meant by "correct type" of ticket is a student ticket which is basically just an economy class ticket but has more luggage allowance
QuackSilver
post Feb 4 2009, 02:39 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 4 2009, 01:45 PM)
I took D7 to melbourne and didn't like it at all. I've flown 15-hour long-hauls on different carriers several times last year, and I walk out of the plane feeling better than an 8-hour flight on D7! I don't regret though, since at the time of purchase it was RM1000 cheaper than MAS (I bought a one-way ticket).

If you are to fly D7, I suggest that you take a daytime flight. It's difficult to sleep in the plane due to the rigid seats and tight seating arrangement.
ditto. i recently took a D7 flight from OOL to KUL. they were flying the new plane and the seats were horrendous. lack of legroom, seats that doesn't recline but just slides forward (which makes things worse by reducing the already little legroom one has). if you were on the aisle seats you'd notice that the leg of the seat in front of you is smack right in the middle of the seat, thus making you dump all your hand carry on top instead of putting it just in front of you.

i'm taking a full service airline from now on.

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 4 2009, 01:47 PM)
You'll be surprised how casual it is here. Your lecturers may wear them too.

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:51 am
I recently found something that's better - univeral power strip. If you have many appliances from different countries, this does the job better than a single-appliance adapter (which tends to get loose). They don't cost much in KL too - about RM30-40?

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:57 amA 500-sheet ream of 80gsm paper is 2.5kg. Think about that wink.gif
well it was so casual at my uni to the point where no footwear seemed to be the in thing during Autumn
QuackSilver
post Mar 17 2009, 02:43 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

sent mine in in Jan. just finished uploading all the documents and am now waiting for info to come in
QuackSilver
post Mar 17 2009, 04:39 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 17 2009, 05:30 PM)
wow, good luck with it~
icic. IT grads?
hell no. i'm a Mechatronic Engineering grad. took some courses together with quantum here as well
QuackSilver
post Mar 18 2009, 02:20 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Mar 18 2009, 04:11 PM)
hmm
melbourne got sth happen?hmm.gif

sudd so many helicopter pass by at my apartment..
http://www.theage.com.au/national/melbourn...90318-91w6.html
QuackSilver
post Mar 30 2009, 09:06 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Mar 29 2009, 11:35 PM)
Its so hard to get a job in Brisbane nowadays. =(
yes we know that but you need not post twice about it.

i too am looking for jobs right now in Brisbane as well but you don't see me complaining about it twice now do you? wink.gif
QuackSilver
post Apr 1 2009, 04:55 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

i doubt you'll be able to get the 30kg weight allowance considering its a promotion price.

but still, doesn't hurt to ask
QuackSilver
post Apr 1 2009, 07:45 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 1 2009, 08:48 PM)
hmmm, just asking anyone heard of GRADS loyalty program from MAS? do they offer discount for air tickets? I'm in brisbane as well
Apparently it states on their website that they do. But I've never once used the Grads discount even though I applied for it donkey years back.
QuackSilver
post Apr 1 2009, 08:19 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 1 2009, 10:02 PM)
so, they are not offering a discount, or u dint try the card be4
for the simple reason that after getting Grads, i took either Qantas or AirAsia back to Brissy
QuackSilver
post Apr 1 2009, 09:39 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 1 2009, 10:40 PM)
lol, i thought qantas is not cheap at all, hmmm...so do Grads really give discount on tickets?
the reason i took Qantas was because it was cheaper than MH. the other cheap alternative full service airline would be Thai Airways. not sure on Royal Brunei Airlines prices but i'm pretty sure they're cheaper than MH.

anyhow which uni are you studying at in Brissy?
QuackSilver
post Apr 1 2009, 10:20 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 1 2009, 11:51 PM)
University of queensland, hmmm how come qantas is cheaper then MAS. Where u got ur ticket from? return tickets?
i think it has always been cheaper than MH for the past few years. note the word *think*. i got a one way ticket from MSL Travel as i didn't know whether i was heading back or not. got it for around RM 1.2k with a 20kg allowance.

UQ eh? what program are you doing? i've just graduated from UQ
QuackSilver
post Apr 2 2009, 09:08 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 2 2009, 10:39 AM)
Im doing electrical engineering, what program are u doing previously? Have u found a job?
i did mechatronics engineering, did quite a fair bit of electrical and electronic courses. i'm still on the lookout for jobs here smile.gif
QuackSilver
post Apr 2 2009, 10:37 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 2 2009, 12:05 PM)
qantas got offer to malaysia?
i check on9 but dun have destination to malaysia
they don't fly directly to Malaysia. however ticketing agents can arrange the tickets for you.

QUOTE(soontheam @ Apr 2 2009, 12:23 PM)
Qantas stopped flying to Malaysia about a decade or so ago. You'll have to take another airline, preferably not a low cost airline to a destination that has connectivity with Qantas, which means, Bangkok BKK, Singapore Changi SIN.
You buy the two tickets seperately and when you reach Bangkok or Singapore, go to the transfer counter and get your Qantas ticket.
you don't need to get the tickets separately. like i said, go to a ticketing agent and he/she will get it done in one ticket.
QuackSilver
post Apr 2 2009, 09:01 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 2 2009, 10:41 PM)
Have u did ur internship in aus? or back in malaysia? hmmm, Im going back to malaysia this year, next year im graduating, so im thnking whether i can take my internship next year
i did my internship in M'sia. now's a good time to find out which companies in Aus are taking students in for vac work. applications are usually open from aug onwards. check the UQ career fair website for details.

and since you're graduating at the end of next year (i assume you're doing two years cause of credit transfer?) you have to do it from Dec till Feb as you need about 60 days of working experience, 30 of which should be under the supervision of an engineer.

seriously, now's the time to find vac work. don't delay any further. plus you've got a report to write out once you head back to uni after that wink.gif
QuackSilver
post Apr 2 2009, 09:50 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 2 2009, 11:38 PM)
yup, im just studying 2 years, but im going back to malaysia this coming summer, thats why i cant work for vacation. is there a short term casual job? like 1month or so?
you want a part time casual engineering job that counts for your industrial attachment? or just a job to get some income?
QuackSilver
post Apr 2 2009, 11:08 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 2 2009, 11:58 PM)
both will do, but if its count as industrial attachment that will be even better
ah. then you're better off looking at the smaller engineering companies for this one, doesn't matter if they aren't in EE. as long as you work as an engineer, you should be fine. i know of a friend who's doing civil who does casual work at a small civil engineering company and gets to work under an engineer for a day or two in a week
QuackSilver
post Apr 3 2009, 12:27 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 3 2009, 01:56 AM)
where do he get his job from? anyway to find info bout it?
i've no idea where he's working at sorry. well best place to find info is actually through the web. head over to the UQ career site. has tonnes of info there.

0.0219sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:58 PM