Life Sciences Biomedical science, come one come all

EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 11:24 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

i think the point about future biomed future goes to all bio students as i have heard a lot of people working in a different field other than that of what they study.
individual thinking is the main reason as there are many jobs out there for us bio students but maybe the "job" isn't what they think it would be and the pay offered isn't high enough.
me i personally think that going into this field is not about how much you earn but what you are doing for a living. I personally enjoy biology so working with anything to do with bio is just great for me.
Lets hope the US company that is said to open a company in Penang year 2011 accepts as many bio students as possible~
EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 07:22 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Jan 5 2009, 11:45 AM)
i would suggest to all those studying biomed to go venture in sg, there they are much more established. instead of waiting for US companies to open their branch here, it is better to head straight  to sg, as they might be even more advanced.
kind of agree but because of ppl like us who leaves to other countries looking for a better future and facilities that the bio field in Malaysia is kind of low in standards.

I my self plan to stay in Malaysia to gain some experience 1st than move to other countries. wanted to go to singapore but its too close to Malaysia already so I also plan to go to Australia maybe after 2-3 years of working experience and maybe after i got my masters in some local uni.
EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 07:26 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

actually from my understanding after studying bio, no matter its biomed, biotech, bioinfo,pure bio and so on, you could work in the same field as each other and if you work in a different field, the things would be just slightly different.

intro you guys to a new bio field in Malaysia that i'm studying..
Medical Information Technology
EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 07:29 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(n_n @ Jan 5 2009, 07:22 PM)
Yes, too close to Malaysia..especially me staying in Johor Bahru...
yea.. me too.. after staying in johor for 21 years, seen enough of singapore..
but now moved up to penang already.. haha
but singapore is a nice place to live in, excluding the hectic life-style and the "kiasu'ness"
EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 07:34 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(n_n @ Jan 5 2009, 07:28 PM)
I dont plan to earn alot of money. just want to do some stuff i love to do..

sorry to have misunderstood....
wow... what is it about? what are you studying about and where?
i'm studying in MMU melaka..
seems that some doctors got bored of being a doctor and went for IT..
they than combined this 2 fields and brought in this subject that is also known in other countries like japan and germany.
we study everything about bio like biochem, pathology, microbiology, genetics, anatomy, and pharmacology inclusive of computer programming, data structure, database, digital image processing and so on..
but the things that we learn are not that deep like what biomed, biochem or biotech is studying..
the range of future work is pretty wide but as we study a lot of basics the position for a the job wont be high..

EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 07:40 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 5 2009, 07:35 PM)
now usually ppl will say 1 2 do for the love and stuff like dat..but when u really get out into the world, the only thing that matters is money...just curoius, what is it about the field that interests u so much?
depends on the person..
me i like it cos i feel i'm able to help people with it.
i can like a normal life with little to spend(after minus'ing money for parents,rent,bills,car loan)..
dun know.. its just set in my mind or heart that i would love doing it..
i can never imagine myself doing business..

but what i'm worried about what i'm studying now is no1 wants me as its totally new in malaysia n unheard of..
EvanSoon
post Jan 5 2009, 08:59 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(n_n @ Jan 5 2009, 07:41 PM)
cool~ so you graduated already?
nope.. not yet grad.. going to grad in 2 years.

about the biomed to MBBS thing i also think it is possible from what i read in reader's digest..
i think other bio subjects also can let u continue to study MBBS if you are willing to sacrifices the years and have a good cgpa..
I also wanted to be a doctor last time.. but after watching my friends stress out with it i decided not to pressure myself too hard(or another way of putting it is i didn't do that well) for my stpm..

EvanSoon
post Jan 6 2009, 07:13 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

can i say hospitals like hospital Pantai?
from what i hear from my lecturers they are trying to get ppl to work for them.. they are looking for what positioning than i'm not sure..
but what i hope is R&D n so on..
EvanSoon
post Jan 8 2009, 11:29 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(charles2690 @ Jan 8 2009, 11:00 AM)
Yeah true, in desperate measures, i would rather choose another job if that job enables me to support my family n myself though i do not have much interest in it. So, in short, im saying tht i would put responsibility over my very own interests.

Unlike graduates from well rich & established families, let say a graduate earns rm1700/month, of course he/she is able to support himself/herself (cuz the family members earns enuf), but would that rm1700 now be enough for him/her to support the current household?

Jz expressing my views ya. i apologize if any of my opinions contradicts any of u guys.  icon_rolleyes.gif i come in peace! smile.gif

Added on January 8, 2009, 11:03 am

yeah true smile.gif so, izzit guarenteed tht the company tht employs u will give u a raise as u work along the years? neva want my salary to remain stagnant even if i hav worked for 5 years!! lol biggrin.gif
i personally feel 1700 is not enough.. but as a starting pay u can just accept it and try to cut cost here n there for the 1st few months / a year.. the pay would rise but i dun think much.. maybe from 1700 - 2000..
thats y malaysians like to go overseas to get a job.. starting pay is almost the same but the currentcy there is higher.

in bio field upgrading ur level is also important as what n_n said.. learn as much as u can and gain as much experience as u can and ur "worth" will increase also.. thats what i think..
if ur worried doing research give less pay than be a lecturer.. tutors in MMU get ~2000 a month.. lecturers get ~3000.. phd = ~6000 n mmu is known for low paying the lecturers.. thats what i heard when i asked my lec..
EvanSoon
post Jan 8 2009, 05:51 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 8 2009, 01:20 PM)
i didnt know got lecturer without phd 1..but wif phd is 6k?? not bad.. starting salary 6k d?? i oso wanna be lectuer like dat
haha.. MMU got lots.. with PhD each faculty use 2 hands can count finish..
not sure if is starting pay or not.. but i hear mmu lack lots of lecturer PhD wise..
from what i hear lecturers with PhD are offered 10k a month.. or maybe that was what some1 thought and it passed down from 1 person to another n into my ears.. haha
EvanSoon
post Jan 9 2009, 12:15 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 8 2009, 08:00 PM)
i think 10k is bluff 1 la.. sure like work 20+ yrs then get promoted and increment only 10k..come out fresh phd where got so much? sure only 3 or 4k only ma
3-4k too little.. my mom just finished her masters in educational psychology and b4 she finished she was teaching in colleges for 3k++.. n she got offered by Inti genting to teach there for 3500 + 1000 food and 250 rent coverage with her degree..

EvanSoon
post Apr 23 2009, 01:35 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

Yea.. i agree with f4te.. when i went to Gribbles for a lab tour with my uni i saw a lot of "odd" job ppl there doing things.. they learn from experience, not from a degree.. although some are important to be certified like the pathologist but the rest seem to not have loads of theoratical knowledge.. I think they learned on the spot on these things and pass it to the new guys as they come along..

Anyways.. anyone know where i can get a 2nd hand book of Physiology and Anatomy by Martin "something" ? its a quite famous book if not mistaken
EvanSoon
post Jul 23 2009, 10:51 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

i've been seeing on topics about biomed and biochem, and every1 has their own opinion on it which can never have a "you are right" term as i think every1 has their own definition here regarding it. undergrads might have high hopes and have not really gone into the industry to know what the "real life" is about while those who have gone in might think that there is not much choices. maybe there are new openings after they have grad, who knows..

but i would like to know everyone's opinion about bioinformaticians. any1 heard of them and whats ur opinion about them? i sort of feel that there is a need for them in the biological field but there is so little known about them, most undergrads would not even know what they are for and maybe think that they are very much inferior to the rest of the biological field.

open for thoughts~

0.0232sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:54 PM