Chubbie Hamster V12, Chubbie-chubb Furball

grhunter
post Feb 19 2009, 02:16 AM

72 posts

hello! sharing my pics here smile.gif

Last year a student of mine gave me 2 male hamsters. i named them Bill and Ted. I had trouble buying hamster food around the city as the Vietnamese government imposed a nationwide ban on hamsters. Fine for possessing a hamster was up to 2k usd. had to resort to feeding them raisins and biscuits for a week until i found a "source" for hamster food.

3 months later, "Bill" gave birth to 6 hamters. shocking.gif i decided to keep all of them!

Papa and his sons. Other hamsters not in picture. laugh.gif

speedhunter: imo not just syrians fight, my roborovskis used to fight frequently and occasionally the fights draw blood. these days i resorted to separating them into 3 cages.
the_catacombs
post Feb 19 2009, 03:01 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(grhunter @ Feb 19 2009, 02:16 AM)
hello! sharing my pics here smile.gif

Last year a student of mine gave me 2 male hamsters. i named them Bill and Ted. I had trouble buying hamster food around the city as the Vietnamese government imposed a nationwide ban on hamsters. Fine for possessing a hamster was up to 2k usd. had to resort to feeding them raisins and biscuits for a week until i found a "source" for hamster food.

3 months later, "Bill" gave birth to 6 hamters.  shocking.gif i decided to keep all of them!

Papa and his sons. Other hamsters not in picture.  laugh.gif
speedhunter: imo not just syrians fight, my roborovskis used to fight frequently and occasionally the fights draw blood. these days i resorted to separating them into 3 cages.
i wonder... why is it illegal to keep hamsters in vietnam??..
blurjoey
post Feb 19 2009, 06:37 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 18 2009, 11:50 PM)
as far as i know, only syrian will fight

do correct me if i'm wrong
Syrians, RC and WW are solitary. Means they need to stay alone.

Robos can stay in a group but better be in a same sex group (all males or all females) to prevent them from breeding and in-breeding (bro & sis, bro & mom, dad & sis, etc)

But there is sometimes RC and WW can stay together without fighting. They were together since birth and siblings.

Always remember to keep same sex pairs or groups to prevent them from breeding and in-breeding because too much breeding will shorten the females' life. Unless you planned to breed them but do read more on breeding first before doing so.
speedhunter
post Feb 19 2009, 07:37 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

Your hamster are so cute, is that WW?

so if i want to add another 2 dwarf, will they fight? taken from the same breeder..

need a suggestion here, do anyone tried to creat a hole on a bin or tank using this: user posted image

blurjoey
post Feb 19 2009, 08:20 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 19 2009, 07:37 AM)
so if i want to add another 2 dwarf, will they fight? taken from the same breeder..
Same breeder doesn't mean same the same batch of hamsters. Age gap of the hamsters also a factor to consider. If your current hamster are older they will be territorial when younger hamster invade their territory. They will fight off the invaders.

You can try but be prepare to separate them if they do fight. Get an extra tank just in case. Before putting the new hamsters with the old hamsters, clean the tank and accessories. Put new bedding so that everything doesn't have any hamster smell. So that the hamster might not get territorial. It's a 50/50 chance. To take the risks or not is up to you.
nosbleed
post Feb 19 2009, 10:29 AM

51 posts

i got 2 campbell and 2 panda in a cage. 2 story cage.
is it ok to let them be 2gether?
coz never see them fight, play fight2 got la biggrin.gif
they seems happy 2gether, sleep side by side,
hehe....
so are this 2 kind the same?

Added on February 19, 2009, 10:35 am
QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 19 2009, 07:37 AM)

Your hamster are so cute, is that WW?

need a suggestion here, do anyone tried to creat a hole on a bin or tank using this: user posted image
i think u can use that soldering iron to make holes on plastic
but make sure u remove your hamster
and wear a mask, coz it's gona smell bad, not good for your health, done that before.

This post has been edited by nosbleed: Feb 19 2009, 10:35 AM
blurjoey
post Feb 19 2009, 10:53 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(nosbleed @ Feb 19 2009, 10:29 AM)
i got 2 campbell and 2 panda in a cage. 2 story cage.
is it ok to let them be 2gether?
coz never see them fight, play fight2 got la   biggrin.gif
they seems happy 2gether, sleep side by side,
hehe....
so are this 2 kind the same?
Let me ask you this. Do you watch your hamsters 24/7? Of course you don't see them fight when you're asleep. Hamsters are most active at night till morning.

Sleeping together doesn't mean they are happy together in the same cage.

Your hamsters is russian campbells. Anyway is your RC a mix of males and females? If it is, please separate by sex or you will get unwanted babies. There will be fights when the females give birth to the babies.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 19 2009, 10:54 AM
speedhunter
post Feb 19 2009, 10:56 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

since it can be done, i'll do that later, thx nosbleed.. i'll put my current setup later too, hope can get comments from all senior here wink.gif

thx for d advice too bluejoey, yes it is the same batch from my fren, his pair breed so much, so he's giving away all the extra hamster.

can i know what do hamster love to play other than the wheel?

This post has been edited by speedhunter: Feb 19 2009, 11:19 AM
Sophiera
post Feb 19 2009, 11:43 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Apparnelty you now have a male-female pair since "bill" gave birth laugh.gif

Got to split them, unfortunately.
anderyna
post Feb 19 2009, 11:54 AM

Design Freak.. Muahahaha
1,072 posts

smile.gif its been a long time i have not posted in here

taken while i bring my boy back during CNY

angelbratz
post Feb 19 2009, 12:03 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

QUOTE(pikeydude @ Feb 18 2009, 11:21 PM)
My hamster got the same thing as yours. It was the result of a fight. The skin was scratched, then got infected with puss. Hardened skin and darkened. I didn't manage to take it to the Vet and it died a few days later.
Uh, uh....What its behaviour back then???

After a while i noticed, its dried, when i press/check its somehow connected to the backbone/tail. Looks like access bone....not sure tho rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Ive yet to take it to the vet. So far its there for already 4-5 days now. Still active, run here run there, bathing, eat oso appetite good.

speedhunter
post Feb 19 2009, 12:18 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

here is my current setup. is this ok for the 2 dwarf? that is only solution i have for the small space provide by the ovo pad. and my dwarf love to play with the sand, in the green ovo den tongue.gif
nosbleed
post Feb 19 2009, 12:59 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 19 2009, 10:53 AM)
Let me ask you this. Do you watch your hamsters 24/7? Of course you don't see them fight when you're asleep. Hamsters are most active at night till morning.

Sleeping together doesn't mean they are happy together in the same cage.

Your hamsters is russian campbells. Anyway is your RC a mix of males and females? If it is, please separate by sex or you will get unwanted babies. There will be fights when the females give birth to the babies.
i watch them most of my times, coz we sleep in a same room laugh.gif
all are male,
they have been 2gether since small, now is 3 month old.
3 of them are ok, only 1 panda likes to bully them, and that panda hates me, twice bite me till bleed, dunno y?
only 3 of them can be played, but this 1 panda cant b touch,
i like him coz he's fat, haha....but he hates me cry.gif

Added on February 19, 2009, 1:02 pmops... forgot to ask,
does hamster always drink?
my RC always drink, seriously drink alot, non-stop.
is that normal?

This post has been edited by nosbleed: Feb 19 2009, 01:02 PM
blurjoey
post Feb 19 2009, 01:16 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 19 2009, 12:18 PM)

here is my current setup. is this ok for the 2 dwarf? that is only solution i have for the small space provide by the ovo pad. and my dwarf love to play with the sand, in the green ovo den  tongue.gif
Looks nice but make sure it is hamster escape proof. Hamsters are escape artist.

Also do they like to chew on things? Scared they will bite a hole and escape on your cardboard box.

Added on February 19, 2009, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(nosbleed @ Feb 19 2009, 12:59 PM)
i watch them most of my times, coz we sleep in a same room  laugh.gif
all are male,
they have been 2gether since small, now is 3 month old.
3 of them are ok, only 1 panda likes to bully them, and that panda hates me, twice bite me till bleed, dunno y?
only 3 of them can be played, but this 1 panda cant b touch,
i like him coz he's fat, haha....but he hates me cry.gif

Added on February 19, 2009, 1:02 pmops... forgot to ask,
does hamster always drink?
my RC always drink, seriously drink alot, non-stop.
is that normal?
RC are bitey by nature. Not that he hates you. He could be scared of you and the other hamsters. He is being defensive.

Drinking a lot could means that the hamster have diabetes. Don't feed any fruits or vegetables with high sugar contents. Snacks also.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 19 2009, 01:21 PM
nosbleed
post Feb 19 2009, 01:42 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 19 2009, 01:16 PM)
Looks nice but make sure it is hamster escape proof. Hamsters are escape artist.

Also do they like to chew on things? Scared they will bite a hole and escape on your cardboard box.

Added on February 19, 2009, 1:21 pm

RC are bitey by nature. Not that he hates you. He could be scared of you and the other hamsters. He is being defensive.

Drinking a lot could means that the hamster have diabetes. Don't feed any fruits or vegetables with high sugar contents. Snacks also.
say hi to wawa(hehe, weird name)
see he drinks alot...
so....what should i feed him
aNn3i
post Feb 19 2009, 04:21 PM

hello everybody,

I've been following this forum for quite sometime (since i got my new hamsters) and i got a lot of useful informations here. thumbup.gif
here i want to introduce my cute little hammies;

dis is Choco

and dis is Chibi

nosbleed
post Feb 19 2009, 04:36 PM

51 posts

wa so cute...
let me guess
its a RC
correct me ir im wrong
coz got that black line at back bone
speedhunter
post Feb 19 2009, 05:14 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

for escape proof, i've solve it by put a paper around the wall, make it higher so the hamster cant grab the wall to climb.

my hamster also dont chew on anything, include the plastic, dont know y, but thats a good news rite.

but sooner or later, i'll need to dispose the box when its start smelling, or someone have better idea to get rid of the smell, like put it under the sun maybe??

i love white, but love mine more biggrin.gif
aNn3i
post Feb 19 2009, 05:47 PM

both hamsters are WW pudding. dats wat the pet shop told me and the color not white actually, its light brown (Choco) and bit yellowish almost white (Chibi).

maybe somebody can confirm it. is it true dat my hamster are WW pudding.
anderyna
post Feb 19 2009, 06:13 PM

Design Freak.. Muahahaha
1,072 posts

QUOTE(aNn3i @ Feb 19 2009, 05:47 PM)
both hamsters are WW pudding. dats wat the pet shop told me and the color not white actually, its light brown (Choco) and bit yellowish almost white (Chibi).

maybe somebody can confirm it. is it true dat my hamster are WW pudding.
urs is pudding
i got one too. its almost cream color

126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:01 PM