Life Sciences Biomedical science, come one come all

fen88
post Apr 23 2009, 12:03 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Apr 23 2009, 10:37 AM)
biomedical graduates normally become the assistant of doctors right?
they just test blood , control all kind of equipments at the labs.
oh,yes ah?
dun noe leh,can u pleasa tell us more about this course?
u seem to noe many wor~
hope to heard more from U since u look so confidence the job for biomed.^^
what else ?juz test blood ah?and help doctor ?
then what is the job for nurse,pharmasist,,bioinformatic graduate ?

SUSf4tE
post Apr 23 2009, 12:37 PM

1,605 posts

how come biomed sounds so keng but in the end the job sounds like technician only?? just keep doing the same thing.. anyone oso can do without the knowledge.. just telll someone how to do the blodd test
fen88
post Apr 23 2009, 12:50 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 23 2009, 12:37 PM)
how come biomed sounds so keng but in the end the job sounds like technician only?? just keep doing the same thing.. anyone oso can do without the knowledge.. just telll someone how to do the blodd test
dun noe much leh ,so join this forum to get more information lo.
anyone oso can ?tat's mean biochem,biotech oso can do it ?
without knowledge?tat's mean anyone can do it ?please tel us more if u noe a lot about this course.tq smile.gif
SUSf4tE
post Apr 23 2009, 12:57 PM

1,605 posts

If wanna specialize in research all oso same 1.. cuz the bio whatever is only basics.. U really specialize based on what kind of research u doing.. For example Im from biotech but for some unknown reason Im doing biochemistry now..

Im just saying that the blood tester guy/doctor's assistant mentioned in the post above sounds like any guy can just do it and dont need knowledge.. its just that something is wrong with the job and education matching... FOr example if i dont know anything and I got a job as the blood tester or whatever.. I just need to learn the skill and keep doing this routine for the rest or my career... There should b a more suitable job out there for biomed/biochem/whatever than the blood tester job
EvanSoon
post Apr 23 2009, 01:35 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

Yea.. i agree with f4te.. when i went to Gribbles for a lab tour with my uni i saw a lot of "odd" job ppl there doing things.. they learn from experience, not from a degree.. although some are important to be certified like the pathologist but the rest seem to not have loads of theoratical knowledge.. I think they learned on the spot on these things and pass it to the new guys as they come along..

Anyways.. anyone know where i can get a 2nd hand book of Physiology and Anatomy by Martin "something" ? its a quite famous book if not mistaken
TSn_n
post Apr 23 2009, 05:01 PM

385 posts

Hey people,

I would like to clarify something time and again.

Yeap, by getting a degree you have no choice but to end up working as the lab tech. BUT that dont make you a doctors assistant. Definitely a NO.

Like i said times and before... this is an ever growing and ever updating field. Meaning, if you wan research.. if you want better job, PLEASE upgrade youself to a MSc or PhD. By then, you will see the "keng" ness of Biomedical Science. I am not exagerrating of what not. But this is exactly what a lecturer in my uni *a doctor* told us. He told us back in oversea where he studies and work for quite a long time. Biomedical Scientist are actually trouble shooters to what the doctors dont know. Hence, our course is a little to medical base but we look at it in a very different way. He say he as a pathologist truly respects the Biomedical Scientists and that to his despair that this course is not yet developed in Malaysia. That is y Malaysia mind set states that we are nothing but doctor's assistant. Which we are not meant to..

To my future junior from JB,

Yes we have ALOT of practical report which i think we shouldnt complain about because it is parts and parcel of our course. It carries the fraction of the 30% for in course assestment which will be brought forward to FINALS. There is no practical based exam.. till now. But i heard there will be OSPE for next sem for Microbiology. This is like a practical based exam.

Once again this is only my thoughts...

Added on April 30, 2009, 6:41 pmI had started a facebook group for biomedical science in Malaysia...

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=94...gid=75967753211

This post has been edited by n_n: Apr 30 2009, 06:41 PM
Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 12:59 AM

88 posts

Woot woot...new here....wtfreak!!! OSPE on microbiology??? I wanna faint already....not going to be easy.... rclxub.gif

Anyway about the "doctor's assistant thingy"... I disagree with that... Dcotors got their job and we got our own job...Biomed scientists (or some would like to call t "technicians" , or ,provide information for docs so that the docs can do the further job....

For example, when a doc was given a body fluid, let's say urine, or semen... A doc would not know what to do with it. And the role of the lab technicians steps in, we (oops...I not graduate yet) analyze the samples and provide the results to the doc for further treatment....

Come on, the biomedical science course is something different than studing medicine ok?? Biomed science cources are not the "easier-less-hectic course version" of studying medicine....

IF docs can do all by themselves, why do they still need biomedical scientists/ med lab technicians....???

Then all the graduates of "biomedical science" can go back and sleep...or go back China sell mee....

Sorry for being rude and "childish", juz being frank....

If anyone wanna flame me....w/e...

Added on May 2, 2009, 1:02 amOh ya...1 more thing....

The docs and biomed scientists / med lab technicians are not "geng/keng/劲"....everyone of them are juz doing their job....playing different roles...

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 2 2009, 01:02 AM
fen88
post May 2 2009, 11:27 AM

57 posts

Thus, you are biomed student?
ya,that is not an easy course .
it require cgpa 3.6 and above in goverment uni
lordblood
post May 2 2009, 11:43 AM

422 posts

I got an offer to study science in NUS and after looking through it I think i might consider life science which later will major into biomedical.. I know with a degree alone won't help me, which I'll have to specialise into something else in the future.. I've heard ppl saying that with a biomedical degree, you can become a doctor by studying a 4 year medicine course. If that is so, where am I suppose to enroll for such a course? Overseas? Does local private unis here accept it? Furthermore, what else can biomedical holders specialise in? I know research and stuff but to what kind of prospects?
Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 02:27 PM

88 posts

yea fen88....cgpa is very high for local unis....(i would never get qualified for that cgpa)....even if u wanna go for overseas..let's say in Australia...the cgpa for STPM (for eg.) requires BBB for three subjects (not including that stupid PA)...

[QUOTE]I got an offer to study science in NUS and after looking through it I think i might consider life science which later will major into biomedical.. I know with a degree alone won't help me, which I'll have to specialise into something else in the future.. I've heard ppl saying that with a biomedical degree, you can become a doctor by studying a 4 year medicine course. If that is so, where am I suppose to enroll for such a course? Overseas? Does local private unis here accept it? Furthermore, what else can biomedical holders specialise in? I know research and stuff but to what kind of prospects?

we'll lordblood, totally agree with u...U need to specialise something in the end..having the biomedical science degree is not enuf.

The problem with the course is that it covers a little bit of this and that from different fields for eg. In the course u have to study biochemistry, biotechnology, cardiovascular system, haematology, and etc....Every bits of this and that builds up the foundation for ur knowledge of the samples that have been obtained and know how to deal with the samples ...

And yes, u can become a doc if u want (cool...), some unis might offer 4 yrs medicine course but for unis in America, U have to start all over again (5 yrs medicine course...sources from a lecturer in UKM)... U can enrol anywhere u want...If there are private unis in Malaysia that offer the course such as UTAR , IMU, MONASH (this is what i know).... what do u mean by does local public uni accept biomedical science??

Biomedical Science holders can specialise in being either chemistry technologists, microbiology technologists,cytotechnologists (study of cells). histotechnologists (study of tissues). immunoheamatology (immune system) , haematology (study of blood), or molecular biology in their further studies....

Well this is what I know of....anyway I am still in the process of knowing the gist of it....Hope what I had written here can answer ur doubts... biggrin.gif

good luck..
Ivangile
post May 2 2009, 05:19 PM

405 posts

If no scholarship with JPA, I think i will study Form six, then gain admission to NTU Biomedical and Traditional Chinese Medicine (Hopeso)..... I think this joint degree got good prospect right? tongue.gif
TSn_n
post May 2 2009, 06:01 PM

385 posts

Well, pretty well, if you think it is your interest go for it!

Hey Kurogane! Welcome here!
lordblood
post May 2 2009, 09:44 PM

422 posts

[quote=Kurogane88,May 2 2009, 02:27 PM]
yea fen88....cgpa is very high for local unis....(i would never get qualified for that cgpa)....even if u wanna go for overseas..let's say in Australia...the cgpa for STPM (for eg.) requires BBB for three subjects (not including that stupid PA)...

[QUOTE]I got an offer to study science in NUS and after looking through it I think i might consider life science which later will major into biomedical.. I know with a degree alone won't help me, which I'll have to specialise into something else in the future.. I've heard ppl saying that with a biomedical degree, you can become a doctor by studying a 4 year medicine course. If that is so, where am I suppose to enroll for such a course? Overseas? Does local private unis here accept it? Furthermore, what else can biomedical holders specialise in? I know research and stuff but to what kind of prospects?

we'll lordblood, totally agree with u...U need to specialise something in the end..having the biomedical science degree is not enuf.

The problem with the course is that it covers a little bit of this and that from different fields for eg. In the course u have to study biochemistry, biotechnology, cardiovascular system, haematology, and etc....Every bits of this and that builds up the foundation for ur knowledge of the samples that have been obtained and know how to deal with the samples ...

And yes, u can become a doc if u want (cool...), some unis might offer 4 yrs medicine course but for unis in America, U have to start all over again (5 yrs medicine course...sources from a lecturer in UKM)... U can enrol anywhere u want...If there are private unis in Malaysia that offer the course such as UTAR , IMU, MONASH (this is what i know).... what do u mean by does local public uni accept biomedical science??

Biomedical Science holders can specialise in being either chemistry technologists, microbiology technologists,cytotechnologists (study of cells). histotechnologists (study of tissues). immunoheamatology (immune system) , haematology (study of blood), or molecular biology in their further studies....

Well this is what I know of....anyway I am still in the process of knowing the gist of it....Hope what I had written here can answer ur doubts... biggrin.gif

good luck..

[/quote]

Oh, thank u vy much for clarifying my doubts.. Really give me a good picture of what I can do with this degree if I decide to pursue in it.. Cause I hear many people say it's not vy viable here in Malaysia but in other countries it's a different story.. Somewhat like biotech in malaysia la..

Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 10:04 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ May 2 2009, 09:44 PM)
Oh, thank u vy much for clarifying my doubts.. Really give me a good picture of what I can do with this degree if I decide to pursue in it.. Cause I hear many people say it's not vy viable here in Malaysia but in other countries it's a different story.. Somewhat like biotech in malaysia la..
Actually lord, this is what i think, indeed, biotech is not viable in Malaysia because it's still so called "developing" ( to put this straight, it's kinda underdeveloping)....

But for biomedical science, u get the foundation that I mentioned before and AT least, AT LEAST, get a stable job for example in hospitals, path labs and etc....Not to say biotech is crappy but biomedical science is more solid and the job prospectives are more "secured"....

Well, my knowledge on the future of biomedical science is still limited and I am still in the process of learning...

This is what I can say....for what I am studying now, I am happy with it. So far, I do not regret taking the course and I promise to myself that no matter how tough the road ahead will be, I will continue to strive and race to the finishing point...

Good luck to u man, the decision is iun ur hands...
lordblood
post May 2 2009, 10:31 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(Kurogane88 @ May 2 2009, 10:04 PM)
Actually lord, this is what i think, indeed, biotech is not viable in Malaysia because it's still so called "developing"  ( to put this straight, it's kinda underdeveloping)....

But for biomedical science, u get the foundation that I mentioned before and AT least, AT LEAST, get a stable job for example in hospitals, path labs and etc....Not to say biotech is crappy but biomedical science is more solid and the job prospectives are more "secured"....

Well, my knowledge on the future of biomedical science is still limited and I am still in the process of learning...

This is what I can say....for what I am studying now, I am happy with it. So far, I do not regret taking the course and I promise to myself that no matter how tough the road ahead will be, I will continue to strive and race to the finishing point...

Good luck to u man, the decision is iun ur hands...
okok.. thx.. it's something i strongly consider if i can't get my first choice in public uni.. which is medicine.. i see this as an alternative to it with being able to achieve my dream in the future.. may i ask where are u currently studying biomedical?
Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 10:43 PM

88 posts

Well....I am studying Biomedical Science in IMU, and I am one of the 1st batch biomedical science students ....

I juz finished semester 2 and I am studying for my end of sem exam as I am speaking now...(so many to study....GRR mad.gif ).

Wow..medicine as ur 1st choice! cool! which uni u choose for medicine in ur 1st choice? Well,hope u can get what u want...

Well, the requirement for biomedical science in IMU is CCC ( I got B B B- to get in ) and as u can see, based on my cgpa, I won't stand a chance AT ALL getting my this course in public U but thank God I am studying this course in IMU.

I admit that I am not a smart or good student but I am still trying my best to work hard to go through my three year course in IMU and hope that I can be successful someday in my life in the future.

But anyway, I believe u got confidence in urself since u put medicine as 1st choice in IPTA...so let's just see what happend next....anyway nice to meet u and may u get what u want...
TSn_n
post May 2 2009, 11:58 PM

385 posts

Hey hey, good to see that this site is risen from the dead again! Yay......

I want to wish everyone who is studying good luck and for those who still dont know what to do in future.. do not hesitate to ask!

Have a facebook account? And you are currently studying Biomed?

Head on to this site yea?

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=75967753211

Neway, Kurogane88 is my coursemate~ and he can definitely explain how life is it like in IMU. =) *tho we are different people with totally different mindset*

Life is hectic there but of course nothing in life is easy. As long as you pursue something that you are interested in.. It should be easier than you think!!!
CyberSetan
post May 3 2009, 12:21 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Ivangile @ May 2 2009, 05:19 PM)
If no scholarship with JPA, I think i will study Form six, then gain admission to NTU Biomedical and Traditional Chinese Medicine (Hopeso)..... I think this joint degree got good prospect right? tongue.gif
NTU Biomedical science and Traditional Chinese Medicine Double Degree program? Interesting combination.

http://www.sbs.ntu.edu.sg/prospectus/undergrad/BMS/index.php
Kurogane88
post May 3 2009, 11:15 AM

88 posts

Yep....interesting...
Ivangile
post May 3 2009, 11:47 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 3 2009, 12:21 AM)
NTU Biomedical science and Traditional Chinese Medicine Double Degree program? Interesting combination.

http://www.sbs.ntu.edu.sg/prospectus/undergrad/BMS/index.php
Yea, that's what I want biggrin.gif

25 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:59 AM