Life Sciences Biomedical science, come one come all

Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 12:59 AM

88 posts

Woot woot...new here....wtfreak!!! OSPE on microbiology??? I wanna faint already....not going to be easy.... rclxub.gif

Anyway about the "doctor's assistant thingy"... I disagree with that... Dcotors got their job and we got our own job...Biomed scientists (or some would like to call t "technicians" , or ,provide information for docs so that the docs can do the further job....

For example, when a doc was given a body fluid, let's say urine, or semen... A doc would not know what to do with it. And the role of the lab technicians steps in, we (oops...I not graduate yet) analyze the samples and provide the results to the doc for further treatment....

Come on, the biomedical science course is something different than studing medicine ok?? Biomed science cources are not the "easier-less-hectic course version" of studying medicine....

IF docs can do all by themselves, why do they still need biomedical scientists/ med lab technicians....???

Then all the graduates of "biomedical science" can go back and sleep...or go back China sell mee....

Sorry for being rude and "childish", juz being frank....

If anyone wanna flame me....w/e...

Added on May 2, 2009, 1:02 amOh ya...1 more thing....

The docs and biomed scientists / med lab technicians are not "geng/keng/劲"....everyone of them are juz doing their job....playing different roles...

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 2 2009, 01:02 AM
Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 02:27 PM

88 posts

yea fen88....cgpa is very high for local unis....(i would never get qualified for that cgpa)....even if u wanna go for overseas..let's say in Australia...the cgpa for STPM (for eg.) requires BBB for three subjects (not including that stupid PA)...

[QUOTE]I got an offer to study science in NUS and after looking through it I think i might consider life science which later will major into biomedical.. I know with a degree alone won't help me, which I'll have to specialise into something else in the future.. I've heard ppl saying that with a biomedical degree, you can become a doctor by studying a 4 year medicine course. If that is so, where am I suppose to enroll for such a course? Overseas? Does local private unis here accept it? Furthermore, what else can biomedical holders specialise in? I know research and stuff but to what kind of prospects?

we'll lordblood, totally agree with u...U need to specialise something in the end..having the biomedical science degree is not enuf.

The problem with the course is that it covers a little bit of this and that from different fields for eg. In the course u have to study biochemistry, biotechnology, cardiovascular system, haematology, and etc....Every bits of this and that builds up the foundation for ur knowledge of the samples that have been obtained and know how to deal with the samples ...

And yes, u can become a doc if u want (cool...), some unis might offer 4 yrs medicine course but for unis in America, U have to start all over again (5 yrs medicine course...sources from a lecturer in UKM)... U can enrol anywhere u want...If there are private unis in Malaysia that offer the course such as UTAR , IMU, MONASH (this is what i know).... what do u mean by does local public uni accept biomedical science??

Biomedical Science holders can specialise in being either chemistry technologists, microbiology technologists,cytotechnologists (study of cells). histotechnologists (study of tissues). immunoheamatology (immune system) , haematology (study of blood), or molecular biology in their further studies....

Well this is what I know of....anyway I am still in the process of knowing the gist of it....Hope what I had written here can answer ur doubts... biggrin.gif

good luck..
Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 10:04 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ May 2 2009, 09:44 PM)
Oh, thank u vy much for clarifying my doubts.. Really give me a good picture of what I can do with this degree if I decide to pursue in it.. Cause I hear many people say it's not vy viable here in Malaysia but in other countries it's a different story.. Somewhat like biotech in malaysia la..
Actually lord, this is what i think, indeed, biotech is not viable in Malaysia because it's still so called "developing" ( to put this straight, it's kinda underdeveloping)....

But for biomedical science, u get the foundation that I mentioned before and AT least, AT LEAST, get a stable job for example in hospitals, path labs and etc....Not to say biotech is crappy but biomedical science is more solid and the job prospectives are more "secured"....

Well, my knowledge on the future of biomedical science is still limited and I am still in the process of learning...

This is what I can say....for what I am studying now, I am happy with it. So far, I do not regret taking the course and I promise to myself that no matter how tough the road ahead will be, I will continue to strive and race to the finishing point...

Good luck to u man, the decision is iun ur hands...
Kurogane88
post May 2 2009, 10:43 PM

88 posts

Well....I am studying Biomedical Science in IMU, and I am one of the 1st batch biomedical science students ....

I juz finished semester 2 and I am studying for my end of sem exam as I am speaking now...(so many to study....GRR mad.gif ).

Wow..medicine as ur 1st choice! cool! which uni u choose for medicine in ur 1st choice? Well,hope u can get what u want...

Well, the requirement for biomedical science in IMU is CCC ( I got B B B- to get in ) and as u can see, based on my cgpa, I won't stand a chance AT ALL getting my this course in public U but thank God I am studying this course in IMU.

I admit that I am not a smart or good student but I am still trying my best to work hard to go through my three year course in IMU and hope that I can be successful someday in my life in the future.

But anyway, I believe u got confidence in urself since u put medicine as 1st choice in IPTA...so let's just see what happend next....anyway nice to meet u and may u get what u want...
Kurogane88
post May 3 2009, 11:15 AM

88 posts

Yep....interesting...
Kurogane88
post May 3 2009, 03:01 PM

88 posts

Juz an advice....If u think u will read the book then it will prove its worth but If u got no time to read those, then it might be a waste of money....

Any u go for few lectures and see whether u really need them...

For me, I don't think we need it for 1st sem...but marieb would be useful in the future....

PS: shoot....I still haven't really read thru those books properly...

Added on May 3, 2009, 3:02 pmP/S: would be useful when u write ur practical reports...hehe

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 3 2009, 03:02 PM
Kurogane88
post May 3 2009, 05:42 PM

88 posts

Interesting but i think it's still major in traditional medicine...

Anyway Cybersetan... CyberISETAN...LOL... which uni are u in in india??

Can tell me something bout the life in MSU??

Kurogane88
post May 3 2009, 06:39 PM

88 posts

Yep...true enuf....the notes are sufficient for sem 1....no time to read thru those thick and heavy , worse than paper weight books....

Added on May 3, 2009, 6:51 pmAnyway fen88 mind share with us something bout u? like what u took for pre -U, Ur results , why u choose biomedical science? Why choose IMU? Or maybe there are other options that u are considering now?? What would u like to do after u graduate etc,etc,etc.....Juz wanna know more bout ur views.... Talk anything u want and try elaborate more.....

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 3 2009, 06:51 PM
Kurogane88
post May 3 2009, 11:43 PM

88 posts

Wow...reading ur biography when studying biomedicine made me realise that I am still in the beginning stage....Looks like it's going to get tougher and tougher....I can't imgaine what will happen to me on the following sems...especially writing a thesis...

Looks like I gotta get prepared for all these....T_T

Thanks for the sharing Setan...if i got any wuestions i will post it here....thanks again!
Kurogane88
post May 4 2009, 08:20 AM

88 posts

Wah.....it's getting more and more creepier....

SPSS??? oh my goodness! I;m gonna be dead now....that software is a total headache! I learnt that on my sem 1 but it was a total disaster!!!

Goodness..getting kinda worried now...anyway, how u know on how to handle the software??

Kurogane88
post May 4 2009, 04:30 PM

88 posts

x_xmy,

based on ur nick and also ur post, ur from UM is it? and U know who n_n is right??

Added on May 4, 2009, 4:48 pmLet me guess fen88, if my guess is right, u are a chinese and one of ur chinese name is "芬"....

Well, looks like u are very very sure that ur going to join IMU. Well I hope u can get ur accommodation as soon as possible because all of them are hunting for it. U will never wanna ended up having no place to sleep. I had a very bad experience on this and hope u will get one place to stay ASAP...really really ASAP...

Ah gotta get back to study (not really concentrating), gotta study very very hard so that I can go thru sem 2 and see all of u....hahahahahaha...(sounds like a very desperate boy)

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 4 2009, 04:48 PM
Kurogane88
post May 4 2009, 05:02 PM

88 posts

Oh.......cheh....n_n = x_x

Anyway fen88 after u come to IMU , beware of statistics module, u got the chance of learning on how to use the spss software...sadly, i got no idea on how to use it because I forgot EVERYTHING already...summore the lecturer who teach this is juz another boring and dull old uncle....., but u got the chance to use it on sem 1. That statistics crap is kinda confusing , so better be careful and make sure u know what are u doing.....

Anywayz, they said it's easy to pass though...LOL..and luckily I passed too.....LMAO ROFL...but I got no idea of what is it already......T_T.

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 4 2009, 05:11 PM
Kurogane88
post May 5 2009, 11:05 AM

88 posts

He IS in india....well looking on the way he describes India, perhaps it's not that bad.... Bangalore, shoukd be a big city...compared to Manipal, it shoudl be better right??

fen88 ur the prettiest?? nvm.....I will hunt u down with my "hamsup" (perverted and horny) instincts.....hehehehehee.......

Anyway, better find a place now before sorry....

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 5 2009, 11:08 AM
Kurogane88
post May 5 2009, 11:55 AM

88 posts

Ohaiyo Gozaimatsu!....LOL

Added on May 5, 2009, 10:45 pmAnyway I was wondering .....Anyone ...ANYONE OUT THERE READING THIS POST.....ever regret taking this course and regret for it.....???

Anyone out there that can share with me his/ her testimonies of their experience?

I am very interested in knowing....

Also what u have to take note when ur taking the course and also after u graduate??

Added on May 5, 2009, 10:46 pmAnyway I was wondering .....Anyone ...ANYONE OUT THERE READING THIS POST.....ever regret taking this course and regret for it.....???

Anyone out there that can share with me his/ her testimonies of their experience?

I am very interested in knowing....

Also what u have to take note when ur taking the course and also after u graduate??

Added on May 6, 2009, 12:02 am
QUOTE(fen88 @ Apr 11 2009, 01:47 PM)
Hello!i'll take bio medical science this year in IMU (2009)
i heard that last year only 30 student intake.Althought it was new couse just started last year, but i have confident it 'll become popular .The reason is:
1)the university transfer credit to (otago university in new zealand) and also UK.IN THAT CASE ,we get foreign certificate.
2)if u have interest in bio ,u can furthet study .or ,u can use the bio med degree as graduate to enter medcine(accepted in IMU)BUT U MUST GET SECONG UPPER CLASS(3.5 and above in exam)
3)there is always more competative in private university,because resit exam is very expensive,1semester cost13k.total 6 semsester.beside that,we have more chance to polish our english.

that is what i think ,anyone agreed with me? biggrin.gif
This is what I got from ur previous biomed thread...wanna ask u:

1. the credit transfer they confrim already?? if they have planned it, how many sems u study local and how many sems u go overseas??
Also to go overseas, what's the cgpa??

2. What's the number of students intake for this year?? Actually the no of students in biomed was 41 on sem 1 but now 32 on sem 2...

3. well there is competition, but i think local public is more competitive. if u fail, u still have to resit....LOL

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 6 2009, 12:02 AM
Kurogane88
post May 6 2009, 03:53 PM

88 posts

Hahahahaha...true enough....

They are totally different courses and it's different......
Kurogane88
post May 6 2009, 08:37 PM

88 posts

or ACs??

Added on May 6, 2009, 8:38 pmsorry...wrong page...LOL

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 6 2009, 08:38 PM
Kurogane88
post May 7 2009, 12:42 AM

88 posts

9 students failed sem 1 (failing one of the modules, which is the subjects is also considered failed and will not be given permission to go thru the next sem.... Some of them took other paths and will not be back while some will be back in next sem....which is ur batch...some of ur seniors will join u... THerefore I must say < U BETTER WORK HARD BEFORE U FEEL SORRY FOR URSELF....IT's not going to be easy.... ohmy.gif

I am scared of it now too on sem 2 and hope by doing my best vmad.gif , I can go through see u when I am in sem 3.... shocking.gif

and I was afraid too when I was in sem 1 due to some of personal problems that affect my emotions and studies on sem 1...

and let me tell u this girl...so far I DO NOT regret taking biomedical science, although it might be hard for me, I will try my best to go through this ....I might regret in the future but this is the only best choice that I can have. I got a lot of options but this is the only path that I can take ...I believe through God's special and unexpected plans and thru my effort, I will do the best I can now so that I can have a better future....

Well....hope I can answer ur questions and will look forward to ur response... biggrin.gif

and 1 more thing, fen88 ur right, coming to IMU can improve the English language,I admit that my english is not good enough but make sure that u brush up the language now...Try to brush up as soon and as many improvements as u can cuz it's important...It is so important that it will affect ur studies....based on my past experiences and some observations...u better start soon as possible so that it will not be a barrier to u when it comes to studies...

Added on May 7, 2009, 12:47 amANYONE OUT THERE REGRET TAKING BIOMEDICAL SCIENCE AND ALSO REGRET GRADUATING AS A BIOMEDICAL SCIENCE GRADUATE???

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 7 2009, 12:47 AM
Kurogane88
post May 7 2009, 01:03 AM

88 posts

Girl one quesiton:

1. When we graduate, we will also work in such places right??? or am I wrong???

Anyway referring to my last post replying u...hope that I do not frighten u or offend u in terms of what u;ve said....I am juz telling the truth so that u can prepare for the worst

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 7 2009, 01:03 AM
Kurogane88
post May 7 2009, 01:25 AM

88 posts

ok lar....maybe i a bit too exaggerating....but advice I can give u is:

1. Relax by now, play all u can and try to have fun right now...have ur happy moments with ur boyfriend and enjoy life before starting IMU... rclxms.gif

2. SPSS u must know how to use when they teach statistics, so that u can teach me back in the future...hehehe

3. No point getting reference books when u still haven;t start ur course, remember...buy after u attend the lecture and when u think it's suitable...I can lend u campbell (for biology) if u want in the future...

if I am not misteken 7-8 modules will be in sem 1 but only 5 modules will be given EOS ( end of semester exam)

Modules are:

genetics , biological science, physical chemistry , Human biology, these 4 will have EOS (

then others with no EOS:
biodiversity, organic chem (pharmacy students and other cources got EOS) , professionalism and development of biomedical scientist, intrumentation of lab instruments,.....i think that's all

this is what we did on sem 1 but might have changes, so take note.

Remember, enjoy ur life right now and have fun to ur fullest and spend more time with ur families and ur boyfriend....hehe...dun worry too much...I am juz another idoit trying to scare u ....but it's true...hehe

Added on May 7, 2009, 1:26 amOh ya i forgot....STATISTICS...sleep well lar...dun worry now...worry later...

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 7 2009, 01:26 AM
Kurogane88
post May 7 2009, 01:39 AM

88 posts

well....EOS exam = end of semester exam....have to get used to it cuz IMU loves to put those confusing bloody short forms...

n_n she must have been studying now....actually I am also studying as I speak.....i know i look like free....LOL

Study breka starts now and next wednesday will be our 1st paper..biotech....so tough....

we will finish EOS at 21st of may....

haih....tough tough tough......wanna get crazy already....

Added on May 7, 2009, 1:41 amanyway, any idea how many new students joing biomed?? can u try find out or something?? wanna know cuz too busy body...

This post has been edited by Kurogane88: May 7 2009, 01:41 AM

0.0230sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:14 PM